Yamaha or Honda gennie?

Submitted: Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 09:50
ThreadID: 27045 Views:3868 Replies:11 FollowUps:22
What do you guys think? I am considering the purchase of either the Yamaha eu1 kva or Honda eu1kva. I think they are both very quiet and fuel efficient, and they retail for about the same (around $1500) Has anyone got one of these and are having a good run? Is one of them better in drizzly weather or should they always be kept under cover? I've been given a price on the yamaha ($1100) which seems fair but I've got other honda motors that have not given me any grief. What do you think? Rus.

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:05

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:05
Don't buy either, instead for the same price you could have a very good solar setup and have a QUIET holiday for you and others camped nearby.

Our 12volt setup will last 9 days plus and we only have a cheap setup.

Just my thoughts

AnswerID: 133406

Follow Up By: mick - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:34

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:34
hi red back reading your post on genies.ive gone solar,could you give me an idea. what your set up is, and what youve in mind what it will run,and any future upgrades your thinking on can you repy on hotmail to me if pos regards mick
FollowupID: 387645

Follow Up By: Derek - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:05

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:05
Red back
I'm against generators too. You go to secluded holiday spots to get AWAY from noise! That's why I've gone completely solar - but not without teething problems.
I'm curious also as to what panels you have, what type of battery you use and what you are running off the system, in short a decription of the whole system.
I've got 3 x 40 watt panels that put out 4.5 amps max on a cloudless sunny day. Any clouds about and they all but shut down.
Then I've got a 120amp Trojan deep cycle marine battery coupled to a Solarex 8 amp regulator. I run 2 x 2ft fluros, a water pump to the sink and an Engel Combi that _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 4 amps/hour on a %50 duty cycle. Each day (even on totally sunny days) the system uses a little more than the panels put in, so after about 5 days the battery is flat.
Fortunately I can swap to the auxilliary battery in the Cruiser but I would prefer a more carefree set-up.
Do you have any troubles with your set up?
Derek
FollowupID: 387659

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:22

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:22
Go The honda, I have it and it works fantastic. I would like to see solar run what i have to run when we are in one spot for 3 - 4 weeks. As for the noise, I can quite easily sleep beside my Honda EU. Great for charging batteries and also running 240v. 4L of petrol will allow it to run for about 14 peaceful hours.

Not sure how well the solar runs when it rains for a week straight, might be a bit of trouble...

hahaha sorry baz.

Ads
FollowupID: 387663

Follow Up By: Derek - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:36

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:36
Heyyyy
Don't ya know. This is sunny Queensland! We don't get a week of straight rain. Well except when there's a cyclone, but they don't seem to happen any more.
:) Derek
FollowupID: 387667

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:39

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:39
Hey Derek

I am a qld'er too, come up to fraser each year still and have for the last 20 year, 2 years ago, it rain, i mean poured 8 days straight............ hahahaha
FollowupID: 387668

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 13:03

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 13:03
OK, i have a 75AH deepcycle battery in the camper with an Arrid smartcharger linked to the car via an Anderson plug and 6mm cable, and run when camped i run 3 12v Nelson lights $29 at Bunnings (only use 1AH each) and a Laptop through an inverter for videos, but only when alone, with company we watch bush TV with a beer and talk.

A shuflow pump for water for the kitchen, the 12v fridge is run off the dual batteries in the car.

Most of our stuff, cameras, Laptop, etc is charge while going for drives.

Have a 3 way in the camper, and for in the middle of the night walks we have 3 garden solar lights to find your way.

Not alot i know compared to some but does us, this is charged by 1, 10 watt panel, and to date have only had to charge the battery in the camper once while out camping, and all i did then was take it out of the camper and put it in the car and charge it by going for a drive.

Thats us you may laugh at our basic setup but we have been doing this for 18mths now and still on our original battery, and this weekend we are going away again for the 25th time this year and that incuded 3 weeks in July to Birdsville and across the Simpson.

So there ya go, the KISS system, works for us, 3 adults 2 dogs.

My apologies to those who were expecting something really flash.

FollowupID: 387672

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 13:14

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 13:14
Your making me laugh baz. I have less than that and run it all off a 720cca 190amps hours battery and carry a big jump pack just incase, I have travelled across the deserts and many weekends with our set up. As there is only me and kir we have the waeco and a esky/bbq and run everything on 12v as well with a 1000w inverter just in case, but never used it. Wasn't giving you bleep about your set up, just the question was about genies hahahahaha

As i said, i only take the genie when we go to 1 spot for an extended time and take the fridge and freeze.

You having a good day mate...lol laughing with you mate

ads
FollowupID: 387675

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 14:43

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 14:43
No worries mate, i got one of them jump packs too, found it in the back of the Landy when we picked it up from the dealer, lol, think they were trying to tell me something, lol.

Used it once before i had the dual battery controller in to look after the batteries in the car, worth there weight in gold.

FollowupID: 387687

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 14:02

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 14:02
R & M, have read the part where it's said you are only concidering your purchase between two different brands of generators...
Question; have you ever used a generator previously ???
Have you ever used a decent solar system previously ???

Are you aware you are restricted in where you can camp with a generator?

Admitadely I'm biased to Solar power...
BUT
I have previously used a generator

that's the reason I'm biased :-)
FollowupID: 387814

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 16:01

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 16:01
must have missed the bit where it says he wanted it for camping....
FollowupID: 387818

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 22:39

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 22:39
Crazie, that's ok, it could be easy to miss :-)
as this is the “4WDing” forum that Rus has instigated the thread on, I can only assume he would want the genny because as he has previously clearly posted he does go camping.

Rus did post; “I don't want to get a cheapo genny as I feel that buying cheap, pay twice motto needs to be considered when you're OUT A LONG WAY FROM a Bunning’s that may or may not have a replacement” and also, “I was camping for 5 days and both batteries were getting down, my mate used his charger and Honda to top both up in a couple of hours”

Crazie you posted; “I would like to see solar run what i have to run when we are in one spot for 3 - 4 weeks. As for the noise, I can quite easily sleep beside my Honda EU. Great for charging batteries and also running 240v. 4L of petrol will allow it to run for about 14 peaceful hours.” In one simple word I think that could be referred to as ‘camping’ and I believe you take your genny with you because as you say “you use it when you stay in the one spot for 3 – 4 weeks and you can sleep beside your EU Honda”
I think your reply to Russ is about you ‘camping’ with your genny, if the post is not about selecting a genny to use when camping, then I admit I really don’t know what it’s about ???

I can honestly say I actually do sleep under my solar panel and it dosn't smell, blow smoke, fumes or make any noise... and it cost far less than an EU Honda.
FollowupID: 387872

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 12:48

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 12:48
Mainey

hahaha yes i gave an example of when i have used a genie that he asked about.
FollowupID: 387904

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:06

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:06
Hi Rus,
Just come back from a three month trip and we purchased a 1kva Kipor Generator and had no dramas with it. We purchased it for approx $850/900 I would have to look at my reciepts.
Before we purchased we too did alot of research on all of the generators.
Kipor is cheaper as they are trying to establish themselves here in Australia and competing with Honda as the best known name generator in Australia.
Kipor has been around overseas for a number of years with great sucess.
As far as quietness they are all very simular Db ratings.

Once again you make your own evaluation.
We choose Kipor due to the same capability as the others but also saved the back pocket on price( Why pay more just for a name?).

Troopytrek

PS Good Luck with your choice
AnswerID: 133408

Follow Up By: Grungle - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 17:00

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 17:00
The Kipors have come right down in price too. Seen a couple sell on ebay for around the $600 mark probably due to the competition that is starting to pop up.

The Kipors have identical specs to the Honda range including both being digital invertors.

I have a Honda that is a dream but would have bought the Kipor new if I wasn't offered the Honda secondhand as a swap for something.

Regards David
FollowupID: 387699

Follow Up By: Tony Shaw - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 19:37

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 19:37
Just a word of warning on the kipor's,

Be careful who the importer is. There's several different importers into the country and they each carry differing warranty. One of these importers/sellers has just got a single shop and that is the only place you can get any warranty work done. If imported by Powerlite or Primus they have a full warranty with service agents all around australia and they are all tested before they leave the warehouse.

Each Gennie is serial numbered and they check these serial numbers to make sure it's one of their own before they do any work.

Cheers, ToNy!
FollowupID: 387718

Reply By: porl - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:50

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 10:50
I have a solar set up and the Yamaha EF1000i. Solar is great when there are campers around but running a 25amp battery charger off the EF1000i is like charging batteries to full (if they can safely take that charge) over breakfast then i can lock it all away and not worry about not being round when filth tries to nick it. Of course i don't run the generator of other campers can hear it and i don't even take it if am going to be in that situation (ie crowded place).

Its about convenience if you can afford it.

I had a Honda EUi then sold it to get my solar kit (2 x 40w BP panels) but then third time i was away with that set up for four days and it rained for 3 i decided i needed a back up.

Went to the Yamaha cause the Honda had gone up to $1,650 and i picked up the blue yamaha (prefer the colour anyhow) for $1,150. Can't fault it compared to the Honda except changing the oil is a bit more finicky.

AnswerID: 133409

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:15

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:15
G'day Rus
I'm sure that if you wanted to know whether you should have a gennie or solar that's what you would have asked. Don't you just love it when someone provides that type of answer to a question.
Anyway I have the Yamaha and it's fine. Initially it did run a bit rough but it was fixed under warranty. I have heard that Honda parts are more expensive but I'm not sure if that's true - could be an issue with out of warranty claims so may be worth following up. But if you have a good price on the Yamaha go for it.
AnswerID: 133422

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:22

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 12:22
I've got the Honda 2 KVa genny. I need a big one to power an electric jakckhammer in the bush. (That really gets the campers going he, he!). Prior to that I had a Honda 350 watt 2 stroke just for lights and batt charging.

Never had a grain of bother with either of 'em. I swear by Hondas. Have done fer years. Start first time every time.

Mine have both been left out in the rain on occasions and never had a problem.

The 350 watt finally blew up in my face, set me on fire, but that was my own stupid fault after refuelling in the dark and spiling petrol and not letting it evaporate.

I have 4 solar panels as well, but I need a backup plus the jackhammer needs at least 2 kva to power it.

As for neighbouring campers - I don't have that problem. Being a prospector there aren't too many others around and those that are will probably be doing the same things as me!

I'd go for the Honda. Buit then again I'm Honda man

Bilbo
AnswerID: 133425

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 13:10

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 13:10
Mate you would have been quite campared to the morons camped near us at Bungleboori on the weekend, LOL.
FollowupID: 387674

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:27

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:27
Russel & Mary,
Like you Christine & I looked at Honda & Yamaha, we purchased the Honda some two years ago Honda because we felt it to be the quieter of the two.

Our Honda is used reguarly and has been a fantastic backup on two occasions when we have experienced blackouts to the domestic home supply, has never missed a beat.

DON'T be put off by those that crap on about noisy generators, they may in the past have been disturbed by old style noisy machines, but have probably never heard a Honda/Yammie in use.

I know that in my years of travelling/camping I'm yet to be disturbed by a generator, drunken carousing, noisy singing & yelling yes. Excessivly loud country music, radio broadcast horse racing, rugby league yes. But todate never from a generator.Ian W
FollowupID: 387938

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 17:42

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 17:42
One vote for the yammie here mate.

I too thought long and hard about solar, but in the end the gennie won the day after a trip to cape york with some mates last year. Pud had his 1kva Honda and Lance had a camper trailer whose camper decided to part company with the trailer!!! Now a solar panel (afaik) won't run an electric drill (;-)), but the Honda sure did.....and we were able to drill a couple of holes and whack some bolts in and hold the whole unit together for the rest of the trip.

I don't like loud noises in camp anymore than anybody else. If I have to be camped in one spot for anymore than about 3 days, I simply start the gennie on the 3rd day and run it for a few hours in the middle of the day. A long lead enables me to locate it behind a tree say 30 metres away and with the sound of kids playing/fighting etc, you're honestly not even aware of the gennie operating.

I'm happy and haven't had any complaints from anybody else; ever!!

AnswerID: 133488

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 18:55

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 18:55
On re-reading my response, I realise that the solar-panel protagonists will counter my story about the leccy drill by stating (quite correctly of course) that you could use a inverter to run the drill and the solar panel/s to re-charge the battery that operates the inverter etc.

I know all that, but still maintain that a solar panel is (for my personal purposes and individual arrangements etc) more difficult to store away when travelling than a gennie. Latter fits neatly into one corner of the boot of the Ultimate and I can carry a steel 10 litre gerry can of petrol on the back step of said camper.

So,,,,,,no bulls hit from you lot, okay????? hehehehe

Now we'll have to add the Honda v Yamaha argument to the others;

Engel v Waeco;
Landcruiser v Patrol;
Petrol v Diesel;
Fitch v Hi-clone v using fosil fuels (cos fitch means you run your truck on thin air, of course);
Uniden v GME;
Coopers v BFG v MT/R;
Air Lockers v Lokka v Detroit;
OME suspension v Konis etc
FollowupID: 387711

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 19:10

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 19:10
Wow Roachie!

If you deleted all the posts on here relating to those **** v **** arguments then life would be pretty boring!

Muddy
FollowupID: 387712

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 21:53

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 21:53
Russ,

Tick the Honda box for me. I have an older 650 that has done more hours than stars in the night sky. Never given me a moments trouble, if I was to upgrade to the 1KVA because I needed more grunt then I would go the Honda regardless of price but that's just me.

Cheers mate, Happy camping with whatever you get.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 133547

Reply By: Big Woody - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 06:51

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 06:51
Hi Russel & Mary,

I would have to give the Honda my vote. Honda has set the mark for small engine manufacturers for many years. They have proven themselves to be reliable and start first pull every time. That is why I have Honda generator, mower, fire fighter pump, outboard, and motorbikes. Every single one of them starts first pull/kick every time.

I must add to this though another train of thought to the equation as I have had the 1kva Honda generator for about 7 years and it is very quiet and economical but as mine gets used in all manner of places including on the yacht where corrosion is a problem I am starting to think of other options.

For example about 2 years ago the electrics went in my generator and it cost $450 to have it repaired. Friends of mine have purchased one of the 1kva gennies from Bunnings 2 years ago for about $199 and it is still going strong.

My thought is that I could have just brought a brand new "cheap" gennie from Bunnings 7 years ago and replace it with a brand new one every year or 2 since then and I would still be ahead financially from the initial outlay of $1400 and then the $450 to fix it. That way I wouldn't care about corrosion etc. and I would pretty much have a generator that was still under warranty all of that time and if purchased from somewhere like Bunnings, they would normally not send it away for repairs but just replace it with a new one.

I am seriously thinking that this is the way I am going to start going with my small engine applications.

Brett
AnswerID: 133593

Follow Up By: macka - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 10:22

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 10:22
Hi Brett.
I've had a 2kw.Honda powered Genny for 14yrs. Mainly on yacht. and rest on caravan. Also have panels on both.
Reringed. and rebuilt carby. a coupla yrs ago.
Best idea is both. Covers both end of spectrum.and you never run out of power..
Sprayed complete genny with fish oil when new. and degrease/respray every year..Takes 1/2 an hr. Slill nice and shiny. no rust visible. Yet.
I've known a lot of solar only people come unstuck during certain parts of the year.. Greenies or not.. They're all grateful for an hr or two running of my genny...
When mine bleep s itself. I'll be getting a 3.5 kva. set. for my Aircon and Tig welder... And if the happy campers don't like it. If I'm there b4 them.
Try the other end of the paddock. it's a free world..(Providing it's not a genny free area, of course...
I've seen an awful lot of those cheap bunnings type genny's on the floor behind the counter though.... Repairs. Think I'll stick with the named brands.
MAcka...
FollowupID: 388371

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 08:06

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 08:06
Thanks guys for all your replies. I don't want to get a cheapo genny as I feel that buying cheap, pay twice motto needs to be considered when you're out a long way from a Bunnings that may or mat not have a replacement. I think piece of mind knowing that your gear is reliable is worth extra $. I still haven't settled on one or the other yet and I'll look at Kipor. Thanks again. Rus.
AnswerID: 133599

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 09:57

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 09:57
Hello Rus,
I'll throw a vote in for the Honda. Looked at solar and the Yamaha's, the Honda was my choice.
The generator was more versatile than the solar setup.
Kipor's weren't around when I bought mine so it didn't make it into the comparison.

I always love that old chestnut. "I didn't buy brand X, you're only paying for the name"
Obvious question, How did they get "the name" if they didn't earn it?

Also, if your going to charge deep cycle or AGM batteries from the generator, use your battery charger from home on the 240 volt. On the Honda the Eco Throttle should be turned off for best results on the 12 volt outlet.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 133609

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:02

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:02
thanx Geoff. I typed a search for "kipor" this morning and got a site in Qld that has a kipor 1kva for $875 inc gst but no freight, so that sounds pretty good. BUT, I live in S.A. and I want someone local to deal thru, as yet I haven't looked. We have a yamaha dealer in town, so that's enticing.
As for using your workshop charger, good idea. I was camping for 5 days and both batteries were getting down, my mate used his charger and honda to top both up in a couple of hours. Rus.
FollowupID: 387835

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:17

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:17
Rus,
No problems on the answer.
This is really the best part about these sort of forums, we all learn from each others experiences.

I entered www.kipor.com.au and come up with this site,
Kipor Gennies

Geoff.

FollowupID: 387838

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:23

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:23
Hiya,

We were on a trip at Christmas last year and used this idea. Ran one generator during the day for a few hours when the kids are all yelling and noise is not an issue. It was Roachies Blue Whisper Yammie 1Kva. We had 4 vehicles there and had leads running to each with the fridges running direct off genny and a battery charger each topping up the respective vehicle batteries. The genny was not even running flat out so was very quiet.

I just use my litle 6 amp 240v batt charger to top up my dual battery and it more than kept ahead of what my fridge and lights would use overnight.

When I finally get my CT I will invest in probably the Kipor 1kva genny for this sort of work when I am sitting in one spot for more than 2 days. Stick it in a corner of the CT and just pull it out as required and chain it to the drawbar.

Usually our group are camping at a place and doing reasonable day trips that keep batteries topped up but in the case of the Xmas trip we were pretty much parked up for the duration so it was easy to just hook up the genny and chargers to keep everyting stress free.

I can understand people getting the crappers about gennie noise when they are run in very quiet locations or for excessive amounts of time (ie Overnight) but the latest 1Kva silenced ones are soooo quiet you almost have to trip over them to hear them running, especially at lower loads. We had one running beside an Oztent and the person sleeping in the tent was unaware that it had been running. There was more noise from the wind and the river running past.

Anyway - just my experiences and opinions!

Muddy
FollowupID: 387839

Reply By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 23:12

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 23:12
I just bought a Kipor 1kVA from Novasmic via eBay for $699. They are also Generator + Sine Wave Invertor so they are very efficient on fuel and are quiet when putting out less than full power.

Tested it with an Angle Grinder and the light didn't dim a bit when I switched on the Angle Grinder.

With all of these little generators, the "12 volt" output is a simple unregulated output suitable only for battery charging up to 8 amps - they can put out up to 30 volts open-circuit. It would be faster to use a 20 Amp charger off the 240 volts.
AnswerID: 133702