gu 5th gear

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:39
ThreadID: 27359 Views:2217 Replies:6 FollowUps:17
hi this is a question for a customer of mine.
ive gone through search archives but dosnt help with this question.
customer has a 2000 gu 4.2 with 70000ks.
on his way back from a trip up north he lost 5th gear.
nissan down here in bendigo say bad luck $3000.
im wondering has any one lately had the gear box done out of waranty.
i did find a few in archives but they were a while ago so wondering about recently.
thank you and cheers

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:00

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:00
Asked a skimilar things a while back about a 4.2 GU I was looking at buying. I think from memory the consensus was that it would be too old and Nissan wouldn't come to the party. May be wrong though. BTW I ended up giving the GU a miss because of that.
AnswerID: 135099

Reply By: govo - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:53

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:53
Contat head office...mate of mine had his 5th gear chew out last year and when he went into Mackay Nissan they qouted him $1800 to fix..he contacted head office and was told it is a known problem with the 2000 model.
Even after they replaced the whole gearbox Mackay Nissan tried to charge him for the labour..problem 5th gear was fixed in the 2001 model.
AnswerID: 135112

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 20:11

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 20:11
It wasn't.

FollowupID: 389063

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:45

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:45
according to the service manuals nissan have, the problem was fixed for models made November 2001 onward. 4.2 and 3.0tdi
FollowupID: 389076

Follow Up By: hl - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 06:26

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 06:26
True, but there are lot of 2001's made before November. Mine is a Feb 2001 and I just had the gearbox replaced at 50,000km.

FollowupID: 389096

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:01

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:01
G'day Diamond,
Mine (May '99 build, reg. June '99) failed Nov. last year ('04)... Approx. 75000k's...

Dealer was very helpful, & even though they hadn't serviced the vehicle since new, submitted a claim to Nissan Aust. which was initially approved...
Got the vehicle back within a week. & was happy...

However, several days later, I receive a 'phone call from dealer to the effect that Nissan had rejected the warranty claim on the basis that the vehicle was "too old", & would I please come in & pay the bill!!...
Got on the 'phone to Nissan customer relations, & was told basically the same thing... Tough Luck!
Thought about telling the dealer to "go jump" since I had the vehicle, & an invoice stating "no charge", but my argument wasn't with them, & they've "done the right thing" by me in the past, so I went down to sort it out...

$922.42 (+ oil $28.80 which I'd already paid for), so I guess I came out of it OK by comparison.... They (so they said) charged the shaft & gearset to me @ "cost" ($280.01), & labour @ "warranty rates" :-))...

The upshot of it (as explained to me by dealer service bloke) is that Nissan is/was covering them up tp 5 yrs/200,000k's... I'd assume that most (if not all) of the affected ones would be more than 5y/o by now, so I guess no more warranty claims on these :-((...

$3000 does seem a bit steep though!!

Ed. C.

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 135127

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:34

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:34
I've got a mate with a 99 model 4.2 that's done about 80,000 and hasn't gone yet. He only evers tows in 4th gear and is aware of the 5th gear issue.
As I've said on here before, mine was diagnosed by local Nissan dealer here before it let go and they actually offered to do it under warranty for me despite me never having had a dealer service done on the vehicle....I always do my own servicing. That was in late 2002, so the vehicle was only just over 2 years old and had done about 80,000 at that stage. I guess I was a bit lucky that they offered to fix considering it hadn't busted yet and also that I hadn't had it dealer-serviced; ever (apart from that one time, when they detected the problem due to oil discolouration)
FollowupID: 389084

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:46

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:46
do your own servicing? a talented man indeed!
FollowupID: 389101

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:14

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:14
Nudie.... it's always best to take these matters into your own hands...hehehehehe
FollowupID: 389108

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:26

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:26
I once did but now I dont have the time
what with all these i need to tend or do:
wife
3 ankle biters
gardening
work and more work to keep wife's (and kids) habits
fly fishing
antique furniture restoration
pistol shooting
Hunting
bonsai
FollowupID: 389111

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:28

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:28
G'day Nudie,

Sorry about hijacking post but clearly you need to reduce the number of attention units. Can I suggest the kids, this will ollow you the luxury of working less and factoring in some 4wd, it seems to be missing from your list. I feel sorry for you.'

FollowupID: 389119

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:54

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:54
can we include swmbo...but that could be very costly?
FollowupID: 389126

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:00

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:00
I can say NO! because mine doesn't read this forum. Mine makes a useful contribution to the household by buying womens clothing by the truck load (which I can't use) and ensuring I don't overspend on such things as fishing gear and the like. Look at it this way Nudie, leave her off and you could double your list as well as reducing your work load - sounds like a winner.

FollowupID: 389129

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:02

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:02
your gunna get me shot!
FollowupID: 389130

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:37

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:37
That could put a stop to your list of things to do (if it was fatal). This may be harder but maybe you could get the kids to contribute thereby removing any need for removing SWMBO. Let me know if you get that to work - better still how!
FollowupID: 389145

Follow Up By: cabbageoz - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 14:23

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 14:23
Sorry for intervening here but just want to ask Nudie where he goes fly fishing and what bait does he use.
Cabbage
Leave nothing but footprints and take nothing but photos
FollowupID: 389188

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:06

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:06
there's allways a smart ar$e somewhere

Fly-fishing is a method of fishing.....it does not mean one is fishing for flys........but if you want to fish for fly's cabbageoz....i imagine all you'd need is a dirty pair (at least one week old....) of your jocks.......and place on the biggest hook you can get
FollowupID: 389235

Follow Up By: cabbageoz - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 22:46

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 22:46
Couldn't resist it,sorry.
Taking the flyrod & eggbeater up to the top end of the Snowy R at the weekend.
Cabbage
FollowupID: 389278

Reply By: dommo - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 01:44

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 01:44
Hi. My 2000 3.0 spat 5th gear in july this year at 128000km. Drove it another 3500km in 4th (tedious) from Broome to Perth to Kalgoorlie. The dealer contacted Nissan and the repair was approved before i got home. The dealer repaired it at no cost to me. The same dealer sold the car new, serviced it for the original owner, sold it 2nd hand to me and I've had them service it too.
I have been told that Nissan recognised that the problem is a design error and will reapir it regardless of mileage as long as it is original.
Incidently the motor dropped compression just after I bought it and I recieved exactly the same deal (except in this case they gave me a loaner car). Nissan supplied a 'crate' motor and the dealer fitted it at no cost. (apparently a new motor is $15000)
Dommo
AnswerID: 135167

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:06

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:06
Appears as though remote dealers have less issue with it than 'city' dealers..

Contact as said, Nissan head office, but Im starting to think you maybe unlucky..
AnswerID: 135210

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 22:57

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 22:57
Auto's the only way to go don't you reckon Bruce. ;-)
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 389281

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:04

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:04
is the pope gay? do brothers at catholic schools play hide the sausage?
FollowupID: 389422

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:48

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:48
hi guys
people who tow large vans should look at the co books to see what they should do for there vehicle like Extra cooling, use syntechet oil thes thing could save the gear box
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 135331