laptop requirements
Submitted: Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 12:25
Nudenut
what is maximum specs for a lap top required to run GPS and Ozzie explorer....
I realise that there is a minimum, not after that I want the maximum to enable good performance....i dont want to get top of the range laptop either...if i dont have to!
Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 12:32
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 12:32
Yeah ok Nudie, you want the minimum for good performance
It was damn slow on my dx66
very good with a 450 mhz pentium with 512 ram
goes like a rocket on my 1.4 celeron laptop with 512 ram
Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 12:57
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 12:57
Get the best performance you can for your buck up front. That is the most RAM, the fastest Hard Drive speed, etc as you may
well need it. As an example to run NATMAP Raster needs at least 128 Meg of RAM. You'll find with computers that yoiu really need to get more performance than you "think" you need.
It has nothing to do with the "top of the range laptop" but what are its basic features. There are a lot of reasonably priced laptops with the same faetures (speed, memory, hard drive, etc) as the expensive ones.
If you think you won't need Windows XP think again, the other versions of windows with be redundant very soon.
The less memory the computer has the longer it takes to get file that needs a lot of memory, usually with graphics, like maps, to open up. You will also face problems with graphics quality.
Pay peanuts..
well you know the rest
Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:02
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:02
Nudie, if you want the maximum, can't you go and buy the laptop with the biggest hard drive and biggest amount of RAM and the biggest processor.
I have a Toshiba 6100 with 20gig hard drive and 126meg ram and that runs oziexplorer connected to the lappy through the GPS just fine and dandy. Maybe if I was in a jet plane or something, more ram might be a need but the truck doesn't do 600k+ /hr down the road.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:26
Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:26
Des Lexic,
More ram would be a bonus if you had a vehicle that could actually get to the speed limit within 45 minutes :-)
By the way Welcome Back, and I hear its a good idea to check BOLTS and NUTS (on the vehicle that is) when driving Off Road
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:09
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:09
I'd buy a cheapie, say 4 yrs old, replace the dard drive with a decent size one, say 40 GB, and load the ram to at least 256 MB (194 MB at a pinch). Even a 700 MHz performs navigation effortlessly. This setup will run XP pro or W2000. Avoid Win ME
Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:49
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:49
Id go this way as
well.
Check out some aucion houses for cheapies- Always buy the first in a set at auctions as price usually goes up as you go through them.
Things to watch for: non-existent battery life, no serial port (can easily be mistaken for a video port) and a dodgy screen (lines across it etc).
Running xp with less than 256Mb ram is asking for system crashes and crap performance. That said, some lappys have a limit of 512Mb RAM you can install- check this before forking out for some new ram.
I'd recommend sticking with Win 2k- no licensing crap to worry about, similar features, runs faster and more stable on less memory.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:48
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:48
Just wondering why you'd buy used, when brand new laptops are going for under $900 at the big retailers?
Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:06
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:06
A second hand Toshiba is going to be a better laptop than the $900 special. An analogy would be "Why buy a second hand BMW when you can buy a new Hyundai?"
Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:26
Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:26
if you stick with a brand name you are alot safer- the parts are engineered to work together, there is no hunting around for drivers (it all just works after installing windows) and they generally get better battery life because its not random parts stuck together. If you go with a big brand name one that was popular when it came out there is more support and is generally more robust than the generic specials. It also lets you save on extra crap like a 2nd power supply, extra mouse, bag etc.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:47
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:47
Agree with bob here,
Ya dont need the best for what you want to do mate.
A pentium 111 is excellent and cheap too. 20 gig is plenty. 256 meg ram is enough too but 512 would be perfect. I have XP pro installed on all my puters, to be honest, it runs much more reliable on my old p 111.
Reply By: Tanka - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:51
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:51
A top of the range laptop will cost you around $5,000. You can buy a laptop from somewhere such as Officeworks for $999 with Windoze XP, 256mb RAM, & a 40 gb Harddrive. These would do everything you want, with the protection of a warranty. Would seem much easier than buying second hand and modifying same.
Tanka.
Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:59
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 13:59
Agree entirely Tanka. You don't need huge amounts of grunt or all the bells and whistles to run Oziexplorer etc.
Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:21
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:21
Okay so any thing with 1 gig ram, 40+ gig hdd and with a cpu above 1.7 would be sufficient?
This sounds like middle of the road stuff!
Thanks guys
Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:27
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:27
Don't get too hung up on the 1gb RAM. Half that is probably more than sufficient.
Follow Up By: Tanka - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:36
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:36
Nudenut, you could just about plan a space mission with that. If thats the kind of spec ur after, keep an eye out for the aldi catalogue. I purchased oneof their laptops (which I am using now) and it is very good quality. I got it about 18 months ago, and a computer with the same specs is still more expensive today. Worth a look anyway. The fact is that most people dont use even 25% of their computers capability. So it seems a waste to pay for what ur not using. Ill list the specs & priceof my laptop.
Intel Centrino 1.7ghz, 512 RAM 80gb HDD (The newer aldi model has 100gb) Dual layer Pioneer DVD burner, XP, Nero 6, heaps of other software, Digital and standad TV tuner, Wireless LAN, 128mb ATI graphics, 6.1 surround sound card, remote control, firewire port, plenty of other holes and orifices, built in 56k dial up modem. Have probly forgotten heaps of stuff but you get the gist. All for $2,200. Compare this at Harvey Norman and you will be surprised.
Tanka.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:38
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:38
you'll be honking with that gear Nudie, just remember to remove the glasses.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 16:43
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 16:43
Nudie you will need a 256meg sound cadr nd external speakers to honk effectively, Mad Dog's honks are barely audible in the 'Lux
Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:24
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:24
I agree with those above. Clear screens for maps requires graphics grunt. (Video memory on the graphics card.
If you have a large hard drive, you can dump all your maps on the drive for quick access.
The real question might be that once you have one you will use it for other things. Store photos, Store video, use it as a DVD player, Use it as a TV. For these of course you will need huge storage for video (maybe external harddrive), good graphics and fast processor to get great DVD playing and you will probably need external speakers. To use for TV you will need to have turner card.
These are optional extras which don't cost a lot but make it a single piece of equipment to do all things.
Ensure it has plenty of USB ports and most GPS need a RS232 port or else you will need an adaptor to connect via a USB port.
To use it in your vehicle you will need power supply. If you go inverter make sure it is a pure sine wave one and not just an inverter. You can also get a 12v gadget to provide power to the laptop straight from the vehicle. This gadget has a transformer which will change your 12v to match the laptop (15v or 18v depends on make and model)
Have fun with it!
Reply By: ev700 - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:39
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:39
Nudie
The question you need to be asking is what is the most stable system.
I agree with those who say you need quite modest performance, but you also might want to watch dvds or play games.
See if you can get some agreement as to the most reliable, robust lappie make and model ((not the most recent whizz bang) and make sure its components are known to be stable too.
How do I know these things?
Well simply because I have older teens running whizz bang games computers in a network. However, there is only ONE computer in our network that is ALWAYS reliable and that is my old clunker built of boring tried and proven parts. Its graphics aren't great but it IS always stable.
EV700
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 16:45
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 16:45
yeah but will the old stuff perform as
well.....
as for stability...
well as i am only using it for ozzie explorer and GPS ....who gives a rats about whether or not it freezes part way thru the kids game or DVD...but i do like stability just the same although its not that important in this instance
Follow Up By: ev700 - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:22
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:22
Nudie
OK where i was heading was that lappies are made small and everything is close together. Some of the leading edge motherboards overheat in a desktop so you can imagine what it would be like in a car or CT.
Some of the lower speed stuff by reputable manufacturers is best because they put their known 'stronger' or more durable stuff into them.
This is why, for example that Sempron is not a bad choice for a new desktop. The processor is actually an earlier model that has been found to be robust. However fast Athlons could
cook an egg in a tight space, esp with a big hard drive generating more heat.
All in all for a laptop I reckon the best deal is the lower performance new model or (even better) a cheap superceded model.
Ask for superceded, few people do. IBM or Toshiba.
EV700
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:51
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:51
Get a Tablet PC. The touch screen is great in the car for doing maps.
Mine's an NEC, but Toshiba make a very nice tablet with grunt. Won't give you much change out of $4k.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:31
Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:31
You'll get a good tablet unit for about $1600.00 and it will be S/H but refurbished, and as all above have said S/H is fine for this sort of work, main thing to look out for is if your GPS is serail cable, most newer machines don't have these and converters are nothing but trouble.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 17:29
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 17:29
Nudie, I have a couple of old notebooks I run Ozi on, PIII 750MHz 384 megs memory, runs it fine, except the screens are old and dull, compared with Lucy's gun notebook
mine was very hard to read in the sunlight, so go new or newer, and make sure the screens good
Reply By: ozdragon - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 17:53
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 17:53
Hi nudie
I agree with $999 from office works. Maybe even Acer from big W around $1200
For what you need:
Celeron processor (reasonably fast)
256 -512 meg ram
40 gig hard drive
Most come with dvd player or burner. The Acer from Big W has a burner.
Great for watching dvd's. Tv tuners for laptops still arnt to flash.
Cheers Peter
Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:41
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 18:41
goodday nudie
do you work for yourself
if so surely you need 1 for your job and you can lease it 100% tax deduction
Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 19:08
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 19:08
Nudie,
Dell are offering an Inspiron 2200 for $898, delivered . 256meg, Celeron, 14" screen. Not much to upgrade to 512mb (might be free at the moment). At this price, you get a new unit, new battery, warranty, etc and this makes second-had ones pale a bit in price.
Most lappies these days don't have a serial Com port, so you will probably have to invest in a usb-serial converter module.
When searching for whatever you buy,
check the overall dimensions, as some of the wide-screen versions are starting to get a bit cumbersome in your lap (depends how big your lap is, I guess - lol).
I prefer a lappy which can run off a 12v converter, rather than use a 240v inverter. More efficient overall. If going for a 12v converter,
check what the specs are on the label of the lappie's 240v power supply - some thirsty lappies need DC up to about 7-8A, and it may be hard to source a 12v converter to deliver this much. If the power supply states somewhere between 15v and 20v at 4A on the label, then you have a reasonable unit and will have no problems sourcing a 12v converter. (hope that all makes sense)
On the really cheap side, Oatley electronics are selling Pentium 266 IBM Thinkpads for about $119 Oatley specials
Good hunting, Gerry
Reply By: djam1 - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:35
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:35
Gentlemen (and Ladies)
Regarding the original question I have seen a 150,hz machine with 64 Meg of Ram run the programs that you want to run efficiently. Its a bit like choosing to drive to
Perth in a VW beetle over a Porsche 911 it will do the job but it will be slower.
I work on Laptops daily and would strongly suggest that EVERYONE avoids cheap Laptops structurally and electonically they dont cut it, They are nearly always trouble and if they havent been thus far then the day is probably near.
I would stick to buying corporate grade machines that have come off of corporate release. I have used 7 IBM Thinkpad T (T stands for Titanium) series Laptops without the hint of failure and if you buy them from IBM they will most likely still have factory warranty. These machines (other brands in the same category should be fine) have performed completely reliably and have proved to be very durable. I have repaired the cheap jobs and have seen firsthand the chaos that cutting costs during manufacture cause.
For the applications that you are discussing you dont need to go too wild in fact just focusing on the specifications with new cheap laptops will cause you issues, cheap poorly designed machines can overheat and have a limited life span. Dont forget that running a cheap laptop in a 4x4 while mobile with its poorly designed hinges will inevitably lead to structural issues.
I guess its a bit like buying a New Terracan compared to an Old Land Cruiser it may not be quite as flash but it probably wont let you down.
I wish you
well
Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:43
Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 02:43
Couldn't agree more with everything you have written, as a PC retail outlet owner, these cheap laptops are the reason I go away on holidays, firstly to get my sanity back after trying to fix them and secondly because i can afford it with the money the poor owners of these flash Laptop jets have spent getting them repaired and fixed by us. Some of the names above that most folks probably believe are good brands, were once but these sub $1800 machines are built sub $1800. If you go new you have to do as djam1 said, go with a corporate quality machine, most of which are now centrino and are built to take the shocks etc that are demanded of them. Also be aware that if the unit is wide screen and you can't change the viewing area, all tour maps etc will be stretched width ways.
Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 01:41
Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 01:41
Agree with that. If Oziexplorer and GPS is all you need, almost any laptop will do and build quality is much more important than CPU speed. In my experience, IBM, Toshiba, and ASUS are the way to go.
On the other hand, if you do want to store and edit photos, run Photoshop etc, ...
Reply By: Michael Carey - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 08:21
Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 08:21
Something I found out a few months back is that Toshiba is starting to re-introduce serial ports on some of their laptop computers. Even a low spec Toshiba now has a serial and printer port as standard. No need to use a USB to Serial adapter to get NMEA GPS info into Oziexplorer, with the associated problems of changing COM ports when you plug into a different USB socket...
It was starting to get harder and harder to find a serial port on a laptop, hopefully times are changing for the better??
Follow Up By: joc45 - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 11:17
Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 11:17
Yeh, I lament the passing of the serial port.
Haven't tried it, but you can buy a dumb "mouse-style" 12-chan gps with no display, just sits on your dash, with a usb interface, about $70-80. Might be less stuffing around than buying a serial-usb interface.
Also, less conspicuous, less likely to be knocked off.
Gerry
Reply By: Member - t0me (WA) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 14:42
Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 14:42
My 2 cents.
Don't under estimate Acer.
Well made, they make an aweful lot of the machines other brands re-badge and sell as their own. They are also amongst the cheaper ones.
I agree that the 7200rpm drives (upto 60gb only so far) make a huge difference to performance. Running XP go for 512mb of RAM.
A Mobility processor will run much much cooler than just about any other in a laptop. For that reason stay away from a P4 unless its an M class as in the car they will overheat quickly.
Its the build quality and warranty that will count the most for you when its in the car.
I'm happy to store the laptop away and use my PDA whilst moving. Then I only need to use the laptop to setup new maps, and for entertainment purposes.
The PDA uses much less power, is easier to mount and use, and is easy to stick in my pocket when I leave the car (with a Bluetooth GPS unit it also becomes a useful portable unit). Also means the laptop will last longer as its the shocks it takes while out of its bag and running that do the most damage.