Satellite Phone Subsidy Scheme
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:27
Member - Peter R (QLD)
Has anyone, on a personal level, applied for a subsidy to buy a sat phone and if successful what were the points raised in application.
After seeing that CDMA coverage in most areas of Northern Australia is non existent a sat phone for emergencies seems the best option .
Pedro
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:30
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:30
Maybe get on to www.landwide.com.au and ask your question to the people that know....
Reply By: hl - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:42
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:42
Yes.. I have a friend who has..
No hassles, apparently they are only too happy to help (with our money).
Reply By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:54
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:54
Pedro,
Go to www.dcita.gov.au/satphone.
The form and all relevant info is there.
Dean
Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 13:28
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 13:28
mmm i know of a bloke who got his for the following reason:
travel frequently between
adelaide -
broken hill -
Mildura with very little mobile phone contact. Need phone to stay in contact with office.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 13:30
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 13:30
I think its got somthing to do with how sincere you look or appear to be when you lie! hahaahhaahahah
Reply By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:34
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:34
you need to let them know the areas you work in or travel in frequently that are out of range. If its just a case of you needing a car kit for a CDMA, its most likely they will tell you this and you will not get the grant. They ask for locations to check the nearest CDMA cell.
As an aside, The phone needs to be held at all times in the first 2 years by someone eligible for the scheme (you cant just flog it off to a random mate) however you CAN get the scheme now while there is dodgy CDMA coverage in your area, cancel the phones plan a few days later and then wait till you actually need the phone (ie for a big trip etc) before reactivating it. Most telcos only let you suspend your plan for 1/4 of the year max.
If you go for the cheapest plan the provider offers, you will only get a few hundred as a rebate- you need to get a high plan to get the full $2k rebate, but you can still cancel at any time so long as you hold onto the phone. I figure while I meet the requirements I will do that now and save myself $2k later. I checked it all out with the scheme provider and they couldnt find a problem with it.
Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:53
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:53
Gday Benspoon,
$1100 off for the lowest monthly plan/phone purchase only.
$1500 off for all plans above the lowest.
Dean
Reply By: Member - Marquis - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:11
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:11
Has anyone purchased a sat phone from overseas?
Can you stick a normal sim card into them?
Reply By: Woobla (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:54
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:54
Hi pedro,
I applied a couple of months ago and stated that i would be travelling in the North west in areas outside normal coverage for a few months of the year and had no dramas.
I think they are only too keen to get some people useing their multi million dollar satelite. We got the motorola 9505a on a $30 plan and are happy with it.
Great insurance.
Jeff
Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:35
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:35
Pedro,
You can read the guidelines for the Satellite Phone Subsidey Scheme here. Eligibility is limited to those who "live, work, or operate a business in an area not served by a current terrestrial mobile phone service or where a terrestrial mobile phone service is not planned for introduction within 12 months of the application." We purchased a satphone back in April from Telstra and could not get the subsidy simply because we intended to travel into remote reasons. Being a tourist does not qualify you.
Another option you could consider is buying your satphone through Telstra who have an interest free purchase plan option. Basically you can pay either nothing or any amount up to the purchase price of the handset then pay the remainder off interest free in monthly installments over two years. Monthly access plans are charged on top and start at $30. The handset is a Motorola 9505 which we are very happy with. Kit also comes with magnetic antenna for in-car use and 12V charger.
:o) Melissa
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:50
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:50
Melissa, as i said above ...it depends on how sincere one looks when they lie as to wether or not they grant the subsidy
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:34
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:34
Hmmmm yes Nudie............Butter wouldn't melt in your mouth lol
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:37
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:37
you been talking to my swmbo Willem
nobody else would give you that type of info on me!
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:22
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:22
Thanks to all who replied.
I have been in touch with the Department handling the subsidy, and they confirmed approval to a subsidy for tourists travelling in out of CDMA range is available if certain conditions (unstated) were met.
Melissa missed out whilst Woobla and Nudenut's friend had subsidy approved.This would indicate that the wording on application , as to reason a sat phone is needed is the key to decision given by department.
Pedro
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:52
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:52
yep definitely me mate!
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:42
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:42
I applied for a subsidy when it was first introduced. I mentioned that I was travelling west of
Alice Springs for long periods at a time and received approval within a week. There were no special conditions laid down then.
In the end I bought a second hand Satphone and did not use the subsidy
Reply By: Member - Michael B (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:16
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:16
Pedro,
Applied in June this year via the website and had no problems getting a 80%
subsidy. Stated I would be travelling in remote regions for 3 months at a time
as a single, which I did,as a tourist, and from a saftey point of view a sat phone
was a necessity. Landwide in
Appin NSW handled the whole thing. No dramas
at all.
Mike B