we had a ripper of a hailstorm today

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:27
ThreadID: 27223 Views:3338 Replies:12 FollowUps:6
as above it went trough the gold coast about 2.30 , it gave my toyota ute ( thats for sale )a good going over and my maverick (not insured) got a good one as well and our windsor caravan that we were trying to sell. then the wife rings me up and her toyota corolla has no front or back windows and is looking like someone with a ballpen hammer has taken to it. then we both get home and it looks like a bomb has gone off there too. holes all over the house roof, pergola top all over the yard water leaking inside, well there has to be some poor bugger worse off than we are. wonder what tomorrow is going to bring, have a happy night everyone. peter d

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:39

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:39
Bugger

AnswerID: 134360

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:40

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:40
peter,

Sorry to hear of your bad arvo. If you need tarps or anything respond to me as I have a 26ft canvas truck tarp you can borrow or if I have something else you need let me know and I will try to get it to you ASAP. Unfortunately I have a truckload of gear arriving at my house in Brissy tomorrow morn, so I can't be there personally but I may still be able to help tonight if you need it.

Good luck Trevor.
AnswerID: 134361

Follow Up By: peter d - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:51

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:51
thanks for the offer trevor but i blocked them (holes) up with some tarps and got it as safe as we can until they can come and have a look in a couble of days they said so will wait and see on that one. but thanks again. peter d
FollowupID: 388449

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:57

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:57
OK mate good luck with the clean-up.
FollowupID: 388452

Reply By: Patroleum - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:51

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:51
Peter,

Were you at Gaven or Pacific Pines. We are at Nerang and expected the same. Supposedly had only light hail the size of a 5c coin and almost none of it. Strange how so near to chaos can be calm.

Good Luck

AnswerID: 134367

Follow Up By: peter d - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:54

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:54
greg we are in oxenford and they were the size of golf balls and some were bigger, never seen anything like it in the 10 years i been here. peter d
FollowupID: 388451

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:58

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:58
i was in byron bay at lunch time and it looked very threatening, but we only had a few drops of rain. northern nsw and southern qld in spring is the big storm time of year and hail is its no 1 weapon.
our condolences peter
AnswerID: 134369

Reply By: Patroleum - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:04

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:04
Peter,

Good luck with the repair. About 3 years ago when i had my Bundera i got caught in a fairly heavy hail storm turning from smith st onto the Pac Hwy northbound. I think there is a bit of a hail corridor there. We've been lucky in our 5 years here but evidence of heavy hail previously exists to our Solahart HWS tank on the roof.

Good luck with the insurance etc

AnswerID: 134372

Follow Up By: peter d - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:19

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:19
been lucky up till now to miss out all the time but you can't always get away with mother nature can you. thanks everyone. peter d
FollowupID: 388454

Reply By: peter d - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:25

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:25
oh yer ment to say, insurance well thats something else isn't it , RACQ have been good so far , they are picking the wifes car up in the morning and taking that to the smash repairers so thats quick i thought.as for the house we'll just have to wait and see. have been on to them already but haven't heard back as yet. peter d
AnswerID: 134380

Reply By: porl - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:39

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:39
i watched that storm go over oxenford and coomera on the bom site from brisbane. after our may hail (and i've been living here 39yrs and never seen anything like it) and our little suzuki swift got pummelled i finally put up the car port. but me thinks if i've got hail bigger than golf balls heading this way this year maybe i'd better get some council approval so my insurer will cover the holes comin the way of the hailproof car port!! (the 4wd of course is under the house)
AnswerID: 134384

Reply By: mowing - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:59

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 21:59
Hi Peter, We have friends that live in Brisbane (Samford Valley) and when we were over there in July they showed us video of a hail storm that when through in April. If you did not see it you would not believe the size of the hail.

Hope it all goes well for you.

AnswerID: 134394

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 02:43

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 02:43
You wouldn't believe that I sold my 21ft boat to a bloke yesterday (I'm at Nerang) and he left my place to travel to Rainbow Beach approx one hour before the storm hit. He was towing it with a Jeep Cherokee, I just hope he had a safe & uneventfull trip home. I'm not game to ring him!
AnswerID: 134427

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:08

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:08
Sorry to hear about the hail.
Sounds like the weather is back to normal.
I remember the hail storms of the 70, 80s and early 90s.

Wife remarked that the storm at 3:00 ish is just like we used to have, always coming when the kids come out of school.

Woodridge/browns plains though hasn't been hit yet this year.

My theory is the worst storms follow corridors.

We are tucked in near Mt Gravatt and the bad storms seem to go south of us.

But then we did loose the whole roof in 1973 in a little tornado. Took 6 months to rebuild because of the floods, they had preference.

Helps you appreciate the important things in life like family and friends.
AnswerID: 134437

Follow Up By: porl - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:00

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:00
too true John, i grew up in upper mt gravatt just off Nursery Road in the 70's and 80's. Saw big storms overhead and read about them but only rain and occasional small hait hit us. In the 74 flood i was 8 and i wondered where the hell the water was cause there weren't any in our street (course mt gravatt is a long way from any river for those that don't know it)
FollowupID: 388491

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 14:11

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 14:11
I saw that storm cell on the bom radar and thought that is for sure a bad storm cell . It was small and concentrated with a lot of red in it . The last time i saw one that bad was when it hit my place at approx 150 klms per hr winds . Tore awnings off the house etc .
AnswerID: 134480

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 14:13

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 14:13
PS . forgot to add im a habitual bom radar watcher.
http://mirror.bom.gov.au/products/IDR503.loop.shtml
FollowupID: 388530

Reply By: angler - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:35

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 20:35
Sincere condolances, we went through a cyclone once and I will never forget the stress of losing the roof and lots of other stuff from water damage.
Every time the wind gets up and howls a bit I get nervous.
AnswerID: 134530