Airbags off road

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 13:14
ThreadID: 27084 Views:2438 Replies:7 FollowUps:3

I am looking to upgrade to a newer vehicle, I have always tended to avoid airbags (in dash & stearing wheel, not under body) as I am conserned about their deployment on at the end of a steep decent, rock climbing etc. as owner manules do warn they can deploy in these situations. Has anyone had trouble with them or know if they can be accidently deployed in a challenging drive? can they be swiched of (remove fuse) for off road and switched on for on road? Newer vehcles seem to all have them.

Probably go for a desiel, manule 100LC upgrading from a very capable, has been anywhere you'd take one RVPrado, 2.7l

thanks

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 15:52

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 15:52
G'day

My info is that safety air bags require a little more than 2g deceleration before they will deploy. This amount of deceleration is only ever evident in an accident situation and is not experienced in normal off road activity.

I have used two safety air bag equipped vehicles on and off road without any issues with the air bags.

AnswerID: 133644

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 16:05

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 16:05
The airbag on the passenger side in my GU Patrol rattles in its housing when on bad corrugations. Nissan have "fixed" it by repacking but managed to distort the cover. Now it squeaks!

The car goes back next week.

If there was a problem with airbags going off you would hear plenty about it on this forum. I don't recall any posts along that line in the last three years.

Kings
AnswerID: 133645

Reply By: stevesub - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 16:34

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 16:34
Never heard of a problem with airbags on the Landrover vehicles when off road. Must be the most reliable part of our Landrover but then again it is the one thing that we have never had to use. We have friends in New Zealand that do some crazy things in Landrovers which includes the latest Rangies and Disco's.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 133646

Reply By: Member - Jeffrey - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:16

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 18:16
I often think what would happen if I hit a roo and they inflated,would that cause me if I was unlucky enought to have a head on,by losing control and vering in to oncoming traffic???????????always in the back of my mind!...fingers crossed.
havent heard of it though.
My input.
All The Best In Health And Wealth
Jeffrey (AKA JD)
AnswerID: 133664

Follow Up By: simple - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 20:55

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 20:55
unless its a bloody big roo it shouldn't be a problem. airbags are activaded by deceleration not impact. so rest easy friend, no roo's gonna break your nose.
FollowupID: 387858

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:15

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:15
I agree with simple,

I still have the scar on my bar from a good hit of a good size roo, but no airbag deployment. Haven't had any trouble with airbags in any situation.

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 387954

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 17:45

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 17:45
I hit a kangaroo with the Jackaroo coming back from Queensland. Was cruising at about 130 at around 2.00am when I first saw it and managed to slam on the brakes and hit it at probably 100.

Pushed the bumper back about 2cm but no air bag deployment. No other damage either.
FollowupID: 388081

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 21:26

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 21:26
I know you're not looking at a jeep but I remember when I was in the cruiser club they said heaps of wranglers used to deploy their airbags if you punched the nose into the dunes

Matt
AnswerID: 133684

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 09:40

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 09:40
Like the last reply I have heard of airbags being set off by lack of entry angle when crossing a creek and the front hit into the opposite bank. (I think it was the french track on Cape York and I think it means too much speed)

I can't remember what vehicle it was but I guess such a situation if the impact is hard enough would or should set them off.

AnswerID: 133739

Reply By: JR - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 11:23

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 11:23
USA specs on AB deployment are different to ours, Maybe Jeeps were carrying US equipment. Some early vehicles had sensors near the front of the vehicle.
Patrols G sensor are under the Pass seat I think

I have been worried about this for years, hitting about a roo per month. So far no issues with Airbags
Early Falcons were able to be set of by roos and I have heard of Commodores doing it but not first hand so dont really credit it much
I reckon you could do it hitting a bank or dune hard enough, 2g isnt that much but would still be a big enough to bend stuff underneath
JR
AnswerID: 133750