GU Patrol Wheel Alignment Question

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 05:33
ThreadID: 26825 Views:8750 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Just had a set of 265/75R16 10 ply Cooper S/T's fitted (after the Bridgestones were buggered at 28k), balanced and wheel aligned, now the steering wheel is about 5-7degrees off the the right. Holding the wheel straight causes the truck to slowly steer to the left.

I took it back to the local BJ franchise and they were happy to do another wheel alignment When I returned I was told the wheel alignment was in perfect spec and the steering wheel would have to be removed and replaced to straighten it up, and they couldn't do it because they were not equipted to remove airbags.

I asked if anything was worn or bent in the front end and was told everything was spot on and their $250k wheel alignment machine couldn't get it wrong!

Spoke to the local Nissan agent, and they hand balled it straight back to Bob, who handballed me back to the Nissan dealer to get the steering wheel removed and replaced.

What gives here?

Thanks in advance :-)

Reply By: Tuff60 - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 06:09

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 06:09
That's been through some debate a while ago. See post No. 26062
In simple terms Bob Jane are right. Only one ajustment(total toe) means the wheel has to come off.
AnswerID: 132112

Reply By: herkman - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:37

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:37
What that tells you, is that the wheel alignment from the factory was wrong.

As on most cars today, wheel alignment is not checked on pre del;ivery.

For the wheel now to be out of centre, that means that the toe in/out must have been set wrong off the line. It is mosty unlikely that the alignment was put out in transit.

All new cars I have bought, I take it straight from the dealer to the wheel aligner, and more often than not, the alignment is not spot on.

28,000K for a set of tyres does not appear normal, and I would suggest that maybe you have a part claim on Nissan. The very least the dealer should do, is straighten the wheel up.

Col Tigwell
AnswerID: 132124

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:56

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:56
Thanks for your reply Col, that's sort of the way I was thinking. I can't see any reason for the steering wheel to move if it was right in the first place, unless something had worn or was bent, and BJ tells me every thing is spot on. Food for thought.

FollowupID: 386408

Follow Up By: Shawn - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 11:11

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 11:11
28,000 out of a set of factory Bridgestones is about right, you get bugger all klms from them.
Have a look at Truckaline or some other company that can correct the camber/caster angles.
Mass produced products for Europe don't drive to well on our roads.
FollowupID: 386417

Reply By: SAoffroader - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 15:49

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 15:49
PG
Just try something before you get to involved with caster and camber
Try swaping the two front tyres left to right quick fix if it works
AnswerID: 132175

Reply By: Graham56 - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 16:50

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 16:50
PG,
Iv'e been through all of this 2yr ago, the only problem with removing and repositioning the steering wheel (as iv'e had this done) is that the spline is not fine enough and the wheel goes to far to the left,ie vehicle drives straight but now wheel points left of centre.
to get it right ment having to remove linkage from steering box reset position and the whole bun fight just keeps going and it is never quite right, so I just gave up and drive as is.
AnswerID: 132178

Reply By: charlies - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:59

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:59
G'day, The steering wheel should be centralised first, (ie. held in correct position - straight ahead) then set the "toe in". Not hard to do, just most can't be bothered.

AnswerID: 132189

Reply By: datto311 - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:04

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:04
Take it to somebody who only does suspensions, eg Pedders or if in Qld, Fulcrum Suspensions
BJ's 275K machine may be accurate but there is more to doing a wheel alignment than just setting it at 0 toe in. A specialist knows about our high camber roads, knows about solid front axles and knows your local roads and will do his best to set it so it tracks straight when the steering wheel is straight ahead. They all have their own little tricks
AnswerID: 132200

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:32

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:32
gday pg.
your tyre place is spot on.
i used to have the same problem when doing wheel alignments on patrols.
when the wheel ended up being of centre i sent them to the local nissan dealer to remove and realign steerinig wheel.
usually only one spline but we didnt have the right equipment for air bags.
local dealer never had a problem doing it.
just your local nissan dealer being slack.
AnswerID: 132210

Reply By: Graeme - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:18

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:18
I have had the same Coopers ST 265/75/16 10 ply fitted to my 2002 3.0TD auto and had the same problem. I got the best service from Cutlers Tyre service here in Coffs Harbour. I had balance problems and steering problems with a wheel cranked to the left and shimmy.
Cutlers did an on car balance and a couple of alignments. Finally we went to a castor kit on both sides and a re-alignment. That left the steering wheel off centre. I then took it to Bellbowrie Motors, my Nissan dealer, and had it fixed in a few hours at a very moderate cost. That was over 35,000Km ago and all has been OK since.
The Coopers have performed well, just a slight increase in road noise and wet handling above expectations for the type of tyre on wet bituman. The original Bridgestones A/T were a lot quieter but their wet handling when getting past 50% wear was very interesting to say the least.
My conclusion is that the Patrols, when fitted with better tyres require specialist alignment, and if done properly is a good investment and makes a long journey pleasurable.
Graeme
AnswerID: 132302

Follow Up By: bucky - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 06:39

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 06:39
I got Cooper ATR's fitted to my Navara 2003 STR 3.0 TD ,,what a bloody sham , could not keep the 4B on the road
I took it back at least 6 times and tried all combinations and " toe in's " ect...It had me stuffed and I really gave the main Cooper Rep heaps about his tyres..
Wonthaggi Bridgestone were very patient with me !

I was ready to demand that he took them back, and it was then I started to play with tyre pressures,,
The Vehicle was unlaiden

I found that 32 in the front and 30 in the rear,, best suited the vehicle
I also found that a trip to Melbourne on the flatter roads proved very friutfull,, as the camber on the roads near Wonthaggi are severe..
Gotta remember that in the USA ( where Cooper tyres are made ) that they have relatively no camber
Now the Navara simply follows the camber, which ever way it goes

I took the rig up into the Simpson Desert and on those roads the tyres performed flawlessly

I will definately get Coopers again
Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 386989