You want to see a gyrocompass working?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 22:12
ThreadID: 26819 Views:3116 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
Hi Everybody,
It's slightly (very!) off topic, but I posted a follow-up to an earlier forum post about compasses and gyrocompasses were mentioned!! I have one in the workshop at the moment and thought I would take some photos and video of the "guts" to show forum members how to find true north!!
Some photos are small, some are big. I have made the videos as small as I can, sorry to the people on dial up. It's an amazing machine, I still wonder how people can design and build things like this!
It's a Tokyo Kieki (now Tokimec) GM-21 model. Not cheap to buy or maintain, but they work very well, as long as you can keep them supplied with 24V!

Gyro pics and videos

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 02:08

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 02:08
Cant be stuufed downloading a vid but seen plenty of nth seeking gyros working for downhole survey tools they take heaps of c size batterys and are needed for when directionals accuracy is needed aqround metal (normal compasses dont work)
AnswerID: 132106

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 07:31

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 07:31
That is cool!!!

Now, if you've got a spare one laying around, we could retro fit it so we could put some weapon flywheels onto it, then bolt it real low on the floor, in the middle, of a 4 x 4 with an 8" lift. Get it all going up to speed, then it would allow us to take 90 degree corners safely at 72 kmh, because of the precession.

Take Ray Martin for a drive, and make him eat his words...

Wolfie
AnswerID: 132115

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:01

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:01
Wolfie,

I reckon you could probably knock one of these gyro things up at smoko time, in your workshop.

Nothing to 'em.........hahahahaha

Rick (S.A)
FollowupID: 386476