Urgent advice required

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:57
ThreadID: 27030 Views:5001 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
Just taken delivery of an Off Road camper trailer which has a 15Amp connection to mains power (caravan sites).

This is all good and well. However, I need to charge the battery at home and be able to connect it to a generator in the bush.

As far as I can see, I’ll need a second lead with a 15Amp female connection at one end and a 10 Amp male connection at the other end.

In addition, I also have an 84 Watt Solar Panel which will be required to charge the battery in car and van (in isolation). Two questions:

• On the first point, what advice can you give regarding connection and electric safety?

• How can I set up Anderson plugs to charge the vehicle and camper van separately? Don’t want to use Alligator clips.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Kim

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:29

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:29
Kim,

I can only help you with the 15amp lead question. I have had for 8 -9 years, a 15amp female plug on a 10amp lead and male plug with no side effects from this setup. The lead is used on average 300 days per year on genset power and mains power so I can't see why you couln't do the same. I do NOT have a 15amp lead at all.
I am no sparky so an electrician's advise should be taken over mine

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 133332

Reply By: kimprado - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:00

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:00
Thanks Trevor,

Did you change one plug , or file the male 15Amp end down?

Kim
AnswerID: 133339

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:11

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:11
Kim,

I changed the 10amp female plug for a 15amp female plug. But still had the 10amp lead and male plug at the other end unchanged.

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 387563

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 12:19

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 12:19
G'day blokes,

I have a similar situation, except doubled......as I have but a caravan-type 15amp inlet on the bullbar of the Nissan so as to run the engel and charge the aux battery more easily.

I have 2 leads that I have doctored up. One is a very short item which I just obtained from some electrical device that had blown up (like an electric kettle etc), cut the cord off it and added a 15amp female plug. It is only about 2 foot long. I use that one for the camper trailer's 15amp side inlet plug and can hook it up to either the home 240v or the gennie etc.

The other lead was an extension cord of about 4 meters length. Again, i simply cut-off the original standard plug and added a 15 amp jobbie. That lead stays in the carport, permanently plugged into the power socket and every night when I come home from work I plug it into the bullbar to take over the engel and recharge the aux battery til next morning.

Just make sure you check that you're using the right pins for the right job (ie: neutral, active and earth), do a neat/professional job of it, and you shouldn't have any worries at all. As usual, if you don't feel 100% confident about what you're doing, get a sparky to do or check it.

I too have never owned a 15 amp lead.

FollowupID: 387802

Reply By: Peter - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:21

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:21
Kim,
Firstly with the 15 amp plug - I also simply cut the 15 amp plug off and replaced it with a 10 amp - used it hundreds of times and never had a problem
Reference the Anderson plug I have an off road camper with an 80watt solar panel.
I have a circuit running from the alternator to an Anderson plug to the tow bar. This circuit then runs to a switch in the boot. I have the option of recharging the 2 deep cycle batteries in the boot via the Anderson (when the motor is running) and when I stop (maybe to go shopping etc.) I switch over to the solar panel. If it's a sunny day I leave the switch on solar and charge the batteries that way. When the van is parked at home between trips I leave it switched to solar and then always have fully charged batteries. I'm in Queensland and had my system fitted by Springers. Give them a call for any advice
AnswerID: 133343

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:37

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:37
Hey Kim,

Read this article and then ask further questions if needed...

http://www.caravanandmotorhomebooks.com/articles/cable_rules.htm

STuart
AnswerID: 133346

Reply By: Frank_Troopy - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:02

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:02
Some 10 amp double adaptors will take a 15 amp earth pin with a bit of a push.
AnswerID: 133351

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 00:49

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 00:49
(QUOTE) I have an 84 Watt Solar Panel which will be required to charge the battery in car and van (in isolation).
How can I set up Anderson plugs to charge the vehicle and camper van separately? (end quote)
Just a thought... an idea... or a similar method as I use, call it what you like?

Connect the battery in the van to the battery in the car, use THICK battery lead to avoid voltage drop, use the anderson plug at the towbar to connect/disconnect. (this will charge the van battery when you drive)

Connect a battery isolator between the two batteries, near the start battery. (this will stop van battery from taking power from start battery when you are camped and the van battery is still attached to the start battery via the Anderson plug)

Connect the Solar panel (if on the vehicle roof) to the van battery via a decent solar regulator to the lead between the van battery and the isolator. (this will put power into the van battery when you are camped, and if you use a Redarc or Rotronics isolator system or similar design, not pirahna or similar with internally PREconnected leads, but any isolator that you have to actually attach the cables directly to a bolt on the isolator you can then use a small 'jumper' wire to also charge the starter battery at the same time as the Aux battery when you are camped for long periods or as required)

When the solar is connected in this method it will allow power to the start and also van battery when you drive and the alternator will also charge the start and van battery because the solar regulator will stop power going to the solar panel while driving.
AnswerID: 133377

Reply By: VK3CAT - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 11:25

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 11:25
Kim. A bit of a lengthy reply. Hope that this helps.
This reply is only related to the 15 amp plug situation.
First you must work out why a 15 amp connection socket has been fitted to the camper. If it just general light & power with a TOTAL load not exceeding 10 amps / 2400 watts then a 10 amp connection will be fine. It would be better to replace the inlet socket with a 10 amp unit. (These may no longer be available, as the only suitable weatherrproof inlet socket in the Clipsal price list is the 435VF15 or the 435VFS15, the latter takes cord extension sockets with insulated pins and an extension shroud. A way out may be to simply replace the "guts" 15 amp inlet socket with a 435 (10 amp) insert.)

A few points.
A 10 amp plug has the same sized active and neutral pins as a 15 amp plug so the current carrying capacity is the same. ie 15 amps.

Some extension leads with 10 amp plugs & sockets are made up of a cable rated at less than 10 amps.

Some 10 amp extension leads are made up of 15 amp rated cable.

All 15 amp extension leads are fully rated to 15 amps.

Using a modified plug / lead may satisfy your requiremebts but can't be considered as safe. You should look at your legal liabilities if say an electrical defect is caused by your non-approved extension lead. In many public places and in industry, extension leads must be regularly tagged and tested in order to be used. A modified lead would not pass a tag & test.

The extension lead must be kept as short as possible & should not exceed 25 metres in length. Length and voltage drop will determine the safe maximum current available from the extension lead. Extension leads, when in use, should be RCD (safety switch) protected.

Make sure that you use an extension lead - with 10 amp plug & socket- that is rated at 15 amps. Available at electrical & building wholesalers. The cheap leads from Bunnings & the like are not 15 amp rated!

Finally, if you are running the camper from your house, you may not be able to have appliances of up to 10 amps running in it if other household appliances are in use on the same circuit that would cause the total current to exceed 15 amps (rewirable fuse) or 20 amps (circuit breaker).

Cheers Tony. Registered Electrical Contractor.
AnswerID: 133621