4.2 nisan compared to 3litre

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 06:41
ThreadID: 26920 Views:2860 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
Hi. Yes its me again . We think we have founda good patrol, as mentioned on a previous post. However last night a friend told me abut a 4.2 for sale with only a few thousand ks on the clock and only a few months old. How do they compare????
Now we are really confused...
I know all the reliability issues asociated with the 3litr in the last few years,however was wondering aboul fuel economy and get up and go associated with the 4.2. I have read a few posts about 4.8s but not a lot about 4.2 except that people seem to like them.
Regards Lenni

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 08:15

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 08:15
lenni I have never been in a 3 litre so I don't know how they go but the 4.2 engines seem to go for 500,000 kms and more as long as you want to continue to drive them. Mine took until the mid 40,000 to free up so some see them as a bit gutless until that happens. Those are both diesel - the 3L and the 4.2L, the 4.8 is a petrol, though now best converted to gas.

The 4.2 is one of the old style diesels and has towed a lot of busses around , so has been a great toiler. It has a mechanical fuel pump against electronics in a lot of the modern injector pumps. There is no place to do the tricking up of the electronic systems if you want more power, you just replace the exhaust pipe, boost the turbo, and as described by a friend who has done it - "she's like a V8" to drive.....
AnswerID: 132674

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 08:27

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 08:27
The 3L goes well.... power wise it's the same as (or near enough) to the 4.2 turbo.

BUT.....

It's still a 4 cylinder 3L dragging a 2.5 tonne truck around..... and off road, if you're say in a rocky creek where slow and steady is the order of the day, so your revs are "under the turbo", the 3L becomes a naturally aspirated 3L trying to drag a 2.5 tonne truck around.... In a 4.2 "under the turbo", you will still have bucket loads of torque to get you where you want to go. The 4.2, as stated above, will also last longer.... I have heard of them with 4 and 5 hundred thousand K's on 'em and they're still going strong.

Just my opinion.... but the 4.2 would be my choice....
AnswerID: 132675

Reply By: lambo - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 09:37

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 09:37
I HAVE A 4.2 MANUAL TURBO AND IYS GREAT ESPEC FOR TOWING - I TOW A BOTA OF ABOUT 2.5 TONS. PLENTY OF LOW DOWN GRUNT. CONSUMPTION WISE I GET AROUND 14 L PER 100 KM WHICH IS NOT BAD. I HV A FREIND WITH A 3.0 AUTO TDI WHO TOWS A LIGHTER BOAT THAN MINE AND IT ALSO GOES GREAT.

CHEERS
AnswerID: 132682

Reply By: Tracker Mick - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 09:54

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 09:54
I have the 3l turbo and I love it. Cheasper rego cheaper fuel costs and has more torque than the 4.2 lit.
Check out the 3lit specs and you will see for yourself.
Fit a engine m/system ie dietronic and will be even better.
AnswerID: 132683

Reply By: adamj1300 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 09:59

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 09:59
the 3 liters have a history of blowing up not lasting
the 4.2 are proven & tested & last for ever & are the same engines oout of the gq with a turbo & intercooler added which make a huge difference!

the 3 liter will do a few litres less per 100 kms than the 4.2
the 3 litre is all electronic
the 4.2 is all low tech old school no electronics

both produce nearly the same figures but u have a 3 litre working the over time to keep up with the 4.2
go the 4.2 with out a doubt ( even if 2nd hand) only coz its a proven engine that will last for ever in long term

ps i own a 4.2 99 gu wagon owned it from new & never had a problem with nearly a 300 kms on the clock & thats towing a 1.5 t work trailer most days (Carpenter by trade)
AnswerID: 132685

Follow Up By: DARREN - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 08:54

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 08:54
"3 litre working the over time to keep up with the 4.2"

I don't think so.

In our group there are 4 * 3.0l and 2 * 4.2's. Both 4.2 drivers have modifications in order to make them go better and improve driveability which the 3.0l's already have.
FollowupID: 387087

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 02:00

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 02:00
16 - 20 psi of boost - yea id call that working overtime
FollowupID: 387191

Reply By: herkman - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 10:03

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 10:03
is a better and longer life truck than the 3 litre.

Col Tigwell
AnswerID: 132687

Reply By: Bootha - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 11:19

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 11:19
Lenni, I went through the same delema when I was looking for a larger 4WD. After speaking to many deisel specialist mechanics, all had this response. If you are buying a company car that you intend to have for less than 100,000kms then the 3ltrs of any type are great. They go hard and work well, after this time depending on the type of treatment they have had they start to run into issue. "Not my words!!". They all said both the toyota and nissan 4.2L engines were good for 600,000kms with regular servicing and proper care. For this reason i went for the 4.2 and ended up with a normally aspirated cruiser. I love it but have now heard rumours that the drive line on the cruiser isn't as strong as the Nissan. So for longevity those who do most work on them recomend the 4.2. The best part about that 3L you have found is that it only has 28km on it. Hard to do any damage to a vehicle in that time. All the best with it, Bootha.
AnswerID: 132690

Follow Up By: angler - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 15:45

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 15:45
I also have the 3 litre in auto form and love the truck. Mine is a series three and as far as I can find out none of the series threes have ever had the early model blow up problem. ( the blowups have become a really great urban myth, and will be talked about for years to come.)

The best I have heard about distance travelled so far is 200,000K's The engines are still relatively new anyway.
I have one mate who owns one of the very early ones and he is really hard on it and so far has travelled 186,000 K's without fault.

I get good economy though not as good as my previous car, Disco TDI.
TDI 10L/100 on the highway, Patrol 12L/100 hwy.

If the 4.2 came in an auto I would have probably gone with the 4.2. I have heard from lots of tradies that if the ute came out with the 3 litre it would be a world beater. At the very least a triton and rolux beater for trade use.

In Qld the rego is the same as my wifes echo.
FollowupID: 387010

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 23:11

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 23:11
The Navara has had the 3.0 litre for about 3 years now.
FollowupID: 387069

Reply By: lenni - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 16:44

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 16:44
Thanks everyone you are very helpful expecially for people who find it hard to make a decision!!!
The 3 litre sounds very good however the 4.2 could go the distance. we have never bought a car as new as this one or as expensive so we are really considering our decision. We want the patrol to last a good few years and hopefully not guzzle a huge amount of fuel. Sounds like the 4.2 is a good compromise. We will investigate further. Oh and by the way we also have a disco and an echo. So fuel consumption will rise a tad, however we are sick of having a sluggish car when towing otherwise it is pretty good.
regards Lenni
AnswerID: 132705

Reply By: babs - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:01

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 17:01
Hi Lenni, Babs here I received your email but I will put on hold calling the dealer if your contemplating going for a used 4.2L, (don't want to bust there chops, if they don't get the business, might burn my bridges for the next time.) Let me know how much the used 4.2L your looking at is? And if that is the way you want to go, better to be sure of exactly what you want before we start getting "To do business prices".
Let me know when you have decided and I will squeeze them for you.

And regarding your question on 4.2L & 3L... Well I went the 4.2L same reasons as above posts, longevity in motor, pulling power & more toque where its needed in the bush.
Though the 3L is a very advanced engine for a diesal, supposedly more power than the 4.2L, but revs allot higher. It does have better fuel economy than the 4.2L I can vouch for that, my 4.2L is getting around 15.5L/klm hoping it will get better as it only has 6k on the clock..

Anyways good luck, let me know when you have decided I will be glad to help..

Babs..
AnswerID: 132706

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:07

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:07
It's the old, old question.......

The 4.2 has the runs on the board for reliability; but it really is a TRUCK. I know the purists will say that a "truck" is either a Kenworth, Make, Western Star etc. But in the 4x4 world, the 4.2 Patrol is derived from light truck origins. The engine is not made/designed to be quick off the mark or to do 150k/h on the highway. If that's what you require, then a 3L with a D-tronic (and possibly a slush box) is what you need.

I could have bought a 3L in 2000 when I decided to get a GU to replace my 1993 diesel GQ. The Nissan place only had a 3L auto and I took it for a drive. Strewth, I was so used to having to floor the go pedal to stir the old GQ into action, that when I test drove the 3L, I actually spun the wheels.....whooaaaa, what the hell IS this bloody thing??? I thought.

I was more interested in the driving position, switches and other interior layout as I did the test drive.

When I got back to the depot, the bloke asked me what I thought and I said I want a white one with the 4.2L T/D. He looked dismayed and asked didn't I like the 3L's power? I said it went like a scalded cat and I was VERY impressed; but I just could not reconcile my old-fashioned brain to accept a 4 pot, 3 Litre donk pushing around the sort of weights I knew I would be demanding of it. The 4.2 was down on power and up on price....the bloke thought I was troppo!!!

How glad do you think I am now? I always planned to keep this truck for 10 years and do lots of outback trips in it. I estimate that I will have 300,000 or 400,000 on the clock by the time the 10 years ticks over. I honestly don't believe the 3L would do that sort of distance; certainly not the 2000 model (which is what I have).

FollowupID: 387125

Follow Up By: babs - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 21:07

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 21:07
Big is definitely better!!!!!
FollowupID: 387162

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 21:15

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 21:15
hey roachie..
"But in the 4x4 world, the 4.2 Patrol is derived from light truck origins"

Apparently the BHIP* 3.0 is also in trucks in Europe.. couldnt see it, but thats the talk

*Blow Holes in Pistons
FollowupID: 387165

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 20:12

Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 20:12
BUY THE 4.2 NOW!
AnswerID: 132722

Reply By: Swine Hunter - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 00:52

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 00:52
There is NO substitute for cubic inches.
AnswerID: 132926

Reply By: Coyote - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 15:31

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 15:31
I own the 2.8 GU and am looking for a 4.2 as well.. Had hoped to get an auto but it appears i might be better of searching for the Holy Grail as someone here mentioned they don't make em.. Can anyone confirm/deny this. Is there such a beast as a 4.2 TD Auto GU??? I'm tired of hitting birds with my 2.8.. (The only GU to hit birds with the back door....as they fly into it..).
Ok.. so I'm being a little harsh.. the 2.8 is a little small for the 2.5 Tonne but she realy does OK all things considered.. you get what you pay for...

Feel free to send me a plug if you know someone who is wanting to sell a recent 4.2 with under 50 000 k's on the clock. damian.reitsma@adam.com.au
AnswerID: 132993