airbox 4.2 gu
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 16:05
Member - Miles (Vic)
Anyone made the air box in td6 larger for more air flow?
Reply By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 17:26
Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 17:26
Why bother ?
The restriction is not the air box, its the ventury leading into the manifold. Bigger air box will do nothing except take up more valuable room under ur bonnet.
The "air flow" as you put it is based on a few things. The most important is the inner diameter size leading into the manifold. Thats the point where things become "bottle neceked" so to speak.
Follow Up By: Member - Miles (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 15:32
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 15:32
I have heard a whisper of a larger intake manifold? Make any sense?
Reply By: bigalaktms - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 23:44
Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 23:44
why bother just put a snorkell on, or if you want heaps more power than stock,
put an aftermarket turbo on with a mandrell bent pipe ,it make a stocker look slow
but you still get about 12.5 lt per hundred
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 23:54
Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 23:54
Have you put a bigger turbo on your 4.2 mate? I've been considering doing this but am after some first hand knowledge that it will really work. I already have a full 3" straight through mandrel-bent system and that helped, but I reckon the standard turbo is a bit undersized.
Interested in your thoughts.
Reply By: bigalaktms - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 00:14
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 00:14
yes they are great with a big after market turbo my mate and me both run 2.5 in mandrel as the 3 in seems to be louder but with no extra boost, thats cool if you want to sound like a truck.
my mate has a 2003 td6 witch is closer to your year and he said the bigger turbo
made a big differance over his stock one ,as i have the last of the GQ 97 witch didnt come with turbos until i put it on.
its harder for me to say all i know is that both these truck have about the same power now.
p.s. these two went great towing 1.3 ton trailers throught the simpson .
Follow Up By: Member - Miles (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 14:20
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 14:20
What turbos/company did the use? Update the intercooler?
Reply By: JR - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 11:15
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 11:15
Yes I have, mainly to enlarge the air cleaner element.
This standard element is a restriction, and is simply too small especially where heavy dust is an issue.
On TD42t Gu3 and older (ie. non intercooled), the air cleaner element from a 4.5 l fits nicely, nearly doubles surface area of air cleaner. Bad news is they are hard to find and expensive.
I have the conversion kit if someone wants it, as it wont fit in the TD42ti GU4 which I now have.
Includes Finer filter and spare bands
JR
Reply By: bigalaktms - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 15:11
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 15:11
i am running a schwitzer turbo with no intercooler as it pumps out more than enough power.
Follow Up By: Member - Miles (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 15:35
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 15:35
The boys at brissy who up the boost and tweek the pump running original turbo reckon a bigger turbo will reduce low rev power and tourque? Heard this?
Follow Up By: bigalaktms - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 16:54
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 16:54
dont know about that, but be who cares about a little bit off a loss down stairs if from middle and top end is great , but from what i have seen with a standard 2003 td6 and a updraded turbo job i will stay wiyh the later thanks.
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:10
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:10
Miles and bigal...
You will notice the work done when you are in the top end of rev range more than when you are at the lower end. Driving on the highway they are breathtaking and much safer when overtaking. If you hit the bottom of a
hill in 4th at 90kph and floor it most times you will doing more than the speedlimit by the top. But if you start at less than 90kph then you might as
well settle in third and get used to 75kph until the road flattens a bit. I rate
mine as an auto now as I'm hardly ever out of 4th once going.
So to answer your question
Miles, Yes I have heard of this but I don't think it is a problem. Still HEAPS better than standard.
Cheers Trevor.
Reply By: bigalaktms - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:38
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:38
i take it trevor you have a standard turbo then, and your truck is auto.