chump_boy
Does anyone have a list of email addresses for:
# Anti 4WD Groups,
# Pro 4WD Groups,
# and Media contacts?
If all these addresses were listed in one spot, it would be easier for all of us to complain / compliment / comment on various things.
Just a thought.....
Reply By: Spade Newsom - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:32
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:32
chump_boy
Like most 4by drivers am getting a little sick of the whole debate. I prefer to just ignore the ignorant anti 4x4 protagonists.
Having a chat about this today at work though there is a risk that if the 4x4 driving family don't stand up now the protagonists may
well start getting their way. IE ban or limit 4x4 in the city, slug huge rego costs etc.
Folk in the city probably have the most to risk however would ultimately affect all 4x4 users. A significant drop in demand, given that city drivers make up major portion of 4x4 purchases, would probably see these vehicles increase in price.
Sorry chump_boy this is not the answer to your question but my little two cents worth.
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:53
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:53
I agree with you 100%.
I just think if we all had a list of, say, 20 email addresses, we could address any concerns we may have quickly and easily. I have tended to ignor the garbage, but I think it would be better to simply reply, and give as many people as possible in these forums the chance to reply. Even if it is to just say "thats crap....what about this statistic", it couldn't hurt...
If just 100 people replied to a single bad article in a newspaper, with the spread of this
forum, a reply could be in each major towns newspapers at least offering a different view.
There are so many of us, but we just tend to bitch and moan in forums like this........
Journalists, and other people just don't see these comments.
Reply By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:58
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:58
Chump_boy
I reckon the people in the media don't really give a toss either way. Many of them probably drive a fuel guzzeling 4wd anyway. To them it's simply getting the rating up (so they can get a payrise so they can pay for the fuel to fill up their cars.)
I always hear people say - "I don't usually watch these shows, ACA, TT etc. but tonight I will because they're showing lies about 4WDing. "
BIG MISTAKE. That is why they do it. They don't care why you wath it, as long as you do.
The best thing we can do is to Turn off the TV and don't buy the papers on that day.
R.
Reply By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 13:01
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 13:01
LOL...just another thought...
Does anyone know a way of finding out who drives what in the media?
We all know Harry Screwball drives his Subaroo.
It might be worth sitting opposite the channel 10 car
park one day, and taking a few pictures......
hmmmmm...now I've got my thinking cap on..
Reply By: Patrol2 - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 13:15
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 13:15
I don' usually write to forums or newspapers, but I feel very strongly on this issue.
You can ignore all the bad press and say to your mate " they don't know what they are talking about!". But, you do that at your own peril. What you are seeing is EXACTLY the same campaign that was waged against the law abiding shooters in the community.
First, report every bad instance as theatrically as possible.
Second, get some pseudo expert to tell the average joe how bad these instances are.
Thirdly, prepare as many press releases as possible, in as easily digestable form as possible, so that the press will pick up on at least one or two.
Fourth step, lobby politicians to do something about the now perceived danger.
Step five. Politicians react to pressure, and stupid laws are put in place.
Don't believe me? Try getting 1) a shooters license and 2) try buying a firearm!
The process is
well advanced already; just look at opinion polls or conduct your own to see what I mean
Sorry to rabbit on, but there are currently no more 4wd owners than there were law abiding shooters before they were made criminals.
Follow Up By: Tuff60 - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 15:54
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 15:54
Patrol2
Can't agree more.
I'll bet the Victorian Pollies can't wait to add to the Criminal Act.
Whats another act in a 5000+ act criminal code.
How does"Driving a 4WD in a manner, contrary to it's intended purpose" sound. There are some even stupider acts already there.
The $billion spent on gun buybacks, should have gone to health and education, but then it would not have bought as many votes.
Just my opinion.
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 16:16
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 16:16
Patrol2/Tuff60.
Yep, exactly as per the firearms legislation. Lies, half truths and twisted statistics won the day. In the UK, where it has been illegal to own a handgun for many years, the incidence of their use in crimes has soared since the ban - ha ha ha.
I think it is about time the companies that profit from 4WD owners/users (i.e. car manufacturers, add ons, etc etc etc) came to the party BEFORE their markets start to contract as they will if the agitators have their way and make it more difficult (read more costly) for us to enjoy our lifestyles.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:42
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:42
I agree, Ive been sayin it for yrs.
the more chit they throw the more chance of it sticking.
lets all sit on our hands and pretend it doesnt exist...
.. good to see the 4wd association working for us with the squillions we dish out to them.
Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:27
Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:27
Patrol2
Thats exactly the issue. The media whip the general public into a hysteria.
If they (the media) realised that they sell less newspapers on the days that they trashed 4WD, they would stop those stories very quickly. BUT, what happens is the opposite. They tell some lies, and we go out and buy more of their papers, so they do it again and again. The general public reads all the pseudo statistics over and over and then the $hit begins to stick.
So the ideal would be to boycott the mass media on the days that these stories happen. However what happens is, that they advertise that they will do a story on those BAD 4WD's. Somebody mentions this on the
forum, and we all go out to pay them for the story. They make a healthy profit while we bend over and take it.
R.
Reply By: Sarg - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:20
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:20
Don't you think that if there was a threat to ownership of 4x4's, the manufacturers would be the first to oppose it ?
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:33
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:33
Depends on how highly they value the market here compared to more lucrative markets elsewhere.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:44
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:44
dont you think manufacturers would be saying something now if they gave a chit? Multimillions/billions in sales out the window, and you dont hear a phart from them
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:57
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:57
Just seems that this week there seems to have been an exceptional media frenzy about 4wds. More so than normal. Looks like we're the fall guys for the fuel increases :)
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:22
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:22
I thought the same Gramps, multi stories and crap headed 4WD, even if they have 0 to do with us..
the bleep will stick...
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:39
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:39
Yep and while banning 4wds is not feasible they can certainly make it a damn sight more expensive and restrictive to own one let alone enjoy the advantages that emanate from it.
Reply By: Sarg - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:53
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:53
Just goes to show that the manufacturers think it's a load of $hit anyway
Reply By: chump_boy - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:23
Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:23
Gee, thanks for all the email addresses folks!
lol
Chump
Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:36
Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:36
No problems chump_boy. We're always glad to help.... ROFLMAO