The Big Trip 2005

Submitted: Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:05
ThreadID: 26959 Views:2889 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
I know have our Big Trip of 2005 uploaded to our website below. Go to 4x4 and then Travel Stories at the bottom of the page.

This trek has 40 photos loaded and takes in the Western Deserts, Canning, Ruddall, Pilbara, Eastern Goldfields, South West, Israelite Bay, Telegraph Track run, Baxter Cliffs, Connie Sue, Great Central Road, Uluru, Alice, Simpson Desert and Birdsville Track.

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:09

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:09
Hello Mate

Cant wait to have a read.
Did you get me message?

Ads
AnswerID: 132860

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:43

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:43
Hi Ads

Yes, thanks for the message. I arrived home yesterday arvo after being released early. Pretty much confined to bed with short walks using two walking sticks...lol. It will take around 8 weeks to be able to walk without an aid.

Hope you enjoyed your weekend in the Sunshine State :o)

FollowupID: 387131

Reply By: Tracker Mick - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:20

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:20
Willem,
You lucky buggar.
AnswerID: 132863

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:29

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:29
very nice , very nice
AnswerID: 132865

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:39

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:39
Where were you today, Willie???

We called at the Pt Orgutta hospital to deliver a Top Deck only to find you'd been rissoled out of there!!! You wore out your welcome too soon.

We couldn't drop in on friday night as it was about 9-30pm by the time we got there and we figured you'd be well tucked up by then.

Sorry we missed you mate.

Hope you are recovering well....

AnswerID: 132868

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:46

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 19:46
Thats what I figured, Bill. Will have to drive down to the Yorke Peninsula to get me chocco now....sigh lol
FollowupID: 387132

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 22:41

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 22:41
Willem, loved the story and pix. I really identified with your lack of walking abilities and the damaged leg from the jerry :) Pity there weren't more pix of the Gary, as I didn't get as far as Jupiter, but thanks for those that you took.
Footie
AnswerID: 132910

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:52

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:52
Hi Jim

Yes, there wasn't all that much to snap. The scenery is pretty featureless except for a hill here and there.

Although, in the middle of absolutely nowhere, there is a properly built up and graded road, about 1km in length, which cuts through a beautiful stand of Desert Oaks. As the trees taper off the corrugated track returns.

FollowupID: 387226

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 22:41

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 22:41
All that in 3 months, you "well managed" things. I new it would make wonderful reading, but it does make me very envious. Anyway well done and I hope you are recovering well (don't know the full story but any visit to any big H is not to be sneezed at), I hope you are well enough to be back on the road doing what you love in no time.

Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 132911

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:33

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:33
Hi Trevor

Thanks for the feedback and wishes. I have just had my second TKR (total knee replacement) and it is a slow process from here onwards for the next three months, but the end result should be total mobility again.

I am planning two, short and extreme, offroad excursions in 2006 and another 3 month trek, this time through the Nortwest of WA along the tracks I havent been yet.

FollowupID: 387224

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 17:54

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 17:54
Willem,

From your treks on your website you would find it hard to find places and tracks were you HAVEN'T been. I am going through some of them and they are a great read.
God speed with your recovery and I will talk soon.

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 387238

Reply By: Trekkie - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 23:09

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 23:09
Willem
What a great trip, I really enjoyed reading your trip notes - brings back great memories of many places we have been to - need to get to all of them again.

I do need to pick you up on your Geography.....unless you sprouted wings on the way down the dunes to Warren Beach, you would see the SOUTHERN OCEAN not the Pacific which would be several thousand kms East of where you landed.

"The next day we made for Warren Beach in D'Entrecasteaux National Park along a forest trail. There were some detours as recent rains had flooded the creeks and washed river crossings away. We were only able to access the beach south of the Warren River. At a point along the track a sign advised us to drop tyre pressures and as usual I advocated 15psi. We made our way through a very nice coastal wooded area with moss laden trees to come out high up on a pure white sand dune to see the Pacific Ocean and the white ocean beach in the distance. About 2km of inter dune driving along very sandy tracks saw us parked on this beautiful beach. But where was George?"
AnswerID: 132917

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 00:46

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 00:46
Willem lost???? Nah!!! he is always spot on the beach he was talking about was actually Bondi.

FollowupID: 387187

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:17

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:17
Trekkie,

Hahahahaha...moot point

Looking at the BIGGER picture, the meeting place and demarcation point between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean occours at Cape Leeuwin and that the Southern Ocean is a smaller part of the South Pacific Ocean.

I will have it changed however as it is marked so on my maps and thanks for pointing it out to me.

FollowupID: 387220

Follow Up By: Trekkie - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 22:30

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 22:30
Willem

Really sorry to correct you (especially when I enjoyed reading about your trip) The Great Australian Bight is part of the Indian Ocean - not the Pacific. The Pacific ends on East coast of Oz and along the West Coast of Tassie

http://geography.about.com/library/cia/blcindian.htm
ck</a

http://geography.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http://www.m%2Dw.com/cgi%2Dbin/nytmaps.pl%3Faustralia

Indian Ocean
Background: A spring 2000 decision by the International Hydrographic Organization delimited a fifth world ocean from the southern portions of the Atlantic Ocean, Indian Ocean, and Pacific Ocean. The new ocean extends from the coast of Antarctica north to 60 degrees south latitude which coincides with the Antarctic Treaty Limit. The Indian Ocean remains the third-largest of the world's five oceans (after the Pacific Ocean and Atlantic Ocean, but larger than the Southern Ocean and Arctic Ocean).
Location: body of water between Africa, the Southern Ocean, Asia, and Australia
Geographic coordinates: 20 00 S, 80 00 E
Area:
total: 68.556 million sq km
note: includes Andaman Sea, Arabian Sea, Bay of Bengal, Great Australian Bight, Gulf of Aden, Gulf of Oman, Mozambique Channel, Persian Gulf, Red Sea, Strait of Malacca, and other tributary water bodies
Ports and harbors: Calcutta (India), Chennai (Madras; India), Colombo (Sri Lanka), Durban (South Africa), Jakarta (Indonesia), Melbourne (Australia), Mumbai (Bombay; India), Richards Bay (South Africa)
FollowupID: 387291

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:17

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:17
Hi Trekkie

I was unaware of the technical details of the boundaries of the oceans. I am sure that somewhere in my travels I had seen that the Pacific and Indian Oceans met at Cape Leeuwin. Maybe I read it on an outdated plaque.

Thanks for the follow up info.

FollowupID: 387324

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 01:24

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 01:24
Great read old fella, really enjoyed it.

Nice looking Sat phone in the pic. (Best thing you ever bought)

AnswerID: 132927

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:26

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:26
Now I am just waiting for a very nice 2nd hand Troopy to come on the market......hahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 387223

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:16

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 13:16
It's amazing how many shades of green one can go with envy as one read through the diary.

Awesome trip mate!

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 132983

Reply By: Stuart Butler - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 16:14

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 16:14
Just read your story on your website, fantastic writeup and very envious. On a side note realised how small a world it is , Both my dad and Sister live in peterborough and no what you mean by escaping the winter cold
AnswerID: 133142