Poor Oldfellow

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 02, 2005 at 23:10
ThreadID: 26936 Views:1987 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Hi there one and all Thanks for such a informative . I am going tell you all about an old fellow that wanted to buy a new second hand car and trade in a buss that he had just bought , he bought the buss to take him and his wife travelling they used it once and found that it was of no use to them as the floor was not leval and as she was not to stable on her feet she fell over a couple of times so they came home and sold it and bought another vehical and small van ,now this is were it get a bit tricky they had trouble finding a buyer for the bus as they paid fifty thousand for it so they went and saw a second hand dealer who sold them there car worth about thirty grand with the proviso that when the bus was sold they would get a cheque back , the bus was sold for about forty three thousand wich upset them noend and the trailor they had with it sold seporatly for an extra amount not quiete sure maybee fifteen hundred and the old couple originaly thought they were going to get a cheque for around ten grand but when they saw what they sold it for changed it to maybee five to seven grand do you know how much the were first offerd was five hundred dollars since then I think they are going to get a new set of tyres . How much money do these blokes have to make to cover the deal , the old couple in there seventies and a bit short of cash are devastated , all this deal was done word of mouth and they dont have a leg to stand on acording to the consumer protection people . Since then he has had a minor strke from all the worry so to all those people doing deals make sure you have it all in writing. I reed this forum all the time so I thought I would get this of my chest , Thanks for your time cheers Roughneck

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 00:05

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 00:05
It's unfortunate that gone are days when a verbal deal was as solid as a written contract. I hope they fare well and the future treats them better.
AnswerID: 132757

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 00:24

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 00:24
And the dealer gets run over by the bus!!!
FollowupID: 387073

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 01:08

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 01:08
Hope the verbal deal is not dead yet,,,,
I'm in Perth Court with a car dealer over a verbal deal and get the final verdict on the 14th, hopefully will go my way but the car dealers has lied so much the judge is now a tad confused and has requested written transcrips of the case so far, just to verify statements the dealer has made to the court under oath.... :-(
AnswerID: 132758

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 10:48

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 10:48
'Credit' is a huge plus with a judge.

If the judge comes to believe the other side is telling wobblies, he/she will make an example of the dealer.
FollowupID: 387100

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 08:13

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 08:13
Ok , Let m eknow if i follow this properly.

They had a bus they couldnt sell .

the buy another van and the change over figure is set .

the dealer sold the car for a profit ? this is the issue ?

He gave them 30 k , but sold the car for 33k ?
AnswerID: 132776

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 20:17

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 20:17
G'day, Eric? is it? please correct me if I'm wrong.

Mate the way I understood it is that the couple had a bus, which they had paid 50k for, that they decided to sell to be replaced with a car and a small caravan.
Having trouble selling the bus privately for the amount they wanted for it, (closest to 50k I imagine), they decided to do a deal with the dealer thay were buying their car from.
The car they were buying was 30k, then the dealer was supposed to sell their bus through his yard for 50k, or as close to, then refund the balance, (ie, the money left over after taking out the 30k he was owed for the car and the final selling price of the van), minus consignment fee, to the elderly couple.
In effect, what the elderly couple had done was down traded their bus and instead of settling on an agreed price that the dealer was to pay them as 'cash back' there and then, they trusted the dealer to sell their bus for an amount close to 50k, and then give them the balance.
The bus was sold by the dealer for 43k, of the 13k balance the couple were offered only $500.00, after voicing their opinion it sounds like a new set of tyres was offered on top of the $500.00.
As it was a "verbal agreement" the elderly couple don't think they have a leg to stand on, so are giving the whole episode up as a bad joke.
That is the way I understand it.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 387256

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 20:35

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 20:35
ok , for starters , consighment to a car yard is iligal . where is the dealer ? I am more than happy to ring them to get to the bottom of this .

how did they get the figure of what the dealer sold the bus for ?
FollowupID: 387260

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 11:34

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 11:34
With an anticipated 'kitty' of $43k and owing $30 for the car (residue $13k), i can see why the Oldies were upset when first offered $500 as the residue from the sale, especially as the dealer would have already have made a profit on the sale of the car.

Even if the dealer eventually paid $5 to $7K as a residue, he would still be making a windfall.

However the dealer would be aiming to make a good profit on the sale of the car and on the sale of the bus (sold on consignment?). Only through negotiation and a formal contract could the Oldies have improved their position.

Ethics are an individual thing.

Some of our leaders and 'betters' do not model a high standard of ethics, so why should the local car dealer? Cripes, judging by what some of our pollies get up to, the Oldies were lucky not to end up with a bill and a threatening letter from a lawyer.
AnswerID: 132803

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:00

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:00
I dont understand. It is the dealers job to buy vehicles for less than they are worth and flog them for more than they are worth If you dont wnt to get caught selling something for not enough and buying for to much - go private
AnswerID: 132836

Reply By: Roughneck - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:01

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:01
Thanks for all the emails,I think what is missing is just plain common decency , when an old couple comes to you with business and you sit down and talk over a deal and come to an agreement verbally should you as a dealer stick to the deal or change the rules , the old couple were realy surprised at the dealer only selling it for that amount, they themselves would have had no trouble selling it for that price . With the way his health has gone he is going to accept it and trust no one again. I think it hurts to see jerks like these blokes geting away with this time and time again it leaves a real knot in the guts that we can't help but life goes on .Thanks again cheers Roughneck
AnswerID: 132859