new 3.0ltd nissan oil

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:29
ThreadID: 26840 Views:3854 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
gid'ay all
purchased the 10/40 semi synthetic oil now recomended by nissan for the zd30 motors,the nissan bloke went out the back and filled thier containers from a drum(you can see where he wiped oil from top of container) i reckon there must be someone in all you mob that that knows someone at nissan that can tell us who's brand of oil it really is, the main reason for wanting to know is when i'm travelling you can't always get to a nissan dealer.
here's hoping!
cheers toohey.

Reply By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:40

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:40
P.S i know shell made their voyager brand,rang shell they don't make a 10/40 semi synthetic,so it ain't them
cheers toohey
AnswerID: 132185

Follow Up By: Star Bug - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:00

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:00
I dont know who makes the Nissan oil but the nearest I can find that matches the 10W40 semi synthetic spec is Mobil Synth S or Super S. I have rung the Mobil distributor in WA and apparently synth s and super 10W40 are the same oil in different pakages.

Check out the mobil website www.mobil.com.au and check the specs against the Nissan product.
FollowupID: 386521

Follow Up By: banjodog - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:00

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:00
These are some comments from a Shell tech on diesel oils - diesel oil

If you do lots of travelling and during that time the engine requires an oil change I feel it's easier to choose an oil readily availably from where you buy fuel - Shell, BP, Mobil. If you use Penrite, Valovline etc - they may not be availably when on the road somewhere.

I prefer to use Shell Rimula X (15W-40) which is the CH-4 rating - probably an over-kill for my 2.4L Hilux but it performs well. The Shell Helix Plus 15W-50 is a semi synthetic which is aslo suitable for diesel engines too.

Oils are a bit like tyre choise - it's what turns you on, so use it.
FollowupID: 386535

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 21:59

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 21:59
Hi Toohey,

I noticed Shell now market a Rimula Ultra 10W40 synthetic diesel oil, available in 20L, 200L and bulk supply. Refer link pg6.

Shell Product Data Guide

Hugh
FollowupID: 386900

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:41

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:41
10W40 Synthetic is common to hi tech TD motors in the trucking industry - Castrol have one - called Dynamax - used it for awhile in my Jack - only comes in 20L drums (or 200's) - designed for extended drain intervals - street price for we suckers is about $6 / L - I use Castrol Magnatec now - same price or less, and more convenient sizes.
AnswerID: 132186

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:54

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:54
thanks for the reply banjo
that sounds like a full synthetic the nissan one is semi.
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 386457

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:21

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:21
The 10W40 rating is the important bit according to Nissan. I use Castrol Magantec (though I never was a big fan of Castrol oils in my rally car) I find so far the Magnatec does not give me the gumming problems I used to complain of back then.

Magantec seems to be mineral (with an added synthetic ester), not sure if that classifies it as semi-synthetic??? I will leave that to the froth and bubble marketing guys to say :-)

Dave O
FollowupID: 386618

Reply By: Swine Hunter - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:14

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:14
G'day Toohey,

Perhaps Motul 4100 Turbolight, this is a semi synth and a good one too. I have used it in My 99 WRX and also in my EFI GQII. After 10,000km still looks clean and not sludgey, WRX engine ran on it for 100,000 still looked like new under rocker cover.
Don't know if Nissan would be using a French oil though...

AnswerID: 132194

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:56

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:56
thanlks swine hunter
but i reckon it would be aussie' made.
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 386460

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:49

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:49
Hi Swine Hunter,

I don't know why they wouldn't use a French oil given that the ZD30 is a Renault engine.

Hugh
FollowupID: 386499

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:25

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:25
" don't know why they wouldn't use a French oil given that the ZD30 is a Renault engine"

Well said.

The Nissan Oil is made by Shell. That's a Dutch company right?

Seems about right for this day and age. French engine in a Jap car probably assembled somewhere else like India or Korea, using a dutch oil produced in Japan and labelled by a seperate Japanese company.

FollowupID: 386619

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:12

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:12
Toohey

I am going to start calling you - 'are there any questions Toohey' soon. (LOL)

Mate! other than Ms 'Lucy' our daily driver is a 2005 JEEP Cherokee CRD which has to have as a minimum 10/40 semi synthetic.

The local JEEP dealer is also the Nissan and Renault (Some Frog thing) dealer as well.

Yep! they definitely use a 10/40 and when queried, the service manager showed me the big tank it comes out of and when asked what it was he replied

Castrol Magnotec, thats what the dealership uses.

So there you go. Doesn't mean your Nissan dealer is using it though, because another person in the dealership/service industry (another Nissan Dealership) that I know, whispered to me that the dealerships can use what ever they like , as long as it meets minimum specs.

I am willing to bet it comes down to which oil company has the cheapest bulk buying price at the time the contract is negotiated.

AnswerID: 132201

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:19

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:19
Spot on -could put you house safely on them using the cheapest bulk delivered oil ! and .....Magnatec rears its pretty head again !
FollowupID: 386463

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:42

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:42
gid'ay lucy
castrol magnatec is'nt a semi synthetic,if this mob of mongrels is bs'n me i'll bloody well sue em'(s##t i'm driv'n this donk on the seat of me pants now) by the way hows the gvm go'in mate.
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 386471

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:58

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:58
Hey! Toohey

I just cut and pasted the following pertinent points from the URL I'll post below it.

CASTROL MAGNATEC

Product Description

Castrol Magnatec contains a synthetic ester that is unique to Castrol. The molecules of this ester cling to engines surfaces like a magnet, leaving a continuous film of oil on the engine parts long after conventional oils have drained away to the bottom of the engine. Castrol calls this Unique Molecular Attraction (UMA).

Product Features & Benefits

Every car engine type can experience the benefits of using unique, revolutionary Castrol Magnatec including:

 Dramatically reduced engine wear at start up and warm up, helping to extend the life of the engine.
 Instant protection from the moment you turn the key.
 Improved engine cleanliness through excellent detergency chemistry with an ultra refined and synthetic base oil mix

http://www.castrol.com/castrol/productdetailmin.do?categoryId=8000009&contentId=6008598

The words Synthetic ester and Synthetic Base oil mix , indicate semi synthetic to me, what do you reckon.

GVM - The Troopy is going to the Engineers on Monday for a Brake Fail/fade test using some electronic wizardry that allegedly takes about an hour to fit up and complete.

If it passes he reckons it can be raised to 3500Kg as opposed to 3150kg that it is currently plated for.

I'll keep you posted on how it pans out.
FollowupID: 386502

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:35

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:35
I'm not sure of the science here but I understand Castrol Magnatec has some kind of additive included that does the "molecular attraction" thang. I'm sure this additive would be enough for some marketing bozo to call it "semi synthetic" even if the rest of the brew was straight dino juice.

In my own experience, early on I could not get a straight answer out of Crows Nest Nissan as to which kind of oil they put in mine. I know they use Castrol exclusively and the invoice said "nissan diesel 20W40". Castrol helpline said no oil of thiers was 20W40. Conclude it was probably GTX 3. I went Magnatec 10W40 for the interim changes (not recommeded at the time, being 10W40 not 15W40) but found the engine VERY noisey when cold and not much better when hot. I changed to GTX3 15W40 which met the spec and found the engine quitened down nicely and "felt" right. Been on it since, probably 45K. Easy to find and often on special for around $20/5L.
AnswerID: 132229

Reply By: Brett_B - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:54

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:54
Ive said this before but i'll do it again

Contact Nissan, tell them you carry a quantity of their oil at your premises, quote the part number etc, request the material data sheet covering the product, inform them that the new OHS requirements demand you hold material data sheets of all chemicals on site. The MDS contains the first aid and safety instructions should your employees drink it :-)

More importantly it will list the manufacture and exact type of oil.........

Keep going higher and higher until you get it, I will be surprised if you don't get it.

We hold many chemical in our workplace, I have obtained MDS for each and every chemical, they are not hard to get, easier if you start quoting OHS requirements

Many of the products we hold turned out to be repackaged Mobil products, its amazing what you will find.

Give it a go, what's there to loose

Brett
AnswerID: 132256

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:29

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:29
You won't always find out who made something by doing this. Perhaps for oil it may work.
FollowupID: 386622

Reply By: 4runner - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:23

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:23
Just as a matter of interest, my 92 Toyota V6 4Runner has been running on Penrite Diesel engine oil since it came out of warranty. Never had cause to complain , but was amazed at the cleanlinesss of the sump and rocker covers when I took them off to fit new gaskets. So Penrite I`ll stick with. Oh, and by the by, the motor has done over 350,000 Km and still going strong ! Must be something i`m doing right. Personally I am not in favour of these new synthetic or semi synthetic type oils - viscosity is to thin for my liking, particularly when the motor is working its guts out pulling through long stretches of soft sand/mud/ steep hills and having to work the box between Hi and Lo range. Better the devil you know then the one you dont.
AnswerID: 132261

Reply By: harry55 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:47

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:47
My local Nissan dealer users Castrol FMX 15W-40, writes it on the sticker that he puts on the windscreen. This oil is semi-synthetic and the smallest container appears to be 20litres.
Lucky for me the company I work for has an agreement with Castrol to allow employees to buy their products at company rates.

cheers,
Harry
AnswerID: 132297

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:58

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:58
Apparently Renault use the ZD30 in light trucks in Europe. What oil do they use?

Leroy
AnswerID: 132309

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:27

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:27
well i think the yanks are hiding something,they have found oil on mars,this nissan semi synthetic is green so it ain't castrol magnatec.
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 386562

Reply By: Farside - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 14:55

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 14:55
Toohey

According to Nissan the oil is made by Shell in Japan. Shell in Australia are unable to get the oil, but they do confirm that have done blends for Nissan here in the past.

Angus
AnswerID: 132350

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:07

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:07
thanks angus
toohey
FollowupID: 386617

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:31

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:31
Yep, thats the information I have as well.
It is a Shell product according to those I have spoken to.

Also, though Nissan recommends 10W40 oil for the ZD30, there are still a heck of a lot of places don't seem to know this.
FollowupID: 386623

Reply By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:14

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:14
I spoke to my dealer about it and he reconed anyone who uses anything less than 15W-40 in the north of WA is nuts...too hot and 10W too thin!

stuffed if I know!
AnswerID: 132390

Reply By: Sarg - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:44

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:44
15/40 industry standard on earthmoving equipment engines. Reckon your pi$$y 4x4 engine needs anything better??. Think - how many oil refining Co's in Aust. Where do these "specialized" oils come from - base oils from these refinerys, with theïr" better than yours " additives. Good advertising hype parts fools from their money. Me, I use Valvoline Diesel Engine Oil. Why? Mobil base oil blended by Valvoline,economical(10lt containers), available regularly on specials & been using it for years(94 model & 280Ks)
AnswerID: 132422

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:12

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:12
94 3.0td patrol??? that's unique.

Leroy
FollowupID: 386779

Follow Up By: Sarg - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 09:56

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 09:56
Where did I say it was a Patrol ??? Just saying what I use in my vehicle
FollowupID: 386932

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 12:37

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 12:37
And I was refering to the question asked!

Leroy
FollowupID: 387105