Nissan GU 3.0TD Turbo Oil

Submitted: Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 10:15
ThreadID: 26884 Views:2842 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Just did a search on the net for 10w40 Semisynthetic oil and came across this link.

What do you reckon?

http://www.acdelco.com/worldwide/eng/pl_eng_fluid_sae10w40.htm

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 11:46

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 11:46
There's no specs! Right viscosity though.

Leroy
AnswerID: 132482

Follow Up By: Patrol2 - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 12:45

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 12:45
Look at mobil.com.au

or BP.com.au

then follow the prompts to specified oil for GU with ZD30
FollowupID: 386805

Follow Up By: Star Bug - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:02

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:02
yep mobil.com.au.
The Super S and the Synth S both fit the specs.
I'm sure Shell, Castrol, ........ have something similar as well
FollowupID: 386882

Reply By: ACDC - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:12

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:12
BP have C6 GLOBAL PLUS which meet the Nissan spec's $94.00 for 20 litres.
AnswerID: 132553

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 21:34

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 21:34
I had a look at Shell website last night and noticed they now do a Rimula Ultra, which is 10W40 and appears to be semi-synthetic. Interestingly the lube recommendation was still for 15W40. I've used Rimula X in my GU 2.8 and now that I've traded up to a GU 3.0 I'm interested to read that Nissan are now recommending 10W/40.

Hugh
AnswerID: 132564

Reply By: bucky - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 07:57

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 07:57
G day Mate
I use Caltex Magnatec 10w40 ( I think that how it goes ) and my mechanic recons for hot work ie , in sesert work in the heat ,, bring the specs up to 15 w 40 ,,
My Navara 3.0lt TD never uses a drop of oil between services,,
I seldome take it over 3,500, but that does not nean that I am not worried if I have to, but my prefered rev range is between 2500 and 3000,,,Its just perfect
AnswerID: 132594

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 08:53

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 08:53
G'day Bucky, thanks for the reply. I am tending towards Magnatec too, but I still have this worrying feeling down deep inside about this motor after reading all the posts on it in here.

Just wondering how much of it is informed and how much is speculation. The way it sounds to me is there are few early models 3.0TD patrols with big K's on them that haven't done major engine damage.

Guess all we can do is make our best judgement and go for it ;-)

FollowupID: 386926

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 15:34

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 15:34
gid'ay bucky
the 10 part of the rating is when the engine is cold the 40 part is when engine is hot so in hot climates you would have to use oil with a 50 rating the 15 part would'nt help, any way thats what i reckon.
cheers toohey.
FollowupID: 387113

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:19

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:19
Indeed - you just have to pick a plan and run with it PG - re semisynthetic - faras I know there is no magic in the semi - its a trade-off re the price of fully synthetic - A fully synthetic oil, in the right spec range at an acceptable price should be superior.
AnswerID: 132654

Reply By: Member - Bob K (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 11:00

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 11:00
PG,
Check out Synforce. They produce a semisynthetic (Prosyn DH) especially for Nissan diesels.
I have been running it in my 3.0L patrol for 40,000 klms and find it very good. Synforce make a whole range of lubricants especially for 4wd's and have a deal with Australia Post where they can send it anywhere in Australia. I travel around a fair bit and just ring them up and purchase a 10 litre container over the phone and I have it within a couple of days no matter where I am.

cheers,
bk
AnswerID: 132961

Reply By: TOB - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 15:52

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 15:52
castrol magnatec 10w40 is ok, mobil 1 10w40 and also Repco have a housebrand 10w40 oil which is made by mobil and is only $26-00 for 6 lites. All meet the Nissan spec. I just bought 10 litres of Magnatec at Repco for $50-oo. That will do me.
AnswerID: 133954