toyota rip off

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 19:59
ThreadID: 27221 Views:5464 Replies:28 FollowUps:32
wound up like a eight day clock at the moment ,had the 100 series in for its 80,000 service yesterday (2002 standard) was verbally quoted $720 to do it .
I get a call around nine in the morning saying brake pads are worn going to be $180 extra ,so i say no worries go ahead with it.
Went to pick car up and the bill comes to $1199 so i say $720 + $180 =$900 not $1199 so the bloke checks his computer and tells me i should have been quoted $860 for standard service plus the brake pads and the labour to fit them ( even though the calipers would have been off to do wheel bearing seals) plus it needed one valve shim replaced and labour to do it .
I still no this isn't adding up but decide to just pay the bill rather than pull him over the counter.
So that brings me to today when i first start the car one of the belts is sqealing which stops after about ten seconds so i turn off the car and inspect the belts ( which appear fine ) so off i go to work, when i come home i decide to check a little further , then i find that my fuel filter has not been changed and the washer bottle is dead empty.
So i check my bill and yes i was charged to do both.
So tomorrow its off to toyota to pull the bloke over the counter like i originally should have done, and get some real answers.
thanks for reading my whinge it makes me feel better.

Reply By: BUSTED100 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:08

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:08
Tojo,
pretty much the same story with one of the utes at work, this time at Mitsubishi. Triton was in for service, paid up leave once back at work one of the guys checks the oil and it was almost empty.
AnswerID: 134347

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:13

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:13
Hey tojo, Just took delivery of a 2005 turbo cruiser and guess what the only work dealers will do is the first free 1,000klm service.Then my mech will be servicing at least I know he WILL do as I taught him. Feel sorry for you buddy.

Regards BILLS
AnswerID: 134349

Follow Up By: Peter - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:46

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:46
WHY BOTHER? They do nothing at 1000km, thats why its free!!!!!
FollowupID: 388470

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:57

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:57
Agreed. At 1,000km "service" when I went to drop it off the guy asked if I wanted it washed (free). I said no as it was still pretty clean. "In that case it will be 20 minutes".

I actually watched as he got in, checked the interior lights, checked the headlights and other lights. started the engine, stopped the engine, opened all the doors and shut them again, stuck his head under the bonnet, made some marks on his clipboard, and handed me the keys. This was all done right where I parked it on the dealers forecourt. He did not even move the car.

"So that's it?"
"Yep"
"Hardly a 'Service' Why did I bother driving it in here?"
"That's why it is free. Is just an inspection"
"Oh OK - See ya!"

Don't get much for free these days!

Muddy
FollowupID: 388471

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:34

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:34
U got a edumacation Muddy, for free.

FollowupID: 388496

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:17

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:17
goodday tojo
if it makes you feel any better (it wont)nissan dealers are just the same my 2004 patrol has done almost 100 big 1s i stopped going to the dealer at 75000ks because they were really peeing me off now i do it all myself so when its done its done properly and not have 2 return trips to get half satisfied but take it back and say nasty words it does make you feel better

AnswerID: 134351

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:20

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:20
A work mates son works as a mechanic for a company that services leased car fleets. He is alocated a certain TIME to do each service. If he finds something that needs work and uses up his alocated TIME on that one job then no more service is done on that vehicle at that service booking, and they use the cheapest oil ! Next time you see an advertisement for a vehicle that says that it has always been serviced be aware that their idea of a service and yours are two totally different ideas.
AnswerID: 134352

Reply By: VK3CAT - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:26

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:26
I gave up taking my 80 series to the Local Toyota dealer & found a good & reputable service place that only does 4x4s. Most times it came back from the dealers in a worse state than when I sent it. The dealers had no knowledge of some aspects of the car (squealing brakes caused by low level indicators on the pads - said it was just dust!)
Happy now with my servicing. Not cheap but very thorough & do the basic stuff myself.
Cheers Tony.
AnswerID: 134355

Reply By: Col (wa) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:27

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:27
G'day Tojo,
We had the same problem at 80,000 service with the price and the belt squealing. Turned out to be belt tensioner bolt was siezed they had to replace the whole assembly not an easy job very tight to get at. Made sure they gave us a loaner for the day. Needless to say will not be going back to toyota.

Col
AnswerID: 134356

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:29

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:29
and ill bet there was nothing wrong with the brake pads
AnswerID: 134357

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:44

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:44
I cant understand why people get upset at the standard of mechanical work at present. Most motavated decent mechanics are NOT working at the joe averadge garadge listening to customers whinge about what hasnt been done and how much has been charged/overcharged while making 60 grand or so a year. No they are riding the back of the resources boom where they can earn minimum 80 grand a year and probably much more without having to mdeal with the public complain there was a grease spot left on the seat.
In my experience there are a few decent mechanics left usually the business owners but they are totally snowed under and have no choice but to employ anyone they can - not the best guy for the job.
Its easy enough to do the oils and filters yourself and then hunt high and low for decent brake specialists etc to do the stuff you cant do
AnswerID: 134364

Follow Up By: DMECH - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:15

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:15
HERE HERE!!!

these posts should be sent direct to toyota in japan!

we did similar with mitsubishi after being given the run arround by dealer's in w.a also head office in aust. didnt help but after emailing mits. corp in japan, things happened the shisen did hit the fan with the major dealer here in w.a.
FollowupID: 388468

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:18

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:18
I'd make sure you go at the busiest time you can, and speak loudly, and watch them squirm.

Lucky you can just be annoyed imagine if you were about to head off on a big trip and had something go wrong.

AnswerID: 134377

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:31

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:31
doesnt work I spent 20 minutes with the service manager trying to get an explanation why we got a vehicle back from toyota with the fuel lines still ripped out when it said quit clearly on the job sheet what was wrong. I got a so sad to bad if you want it fixed then book it in now but we are really busy so bring it back the day after tomorrow. They reeeely DO NOT CARE I got exactly the same attitude when we got a ute back with the hole still in the radiator despite it saying quite clearly there was a hole in the radiator. This was only 2 of many problems I had when dealing with
GOLDFIELDS TOYOTA
Certainly do not take my own vehicle there
FollowupID: 388457

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:49

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:49
hi tojo
i dont have to worry as i take the defender to local meck but wait theres more only once a year as the service is 20000 ks and i dont do more than 15 000 a year
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 134388

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:35

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:35
Yes credit where credit is due, Landrover did well by owners on that. Wish others would follow with a centrifugal oil filter. -Even if they only offered it as an option.
EV700
FollowupID: 388464

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:03

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:03
reminds me of the servicing costs and repairs I was quoted from the dealer where I bought my 100. As a used car I got a 3 year warranty thrown in which covered me for $1000 worth of repairs for each time. The difference in cost of servicing between my trusty bloke up the road and the main dealer over an hour away decided it for me. I took my chances and let em stuff the $1000 warranty and got my servicing done up the road by a bloke I trust. He did the major service for $580 whereas the dealer quoted $900 and that was before the phone calls started "we've just found you need a new blahgizmo and it'll cost you $399.99c on top of the $900". Stuff em. Any work or accessories on the body I get done by my local smash repairer. It's amazing the difference in markup between him and Toyota. He obviously still makes a dollar on the parts (genuine) but charges a lot less for them as well as the labour. Pharkin robbers.
AnswerID: 134398

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:22

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:22
I've had this problem with Honda as well as Toyota. I have a 100 series and a Honda V6 Accord.

Fortunately, I sort these probs out pretty quick. I let them do thier speil, listen to all thier reasoning etc,etc,etc. And then I ask 'em really technical questions about the issue. You see I used to be a mechanic - got out of it about 20 years ago. BUT - that was when mechanics were real mechanics and not just "parts fitters". I'm now an ex-mechanic that hates mechanicking. So I get my car serviced by others.

However, they are all now running scared when my car turns up fer a service. The Service Manager at my local Honda place won't talk to me, I've caught him out that many times - he hates me 'n I love it. I drive away laughing like drain, 'cos I got him again!

The Tojo guys haven't put a foot wrong since I had a word about brake disc distortion and showed thier mechanic how to set up a DTI to test for run out.

But basically, if you don't know what you're on about they'll screw ya and dealerships are the worst by far.

Don't be afraid - ask 'em the hard questions.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 134405

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:59

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 22:59
Toyota servicing - if anyone has someone good on the north side of Brisbane, preferably western suburbs way please let me know.

thanks
EV700
AnswerID: 134414

Reply By: Peter - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:54

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:54
Tojo, might pay to check your account again, I think you will find you have been charged for Windscreen Washer ADDITIVE, not top up with water.
Cheers Peter
AnswerID: 134419

Reply By: Boc1971 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 07:44

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 07:44
I'm guessing you took the vehicle to Toyota for service >? Most of the new parts fitters at those places are apprentices that don't give a toss.

My past experience is to take it to a smaller mechanical w/shop with only 2 /3 guys working there - You generally do get much better service as you deal with the person face to face who fixes your car , rather than some faceless kid out in the workshop that gets $10 PH , that you will not see.

Boc
AnswerID: 134434

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:03

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:03
Yes.. Mechanics crap me off...
I used to get my 4x4 serviced in a workshop in Adelaide that i am sure quite a few of you guys would use also,,, but i will never go back there again...
Not because they treated my vehicle badly (that i knew of) but because one day i went there to pick up my Patrol from a major service and i noticed another Patrol there with 35inch tires,,, so i inquired about the mods done to it and the owner of this place told me it also had a turbo fitted with lower diff gears and did i want to test drive it to see whether or not it might tempt me to get him to fit these parts to mine....
So we jump in and start off down the sidestreets,,, at about 60klicks he mounts the gutter and drives across a very bumpy housing development to show how the suspension works,, and for the rest of the time he has got his boot right into it... I was very impressed and then he said i could have a drive.... I start driving and he says not to be afraid and to sink my foot into it ...... It had heaps of power,, black smoke pi$$ing out the back.....
When we get back i ask him how long he has owned it and he replies...."its not mine,, its a customers"...
AnswerID: 134435

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 12:43

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 12:43
Good bloke he is. (Not)

FollowupID: 388518

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 17:07

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 17:07
Mate, you've gotta be phryggin jokin'............I hope!!!!! No way; surely there aren't any cowboys THAT bad out there!!!!

Un believable!!!!!!!!!!

That wasn't a certain place next to Opposite Lock on South Road, I hope????

FollowupID: 388548

Follow Up By: Pedirka - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 23:06

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 23:06
Love to know who would or could be driving my car without my authority
FollowupID: 388590

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 07:37

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 07:37
I "absolutely" swear.... It is the "TRUTH"......
Obviously i cannot say who it is on a public forum but it is total truth..
It changed my thoughts on trust...
FollowupID: 388607

Follow Up By: Rojac - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 09:05

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 09:05
Not surprising, was following a immaculate v8 commodore down Churchill Rd only to find the guy driving it smokin it at every set of lights, into Churchill Rd North the guy pulls into a tyre place ( the car had rims on the back not matching mags). On the way back pass this place to find the car parked out front with mags on the back.

Looked like a customer car that went in for a tyre change and it was "taken" for a test drive.

Wont go there for a tyre change
FollowupID: 388624

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:57

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:57
Ita an interesting topic indeed. Having spend most of my life in the automotive game, Its been happening ever since i started as an apprentice. Back in 1974 (1st year apprentice) I saw it every day, cutting corners to save money. I recall a XA falcon coupe 302 cleavland. Came in for its first major service, Plugs and points were to be replaced, Service manager came up to me and told me NOT to change them. So i did what i was told. Cut a long story short... owner picked up his car that arvo, drove it out of workshop. 15 minutes later he was back in and pulled up his bonnet, called manager over and stuck his head under bonnet and shower him the metal seal he put between the dist cap and housing and also the marking he put on plugs. Told the manager that he was charged for replacement on invoice but nothing was replaced. Wanted an explination for it. Ended up he got the next 2 major serviced done for free (parts and labour) after he promised the dealer he was going to sit outside the driveway with a huge plackard warning people of what the service department was up too. 1 week later, manager was gone...sacked. Found out a few weeks later they used manager as a scape goat over the incident.

Will happen all time and can happen in any workshop. Bad day / good day theory. Friday afternoon of a long weekend...running late so corners r cut. It happens in every field.
Unless ur prepared to sit outside the workshop with sighs warning others what went on in the workshop, they dont care . Making others aware of what they did to ur 80,000 dollar. Eventually word gets around and that hurts them.
AnswerID: 134447

Reply By: Rigor - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:57

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:57
Not just Toyota , I purchased my Jackaroo in 99 (holden dealer) and while under warranty I tried all Holden dealers within reasonable distance and all were liars and cheats . The classic is the prearranged bill that prints out the work expected for that service and charges you accordingly and half the work is never done eg. detergent for washer bottle $2.00 (still empty ) clean and relube door striker plate $10 (not touched ) The last I ever went to a dealer I paid $220 for what turned out to be a oil and filter change , none of the other work quoted and paid for was done. A friend is a qual. mechanic and he worked for a big Holden dealer in Bris for a brief period and was pressured to find exttra work on anything he worked on . This was a set $ value each week to achieve or please explain.

I will never trust them again.

Dave L.
AnswerID: 134448

Follow Up By: macka - Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 14:03

Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 14:03
Sorry..
that should have read.. Till end of Warranty not service.
Macka..
FollowupID: 388761

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:27

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:27
Why are people suprised when nothing is done at a service and you get charged for things that dont exist??

... its been going on since cars were invented.

Tell them you will do oil and filters yourself in future, save yourself $500 at their rates...
AnswerID: 134459

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:48

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:48
Only problem with this Truckster is that you need a qualified mechanic to sign the service book to satisfy the new car warranty. Not everyone knows a qualified mechanic.
FollowupID: 388499

Follow Up By: macka - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 11:23

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 11:23
Hi. We got a Patrol
Get it serviced at DC Motors Rocky....
They are very good. Let me check with fitter, while doing jobs. Even asked my opinions regarding shocker replacements (My cost)
Supply my own oils (Synthetics) Use their filters though. As it DOES affect warranty...
Give Loan car. ALWAYS charge less. that than Quoted.
and several times there have been Toyota's in there Cause the local Tojo agents, can't fix them..
Sounds too good to be true.. But it is.. Best service agent I've Ever had in nearly 50 yrs of driving...
Just one more reason to buy an underrated Nissan I think...
Regards All
MAcka..
FollowupID: 388509

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 17:17

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 17:17
Matt,
That's not necessarily true mate.
I bought my current GU Patrol, brand new in 2000. I had Nissan do the 1st service and I've done all the other routine services since then myself. I get the injectors done every now and then by a reputable injection place and also get a (private) mechanic to do the tappets about every 70,000klm.
When I moved here to SA from NSW, I didn't initially have all my tools, ramps and gear with me and didn't know any mechanics well enough.....GU needed a oil change, so I booked it into local Nissan place. When I picked it up the service manager said they thought that 5th gear was just about to let go. Truck had done about 80,000klm at that time and he offered to do the job under warranty. They never asked to see the service history (even though I do record EVERYTHING in a book I have in the truck....not the user manual) and never queried me or tried to screw me for any cost other than the oil (which it was due for a change at 80,000klm anyway, so I didn't mind paying for that).
Just my experience....YMMV
FollowupID: 388549

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 18:05

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 18:05
Roachie,

I've done oil and filter changes on out of warranty vehicles before but I'm not game to do them on my new Navara cause knowing my luck they would check the books and say that the warranty is void. Not sure what the actual policy on this is but you only ever hear of people being screwed by the dealerships.

You must be on a winner with that dealer Roachie, half you're luck. :-)
FollowupID: 388554

Follow Up By: macka - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 19:04

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 19:04
Hi Roachie... Regarding Filters and warranty.
The words were.. If the car dies, and is towed etc. To one of out service centres for warranty work. The filters are checked as a matter of course. When oil dropped. If they are non Nissan ones.. NO warranty cover.
It's an out for them...
That was from Nissan head office service dep't.
Macka.
FollowupID: 388560

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:03

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:03
G'day Macka,
I can understand that to a certain extent if the donk has died and they reckon it's cos the oil wasn't doing it's job right cos of the inadequate (to them) filter/s you had on at the time. However, (and at this risk of sounding like I think you're a dork.....which I don't....) if the warranty claim is for something totally unrelated (like door handle falling off etc), they can hardly blame the problem on your choice of filter. As stated, that is bleedingly obvious and I'm not trying to be a smart @rse by using that as an example, but even if something like the power steering packs it in, they still can't blame your choice of engine oil or filter etc.

I guess I'm just lucky, cos I used all sorts of different oils and filters over the past 5 years; very rarely used the Nissan items. I don not believe that Nissan has a corner of their factory/ies devoted to making filters or oil or coolant or any other "consumable". No, they would source such items from manufacturers of such gear and then whack their own lables on them.

I also bought the vehicle with such a high level of confidence that I never expected to have to rely on the warranty. Naive; probably.....Lucky; definitely!!!
FollowupID: 388567

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:15

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:15
There having a lend of you macka it was sorted out by a court case you dont need genuine parts to claim on warranty unless they can prove the failure was due to the part
FollowupID: 388569

Follow Up By: macka - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 00:04

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 00:04
Hi Roachie..
Fairly obviously I meant the donk dieing. Normally No 3 pot, when it did happen.. I did say when it's towed/trucked.
The Wksp foreman also said.the same thing. Even with Full synthetic oil.
If donk dies,and aftermarket filter in there. It's very doubtful the warranty would cover..
Something about the wording gives them an out..
I didn't go any further with him. As I wasn't really interested.
There's are only a dollar dearer than aftermarket ones anyway.. Why bother....
$50K plus car under warranty. Don't f... about for the sake of a few dollars.
You know the servicing is part of the price.. Just pay it..
I was a diesel mechanic by trade years ago. Couldn't be bothered with the hassles of it all.
Also. I've found that if you go in with a quote from another registered maintenance yard. they will cover that price. DC does anyway.
Same as my extended warranty.Got 3 different prices. Went to them with lowest one. they covered it. Got over $100 off.
Regards All
MAcka
FollowupID: 388597

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 00:23

Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 00:23
Matt..
You just tell the dealer you will do the filters and oil yourself, and they check out the rest and stamp the book..

1000's of people do this to save coin on their "TOP OF THE LINE OIL" they sell that is usually what ever is cheapest..

failing that, do oil and filters etc, then to go Ultratune. They would do it, and you would still have warranty.
FollowupID: 388723

Follow Up By: macka - Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 13:59

Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 13:59
Hi Truckster...
I'm glad I got a Patrol. The way you all talk about Toyota service dep'tments...
Either that. Or I've been dead lucky with my choices of Garage.
Brighton Nissan in Melb. And DC Motors in Rocky....
They always used to put Castrol MAgnatec in normally. But now the grading for the 3 ltr has gone up. DC are putting in a Semi-Synthetic..
As said b4. I use my own Synthetic. so that side don't bother me.
I used to check every time car got home,originally,
Don't bother now. They seem to be honest..Even tell me when they do extra things.
Like fit new Co2 valve.(or whatever it's called) in air intake. .cause it didn't meet spec's on electronic tune. That was a neat $900 plus to them.
And when car comes out the door. It's detailed In and out first...
Can't see the point in doing own oil/filter etc. Get the service done by them and if anything does go wrong.. They can't come back with the old. Well... You did this etc..
You know the servicing cost is in the price of the car when you buy it..
So just get it done till end of service. Then do your own..
I've worked on the bloody things all my life.. It's nice having somebody doing it for me..
MAcka
FollowupID: 388760

Reply By: vitara - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 13:13

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 13:13
The hilux was put in at WINDSOR TOYOTA and dont mind saying the dealership as I would not take a go cart there, yes had a major service done before heading up to the cape and when the vehicle was sitting in driveway there was oil bleep out every where, popped the bonnet ah no oil cap. Stuffed the paint on the rocker cover, had to chuck the bonnet insulater to the sh@t house and put about 2litres of oil back in.Went back to the dealership to have a few words and they couldn't find the cap so they gave me another one which was the wrong one till this day it still has the wrong cap on it. $1600.00 bucks thanks for coming. Never Again. Do it all myself and what I cant I take to the local mechanic here in penrith, at a third of the price compared to a dealership. Take are all Vitara
AnswerID: 134475

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 14:08

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 14:08
Gulp ........... not happy Vitara. I'm due for a 40k service and have used Windsor Toyota so far. I have'nt had any problems with them yet but was planning to do a few checks this time even before your post.

Was that the first instance you had problems with them? Mind you, after that debacle I can understand it being the last.

If you don't mind me asking, who do you use at Penrith? I'd rather spend the waiting time walking around there than Windsor :)
FollowupID: 388529

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 16:14

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 16:14
waiting time? and you city boys are complaining? - 2 days minimum to get even 1 hr jobs done here in the fields drp it off at the start of the day and go back at the end to be told come back tomorrow to hear it all again
FollowupID: 388542

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 16:48

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 16:48
Hahahahahaha ... Davoe, It's just another excuse for some retail therapy.

"Had to do something while waiting for the car dear. It's too far to go home and come back again".

There are a lot more opportunities for therapy at Penrith than Windsor :)
FollowupID: 388546

Follow Up By: vitara - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 08:13

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 08:13
Hi there Gramps, yeah take it to a local mechanic which is actually located at glenmore park (penrith). Only problem is he works from home so is not a registered business so cant do any thing that is still under warranty. He has worked for toyota for 18 years and still does but does jobs at home for half the price toyota charge.Knows them inside out front to back. He is highly regarded in toyota by the big wigs for fault finding. Have been taking the lux to him since Ive had it.Even better after sales service than toyota will ever give you.I think he has more tools in his garage than toyota except for a hoist. Maybe think about it when your warranty's up I know of others in the area that are highly regarded as well just let me know and will give you there address Registered with mta so no pobs with warranty Regards Vitara
FollowupID: 388613

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 12:26

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 12:26
Thanks Vitara. Appreciate the info. I'll keep it in mind for when the warranty runs out (or they stuff up big time :))
FollowupID: 388647

Reply By: joc45 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 13:48

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 13:48
At 90k, Nissan told me the back brake pads needed replacing on the GU (and they skim the discs as a matter of course, more cost). Told them to leave it, and I'll check it. Back at home, I put calipers on the back pads, extrapolated distance vs wear, and estimated another 30k at least in the pads. I changed them 30k later, and still lots of life left. The discs were clean, no scores, but they would have skimmed them anyway. Prob $300 saved.
At 60k Nissan said the power steering fluid needed changing. Asked if it was on the factory schedule, they said no, but the fluid was "very dark" from excessive heat. I told them that my old Mav ran for 250k without a problem with the steering fluid, but they reckoned that the heaver GU puts more strain on the steering. So I said that the GU has a cooler that the Mav didn't have, so it should run cooler. Their response was "well it's still dark, so we should change it". On picking up the vehicle, they have this neat little Castrol display on the counter with 3 vials which show dark, medium and light fluid. No prize for connecting this little display with the need to change the fluid at 60k.
Air intake left loose on the turbo at another service.
Wheel nuts left loose on another service
Nissan don't do my servicing, now that it's out of warranty, saving a fortune.
Ford were the same with the old Mav. Oil filters charged for but not changed, etc. Again, after it was out of warranty, Ford didn't touch the vehicle ever again.
Cheers, Gerry
AnswerID: 134477

Follow Up By: Peter - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 21:51

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 21:51
I've had a Pajero, then a Defender and now have 4.2 2003 Patrol. Have the brake fluid, clutch fluid and power steering fluid changed every 40,000km by Aussie Brakes in Brisbane - cost $80 all up. If I go to the local library and pick up a free bookmark off the counter I get $55 discount. Have used them for years and never had a problem with any of the fluids and they've never tried to sell me other not needed bits and pieces. A good mob to deal with.
FollowupID: 388586

Reply By: tojo - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 18:31

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 18:31
Seems like l touched on a raw nerve with this thread ,l think the whole industry needs a good pull through ,l can see what davoe is saying that any mechanic with half a brain can be doing a lot easier job for the same sort of money without having to put up with bleep ty customers and greedy dealer principles.
Any how l had some joy today with toyota in scoring my next 90000 service for free. The service manager was very understanding and did look fully in to it, apparently the mechanic had washed the motor after the service and this accounted for the sqealing belts and the fuel filter being covered in dirty water making it look unchanged.
after talking to the mechanic direct l feel he was genuine in what he had said ,the washer bottle he had probaly missed as an overlook and was sorry, so fair enough we are all humans.
The extra price was for having 8 valve springs out of spec and shifted around to correct tolerances( apparently quite out of character for a 1hz with this amount of kays) and for spending so long doing the wheel bearings which appeared to have never been greased in its 80000 km life , this they tried to put on to me but was told that the the car has been serviced every 10000 km by toyota since new, the first sixty at another dealership before l purchased the vehicle, so there for any problems encounted there is not my responsibility but something they must take up with that dealership, my point was taken.
So to sum it up l am happyish with the outcome but after the free 90000km service will be doing it my self as the car will be out of warranty any how.
l am a toolmaker by trade so cant see anything being out of reach with a good manual .
AnswerID: 134514

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 19:06

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 19:06
Thanks guys,
Needed to be bought back to earth, I have done all my own repairs for ever, and keeping 4 vehicles on the road does become a chore, and i often wonder would i be better off working and paying someone else to do some of this work!
Well you have all just reminded me I hate being ripped off and i hate shoddy work even more, so I will be doing it for a long time yet and i think i am better off financially as it only has to be done once and i dont waste heaps of time arguing with morons after the jobs not done right.
Have a go at doing a bit more yourselves guys its not that hard and you have this forum to answer almost any question .

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 134518

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:19

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:19
doing it myself is no garantee of avoiding shoddy workmanship
FollowupID: 388572

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:34

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:34
Yes it is Davoe, been doing it for 30 odd years and never had a claim yet!
FollowupID: 388577

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 08:26

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 08:26
"Better Bulit, Better Backed???"

Paj just had its timing belt changed at the local Zupps dealership in Mt Gravatt. Had the 90K service done at the same time.
Next day noticed some oil drips on the carport floor. On the weekend I took the sump bash plate off to find out where it was coming from and found the sump plug just barely hanging on by a thread, about ready to dump everything and stuff the engine..... (:-||

Still haven't simered down enogh to ring them and give them a blast....

Won't be going back though, that's for sure.
AnswerID: 134568

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 10:22

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 10:22
Oh well while we're bitchin might as well join in. On my recent trip we did a water crossing at Litchfield NP and shortly after I have a diff noise. Climbed under the car to find the breather disconnected - must have ripped loose somewhere I guessed (but we hadn't done anything seriously difficult) because I had a major service done before I left which amongst other things included checking the diff oils - so couldn't have been loose then!!??? Drove into Katherine and changed the oil - noticed the breather still intact. Renewed the oil again in Kunnunura to purge any remaining moisture - note hose still attached. Got home last week and the hose is still attched after some serious driving so I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that the damn thing was most likely loose or made loose (god knows why) when I had it serviced. It is still under warranty and will be taking the matter up with them when next I have it serviced.

Like all here very unhappy with the standard generally and will do my own once it is out of warranty.

AnswerID: 134592

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 00:08

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 00:08
Those diff breather hoses do rip off VERY easily I just put my rear one back on (advantage of servicing your own vehicle) but the work ones were forever getting ripped of
FollowupID: 388969

Reply By: J.T. - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 13:45

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 13:45
I was a mechanic in a nissan dealership up until a few years ago.The emphasis was on our productivity and how many hours we sold and how many extras i.e.brake pads,power steering flushes etc.Most mechanics just race over the services not really caring.The service manager would have monthly meetings showing everyones efficiency putting pressure on each mech.There are generally so many advisers and managers that the mechanics have to make wages for non money earning staff.And I definately do all my own work myself.
AnswerID: 134607

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 00:18

Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 00:18
sounds like any workshop anywhere.
FollowupID: 388720

Reply By: wresat - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 02:18

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 02:18
Have 3.0L diesel hilux from new. At 70000km, took it in for service at local Toyota place. When picking it up, told me the clutch is on its way and will need to be replaced! Told then to leave it. Some 60000km later and clutch has still never shown any signs of trouble.

That has really lowered my trust in dealer service departments.

One last tip. If they say something needs to be replaced, always ask them to keep those parts so you can see it. Even if you don’t know what you’re looking at, it may make them think twice about replacing parts they don’t have to.
AnswerID: 134989

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:59

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:59
Mmm. Not a good day to have read this post. Got the prado in today with Cannon Toyota for its 120K major service, top to bottom stuff. Bloody expensive. Hopefully its done right. They've been decent to me in the past.
AnswerID: 135201