SA defends wheelie bin speed camera plan

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:10
ThreadID: 26912 Views:4281 Replies:16 FollowUps:18
SA defends wheelie bin speed camera plan
The South Australian Government says the use of speed cameras mounted in wheelie bins will help improve the state's road safety.

The state Budget makes provision for the new system.

Acting Transport Minister Paul Holloway says police and Transport SA will begin trialling the wheelie bin cameras in locations where it is too dangerous to mount a speed camera in a car.

Mr Holloway says the State Government's aim is to reduce the road toll.

"We do have a particularly poor record [and] we were the worst of all the states when this Government came to office," he said.

"We do need to continue to work and look, this new trial of putting a camera in a wheelie bin is just one way in which we can add to the armoury of police."

[ View Image]

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:18

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:18
Thought u went to Whyalla?
AnswerID: 132635

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:32

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:32
lack of $ :(
bleep in bleep off sittin here with a crate of CSH red.
FollowupID: 386966

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:35

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:35
Yeah, because nothing saves lives like a speed camera hidden in a wheelie bin.

You would think having more visible police out on the roads would slow people down and save lives, But then if you see a police car everybody slows down and then they wouldn’t make any money out of fines would they.
AnswerID: 132639

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:38

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:38
After the privatisation of ETSA power bills have skrocketed to such levels that the Government now has to give power bill rebates to those in need (y know people in Elizebeth, Whyalla etc) I guess the money for stuff ups like that have to come from somwhere. I nearly fell off my perch when I saw my parents power bill a few years ago $750$$$ !!!! when I was at the time getting bills of between 60 and 80 dollars in the West
AnswerID: 132641

Reply By: Nudenut - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:58

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 20:58
it was only time before they had to figure out how to introduce another way to enrich their purse.....geez...you think we had cottoned on to the idea that it is for safety and not what we thinik....Revenue Raising?????
AnswerID: 132643

Reply By: rob&kev&roo - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:07

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:07
Hay heres an idea to stop everyone getting caught and having to pay fines, stop speedong. i know novel idea but i think it just might work.
AnswerID: 132646

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:22

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:22
hands up any one else that owns a normally asperated diesal!!
FollowupID: 386964

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:38

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:38
Set appropriate speed limits and people would not speed.

If they didn’t catch people speeding how would they make up all that lost money??

You can set a cracking pace in those N/A diesels when in, Top gear, on the floor down hill, with a tail wind.

FollowupID: 386968

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 15:45

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 15:45
Yep here in WA they dropped almost all the roads throughout the state by 10k's (except the main highways) and put more cameras out. It's funny though because in America they did a study that showed it didn't matter what the speed limit was people all travelled the same speed.

They increased and decreased the speed limit on a strech of road over several months plus and minus 10mph. The majority of drivers did the same speed they were doing before the limits were changed (be it slower, faster etc etc). The average speed did not change at all.

So I guess our government looks at these facts and thinks "Hmmm, if we drop the speed limit to a slower speed than it should be, more people will speed, then we can fine them and make huge profits, then we'll just tell everyone we're trying to save their lives and we'll look like angels".

The other interesting fact from the US was the increase of highway speed limits causing a substantial decrease in road fatalities.

How do they justify lowering speed limits and increasing cameras when the facts point to the opposite direction?
FollowupID: 387009

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:28

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:28
When I first started driving the limits were 25kph (schools roadworks etc) 60 kph (citys, towns etc) 80 (non built up urban as a slow down before the 60 for towns) and 110 for the highway. Weeel now how many limits are there and swapping and changing -some like 50 are not sighnposted etc. The old limits may not have stopped me from getting caught once or 2wice but they seemed to make sense (well more sense)
FollowupID: 387013

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:55

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:55
It’s funny how whenever there is talk about increasing speed limit’s, particularity on country roads that there is overwhelming public support but nothing ever happens, but they can never lower the speed limit’s then find new and amusing way’s to hide speed cameras fast enough.

Reading the Sunday times the other week, and they had all these people who had written in complaining about how bad WA drivers were, now I spend a bit of time on the road and yes there are some bleep s out there and I am sure I have been less than the perfect motorist on occasions but it is not as bad as these people were making it sound.

Personally I find nothing wrong with drivers in WA so you got cut off on the freeway, some guy was tailgating you or somebody did a burnout around the corner. Well bleep happens move on with you life and get over it.

The other day I was about to merge into a turning lane on the right and as I got up next to the car on my left he decided he needed to turn as well so proceeded to merge into my lane cutting me off, I was forced to put half the car up a curb at 60 to avoid him. Was I bleep off bleep yeah but I didn’t dwell on it, bleep happens get over it, life’s a risk and people make mistakes.
FollowupID: 387016

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 18:00

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 18:00
Funny thing is when I was in SA there were the same reports about SA drivers and I bet it is the same in all states. It is trash journalism and is an easy way to get responseswithout reporting anything
FollowupID: 387017

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:14

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:14
If they really want to reduce a death toll, they coulld do something real about the suicide rate of boys and men. Youth suicide is a bloody disgrace in Australia.

If they want to reduce the coming avalanche of deaths through diabetes and other diseases, stop food and confectionery advertising for kids on TV.

What idiot thought of cameras in bins? Is this the Keystone Cops?

EV700
AnswerID: 132648

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:31

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 21:31
Suicide - what suicide? I reckon part of the problem is it doesnt get reported. suicides are never in the paper and only crack a line when a body of a young man is found a year after an intensive search failed to find the tree where he ended his life. No wonder these people dont seek help they must think no one else has ever gone down their path and there freinds must just think he will pick up because until you see it its the first you hear about it
FollowupID: 386965

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 08:49

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 08:49
well said champ, the social stigma and blindness to suicide is abhorrent.

Makes me furious that Jeff Kennett - the man who destroyed the mental health services in victoria, now has the gaul to be a spokesperson for the beyond blue charity.

At least young people have some support through mobs like reach out, I donate through their JJJ annuall fundraiser, but still much more needs to be done. Because sitting alone contemplating the life and death decision is something no-one should have to do, trust me...
FollowupID: 386990

Follow Up By: ev700 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 11:56

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 11:56
There are Politically Correct issues that have had an intravenous drip from the public money trough for 3 decades (since the days of Mal and Gough). The media helps with spin for more $$$ for these favoured groups.

But there is precious little action to assist mentally tortured kids who are killing themselves.

A young fellow living behid us emptied his blood all over his mum's patio at 1.00 am recently. They couldn't get any help for him when he was alive but you should have seen the resources applied when he died!

I spoke with my teen and he has listed many of his friends who killed themselves or are currently considering it.

If parents can have a snoop over their teen's shoulder at (say) MSN messanger they will see heaps of on-going discussions night after night among kids who are teetering on the edge of the abyss. These are 'normal' kids from 'normal' homes.

Sure we don't want people speeding on the road, but I'd suggest that the SA Govt (nor any other State or Federal Govt) would never put the same amount of discussion into preventing youth suicide as it has into wheelie bins with cameras.

If this is a joke it is a very viciuos joke.
FollowupID: 386998

Follow Up By: ev700 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 12:01

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 12:01
I now notice that the wheelie bin could be a joke, nontheless my comments about the State and Federal Govts not taking any real steps to reduce youth suicide still stand.
FollowupID: 386999

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:43

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:43
As long as you let your kids know that there are always better options, and that they can come to you with anything, and make sure they know about what resources are available ( confidential or otherwise) then you are in with a chance. I grew up in a rural area which had the stigma that you dont talk about that sort of thing, and there certainly wern't any readily available resources, so it was very hard to deal with.

Pop this into your kids favorites list in internet explorer,

http://www.reachout.com.au/home.asp
FollowupID: 387014

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:03

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:03
hahaha...Where did you find this. Sounds like an april fools joke to me. Can't be for real.
AnswerID: 132651

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:27

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:27
hahaha, it's true. Poor buggers we should take up a collection for them, the gov must be nearly bankrupt....sounds like a job for Jeff K
FollowupID: 386971

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 23:16

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 23:16
www.abc.net.au !
FollowupID: 386974

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 23:20

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 23:20
yeah I've already done the research, also listed as true on snopes.
FollowupID: 386975

Reply By: ACDC - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:17

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 22:17
Hey truckster i have some website work for you! call in and see me.
AnswerID: 132653

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 00:24

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 00:24
The picture you posted is the same as the picture on the Snopes website HERE
AnswerID: 132661

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 01:09

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 01:09
Gees this has been doing the rounds for a while. I first got emailed that pic years ago.

Even if they did it - I'd be willing to pit my bullbar at 25kmh against their $20 wheelie bin and it's protection of a $60,000 camera.

I know who'd come off second best.

Even if they caught me I'd be happy to pay my insurance excess just to clean up one of them.

More police cars on the road is the answer to speeding motorists.

AnswerID: 132663

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 11:08

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 11:08
Even easier - Just park in front of it and hook a snatch strap onto the handle and take it for a ride! Let its camera take a picture of you then!
FollowupID: 386996

Reply By: Member - Jason H (SA) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 06:51

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 06:51
One simple solution - bribe the local garbage truck operator to scoop up any wheelie bin that is on the side of the road on a non-collection day.

With $60,000 worth of camera sitting in the tip, I think the government would give up on the idea pretty quick.

What next - satelite tracking and fining. Before long you won't be able to pick your own nose while driving without have a photo taken and fine sent out......

Hughesy
AnswerID: 132672

Follow Up By: locallaw - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:49

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:49
Gidday,I bet they have someone sitting behind a tree not far away watching what goes on.
Seeya Locallawoff
FollowupID: 387015

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 14:36

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 14:36
easy fix to this when you see one just call the local council & tell them they forgot to empty your bin & it is now smelling realy bad,you would appreciate if they could send a truck to empty it asap.
then give them the address of the wheely camera
AnswerID: 132699

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 15:26

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 15:26
"The state Budget makes provision for the new system"

I guess that means provision for the extra income that it will produce.
And not the provision for the supposed reduced deaths and injuries its meant to prevent. (Crap)

AnswerID: 132700

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 16:20

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 16:20
Funny eh how we all proclaim to be good law abiding people ,yet cry foul when sprung breaking the law ,whether the law is good/bad or indifferent if you break it you pay ,simple as that ,you see a wheelie bin while your doing 70 in a 60 zone and get fined ,serves you bleeping right....... bet if I came speeding down YOUR street day in and day out you would soon love to have a form of deterent put in place.
AnswerID: 132704

Reply By: cmilton54 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 19:05

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 19:05
If the govt didnt get $$$ for speeding, they would soon find another way to hit us.
Charlie
AnswerID: 132712

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 22:55

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 22:55
In Victoria it's called Pokies.

Stuck with both I feel.

I don't condone speeding. I have big problem with the tolerance level on our cameras being set below the ADR accuracy requirement for the speedometer.

Getting booked for 53 in a 50 zone is a nonsense. THAT is revenue raising.

If people are significantly exceeding the speed limit they should get fined.

FollowupID: 387067

Reply By: Member - t0me (WA) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 14:14

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 14:14
Personally I think its a bloody brilliant idea. For too long now wheelie bins have got away with driving at reckless speeds on our roads.
AnswerID: 132816