No SLR for me

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:32
ThreadID: 26860 Views:3155 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Ok , some of you will remember I was on the market for a SLR digital. Now I have taken into consideration what everyone told me here , and i have desided not to go for a SLR . My main reason is I dont want another hobby lol , dont want to be changing lenses and I have taken on board what some people said about learning more about the current camera i have (KodacDc4800). Well , what do you know , it takes a ok pic when you learn how to use it lol.

I have desided to go for a point and shoot option, below are the features I need.

Between 6 to 8 megapixles
I would like the anti shake feature
manuel and auto settings
MUST come with a underwater housing to at least 40 meters. This housing must be factory made for the particular camera .

I prefure A slightly larger camra than a tiny thing , pluss these come with a larger view screen and the larger lense.

Now its all your fault that I am asking this non 4x4 question . due to the awsom responce and info I recieved last time.

Regards EC

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:38

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:38
Waterproof to 40 metres ! Best of luck. If you find one that does not cost more then a new 100 series LC please let me know. :-))

PS. You do know that reproducing colour underwater is almost impossible without a very expensive very strong flash wich also has to be waterproof to 40 metres.
AnswerID: 132279

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:55

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:55
There are heaps on the market , and hte average cost is $300 retail ,

now if you talk SLR there around $2000 for the housing, ill start a 15 meters or less and venture into strobe lights later . The important question is whats the best camera , the option is that it has to have a case waterproof to 40 meters

FollowupID: 386540

Reply By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:39

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:39
Don't know about the waterproof case, but a mate of mine has a Canon proshot 1 or a powershot 1, not sure which. Has a 28-200mm zoom built in and I'm pretty sure it is 8megapixel. Zoom is just as good as my EOS 500n with the 200mm lense.
and makes my Kodak digital look like an antique for features. Thinking about it, I am sure it is the PowerShot 1, from memory he paid about $800 for it.
Hope this helps in some way. If you can't find it I'll ask him for the correct name and part number.
On a side note, what V8 you got in the nissan and how much NOS shot you got on it?? And did you used to work for a Moorabbin Nissan dealer by any chance??
AnswerID: 132296

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:40

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:40
Hi mate , never work at Moorabin Nissan , but live in oakleigh

At the moment selling my madden kit for Nos stage 2 , I cant tell you what n2o content i am going to run as yet as i am still playing with second stage fuel pumps . Once i finish with that i will work at volume ratio
FollowupID: 386587

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:42

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:42
ps , engine is a Q45 with aftermarket imorted cam and gear set
FollowupID: 386588

Follow Up By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 15:30

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 15:30
Thanks, thought it was another one, with a EFI Holden V8.
Is the NOS for overtaking or for bush work??
FollowupID: 386609

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:22

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:22
The Canon Powershot S2 IS is the one to get by the sound of it. Does all the things you're asking for with excellent Canon optics. Underwater housing is rated to 40m from memory too.

BTW, IMHO I wouldn't get too carried away with megapixel numbers, they become theoretical after a while unless you intend to do billboard size blowups. The important things are the image sensor quality and the clarity of the lens.

Another point to take into consideration is the battery choice. AA's are a good way to go in my opinion as they are cheap and readily available in rechargeable form and if you do get stuck, they can be sourced from practically anywhere.

I'm just off to purchase the new Fuji S9500 which is an absolute ripper. It has the equivalent of a 28mm - 300mm lens and can shoot in RAW format as well.
AnswerID: 132312

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:55

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:55
A higher megapixel camera does come in handy for more than just enlargements. If you have a 5mp 3x zoom camera like myself it enables you to zoom in as far as you can then when you have the photo on your computer you can crop around what you want and then still get a reasonable size print.
FollowupID: 386571

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:28

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:28
had a read about the canon powershot s21s .
There was a review that talks about bad battery life , only getting 30 pic's from a set of batteries and not been able to use rechargables .

Is this a bit of crap ? or fact ?
FollowupID: 386743

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:29

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:29
Hey Eric,
Go here and sign up, then ask your question on the camera forum.

Dive Oz

They'll give some good responses in regard to the housing question,
Geoff.

AnswerID: 132321

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:37

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:37
already on that forum , I was going to ask the question there , but I know Wolfie dosnt read there ,

Hint hint wolfy

waiting for his reply lol
FollowupID: 386584

Follow Up By: theshadows - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:53

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:53
Eric these are my Favoutites and I'll run them from top to bottom.

canon A620

the price is about $550 aud and the case is under $260 Aud in brisbane. now that is a good 40 metre 7 meg 4 times optical zoom lens. Great out fit for under under a grand with everything.

next is fuji f810 at $720 for the camera and 300 for the case your are looking at over $ 1200 for a complete set up the same as the canon and the same specs.

next is a bit cheeper as its discontinued this year is the
pentax s5i

{ the page wont link....grrr}

pentax s5i 5 meg camera only a 3 times zoom ths 6 months ago the camera was selling at over $620 you can now pick it up for under $420 from shop fronts and under $400 off the net. The WP2 case at $315 off the net and under $330 in shops is nearly as dear as the camera. However the houseing is a fully functional design unlike the other. So about all up with bags,chips, tripods, spare Li-ion batteries and extenal flash.... under $900.

Just make sure you get the houseing before the buying the camera and have fun.

if you need any info email me.

shadow.
FollowupID: 386637

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 14:29

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 14:29
Why not go with the Nikonos like I had? Proper underwater camera..

Non digi though, but cheaper easy to use works well too... Use slide film, get enlargements from that. I had some poster size done for the dive club and they worked well.

I dont see you having many advantages underwater with cheaper digi, as your not going to sit there and scroll thru the photos to delete duds while your bottom time is ticking away ;)

also less hassle if the housing does fail (cause there aint one!), and it does happen.
AnswerID: 132346

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:31

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:31
Eric...

Try this guy...

Tanzer Husnu
ewa-marine Australia
P.O. Box 661
Glenroy
Victoria, 3046
Australia

Mobile: 0421 309 539
Facsimile: (03) 8361 7444
Email: info@ewa-marine.com.au
www.ewa-marine.com.au

I have just bought a housing from him, for my EOS 300 D. Cost me $560.00

Waterproof to about 100 feet from memory, could be more.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 132364

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:35

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:35
what would you go for wolfie ?

powershot pro 1

powershot s2 is ????????????????????????????????????
FollowupID: 386744

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:27

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:27
Not sure,I haven't read up on the Powershot.

I guess if you do a Google search, and read some reviews, that is a start.

It is becoming a fairly level playing field now as far as performance is concerned with high end point & shoots, so I don't imagine you will have too many problems.

I am under the understanding that some of the Canons have had some build issues in the past, like small screws working loose.

Any of the top brands will be fine. Someone here will recommend model such & such, and with good reason, but unfortunately, 3 months is a long time in the digital camera game, and most of the models recommended are now superseded.

If you go to a REPUTABLE camera dealer, they will help you in your decision. Even if you end up buying elsewhere, you will know what is currently good at the time.

Sorry I can't be of more help, but it's a changing field, and it changed almost monthly.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 386755

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:20

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:20
Imaging expo on at:
The Adelaide Convention Centre
26th Oct 10am to 8 pm
register on line before 19/10 if you want to be in the draw for a prize.
bound to be plenty of info there for me take on board...and some that i would like but cant afford
FollowupID: 386765

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:22

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:22
err here
FollowupID: 386766

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:02

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:02
Wolfie , do you think that i should be looking at the sony range instead ?

or do you think that the screw issue is a thing of the past ?

sorry to do your head in with a zillion questions
FollowupID: 386776

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:14

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:14
dont worry about asking too many questions.....
i want to now too.......lol
FollowupID: 386780

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:48

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:48
"Wolfie , do you think that i should be looking at the sony range instead ?

or do you think that the screw issue is a thing of the past ?

sorry to do your head in with a zillion questions"

That's okay.

I am of the belief that ALL of the major manufacturers are making good digital cameras today.

The one thing you may have to consider, is that when you buy into a camera, like a SLR, or a DSLR, and now, the high end Point & Shoots, you are locking yourself into a long term relationship with the brand you have chosen.

Canon, in the past have been okay in this regard.

Nikon have got some current issues with ownership rights on YOUR digital images. This subject is way too complex to even begin on this forum. A lot of people are changing, because of this very reason. Current Nikon SLR owners are NOT upgrading to Nikon DSLR's, because of the proprietary RAW imaging rights.

Sony. Sony make good stuff, but have always been a bit left field. If you want extras, too bad. You buy Sony extras, or nothing. The licensing for third party manufacturers has never been a strong point for Sony. The other reason I did not look at Sony, is because they were never in the analogue camera business, this was dominated by Nikon, Canon, Pentax, Ricoh, Yashica, and the list goes on, but Sony wasn't there, they were into high end video stuff, which I wasn't.

Look to see what suits YOUR perceived style of use...

Do you wear glasses?
Are the buttons too small for you fingers?
Can you actually see another LCD through the viewfinder, so you can use it under very bright conditions?
Does it take a long time to power up?
Here's the bummer... does it take the picture STRAIGHT AWAY? Not 3 seconds bloody later!!!! That, IS THE MOST IMPORTANT ISSUE, IT PlSSES ME OFF BIG TIME, when I use Tracy's camera.
Does it allow you to use a tripod?
Does it allow you to use a cable release?

Ask these questions, and think through your perceived shooting style, and base your decisions on the answers you have found.

Forget brand names, just get what YOU need.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 386866

Reply By: Sarg - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:26

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:26
http://www.imaging-resource.com/
AnswerID: 132420