spot lights
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:15
dags666
just bought a 100 series cruiser and would like to get some spot lights for it . has a bullbar to mount them on just reading other threads and someone had touble with
water leaking into them i do a lot of beach work and go to
birdsville most years so i guess dust is also factor ,any tips would be very helpfull
Reply By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:25
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:25
dag i brought Light Force 240 Blitz they are exellant do what i do when i go north just take them of mate ,do'nt think you'll be driving at night up north so no need to take them cheer's GREENDOG
Reply By: Old Gold - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:34
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:34
G'day Dags for my money i prefere the rally 4 thousands
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:45
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:45
Daggy ,
I have a pair of Cibie Oscars with new reflectors in them . You can have the pair for $200.00 .
Cheers ,
Willie
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:48
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:48
I think it is
well documented that the lightforce 240's are second to none. If you have the money go for it. If you are on a budget then look at other options. I have just purchased Nite Stalker 200 series for $160 and am very happy with their performance. Not done any
water xings yet tho.
Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:03
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:03
Dags,
I think it depends on how much nite driving and where it is done to make the right decision about lights.
If you are out west a lot on looooong straight roads then the l/force 240's are the go (I have a pair). However these lights go forever up the road so I'm always dipping them early when I'm up and down the coast, so not as good as a lesser pair that I could leave on for longer in this situation.
If you don't do much nite driving, get a cheaper pair as they will still be OK for the odd occasion.
Good allrounders would be IPF's or oscar's. The hella ralleye's I had and still have, (in the shed now) have broken a few mounts from dirt roads so they need to be secured top and bottom if doing lots of dirt travel, if you do this they are a great spread/drive combo.
Cheers Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:42
Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:42
d666,
I've had Lightforce 170's and now the 240's they are awsome lights, as someone has mentioned above because of the distance the 240's shine ahead you need to dip them early when approaching cars from behind. + they have cheap (in price not quality) clip on covers wich u can get as spreaders or spots or combo covers to suit exactly the type of driving you are doing, I've recently fitted the spot/spreader combo wich I've fitted to one of my 240's I reckon it's a great combo for highway stuff, One day I'll get two spreader covers for night time bush work where distance lighting isn't req'd
Gett'em you won't be sorry!
Cheers...............Browny
Reply By: dags666 - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 07:56
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 07:56
thanks alot everyone very helpful indeed dags
Follow Up By: Matt (W.A.) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 08:51
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 08:51
Dags
Lightforce also have an after market Breather Kit for their Lights.
But I'm Lifghtforce Mad......
Matt
Reply By: Old Bushie - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:41
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:41
Gday Dags
You've got a "top of the tree" vehicle so if you want lights to match don't compromise.
Without getting into the expense of gas discharge lights the 2 most popular would be Hella Rallye 4000 and Lightforce 240 XGT. I'm amazed at the number of road trains that are using them these days.
Both are great lights. I have had 4000s on my last 2 vehicles and gave the XGT's a close look for my new 100S TD this year. I stayed with the 4000's cos I have had such a great run from them. I do heaps of long distance night driving and rough corrugated roads and they produce a brilliant light and stand up to the punishment.
4X4 Monthly did a test last year and these 2 were at the top. The XGT came out as having best range with a comment "a cannon among pistols". The 4000 (2nd place) was summarised as "even though the XGT had the range it's hard to go past the sheer quality of light and build quality of the 4000"
Hope that helps.
Regards OB
Follow Up By: Member - Des - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 11:12
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 11:12
It was Aust 4WD Monthly, not 4x4 Aust. The latter did one recently too, but in lab conditions. I thought 4WD Monthly's was much better - more lights, and tested in real outdoor conditions. You gotta like the plastic inflatable roos too.
As OB says, Lightforce XGT and Hella 4000 were their top 2, but they also gave an honourable mention to the Cibie Oscar SC for their fantastic spread coverage. Good for mountain areas rather than outback.