snatching in low range GU 3.0

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 21:54
ThreadID: 27016 Views:2756 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
Recently I had to pull a cruiser out of a severe mud bog with the GU 3.0Tdi.

It was pretty soft and I couldn't get much of a run off in the space I had in high range without really reving and sliping the clutch so I went 2nd low range and snatched it out with no worries...

Is this a good thing though? is low range OK for snatching other vehicles or what?

...Poor o'l cruiser driver..he was soooooo embarassed. And I didn't take many pictures either...well, not many!

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 22:00

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 22:00
2nd low is the preferred gear to use.
AnswerID: 133185

Reply By: babs - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 23:08

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 23:08
Hey Andrew it would be great to see the photos can you put them on the post, "what a stir" that would be!

Babs.
AnswerID: 133203

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 23:49

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 23:49
Unfortunatley I didn't take any of the Nissan..only the bogged Cruiser. The pics are on a 35mm wet film camera but when I get them developed, i'll scan them and bare all!
FollowupID: 387409

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 23:38

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 23:38
I have used my snatch strap 3 times with my auto 3.0 patrol. Every one of em pulling out toyota's. ha ha

"attach broken toyota here" is a sticker I would like to get.
AnswerID: 133208

Reply By: Trekkie - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 01:16

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 01:16
Toyota owners are risk takers
They have no fear
Toyota owners go where Nissans fear to tread
AnswerID: 133214

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:59

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:59
I've seen how the 100s preforms in the tuff stuff !!!!

Give me a break
FollowupID: 387452

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:47

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:47
Toyota drivers are not risk takers, thats why they bought a toyota in the first place! Toyota specalise in white goods, bland and boring. Most people preferr bland & boring cars cause they sell the most. People who have a disinterest in cars - like accountants - drive toyotas.
FollowupID: 387534

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:12

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:12
Speaking of risk takers any updates on the fitch F4?
FollowupID: 387601

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 09:59

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 09:59
not just yet. it is taking a long time to make sure my results reflect some accuracy, that means a lot of full tanks to empty.
FollowupID: 387644

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 07:10

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 07:10
Here we go again.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 133228

Reply By: Scoey - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:57

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:57
I have pics of my 80 pulling a particular GU 3.0TD out of many a bog! I keep telling him, if he wants to come fourbyin with me he really should get a 'cruiser. I know he's a mate and all but, really......... he's holding me back! :-P
AnswerID: 133243

Follow Up By: Trekkie - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 14:31

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 14:31
Scoey
I really understand how you feel and feel sorry for you.
My brother has a Jeep Cherokee and many times we have saved him.
Keep telling hem to get a REAL 4wd so we can go into places Jeeps and Nissans cannot go.
FollowupID: 387493

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 09:03

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 09:03
In the nicest possible way can I suggest your question indicates you need some training in4wd use,join a club and you will not regret it.
AnswerID: 133244

Reply By: Member - big bo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:17

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:17
Good on you, However when we went up to the cape lasy year it was my mate in his troopy who was always pulling my other mate out of the bleep and we didn't make a big deal of it for these things just happen, it just so happened that the nissan 3lt DT always seemed to be the first to hit the bad parts or was it because the truck lacked the grunt - no just bad luck.
Big deal - it seemed to make your day and i'm happy.
AnswerID: 133269

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:26

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:26
Lacked grunt.....what a crock of bleep ! More like the driver lacked the grunt!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 387475

Follow Up By: Member - big bo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:45

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 12:45
If you read my mail you would have read that I said that it did not lack any grunt, but just bad luck, and the driver of the Nissan certainly does not lack any grunt, he is big enough and tough enough to pull the truck out himself, hope you don't have to say it his face that he lacks grunt - just run.
FollowupID: 387476

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 16:06

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 16:06
After rereading I did notice it was a little ambiguously written.....but I still reckon he needed to use a bit more grunt !!

Leroy
FollowupID: 387506

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 13:19

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 13:19
Why would you think low range was not suitable? What was your plan - flat out in high range for maximum speed? - if so that ain't how it's done. Recoveries can be bloody dangerous and it pays to learn how to do things properly - you should consider doing a 4WD course.
AnswerID: 133284

Reply By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 13:30

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 13:30
"couldn't get much of a run off"

You don't need a run off in 99.9% of recoveries. Slow and steady (that's the best you'll do in low range :) Let the elasticity in the snatch strap do it's job.

Screaming off in high range leads to broken straps, severed recovery points, vehicle damage and worst of all injury or even death to the participants or spectators.

Either do a lot of reading on the subject or best of all attend an accredited course
AnswerID: 133288

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 13:55

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 13:55
The car which is snatching should be in low range second and
the car which is beeing recovered should be in low range first
this is to make sure that the car beeing recovered won't hit
the car in front in some extreme cases.

AnswerID: 133294

Reply By: Member - Barry W (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:33

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 23:33
Gee the "ONLY" time I got stuck in my cruiser, the "ONLY vechicle that could get me out was a "CRUISER"
Go figger !!!!!
C Ya out there - In a cruiser ???
AnswerID: 133370

Reply By: bigalaktms - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 11:33

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 11:33
lets face it all the bitching is about landcruisers and patrols both are good ,the question needs to be asked is there any other decent 4wd for the aust bush

p.s i mean the real bush not a pussy dirt road .
AnswerID: 133751