Gold Coast, anything interesting to do.

Submitted: Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 14:17
ThreadID: 26950 Views:2847 Replies:10 FollowUps:6
Taking off to the Gold Coast with the family next January.
Besides all the obvious things, are there any lesser known things to check out.
We'll have a 2wd hire car so are limited where we can go.
Dean

Reply By: haysie222 (SA) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 16:13

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 16:13
gday dean , can't help gold coast but i just took alook at at your photos,mt arden,great spot, great drive, we were there in april probably a tad greener to.
AnswerID: 132830

Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 12:51

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 12:51
Gday haysie,
Terriffic views at the top. My wife is not too keen on high spots, needless to say she was not impressed at a couple of spots on the track.
Dean
FollowupID: 387218

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 16:47

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 16:47
A day trip to O'Reilleys in the Lamington National Park is good. Some great bush walks, including a 'tree top walk' via a suspension bridge through the rain forest. Take a picnic.
Either as part of that trip (would make it a big day), or on a separate day, a trip to Eagle Heights and Mt Tamborine is good. Lots of good craft shops and cafes at Eagle Heights for a relaxed lunch. A pleasant drive with some good views back over the Coast. Also some nice rain forest.

Both of these are up in the mountains behind the Gold Coast, so should be a bit cooler.

A day out on a fishing charter if you are into fishing. Lots of them available.
AnswerID: 132832

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:00

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:00
If you're going to go to O'Reillys... try it via Duck Creek Rd which is a dirt track from Beaudesert up to O'reillys.

Lots of 2wd's go up there, I don't think it would be a problem unless the road is wet. There are some awesome views over the valleys at severl spots up this rd.

Also just south of the border is Border Ranges National Park.... a terrific day trip, Pinnacle Lookout, Blackbutt Lookout and Lunch at Sheepstation Creek is the way to go......

AnswerID: 132835

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:39

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:39
Gee Brian, thought you used low range on Duck Creek Road.
Oh that's right, you drive a Nissan!!
He'll be OK in a rented 2WD.
FollowupID: 387117

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:48

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:48
I use Low Range as soon as I possibly can, whenever I can!!!!!!!!

:-))

LOOOOOVE that little-stick!
FollowupID: 387119

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 21:05

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 21:05
If its the same road, I drove down from O'riellys on that road, in a VY Commodore... the only daunting part was a steeper section with a bit of gravel and a very big drop on the right... was just a matter of taking it slow and all was good.. rest of the track was dead easy. Some nice views.
FollowupID: 387159

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 07:57

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 07:57
I would consider Duck ck road is a 2wd road except for some caution at the shallow creek crossing at the bottom. A low slung 2wd just needs to pick a careful line.
The road used to be a fun ride for my son on his mountain bike. Used to drop him off at the top, and he used to ride down. Only hassle was getting past all of the slow tourists who would only do 40 max, he used to top out at 80km/hr going down, and most at 60km/hr. Reckon he used to get some strange looks as he passed motorists pedalling like mad. And the others coming up didn't what to do as he slid through some of the corners. He had the advantage of being quite and being able to hear the cars coming, but surprising cars as he past.

Off course, I had to try and keep up, never succeded. And we had to do it 2 or 3 times :-).

Sorry for pinching the thread.

Will now put my mind to some places to visit.

Tallebudgra valley - Fleas nature reserve.
Currumbin valley rock holes for a swim.
Don't know where the topless girls sunbath any more , almost too old for that.
Visit surfers once for the experience, then keep away. I visit once every 10 years.
Go for an early morning walk along the beach. Takes a few hours to walk Kirra to Palm beach.
Southport spit for a look at the marina, and stop for a coffee at one of the wharfs.
Walk around Burleigh Headland by the tracks.

Will think about it today.
FollowupID: 387196

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 08:33

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 08:33
2WD rental? If you have a problem on this road they'll probably wipe your insurance ;--(
FollowupID: 387199

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:35

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 17:35
Mt. Tamborine on the back of a Harley, with kids in a trike. Not cheap, but definitly something your kids will talk about for weeks. The Guys halfway down Orchid Ave. in Surfers are the ones to talk to (under the SAR Club).

Come to think of it, not that much more exxy than the theme parks these days....
AnswerID: 132845

Reply By: Member - Ian A (QLD) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 20:04

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 20:04
G'day Dean,If you go to Tamborine Mountain definately go to Cedar Creek Falls
Have Fun Ian.
AnswerID: 132874

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 23:17

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 23:17
Hi Dean,

As everyone has said before me it's all about the mountains when you go to the G.Coast. The beaches are a waste of time (not) and fishing in Currumbin Ck or Tellabudgera Ck will drive the rugrats mad if you have any (not). The Theme Parks now there is a waste of good time you could be out in 4wd country in a 2wd. In case you may be tempted any visitor info site will give you the goss on the big 4, GC Hollywood, Seaworld, Dreamworld and Wet and Wild (not the adult store) World. Nite life, well there is none on the G.Coast (not), if you like it not so loud the Clubs of Twin Towns, Seagulls and others around the border of QLD and NSW are the go but if you like it loud then go to Cavill and Orchid ave's in Surfers. In the morning (as you walk out of any one of the clubs here) you could grab the kids and go to Ripley's "believe it or not" world in Cavill ave.
If it's nature based then try take a boat trip up the broadwater through all the "unnatural" man made canals and on to the waterways at the back of Sth Straddie or better still if the budget allows it, indulge yourselves at Couran Cove resort on Sth Straddie. Is heaps $$ but still very nice (in my opinion).
My nephews always rave about the Strawberry farm 1/2 way up to Brissy on main hwy, I've not been here but maybe one for the kids??
There's a performance driving centre 1/2 way to Brissy for something different if you are into speed (driving) (surfers paradise for other forms so I'm told)
Mt Warning is well worth a look and the list goes on and on ..........
You could fill many weeks there with things to do so I hope you have a wonderful and safe trip to the Sunshine State. Locals say there is only 2 states to be in, QLD and Pi$$ed, or as many locals do, live in both.

Safe travels Trevor.
AnswerID: 132918

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 07:05

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 07:05
When you leave O'Reilly's head back down the Canungra Rd, about 1/3 down there is a road off to your right to Kamerun lookout.... well worth the view!!!

Another place to visit is Natrural Arch, it is marked on the maps etc... about an hours drive from Nerang.... lovely spot for a picnic....... Out through Beaudesert again and theres a couple of picnic spots, one is Darlington Park and the other is Stinson Park at the base of the Lamington Nat Park..... very nice places to visit.

For a feed of fish and chips, visit Jimbo's at South Tweed, eat outside right on the river there.... it's great! There's enough things to see and do around Tweed to make the lunch at Jimbo's a day outing!!
AnswerID: 132932

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 08:38

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 08:38
Another run, but a bit longer, would be out to Rathdowney, the up the Lions road wich follows the interstate railway. See the only railway loop in Australia. Then on down through the Mt Warning area, maybe Nimbin if your that way inclined, down to Murwullimbah and back onto the Highway to Surfers.
Could also take the road up through the Border Ranges National Park, after the Railway Loop. Easy run for a 2WD and some spectacular views.

Cheers.....
AnswerID: 132938

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 09:50

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 09:50
War Museum out in the hills (magic drive.good road.blacktop) at Mudgerraba is good for all the family.Reasonable costs.Also paintball games avail all day.. Check them out www.collectorsarmoury.com.au Spend a couple of hours there..Magic scenery there...Big display of military vehicles as well as glass cases full of titled items..
AnswerID: 132949

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 12:37

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 12:37
Thanks all, great ideas.
We planned on a drive and some bushwalks, now we have some kind of destination ideas.
Dean
AnswerID: 132977