advice please..GU bullbar

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 23:54
ThreadID: 27322 Views:2784 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
If anyone knows where I can find a 2nd hand ARB winch bullbar for a late 2002 GU in Melbourne please let me know.

Reply By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 00:14

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 00:14
I transfered a warn low mount winch from my old GQ to my present GU Patrol with std nissan Ali bull bar,not to hard to do .ring me if you want further info
maurie
AnswerID: 134860

Follow Up By: Ken - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 08:23

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 08:23
Peter, have you had a look on eBay, there have been a few for sale recently.

Ken
FollowupID: 388874

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:03

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:03
G'day Maurice,

I hate to rain on your parade, but please have a gander at my response to fredl (below).

FollowupID: 388910

Reply By: fredl - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 11:54

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 11:54
Hi Maurice,
I have a newish (05) Patrol with the standard bull bar. Is it possible to mount a winch without changing the bullbar such as with the one being sold by Repco.
AnswerID: 134904

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:02

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:02
G'day mate,
I'd be surprised if you could fit a winch to the standard alloy bullbar, despite what another reply (above) has already said. I'm not saying it can't be done; but I'd be extremely wary of actually USING a winch that had been bolted onto a bar that was not designed for a winch.

The forces involved in a winching operation when a vehicle is stuck in sand or mud are very significant. Forget the vehicle's GVM when calculating the load......you may have a vehicle that tips the scales at 2.5 or 3 tonne, but add to that the resistence of the sand/mud/hill etc and the load can potentially be doubled.

I for one, would not wish to be around when a significant load was applied by the winch if it is mounted on a bar that was not welded up for the pulling effect (away from the vehicle). Bear in mind that the alloy bar has been engineered to assist defray the damage caused by wandering stock etc hitting the front of the vehicle......I would venture to say that if an engineer was designing the bar to act as the intermediate part between the vehicle and a large load on a winch cable, he would be adding strengthening gussets etc that would not otherwise be necessary.

FollowupID: 388909

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:43

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:43
If you mount a winch to a TJM alloy bar then you have to buy a steel cradle which also bolts in between the chasis rails. Surely something like this could be easily manufactured so the factory alloy bar could be used?

Leroy
FollowupID: 388913

Follow Up By: Ronnie - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:37

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:37
Hi Fred
Go for the mounting bracket bolted to the chassis rails,(mine came with the OX hyd. winch) cut out the 3 slots and presto look at the weight savings.can send some pics at the weekend as am away from vehicle.
Cheers Ronnie
FollowupID: 389059

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:45

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:45
You could do a ring around all the 4x4 wreckers like southern 4x4 dismantlers etc. They have many late model vehicles so they may have a bar!

Leroy
AnswerID: 134920

Reply By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 14:19

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 14:19
Sorry Fella~ may be i should have explained .Firstly the winch is mounted on a piece of 8mm steel plate which is bolted to the chassis frame with 4 7/16 hi tensile bolts, the rope guide is bolted to the ali bull bar frame, used winch several times no probs
same as i mounted to my old gq used heaps pulling mine site pumps ect
Maurie
AnswerID: 134927

Follow Up By: charlies - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:48

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:48
I did the same. Made up a cradle, mouted to the chasis. The fairlead also mounts to the cradle. The control box is mounted under the bonnet. You would have to look twice to know a winch was fitted. The hardest part was cutting the vertical bits out of the bull bar (alloy). Works like a champion. Happy to show pics if neaded. Cheers
FollowupID: 388935

Follow Up By: warthog - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:11

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:11
Some pics would be great if you've got em, thanks
FollowupID: 388941

Reply By: fredl - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 09:27

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 09:27
G'day Charlie, can you send me some Pics
fred@micromex.com.au
Fred
AnswerID: 135004