Sluggish Patrol 4.2 Diesel

Submitted: Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2717 Views:2184 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
I have just bought a 1997 GQ Patrol 4.2 Diesel wagon (77,000ks). Compared to my Fathers 1998 Ute with the same motor it is very sluggish. It seems to battle to get past 3000rpm and 115kmh is its top speed.While the ute does 110kmh at 2600rpm comfortably, the wagon needs 2800rpm and struggles.

Does anyone know any tricks to boost the performance a little? The motor almost feels as if it has been de-tuned. I have changed the fuel filter but thats about it. Would a fuel pump adjustment be necesary.

Reply By: Derek - Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00

Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00
Arndt. I would first establish if there is really a difference between the two cars and that it's not your senses playing tricks on you. If there is a significant difference then start with the inexpensive things or things you can do yourself. Remove the air filter then compare the two cars. Remove the muffler somehow and compare. Check that the tyres and overall gearing for the two cars are the same (don't assume anything based on hearsay). Check that you're running the correct size tyres. Have the injectors and compression checked. Get the valves adjusted- are any riding open? If the entire motor checks out healthy and your still looking for more power, try extractors, 2.5" system, free flow muffler and a Finer Filter. I'm sure you will find a solution if you stick at it.
AnswerID: 10214

Follow Up By: Arnd - Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00

Thankyou for the quick response. I'll give a few things a try as there is most definately a BIG difference between the two vehicles. I've already had the valves checked so thats one out the way, and the tyres are correct too. All I'm looking for is a small boost to bring the performance up to the same level as the ute.
FollowupID: 5342

Reply By: Derek - Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00

Arndt. I have an 80 series with a 1HZ and though it performed up to spec I was looking for more get up and go. I'd heard about extractors etc being fitted to diesels and didn't believe they could offer much. In the end I had to do something and couldn't afford a turbo. I reluctantly fitted the aformentioned gear and was pleasantly surprised. Acceleration doesn't appear to have increased significantly but torque has. I can now hold at least an extra gear on hills and towing has become easier. I recomend you look at this alternative if money is tight. Someone has recently written a letter to the editor of one of the 4wd mags raving about how they did the above and are wrapped in the results. See ya. Derek.
AnswerID: 10219

Reply By: bruce.h - Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00

Gday arnd
i have just got rid of 4.2 desiel nissan had no problems for power would do 140kmh + ,towing 3.99m boat not sure what revs but heaps of get up & go you will find that the ute is geared different to the ute so will give different performance than the wagon as other posting sujest look to your exhaust ie extractors 2.5 in sports system turbo muffler, i also found that a snorkel add a minor diferance , but having said all that when i was look for the nissan i found this motor was vastly diferent from vehicle to vehcle some went realy well others wheir sluggish as hell
i would sujest fist step would be to wack it on a dino & see what gives. then slowwly add some of the sujestion you get from this page 7 hope you havent just got asluggish one
best of luck
Bruce
AnswerID: 10221

Reply By: Truckster - Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00

For starters the wagon and ute have different diff ratios. which could be a reason.

The car could be a lemon is another, different sized tires, speedo out of wack, mine sits on 130 easily under 3000 and I have 4.1 diffs, TD42 and now a turbo to help out.

Try clean air filter and get a service done on it. Then if its no better worry.
AnswerID: 10224

Reply By: Truckster - Friday, Dec 27, 2002 at 01:00

For starters the wagon and ute have different diff ratios. which could be a reason.

The car could be a lemon is another, different sized tires, speedo out of wack, mine sits on 130 easily under 3000 and I have 4.1 diffs, TD42 and now a turbo to help out.

Try clean air filter and get a service done on it. Then if its no better worry.
AnswerID: 10225

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Sunday, Dec 29, 2002 at 01:00

Sunday, Dec 29, 2002 at 01:00
truckster, Ozi has been so quiet lately, he must have forgotten to pack his modem when he went away for the festive season. Catch ya..
FollowupID: 5391

Reply By: johnsy - Saturday, Dec 28, 2002 at 01:00

Saturday, Dec 28, 2002 at 01:00
check the gauze filter on the fuel pump 17mm banjo fitting in and out fuel lines on the rear of the pump a lot of people get caught out on this one.
AnswerID: 10242

Follow Up By: Arnd - Saturday, Dec 28, 2002 at 01:00

Ive checked the "in" filter (I think). Its on top of the pump. A mate of mine had a blocked one at one satge. Is there another one I haven't found?
FollowupID: 5348

Follow Up By: Truckster - Saturday, Dec 28, 2002 at 01:00

There is a small gauze filter on the fuel line into the pump, take the line off and look down the hose... Not the easiest thing to spot or clean either.

Worth a try, Id forgotten about it too.
FollowupID: 5353

Follow Up By: Johnsy - Sunday, Dec 29, 2002 at 01:00

Arnd its on the rear of the pump half way down one 17mm nut with 2 lines coming of it be careful not to lose the fibre washers and the filter if its there sits in the pump housing .use a fish hook to pull it out.
FollowupID: 5381

Reply By: Steve Mc - Saturday, Dec 28, 2002 at 01:00

Arnd, Duncs just hit the nail on the head, injector break pressures & pump timing are critical with the 4.2 also solves the overheating problem 90% of the time as long as everything else checks out OK.
A trip to a reputable pump specialist should be on the cards.
Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 10248

Reply By: Mick - Sunday, Dec 29, 2002 at 01:00

I'm considering going diesel but having read all of the above am I making the right decision? I currently have petrol but want the greater economy and range of diesel. From reading the above posts and many others diesels seem to be plagued by poor performance, poor quality fuel and the need for additional servicing. My petrol just goes and goes - always good performance always reliable ..... I would welcome comments and advice .... are there any good diesel stories around? I'll be staying within the Toyota range but not sure of model yet.
AnswerID: 10266

Reply By: Mick - Sunday, Dec 29, 2002 at 01:00

I'm considering going diesel but having read all of the above am I making the right decision? I currently have petrol but want the greater economy and range of diesel. From reading the above posts and many others diesels seem to be plagued by poor performance, poor quality fuel and the need for additional servicing. My petrol just goes and goes - always good performance always reliable ..... I would welcome comments and advice .... are there any good diesel stories around? I'll be staying within the Toyota range but not sure of model yet.
AnswerID: 10267

Follow Up By: Truckster - Sunday, Dec 29, 2002 at 01:00

Petrol V Diesel, theres something in one of the latest Toyota 4wd monthly mags i think, its in the bog as reading material..

Both have + and - going at different levels.

Any car needs tuning and maintanance... Diesels are better for offroading of some forms, depends on what you want to do. Tow trailers? Rock crawling, Mud, or tour to the Red Center?

Some require more maintanance than others but at longer intervals. eg every 20,000 V every 10,000....

Petrol 4wds suck juice you have to mortgage the house. I go out with mate with a troopy with 36 swampers on it, and another with a GU4500 petrol, and that thing when in low range you can nearly see the fuel guage running for its life..! Thats muddy conditions and Dunlap Grand Trek 2's.

I dont really believe anything mags say anymore, they call the fuel econ of the 4500 toys and 4800 GUs as acceptable! Nice way to keep both manufacturers on side?

Ever read test in a mag that says the item is really crap and steer WELL away from it? Not in recent times thats for sure!

FollowupID: 5375

Follow Up By: Johnsy - Sunday, Dec 29, 2002 at 01:00

Mick Ive had a great run out of my diesel 4.2 td Patrol 60k.Ido the 5000 k services myself as they are only oil filters and grease and a shop does the 10 k ones.I usually get out for a blast to clean it out fortnightly as they dont like putting around town.The main reason for buying diesel was the lack of electric gissmos on the motor and if I get into trouble mechanical wise I have a better understanding of the older diesels .Consider the amount of diesels in the Territory and not to many die on the side of the road just got to remember they like clean fuel / air /and good oil .I would only buy fuel from where the truckies fill up and only the majors at that .So mick I'm a happy chappy and mine seemed to loosen up a bit more at 50k it pulled $150 when it was 40C with the aircon on flatout on the way back from down south the other day .
FollowupID: 5380

Reply By: Mick - Monday, Dec 30, 2002 at 01:00

Monday, Dec 30, 2002 at 01:00
Thanks Truckster and Johnsy for your replies. Good advice on filling up where the truckies fill up. It's just that over many years of 4wding I've heard a number of people complaining of fuel problems with diesels and I still have this nagging doubt as to whether it really is the best move - especially as the mid sized 4wds are now quite fuel efficient - my Prado is comparable to a mates diesel Cruiser and has heaps more go for highway, towing and off road. The only plus for his is extra space. My thinking is diesel in a Prado would give me huge range - probably nearly 1500km on the highway and long distances off road.
Thanks again
AnswerID: 10302

Follow Up By: Duncs - Tuesday, Dec 31, 2002 at 01:00

Tuesday, Dec 31, 2002 at 01:00
I have travelled all over OZ using diesels and towing. I've bought fuel in some pretty dodgy looking places because it was the only place. The only places I have had problems with dodgy diesel has been in Sydney at the "cheap" outlets. When in major cities I buy only from factory outlets. The easy ones to spot are the big Shell places that have "Fly Buys". It has never been a problem in the bush.

Your Prado is no where near the size of a cruiser, it has no where near the carrying capacity and fuel usage will increase significantly in tough conditions ie loaded up with gear, towing a trailer, soft sand or mud. It won't perform as well in these circumstances either, put any two of these together and the cruiser will be waiting for you. Also diesel is generally cheaper in the bush. Add to that the growing trend of outback communities prohibiting the sale of unleaded and the diesel becomes a very attractive proposition.
FollowupID: 5428

Reply By: Dar - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 14:28

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 14:28
hi check the gause filter under where the fuel goes into fuel pump
ie take fuel line of the top of fuel pump then a pencil magnet
down the hole to extract the filter
AnswerID: 14062

Reply By: Truckster - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 18:21

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 18:21
wow this came back from the dead....
AnswerID: 14092