Sway Bars...

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:36
ThreadID: 27176 Views:2766 Replies:4 FollowUps:14

I've been reading a bit lately and hearing from mates that removing/disconecting the sway bars on my truck (stock 94 1FZ-FE 80 Series) will help the suspension work better off road until such time as I can upgrade it. Obviously they would need to be reconected when back on road, but what I'm interested in knowing is whether this is actually a practical option or is the benefit not worth the effort?
Can't say I know a lot about suspension - but has anyone done this, how common is it and is it at all reccomended?

Thanks for your input!

Scoey

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:41

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:41
Absolutely it is.

The benefit I got from removing the swaybar on my IFS Pajero was nothing short of staggering , HOWEVER , it is NOT without its problems.

The main one being , its actually illegal to do , remove them that is. It does effect the handling of the vehicle substantially.

You can get quick disconnects , but I dont know whats avaliable for cruisers.

The Jeep guys use them very effectively, disconnect the swaybar while offroad , then reconnect , onroad.
AnswerID: 134092

Follow Up By: Scoey - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:12

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:12
Great thanks! I magine it would get real messy trying to drive on road without them on. Thanks for the advice flappa!
FollowupID: 388188

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:00

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:00
been driving 2-3 yrs without mine... its no issue really, you remember your not drivig a Ferrari, so drive accordingly.
FollowupID: 388191

Follow Up By: sudsy - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:58

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:58
I've never done it but it allows more wheel travel.

As said, it's illegal and if you crashed with them off you might have insurance problems.

I dont know about the legalities of quick disconnects though.
They may be legal when connected but for off road competitions insurance is a different kettle of fish.
FollowupID: 388215

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 18:29

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 18:29
Same as truckster said....My sway bars are gathering dust in the garage. I tried those quick disconnects for a while. They should add a bit to the name..... "Quick disconnects; Pr!ck reconnects" is what they should be called. Also, they rattle and clank all the time....I had the Snake Racing jobbies and ditched 'em real quick.
A bit of body roll on bitumen is a small sacrifice for better off road articulation.
It's just another thing about my truck that is illegal (over-weight, no interior mirror, VDU for rear camera etc being a few of the other things I could be black-balled for....)
FollowupID: 388249

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:15

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:15
Not illegal if its been engineered :)
FollowupID: 388333

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:35

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:35
Not sure if I would like more droop on my 80 at full articulation there is not a whole lot holding the spring in. I have not checked out what stops it going further further wheather it is the sway bar or the shocker. But the spring is unwound with part of the last coil starting to leave the spring holder. Are you actualy starting to lift wheels? there is no point doing it just coz it looks tough driven up a ramp to show your mates. standard articulation is pretty darn good anyway (disregard last part if you are really a hard core rock hopper)
FollowupID: 388335

Follow Up By: Scoey - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 09:31

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 09:31
No definately not a hardcore rockhopper and not to keen on driving up ramps to show off! I am very happy with the standard articulation but find that every now and then I do lift a wheel and it's usually half way up a snotty big hill. I reckon that little bit more drop would be the difference between getting up the track or taking the chicken track, but having said that - like all mods that are designed to get you past that tricky bit generally only get you further into the bleep ! Hmmmm, lots to think about!

Cheers for the info!
FollowupID: 388362

Reply By: simple - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:58

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:58
i took my rear swaybar off yesterday and gave the truck one little wiggle then put it back on. i don't think i'd be comfortable driving at any speed with it off with just coil spings.
when i was suspension shopping a guy told me nobody made disconnects for anything under a 4-5 inch lift. but i wouldn't trust him, not the best customer service i've had (when i ask prices for 2 and 4" kits don't try to sell me an 8" kit)

AnswerID: 134102

Follow Up By: Scoey - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:16

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:16
I'm assuming you have a 80 series also? I wouldn't try driving on road with them off, i was just thinking of off road use.

I have tried a number of websites and generally speaking, quick disconnects, are only available for min 3" lift. It definatley is an instant put off when someone trys selling you something that's way off what you were looking for!

By the way, how long did it take to take the bar off, and were any special tools rerquired?

Thanks for the input!
FollowupID: 388189

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:03

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:03
The issue with disconnects is not disconnecting them, but REconnecting them, with some people being stuck on the side of the track for an HOUR tryin to reconnect them....

FWIW, takes 10 mins to remove the whole sway bar do that before you hit the dirt if you must run them.
FollowupID: 388192

Follow Up By: simple - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:22

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:22
i have a GU patrol Ute.
it took me about 10 min to take it off. just a matter of undoing a couple of bolts, thats why it took 10 mins, it'll be less now that i've done it once
FollowupID: 388193

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:36

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:36
Give Snake Racing a call on 02 95701588, they have rear swaybar disconnects for 80 series Cruiser's...

Paul...
AnswerID: 134107

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:46

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:46
G'day Paul, had a great trip up to the Hattah, some wonderful camp sites, one other camp 1.5k away otherwise not a soul around.

The camper went well, 3 1/2 days on the battries before the generator was needed. Camped 5 days in the one spot with a day drive out to Murray Sunset.
FollowupID: 388197

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:37

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:37
Good to hear you had a great trip Tony....
FollowupID: 388355

Reply By: Scoey - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:38

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:38
Some great info! Just another quick question! Is it usually just the rear that people take off or both front AND rear?

Cheers once again!

Scoey :-D
AnswerID: 134112

Follow Up By: simple - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:24

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:24
i think a lot of people only do the rears. i did the rears cos i was hoping to get more drop out of it cos the back end doesn't weigh that much with the alloy tray.
FollowupID: 388210

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 15:00

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 15:00
all depends on the truck and the suspension design...

some have very limited front travel due to control arms and other wonderful things, so removing the front doesnt gain you that much.

having said that, I have removed both and like it, it works, and the truck handles good.

ymmv.
FollowupID: 388403