Maths & Physics an Absolute Must for a 4WD’er

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 19:45
ThreadID: 27191 Views:4003 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
This is what Physics and Maths have done for a 4WD’er with a Troopy

OEM TARE = 1450kgs Now 3200Kgs

OEM GVM = 3150Kgs Now 3495Kgs (Includes ‘ball weight’ if applicable)

OEM GCM = Not disclosed Now 6350Kgs (this is gross combined mass of vehicle and whatever is towed)

Includes Poptop Camper Conversion, Suspension Modification/upgrade and GVM Increased to Max of M3 category.

All engineered, new compliance plate, VASS Engineering certificate and the most important thing – VICROADS acceptance, rego updated and new sticker issued as of Monday showing the above.

Costs

Engineering $660
VICROADS $Nil

Modifications – weeeeell! lets just say that if SWMBO ever became aware of the total, it would most probably be the ‘little’ bed from then on.

I am just glad its all over.

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:14

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:14
Hi LUCY
THE cert could save you millions with out it the insurace co could stop your pay out
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 134181

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:40

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:40
That aspect suddenly dawned on me some months ago, along with other forum members comments of how the authorities , especially in WA and NSW are clamping down on 4WD's with mods/additions extra to those offered by the OEM.

So I thought I had better check the legallities of what I had done over the past 5 years.

What I thought had engineering certificates - didn't. (long story).

So I got stuck into it about April and continued with it until last Monday when I had it accepted by VICROADS.

Just been a lot of hours and kms expended getting there.

Sleep better now knowing that I have 'killed' a heap of possible, potentially hard to answer questions.

FollowupID: 388273

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:43

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:43
To member Toohey.

I've never met you Toohey, but I must thank you for your posts that switched the 'legal' light bulb on.
FollowupID: 388275

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:58

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:58
Oops! forgot to thank the 'Pink Nissan Mafia' for their relentless bagging, rude comments along with wild gesticulating at the campfire etc etc for giving me the incentive to shut them up.

I know! I know! that that is mission impossible, however I just get a big grin when I think of their leader (The right honourable member for Kadina) being hauled into one of those roadside stops where they stop you on a moveable platform.

Yep! I can just visualise the ashen face now as his mind is working banker hours speed trying to dream up a lucid explaination as to why his rig exceeds the allowable limits by 2-3 tonne or more, and more importantly, why the engine is white hot, smoking and the new fangled oil thingy is p i s s i n g oil everywhere.

Bet he blames it on the missus's Anzac bickies.

ROFLMAO ( I had better shut down now before the imagination really runs wild)

FollowupID: 388279

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:26

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:26
how much did it cost?
FollowupID: 388297

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:40

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:40
You didn't read the whole thing did you mate.

Doesn't matter cause I stuffed it up anyway.

Engineering $660
VICROADS $Nil
Weigh Bridge $12.
Current Elect Cert. $120

Lets make it a round figure of $800.00

Food for discussion on Saturday.

I also forgot to add that it included a new tyre and axle spec sticker.

Bigger tyres now.
FollowupID: 388301

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:16

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:16
na, too bleep LOL

whats ya plan for bonz's on weekend?
FollowupID: 388334

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:44

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:44
GREAT
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 134192

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:53

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:53
be buggered .....geez we aint the only ones overloading their vehicles...just look at most tradesman's vans utes etc etc
AnswerID: 134194

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:01

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:01
I know! Nudie

But thats another story, and you don't see very many road side inspection stations, whether temporary or permanent in the city (well Melbourne anyway) so these Cootas get away with it.
FollowupID: 388280

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:11

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:11
And so will I continue to get away with it so long as I drive like a little ol' lady on her way to church.....as I do anyway....hehehe
FollowupID: 388292

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:49

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:49
Driving like a 'Pooootrol fairy' will definitely get you a reservation for a mobile vehicle inspection. LOL.

What are you going to shed first, or should I say whom. ( Nette, Zac????)

I reckon you would be a ruthless coota - you would ditch the shuu-roo wouldn't you, or maybe strip out the 2 tonne of extra cabling you have got in it that nobody, not even yourself, has a clue where it all runs to or was installed for. Bet that is where your O/heating problem emanates from.

Nup! on second I reckon you would take the axe to that big mother of mud flap thingo you stole off Euclid dump truck and cobled onto the rear of the poor old GU.

Whatever you do, DON'T ditch the Anzac bickies.

Oooooooh! Roachie you offer soooooooo much material for this forum.

ROF with tears in my eyes LMAO
FollowupID: 388305

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 11:23

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 11:23
Hi Lucy,

How are you?
Now let me get this straight. GVM - Tare = Load carrying capacity (right ?)
Assuming I'm right that means you can carry 195kg after you fill the tanks with 100lt of diesel. That doesn't sound like much of a load. Me the wife and young fella would go close to that, so where does the black dog fit into your truck ?
One can only assume that this small load capacity is cause of the toyota badge, you should have borrowed Roachie's Nissan badge and got a couple of hundred more kg load carrying ability. Or would this have been too much for the old bus ??
($h!t stirring as usual) Am glad to see someone out there is legal in their loads so when I'm looking for an accident I can come looking for you ;-))))
Cheers mate, in all senserity well done.

Kind regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 134288

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 13:31

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 13:31
I was thinking along those lines as well mate, however the engineer used the conversion weight.:-

Camper conversion
Aux Fuel Tank
Water Tank
BBar + winch( yep that goes in as its a fixture)
Kmar rear bar with Jerrycan and holder.
Full Fuel Load
Full Water Load (200litres plus)
All the C H I T carried for camping purposes
Recovery gear.
Food (packaged)
(above three because they are always in the camper. Yes! can be taken out, but never do. no reason to do so.)

In essence its basically permanent and can't be used for much else.

AND - the only other things that get added are 'me & her', fresh food, clothing and bed gear. the extra 295ks covers that quite nicely.

FollowupID: 388384

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 17:20

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 17:20
I knew you would have crossed your T's and dotted your I's on this subject and I was only $h!t stirring.
Talk soon Trevor.
FollowupID: 388431