Spotlight Question for an Auto Sparky or someone Bright!

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:22
ThreadID: 26869 Views:3309 Replies:12 FollowUps:29
Hi Everybody,
I have a set of Lightforce Blitz 240’s (LF240’s) on the front of My Paj and have purchased 2 sets of LF170’s to put on the Roof all have 100W Globes in. I also have a set of IPF 50W driving lights! My question is will my Standard Alternator be able to handle the load if I turn them all on at the same time? Or will it all end in tears? Can I and should I install a bigger alternator? What other opinions and options do I have?

Thanks in advance.

Matt

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:36

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:36
8 lights? wow. get a bigger alternator

AnswerID: 132371

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:40

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:40
Why you need so many.......... is WA dark?
AnswerID: 132372

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:46

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:46
from my experience lights mounted on a roof rack generally throw too much light on the bonnet and hinder your night vision. I have 2 Lightforce 240s on my cruiser and find them more thanadequate. Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 386649

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:08

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:08
only in some communities
FollowupID: 386712

Reply By: Redeye - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:51

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:51

Rough guide is 8 amps per 100 watt.

Look at the maual for the alterantor rating possibly 80 to 100 amp.

Redeye.
AnswerID: 132375

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:30

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:30
Cheers Redeye,
Just what I was after.

Matt
FollowupID: 386659

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:53

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:53
Isn't it against the law to drive with roof mounted lights operating?
AnswerID: 132376

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:01

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:01
Law in SA is that any light mounted on a roof must not be operational on road. ie globes removed.
FollowupID: 386651

Follow Up By: ACDC - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:35

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:35
In VIC they are illegal.
FollowupID: 386661

Follow Up By: Nick R - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:40

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:40
Better check with Vicroads or equivalent, a Police officer recently told me that they are legal if they are in front of the driver, was a new one on me as I thought they weren't legal.
I figured I might be able to mount some if I could get a roof bar way forward, this may be possible on the LC60 we bought off Willem.
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 386703

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:17

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:17
If they're not legal there's a fair few getting away with it for some time.
FollowupID: 386717

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:07

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:07
I have checked, they are definitely illegal in Victoria, they may be getting away with it the same as the ones that drive with their wanker foglights on, which is also illegal!
FollowupID: 386731

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:12

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:12
Nick R, a Police Officer told you they were legal .... LMAO
A Police Officer told me the speed limit in my road was 100kph, guess what, it's 50kph!
FollowupID: 386732

Reply By: 4runner - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:12

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:12
Acording to a friend of mine who weilds some clout in the WA Police Force - he owns a 4x4 with all the gear that money can by , informed me that it is illegal to drive with the roof mounted lights on on a a National Highway, in cities and towns. On private property in the middle of no where its up to you. But as soon as you are on a public road they have to be turned off.

Hope that clairifies the situation. Oh and on another note, spot/driving lights must not be higher than 1200mm from the ground. In other words they cant be mounted higher than the headlamps as fitted by the manufacturer. The other matter that the cops are clamping down on -(( And what the hell do they know about motor vehicle ? The vast majority dont know one end of a car from another, let alone what make it is from a reasonable distance)).is wheels protruding from outside the wheel arches. Mate of my son got done with his Hilux as he is running 33s and the wheels protruded by about 2 inches. Dont know what it cost him but he has had flares fitted. That will keep them off his back.
AnswerID: 132381

Follow Up By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 16:49

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 16:49
I deal with a lot of interstate trucks at work and word is that with all the new more ecconomical overseas trucks being used here in australia the 1200mm limit may be reviewed because these trucks come standard with spotlights built into the roof consol.Just what I have heard so could mean anything
regards ross
FollowupID: 386954

Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:29

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:29
Thanks guys,
I’m aware that there may be some Legalities re Roof mounted lights but as I was on my way home from work this arvo I saw a FESA (Fire Dept) Ford Station wagon on the Mitchell Freeway with 4 forward facing Spots and 1 amber Flashing light on the roof so is that also illegal too?
AnswerID: 132384

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:37

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:37
Its amazing sometimes how hard it is to get s straight answer....lol
FollowupID: 386662

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:22

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:22
Emergency vehicles could quite likely have exemptions.

FollowupID: 386720

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 00:34

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 00:34
How do the factory fitted lights in the roof rails of some new fourbies go - Xtrail is one - I think theres a Land Rover package that has them too but I could be mistaken.

??

FollowupID: 386908

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 13:49

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 13:49
Great Point Dave,

Unless it has something to do with being "Factory Fitted".....

Matt
FollowupID: 386944

Reply By: Pete. R. - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:17

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:17
ADR 43 I think it is states 1200mm off the ground and in line with OEM driving lights. Max 6 forward facing lights (Cruisers have 4 from fatory). Anything outside of this is against the law. Emergency vehicle have dispensation from some ADR's.
AnswerID: 132391

Reply By: drivesafe - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:05

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:05
Hi matt, I run 2 IPFs mounted on the front bumper and 4 Hella 181s on a quick release roof bar.

I fitted Philips Crystal Vision 55w globes in all my driving lights and the Rangie keeps the low beam on when the high beam is selected so they all have Philips Crystal Vision 55w globes in them as well.

The Philips Crystal Vision 55w globes consume, as the rating implies, 55 watts of power but the put out the equivalent of 110 watts of light and it is ULTRA WHITE light.

This would be cheaper than having to buy a bigger alternator.

Just an suggestion, cheers.
AnswerID: 132418

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:10

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:10
BTW, I have been running these Philips lights for around 2 years now and I do on average about 1,500kms of night driving every month and so far I have not had to replace any of the 10 globes.

FollowupID: 386714

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:04

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:04
Thanks drivesafe,
Have you had any Issues with the Law and your lights? I see the Front cover of the Latest 4WD Monthly has a Brand Spankin New 2005 GU with 6 LF140's Up Top.

Matt
FollowupID: 386729

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:11

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:11
Hi again Matt, I have a mate in North west NSW and he got booked in Central Qld, cost him $240 and the cop made him remove them before he could go.

To date I have had no problems.

As I posted, I’ve made up a bar that is held in place by two bolts and the driving light cables are connected to the relays under the bonnet by an 8 way plug and socket.

So when I go on a trip, as it gets dark I pull over and fit the roof bar, takes about 2 to 3 minutes and away I go.

I often drive all night, so as soon as the dawn starts to break, they come off, in about the same time.

I have the two IPFs set to light up the road at a distance.

The two centre roof lights are set to light up the road just in front of the Rangie.

The two outside roof lights are set as far to the left and right as I can get them and they make for great lighting on tight curved roads, they also tend to keep roos dazzled long enough to get passed them before they start hopping again.

FollowupID: 386742

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:39

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:39
Hey Drivesafe,
What sort of 8 way plug and socket did you use? coz that sounds exactly what I had in mind incase I need to park in an undercover Car park it’s a tight squeeze as it is so they’ll be no chance with the spotties on.

Thanks for all your help

Matt
FollowupID: 386770

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:10

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:10
Know exactly what you mean about under cover car parks. Just after I first made up the roof bar, I had to get some computer parts and went off to the local shopping centre and parked under cover.
Got what ever it was I was after and then jumped back into the Rangie and set out for home.

As I left the car park I noticed the high limit indicator and lucky for me I had gone into an area where delivery trucks go so the height was much higher than the normal 2m clearance.

Anywhere else in the shopping centre and I would not only have removed the lights but I would have ended up with a heavily customised roof as well.

Haven’t made that mistake since.

The connector is an 8 Way Quickcrimp plug, socket and terminals.

I run 4mm automotive cable for both the positive and the negative of each individual driving light. If I was still using the old 130w globes, I would have used 5mm automotive cable.

BTW, I have been using small Hella driving lights for about 30 years and using 130w globes always end up burning the reflectors. I’ve been using these Philips globes in the Hellas now for over two years and the is not a mark on the reflectors.

FollowupID: 386778

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:51

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:51
Hey Drivesafe,
Had the Spotties Fitted Yesterday and am really impressed with them check out My Profile for some pic’s the one during the day was a test fit up on Tuesday prior to getting Lee @ ARB Ozzy Park to fit them.

Matt

P.S. I’ll take some more of the Bar tonight before it gets dark.
FollowupID: 387450

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 10:54

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 10:54
Good stuff Matt, sounds like your happy with the set up and if you can see at night now, glasses are not going to help.

By the way Matt, have you had roof lights before.

FollowupID: 387466

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:41

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:41
Drivesafe,
I've never had Roof Lights before if I had realized how good they were I would have done it a long time ago and not bothered with the 240’s on the front!

Why do you ask?

Matt
FollowupID: 387530

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:04

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:04
Hi Matt, that’s exactly why I asked. If you have not had them before, the difference is incredible, as you have now discovered.

Try setting up your 240’s so that they light up as far down the road in front of you as possible and set the roof lights up to light up the road starting just beyond where your low beam finishes. This way you end up with the whole road is lit up.

Cheers and you will probably be looking for excuses to go for a night drive from now on in.
FollowupID: 387578

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:20

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:20
Drivesafe,
Your Right again about the night driving plus there is a lot less traffic out there! Ha Ha
Thanks again for all your Excellent Feedback.

Matt
FollowupID: 387604

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 16:22

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 16:22
One more thing Matt, what till you have done your first long distance night drive. At the end, you will find that you are far less fatigued than you would normally be and even though they may or may not be illegal, they are an adventages safety device.

FollowupID: 387694

Reply By: Allan-Pilbara - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:07

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:07
Like Redeye said look at the rating of the alternator. I=P/V, 700W/13V=53 amps plus other things in your car. Should be OK.

AnswerID: 132427

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:01

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 00:01
Cheers Allan,
Champion thanks for that. That's what I wanted to hear! I'll deal with the “Other Issues” as they arise!
FollowupID: 386741

Reply By: OMN - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:18

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:18
I spoke to Vic Roads about three weeks ago about the lighting issue as what you see on the road varies significantly.

I asked about quantity of driving lights at the front on the bull bar

Driving lights must be symetrical in the way they are fitted,

5 is fine
4 is fine
3 is fine
2 is fine

As long as if an even number they are equally spaced from the centre and if an odd number one is in the middle with the others evenly spaced either side.

I then asked about mounting on top of the bull bar as you see on many vehcles,
was told you CAN'T do that as it obstructs the drivers view. Anythign greate rthan 30mm in diameter may NOT be above the height of the bonnet, thus NOT on the top side of the bullbar.

Last question was about roof mounted lights,
this time he said no problem as doesnt obstruct drivers view. They must however only be able to be run on high beam and be separately switched so that do not come on automatically with high beam.

Thus their installation is the same as for normal driving lights at the front.

Hopefully this person was right as i am thinking about putting lights across the top.

AnswerID: 132446

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:58

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:58
In my old days when we only had 50amp alternators at best, and 4 to 6 100w lights, found that if we ran over the alternator capacity we just used the battery for a while. Usually had them off once in a while for a car coming the other way or a town, so the battery recharged. High load on the alternator, so alternator life is not so good, but make sure you have a decent battery. Not the ideal way to run the lights though.
Like calculating amps for a fridge. watts / volts (12)= amps.
Engine needs about 5 amps, parking and dash lights about another 5 amps (add up the bulbs), and any other accessories.
Found that when the battery was getting low, the lights would dim a little, and the engine ran a little rougher since it wasn't getting full voltage to the coil. Turn off a couple of lights for a while and it was OK again :-).
One time when I had 4 of the 6 diodes go in the regulator, limped home on parking lights, but the engine would die if I turned on the low beam!
AnswerID: 132447

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 00:46

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 00:46
All well and good on an old clunker but with modern day ECU's you can get in real strife when voltage drops off a bit.

The tolerance range in some vehicles is as high as 10.5 volts. To run all night with 80 amps worth of accessories and lights running even with the occasional dip to low beam will possibly see our budding lighting & electrical engineer sitting on the side of the road.

Install a high amperage alternator if you are going down this track.

You only need the heater/air con fan or the rear demister running with the quantity of lights you are talking in addition to OEM lights and you could seriously tip the balance towards a flat battery en route.

FollowupID: 386909

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 00:55

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 00:55
Rough calcs

130w x 2 (240's)
100w x 4 (140's)
50w x 2 (IPF's)
100w x 2 (OEM high beams)

= about 80 amps

Add 20-30A for rest of vehicle - dash, fan, stereo, CB etc. and a few for fridge and anything else and you are up in big alternator territory.

Dunno what the factory one is putting out. Does anyone else know?

FollowupID: 386910

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:04

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:04
Matt,

I'd be erring on the side of caution here. You've placed a major extra load on your system, way above normal extras. As Dave and John C posted above, the Amps add up pretty quick. Don't forget the load taken by your two batteries as well. If you've run down your aux batt, the alt will be trying to charge that too.

At least with the aux battery in the system too, if it's fully charged you'll have an extra bit of spare capacity if you overload the alternator.

Tim
AnswerID: 133268

Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:44

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:44
Thanks Tim,
I'll be keeping an eye on things for a while to see how the whole thing Holds up I have a Volt meter wired to the Aux Battery to keep it in check.

Matt
FollowupID: 387533