rodeo vs hilux vs navara
Submitted: Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:13
Steve M
I have just ben out test driving (on bitumen unfortuanately) the new hilux, rodeo and navara's. All are turbo diesel 4wd's. They all have good and bad points and I am interested in finding out any comments, faults, 4wd ability anyone may have before I buy one.
My initial impressions are
Navara DX - good points - plenty of power, solid, comfortable, free wheeling hubs. bad points - noisy, engine surges on cruise and unneccesarily peaky on acceleration . $35400 plus tray +ORC
Hilux SR - good points - easy to drive, ok on power, comfortable, good stereo. bad points - pricey, ugly. $37000-40000 plus tray drive away
Rodeo DX - good points - queitest engine and wind noise, smooth to drive, cheapest price. bad points - basic interior, crappy cup holders. $32435 drive away with tray, air, 12months rego etc
My intention is to do major trips in this vehicle. I hope to deck the tray with drawers, fridge,
water tanks, solar panels etc etc for a couple of weeks shake down to
ningaloo in march before a major trip around oz later.
If anyone can give me some good/bad points or experiences they would be appreciated.
Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:32
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:32
HI,
Are you looking at manual or auto?
Follow Up By: Steve M - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:49
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:49
A manual
Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:56
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:56
Hi Steve M,
There was a recent write up in on of the 4x4 mags which did a comparison between utes.
If I remember correctly, they gave it to the hilux (forgetting about price, and the fact they are ugly)
I can only comment on the navara, and I assume the DX would have the same running gear as ST-R.
Mechanically, they are bullet proof, heaps of grunt, and the gear ratios are
well suited to the car. It pulls 2 tonne trailer happily all day.
For 4x4ing, low range gear ratios are excellent, with the ability to idle up 45 degree hills in 1st gear low range.
Only criticism I have (but same with all utes), is lack of drivers leg room. I am over 6 feet tall, and would be nice to be able to slide
seat back further.
The mag writeup also gave the rodeo a good wrap, and I might look at them next time.
TonyG
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:03
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:03
If I remember rightly after reading the write up I was left scratching my head as to where Hilux actually came out on top
Reply By: scottp - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:25
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:25
gday steve m,
I've recently ordered two of the new hilux. One single cab and one dual cab 3.0 disel turbo.Already received the single cab and love it, Drives great, longer tray plenty of power and check out the torque,(max at 1400rpm and flatlines). Have been really impressed with the fuel eco and great with a full load on. 2550mm long tray bit harder to
park than the old model.
Haven't received the d-cab. (bit of a que for them) But was impressed with the back
seat which lifts up and folds neatly out of the way allowing room for fridge and the dog. (have to let the missus sit in the front).
also liked the longer weel base allowing a 1.8 metre alloy tray to be fitted, and a space under the bonnet perfect for the dual battery system.
Test drove sr d-cab and sr5 auto d-cab (both diesel) at the toyota expo on Fraser island and was very impressed with the manual through the soft sand but wouldn't s#@t on the auto.
I had a Nissan once and said that I'd never get another one, but did have a good look at the new model coming out in november. 4x4 australia, October No 261, did a bit of a comparison on them, worth having a look at. Nissan needs 4000 rpm to get max power(I think that is flogging the horse a bit much). Also has coil springs in the rear, and although hilux does not have the best rep for leaf springs, I think leafs carry the weight a lot better.
Got a mate in melb that has the rodeo. He only bought it because he couldn't afford the hilux.
hope this helps.
Note: if you are in the building industry toyota and holden have fleet purchasing deals, if you are a member of the HIA. I got d-cab sr with air, tray, t-bar and b-bar (non genuine ECB, bit dearer but much better) for just over rec retail in d-cab cab chassi, drive away.
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:43
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:43
I was recently taken on a demo drive in the new Navara. The test area was a local farm with very steep damp grass paddocks. I was scared #### but came away amazed at what it could do. One demo run was both feet on the floor and let the truck move forward on idle. We went up the steepest slope that I have ever driven (and I have driven some steep mountain tracks believe me !). The fly-by-wire throttle system / computer kept the same power output from the engine all the way and we drove about 200 meters up the
hill on very green damp grass with both feet on the floor. Can't remember the numbers but the engine puts out around 75% power at 2000 revs. I spoke to my nephew who is a panel beater and he says the body panels are like tissue paper. So, if you want an open country 4x4 I reckon the new Navara would be hard to beat but off road in heavy bush I am not so sure.
Follow Up By: muzzimbidgie - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:58
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:58
Tissue paper eh ???
I though it was only the patrol that was made of tissue paper te he.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:05
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:05
These vehicles arnt made for off road heavy bush for that work I would not consider anything other than a 79 series
Reply By: pauls - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:46
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:46
I originally had the last model Rodeo and loved it although I always felt it was limited in the soft stuff. I bought the new one but have not had the opportunity to give it much of a go in soft sand, but feel that the wider
wheels and extra power should help. Other than that the only criticism I would have is the seats don't agree with my back, but that could be my fault. Also there used to be some storage area behind the rear seats in the last model, but not this one. I don't know about the Hilux and the Navara.
I went around Lakefield National
Park in it a couple of months ago and found it a great touring vehicle. As you say it is good on the bitumen to drive (more quiet and smoother than the last model).
Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:53
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:53
Hi Steve. I have 3.0TDi Rodeo space cab. decked out much the same as you want.
I have no complaints with it. got up the dunes down the Warren river ok. Its only stock standard, but as I say I am happy with it.
cheers Brian
Follow Up By: Steve M - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 19:00
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 19:00
As you say I will deck it out very similar to yours. I am very interested in your mods if any.
ie long range
tank? how, where, cost etc
water tanks?
did you go for fatter tyres for the sand stuff?
can dual batteries be easily mounted under bonnet?
Would like to chat. You can e-mail me on spmsj@yahoo.co.uk
Reply By: sudsy - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 01:56
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 01:56
4WD Monthly did the ute comparison tests and although the Rodeo came second to 1st. placed Hilux I still felt that the Rodeo had performed better in some important aspects e.g: the new Landcruiser ute and the Rodeo were the only 2 utes out of many models to "walk" up a certain test
hill without any carry-on (wheelspin etc.)
From their test there wasn't much between the top 3 but my guess is that Toyota have more advertising dollars to spend with the mag.
Follow Up By: muzzimbidgie - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:27
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:27
Sometimes I get the same feeling about why a particular 4WD wins in these comparo's.
As for only two of them "walking" up a
hill, I test drove a hilux and rodeo 2 years back, and neither of them would go through a small patch of dirt with a slighty steep dip in the middle without me giving 'em a bootfull. This surprised me a lot, as I had walked through this "dip" a few times in my FJ60 (open diffs) with nary a hint of bother.
At the time I put it down to the IFS front ends, but also the stock rubber that these cars come with aint that good either.
Reply By: bushy04 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:25
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:25
Hi Steve do yourself a favour and test a Triton, if you want the best ride for comfort then the Triton is a good one to check.
I have 5 ruptured discs in my back and the Triton is the best of the lot, it is also second only to the hilux.
The cost is less than the others as
well and with the 5yr warranty is hard to beat.
Ihave a 2004 turbo dsl which I have had no trouble with at all, before that I had a 2002 dsl which I drove to
Darwin and back from
Seymour in Vic .
My veiw of Triton can be said in one word BRILLIANT.
Regards Bushy