Denco's liquid to air intercooler??

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 19:05
ThreadID: 27010 Views:6199 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
Has anybody fitted one of these to their GU 4.2 Patrol yet?

I phoned them today (g'day Shane.....) as I was considering the possibility of changing the factory turbo for a Schwitzer unit. Their website (link from EO) states that most turbos (on diesels) are only oil cooled as opposed to both oil and water cooled. Water coolant, they say, can cause issues with the water/coolant leaking as well as causing problems with a vehicle's cooling system. This has been one of my recent theories with the GU 4.2 getting a tad warm from time to time. If the water is getting quite hot and the oil temp is staying relatively cool (around 80 degrees max in the sump), I deduced that a oil-cooled turbo would/should make the coolant temp a bit cooler and, possibly, make the oil a bit hotter.

However, when I phoned, Shane suggested that the Schwitzer (@ $2700-) would not be as good as simply fitting one of their new intercoolers ($1,815-) as far as cooling the motor down.

So, has anybody either fitted a new, oil-cooled only, turbo and/or a Denco liquid to air intercooler to their GU 4.2TD?

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:10

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:10
bank managers must love you!....
AnswerID: 133167

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 01:26

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 01:26
he has found that he can run more gauges, and senders and bull bleep in his cockpit.
FollowupID: 387420

Follow Up By: Jim-Bob - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 09:18

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 09:18
I think Roachie is a bank manager and it could be your money he is using----lol.
Hey Roachie why don't you just unbolt that lump of lard from under your bonnet and replace it with 6.5ltr of turbo charged chev and be done with it.
You could then hang road train signs front and rear....hehehe.
Safe travells
Jim-Bob.
FollowupID: 387456

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:28

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:28
Narcissistic?
AnswerID: 133176

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:38

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:38
Roachie,

Hi mate, I don't know much about the liquid to air intercooler you talk about but I do know the air to air intercooler I have fitted in front of my radiator again (after 2 years in the shed) has made no diff to engine running temps. The vehicle did run quite hot on a trip up nth about 2 months back but apart from that it has been great since the work I had done on the turbo.
As a post note my uncle (the one who's 5th gear let go in Norseman) has just yesterday had the same work done to his 01 4.2 turbo patrol as I did 6 months ago, so it will be interesting to get another older drivers perspective on this subject. When the goss comes in I will let you know his verdict, he is towing a full sized 2 tonne + caravan up north now to test it out.
Sorry I did not answer your question directly, but my belief would be the intercooler you talk about should not make a difference to engine temps but it should give you max power for longer until the engine does it's usual (bolt to the red zone at worst possible time). Remembering I'm only a layman so take my advice and do with it what you want. :-))

Let me know what you find out regarding this subject if you can please.
Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 133322

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:28

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:28
G'day Trevor,

I thought it very odd indeed mate.............. Denco's website specifically states that water-cooled turbos are NOT the way to go. Yet Nissan's 4.2 turbo IS water-cooled, so I naturally thought that this could be something to look into. When I phoned and started to explain to Shane that I had a 4.2TD GU which gets a bit too warm, he immediately jumped in (thinking I was phoning him about the intercooler; not the Schwitzer turbo) and said he knows exactly what I'm phoning about and that their water/air intercooler will fix my over-warming problems. I said, no I wasn't ringing about the intercooler, but the oil-cooled Schwitzer turbo replacement, he said...no, you don't need to do that; the intercooler will do the trick.....

I have sent a email enquiry from their website, offering to trial one of their intercoolers and reporting my findings on here if they are soooo sure it will fix my concerns. I suggested they could sell it to me at a largely reduced price and it would serve as excellent advertising for them if I was to report back onto here (EO) about how good their product is. I don't know how many of these units they've sold or fitted, but you'd think that at least ONE of the several hundreds of people who look at this site would have fitted by now. The fact that it appears there are no EO people with one fitted, would seem like a perfect opportunity for Denco to take up my challenge......their sales could sky-rocket if Roachie reports good news after fitting their whiz-bang inter-cooler!!! hehehehe.

I know it must seem like I am being very mercenary (spelling???) about it, but quite frankly I am sick of spending money to correct what may only be a minor concern, only to find that I have wasted my money. Radiator = $1100; Fan clutch = $320-; bonnet scoop = $130-; extra Davies Craig electric fan in front of airconditioner = $130-; 3 gauges to monitor temps of coolant, egt and oil (sump) = $600-+ etc etc. That's well over 2 grand and nothing has changed!!!

I'm thinking it has to be a very fundamental issue.....nothing could be more fundamental than having a fast-whirring water-boiling device (ie: turbo) sitting there calmly heating up the water which I'm trying to keep cool.
FollowupID: 387539

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:57

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:57
That's a great idea for a marketing ploy, I am sure they would get heaps of sales out of good reports by you on this site as everybody in Aus. knows of your plight (just digging) so a fix would meen instant fame for the resultant company and their product.
I understand what you are saying about the water cooled turbo heating up our precious engine cooling water. But I have had the opportunity to see the block of a 1HZ against our patrol's and the difference in the size of the water jackets is huge (in favour of the toyota's), I think the problem lies here. Again just my thoughts.
I have had very little opportunity to put the BIG trailer on the back of the Nissan lately so my running temps are not a true indication of what they would have been 2 years back, when I was towing the big one at all times.
As for spending good money after bad I won't start on the two lots of 3grand I've spent on mine or the other bits in between.

Cheers mate keep up the good work. I may come to you for a loan if Denco come to the party and it fixes your prob, as it would give me greater piece of mind as well. :-))
FollowupID: 387549

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:01

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:01
Mate I just had a thought, Denco, is that the mob in Wagga NSW?
If so they worked on mine in the early days to no avail. I know things may have changed in 4 1/2 yrs or so but thought it worth mentioning.
FollowupID: 387551

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:05

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:05
Truckster is always singing the praises of Denco and I would like to as well; but I need a reason to do so first!!! hahaha

Cya mate

FollowupID: 387555

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:08

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:08
I was about to add, before I pressed the wrong key, so did 100% of Nissan dealers I delt with up and down the east coast.
FollowupID: 387558

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:20

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:20
I have sent a email enquiry from their website, offering to trial one of their intercoolers and reporting my findings on here if they are soooo sure it will fix my concerns

I tried that too :(
FollowupID: 387582

Reply By: warthog - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:17

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:17
Roachie last time I was down in Melb, Truckster put me onto a mob to get the Patrol serviced. I was more than happy with the work and price, was very thorough. The manager, Sandy (who also swings spanners) seemed very knowledgeable about Patrols and seemed to be an enthusiast. He was telling me about a td42t he had modified to get about 300hp or thereabouts. If he can get that sort of power and still keep it cool, then maybe he can give you some advice on yours. Worth a try, seemed like a nice fella. Australian 4wd Specialist 03 9729 4899
AnswerID: 133354

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:28

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:28
Thanks warthog.....will try t'morrow

FollowupID: 387585

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:13

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:13
Hi Roachie, I've heard that forward facing bonnet scoops are a no no as far as curing overheating. Apparently the increase the pressure in the engine bay and therefore REDUCE air flow through the radiator.

Just a thought.

Peter L
AnswerID: 133364

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:32

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:32
Thanks Peter,

I have done the scoop in such a way that I can reverse it if need be. However, even put on backwards (to allow hot air to escape onto the windscreen etc) it did not seem to make any difference.

FollowupID: 387652