Twin Charge Kit

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 20:15
ThreadID: 27364 Views:4275 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Hi has anyone had any knowlege of the BCT20 Twin Charge Kit? I have a Trojan 27TMH DSP mounted on the drawbar of my caravan fed by 18mm2 cable.
Plus anyone know the aproximate cost

Reply By: res.q.guy - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:16

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:16
Hi Ray
I have a Arrid BCTC25 Twin Charge which I am happy with.
I bought mine mail order through "The 12 Volt Shop" in Perth.
You could try them for info. on your model.
Their phone no is 08-94581212 or www.12volt.com.au
Or you could try "Arrid" themselves : www.arrid.com.au
Neil
AnswerID: 135183

Reply By: Ken - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:09

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:09
Ray,

I have one of them and itis great. In my view while not cheap they are one of the best things to include in any dual battery setups. I am amazed by the stories on the forum about people and their dual battery setups, quite a lot is utter rubbish and not supported by electrical theory.
I have had many types of dual battery systems for over 30 of 4WDing from simple relays or solenoids to the BTC20 with the exception of Redarc products so my comments do not include them.
The problem with dual battery systems boiul down to 2 fundamental issues; (a) to get the right voltage at the aux battery (b) to accomodate the different charge characteristics of dissimilar batteries.
I found the simplest solution and by far the best was to have a 2nd alternator, a pretty easy project on varios V8 Landy vehicles I've owned. Not all that easy on other vehiles though and the rason for buying the BTC 20.
The BTC 20 is a small switch mode powersupply device which provides a fully independant voltage and current supply, it can provide the correct charging voltage to the battery it is connectd to despite any voltage drop between it and the source of power. It allows the vehicle alternator to charge the standard battery without any loading or masking by the aux battery. The use of this product means vehicle alternator output is constantly available the the BTC20 to charge the aux battery unlike most other systems that wait until the main battery is charged before placing the aux battery in parallel. This could be important on short runs where the time spent charging the aux battery could be quite reduced.
Any system which simply connects 2 batteries together either after charging one first or from start up in my view is totally flawed. A system [such as some Redarc models I think] which charges one battery and then connects the alternator only to the aux battery is better although this can be a problem if the aux battery has considerable load and drive time is short.
Some people get away with inferior systems and then proclaim the wonders of this or that product but eventually the aux battery will give up the ghost and you see posts questioning the performance of this or that make and type of battery. I'd say in 99% of these cases it is because it wasn't ever getting properly charged.
The maths are pretty simple, take 80 amphours out of the battery and you need to put 80 back in, with a charge current of 10 amps that is 8 hours continuous driving !
Some people think because the vehicle has an 85 amp alternator there is this much current available to charge the battery. This is absolutely not the case and in fact the charge current rapidly drops to a tenth of it max output.
With a BCT20 the current can be maintained at close to the max charge current of the device of 20 amps. This ensures the aux battery will get plenty of current to recharge in a reasonable time.
I have no connection to ARRID or the 12v shop where it bought it but commend them for their service by phone from Vic.

Ken
AnswerID: 135188

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:55

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:55
ken,
you are spot on

FollowupID: 389123

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:17

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:17
ZACTLY.
Been using the arid products for about 8 yrs on 2 vans and never had a prob.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 389365

Reply By: Black Prince - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 09:51

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 09:51
Sounds very reasonable Ken however one importaint fact that has been left out of your calculations is the individual batterys' ability to accept a charge. My understanding is that deep cycle batteries will not accept the rate of charge that a cranking battery will. Another variable that effects rate of charge is the residual charge in the battery when charging is commenced, the lower the voltage in the battery at the time charging commences the slower the battery will accept the charge, to the point where if you use a lead acid deep cycle battery and you flatten it to say 10.4 volts the battery may take as long as 100+ hrs of driving to recharge the battery, as it only offers thew battery a high ampage delivery not the trickle charge it needs to start the charging process (ever heard of 3 stage battery charging! There is a reason).
I believe the twin charge you talk of is a 12v to 12v 3 stage charging system if this is the case it is the only unit that I have heard of that will charge a second battery correctly (14.4v. not the 13.8 that your altinator will charge it too). Good luck with your system I think that you will have many happy light years with your twin charge. I currently run a pirrana 180e system (a very expensive switch) which is reasonable and the only reason I didn't choose the twin charge was because I have to mount the system under the bonnet and there was a possibility of it getting wet and I don't think the twin charge would like that.
AnswerID: 135382

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:50

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:50
I have the twin charger with a lead acid deepcycle battery and has been trouble free for 2yrs in our camper, can't praise it high enough, i also have the Traxide Tronics SC40 in my car, they make a good product similar to the twin charge called SC80, this will look after 3 or more batteries.

www.traxide.com.au

FollowupID: 389360

Follow Up By: Ken - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 21:36

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 21:36
BP,
the individual battery's ability to accept a charge is what I was referring to in b), it certainly is different for different battery types. Your understanding of deep cycle batteries not being able to accept the rate of charge a cranking battery is incorrect. Deep cycle batteries so called, come in many forms, certainly AGM deep cycle batteries are capable of accepting massive charge rates compared to a lead acid cranking battery. In lead acid type of batteries the pasted plates disintegrate in a very short number of heavy charging cycles.
Two main things limit battery charge currents, the charging voltage and the battery internal resistance. Unfortunately many battery chargers and some vehicle charging systems are unable to deliver sufficient charging voltage at heavy charge currents. This is one reason it takes a long time for the battery to charge, the battery is quite capable of accepting a charge if only the charging system could maintain its output voltage and current. Current is driven into the battery at a rate directly proportional to the voltage applied, ie. drop the voltage the current must drop also ! Heavily discharged batteries do not require trickle charging to commence charging, you are mixing cause and effect here. Cranking batteries don't like heavy charge currents which damage the plates and charging systems designed for these batteries permit only relative low or 'trickle' current charging in the initial charge period. You could charge them hard during the early stages but as mentined above the risk is damage to the battery.
It isn't only the voltage the battery is reduced to that is the concern. Unless a cell collapses a battery flattened to your 10.4 v example would soon read 12v with no load. Discharging to this voltage under load means most of the energy has been used and to replace it you need to put back in the energy you took out, this can take a long time if the charge current is low. What has happened is that discharging has altered the chemical balance in the battery. Under load battery output voltage drops to 10.4v because the chemical reaction within the battery is no longer able to produce sufficient current to meet the load and the voltage drops. Under no load, just the current required to operate the voltmeter, there is only a very tiny current required which the battery can produce and you see 12v.
To charge the battery you have to reverse the reaction caused by discharging it. The charge system has to push current into the battery and to be able to do this it has to be able to maintain its output voltage at quite high current. If as is most cases the charging system can't maintain sufficient voltage at the high level of charge current needed to quickly charge the battery the charge current drops and it takes a long time for the battery to reach full charge. As I said in my first reply it is all about amp/hours, current by time, if you can't maintain high current you have to spend the time.
I too had a very expensive system, ARB and it, like all systems that connect 2 dissimilar batteries together, let me down. Sure they may ensure the main battery is always charged before connecting the aux battery which is a good feature but there is no way these type of systems can fully charge the auxillary battery.
I mounted my Twin Charge inside the vehicle [GU Patrol] as you say they are not waterproof. With some short bits of aluminium angle and 2 stainless hose clamps it is mounted well out of the way in clear air behind the glovebox, clamped to the tube in the Nissan that runs across the vehicle behind the dash. From this position it is a simple task to run the cables through the dummy grommet in the passenger side firewall. I left the ARB junk where it was and used the bolts to connect the cables to the Twin Charge. Bloody expensive terminal block!!

Ken
FollowupID: 389405

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:05

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:05
I find myself amused when I read statements like that above, how dual battery systems, that have been around for decades, number in their tens of thousands, have been working for those decades but suddenly they don’t work because someone bought something new.

No matter what the device, there are places and reasons for using deferent set ups for different requirements but to say something so totally unsubstantiated as the above is a joke.

There may be some circumstance where there will be some advantage when using them but when you consider that at the end of the day, the aim is to have as much stored power as will be needed. Whether you want to spend frugally to do this or spend a fortune to achieve the same results, is up to the end user. Regardless of what these devises can do, in the vast majority of set ups, there are still heaps cheaper ways to achieve the same and even more stored power, without installing them.

FollowupID: 389423

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:43

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:43
Ken,

Great description of why many of the basic setups (which I also have) are pretty hash on batteries. Don't believe you said they don't work but that they are not able to maintain batteries at the correct capacity to anable long life. The explaination of the theory is pretty sound and shows why the bulk of the systems cause problems. Hence the reason why with these set ups you should reharge (via a decent battery charger) your batteries as soon as you can after using them. Everything is a compromise with cost, newer technology and best outcomes.
FollowupID: 389460

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 11:32

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 11:32
Hi Austravel, your correct in what you say about newer technology and so on but in this instance the advantage of the this type of device would limited to only about 1% of the current market and there are other better technologies available to achieve the same thing, such as 3 stage charging alternators, which not only supply a much larger current output but workout much better on a dollar for dollar basis.

Add to this the fact that a 20 amp system’s real advantage is more on the side of smaller batteries because by the very nature of the way batteries recharge, batteries of 100 a/h or larger can actually be charged just as quickly or quicker straight of the old alternator.

Another point to consider is the fact that two auxiliary battery and even three auxiliary battery installations are increasingly becoming more common place and again in these cases the old alternator is leaps and bounds ahead of anything like this and in such situations a 3 stage charging alternator would be a far more viable preposition and I to have nothing to do with supply or sale or installation of such devices but simply want to point out that it’s horses for courses. Each individual installation has to be designed and set up for what a person needs to meet their individual requirements.

FollowupID: 389475

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:16

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:16
I agree that each system can be different and that more are opting for greater than 2 batteries. The twin chargers come into their own with remote installations of batteries were voltage drop is a real problem. Your right that at 20amp it's a tad small for some but I guess where I'm agreeing with other posters is that they are more suitable than using the standard splitting devices that won't compensate for voltage drop. The biggest killer of batteries is under charging. Not as big an issue for the second battery under the bonnet or if you don't have big draws on it or dont' stay in the one place for a few days or travel long distances. However if you have a fridge hanging off the battery or like staying put in one place and only travel short distances or have the battery in a camper or back of the ute: then they are a very good option at a price similar to a brand name battery splitter/monitor.

Guess I'm agreeing with you and Ken depending on the situation.
FollowupID: 389481

Reply By: Ken - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:49

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:49
Hi Drivesafe, amused you may be but hardly more amused than I was to read that you believe dual battery systems have worked for decades. You have obviously paid little attention to the many posts here about dual battery systems, problems with deep cycle batteries failing after short service and the many other problems encountered.
I was not saying any particulur device was now needed although my first post supported one of a few products that actually can work. The main thrust of my posts were to provide some factual info on why there are problems. If you are so intent on looking for something to rubbish about the attempt to provide some useful info then feel free. Many members look to the Forum to solve their problems. Many, including some of the 'experts' offering advice, have little knowledge of electrical theory and as a result provide doubtful advice. Endorsements of solutions solely on the basis the writer has not experienced a problem so far are not helpful. With an understanding of the requirements to correctly and fully charge a battery people will understand why there can be problems and can make up their own minds on the product they use and the amount of money they spend and compromise if required on the cost versus usage pattern.
In my case the Twin Charge was about the same price as the ARB product. I learnt the hard way, paying once for something which does work and once for something which doesn't. I was lead to believe by some turkey the ARB item charged the batteries independantly which like many similar systems it clearly doesn't.
If you think you have all the answers give your views to the members in a helpful way however if you think dual battery systems have been working for ages I doubt you have much to contribute.

Ken
AnswerID: 135658

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:32

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:32
First off Ken, the only one bagging products is yourself and according to you, after having ONE unit fail, all of these types of dual battery systems are useless. I thing have experienced ONE failed unit does not make you an expert.

I don’t consider myself an expert but I do have 30 years of automotive electronics design and manufacturing experience and nearly 20 of hands on experience directly relating to designing, manufacturing, installing and more importantly, servicing dual battery systems and not just servicing related to my own products but to many others and over the years I’ve seen plenty of so called wonder devices that were no more than snake oil, come and in many cases go. In this instance I stated that there were situations where your device could be of advantage but being total honest, I merely stated that these devices have a limited area of use.

There is nothing in my post that remotely resembles an attempt to deceive anyone as to the use of these devices, whereas you have very conveniently chosen to post only data that advances your post while over looking data that would give other reads the full honest facts.

I’ve seen plenty of dual battery set ups with problems but the vast majority of these problems are not as a result of using what ever device that the individual is using but is most often down to incorrect wiring. Whether it be inadequately size cable or using the body as the earth return or what ever, but of the thousands of dual battery set ups that I have had anything to do with, very, very few would be improved by installing one of these devices or anything else.

With adequate sized cable and the vehicle’s electrics and the batteries all being in good nick, there is no reason why the average vehicle’s alternator can not only charge up the vehicles cranking battery but can quite easily charge up one or two auxiliary batteries, even when these batteries are located in a camper trailer, caravan or in a motor home set up.

FollowupID: 389580

Reply By: Ken - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 21:38

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 21:38
Drivesafe you obviously are a very imaginative reader. Nowhere have I said you [or any one else for that matter] have set out to deliberately decieve anyone. What I did say and absolutely stand by the comment, is that much of the advice on daul batteries here, your limited contributions included, does not explain the limitations of systems which merely connect 2 batteries together. It is not just a question of wire gauge and having things in 'good nick' as I'm sure you would realise if you thought for a moment and used your 30 years of whatever it is you have done. Are you seriously saying there would not be sufficient voltage drop on a cable and connectors to a battery in a camper trailer or some distance from the current source to prevent an auxilliary battery charging fully ? Do you understand that even 0.2v drop in charging voltage will mean the battery cannot reach full charge. What I also said was that some people, possibly you included, that have long charge times versus short discharge times never experience a problem. It is this rather than any product that I'm saying is the probelm. Just because these users don't experience problems with a less than fully charged battery doesn't make the system suitable for all applications and that is where you and others are misleading people.
As for having one product fail that is also your imagination at work.The ARB device did not fail, it worked perfectly, as designed, connecting the aux battery to the main battery once the main battery reached a preset voltage. I'm sure it is well made, it had all the necessary bits and the wire gauge was more than adequate. The probelm is as I have said consistently in all my posts and what you seem to have missed is, it only connects the 2 batteries together. Ask yourself, which battery will have the higher terminal voltage and what will the alternator do when it sees that voltage.
Unless there is no voltage drop at all in the system connecting the 2 batteries, all of it, not just the cable but all connectors, switches/solenoids, the aux battery will always be at some voltage slightly lower than the main battery. Not a lot but enough to ensure it never fully charges. Simple, physical, fact.
Now tell me again how it doesn't matter where the aux batteries are and we can all have a good laugh. Amusing, yes I'm amused.

PS. Maybe if someone invented a device which overcame the voltage drop of the connecting system, remotely sensed the voltage of the aux battery and adjusted its output voltage to ensure the correct charging voltage was applied and could pump out a decent charge current the problem would be solved. I think a good name for it might be something like Twin Charge.

Ken
AnswerID: 135900

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 23:03

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 23:03
Ken, before you criticise anybody you should go and learn a bit about a number of subjects touched on here.

For a starter, you have absolutely no idea how a battery charges, go to any battery manufacturer’s web site or data sheet covering automotive batteries and it does not matter what type it is, providing you have 13.8 volts or higher, you can fully charge any automotive battery.

So if your alternator is turning out 14.2 volts, a common output voltage, then you could have a voltage drop of 0.4 volts and still fully charge the battery, so the goes one of your theories.

Next, when a battery, located in a camper trailer or caravan, is being charged and at the start of the charging cycle, if this battery is at say 50% capacity, over a standard cable set up there can be as much as a 2 volt drop and that is a 2 volt drop not a 0.2 volt drop. But, depending on the size of the battery and the cable, there could also be as much as 50 amps going to the battery. As the battery’s charge rises, the amount of current will decrease and the voltage at the battery will increase, eventually getting to a point where the battery will be drawing only an amp or so and the voltage difference could be less that 0.1 volts.

Now one more point, you state that your device will pump 20 amps into the battery. That is a total wrong and again shows you have absolutely no idea how a battery charges.

It does not matter by what means you are trying to charge a battery by, the battery itself is the primary controller of how much current is going to go into the battery, NOT the device supplying the charge and this includes alternators and battery chargers and so on.

You may have a battery charger that has a 1,000 amp output but if a given battery, with a give level of charge, is only going to require 10 amps to continue that charge then it is only going to take 10 amps. and as the battery’s charge increases, that current level will decrease no matter how much current your charging device can produce.

And last but not least, it make no difference what so ever as to what a battery’s charge level is or if there is more than one battery and all these batteries are at different levels of charge, an alternator has no way of telling what state any of the batteries are at.

When you start you motor, the alternator, in conjunction with your voltage regulator, simply tries to produce enough current to keep the vehicle voltage at the level set by the voltage regulator no matter what is pulling current, whether it be a battery, and number of batteries, your headlights, some driving lights or even a large sound system. The alternator has no way of knowing what is pulling the current, it just produces current as required.

Cheers all.
FollowupID: 389775

Reply By: Ken - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 11:44

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 11:44
AHHH dear, porof again of the dangers of a little knowledge ! For the absolute last time consider the circuit conditions.
The issue isn't the alternator output voltage which is relatively constant. It is the difference in voltage at the 2 batteries. With the remote battery always being subject to some voltage drop along its connection wire the main battery will have control of the alternator output. Your example of a 2v drop is a bit extreme for even a half decent wiring system but lets say this is the circuit conditions that apply.
After a short time the main battery which has only had to start the motor charges and the alternator current will reduce to quite a low value, just a few amps because surprise, surprise, it sees a battery voltage of 13.8v or greater. It thinks it has done its job and charged the battery and to avoid boiling it dry it reduces its output current.
Meanwhile back at the aux battery, it hasn't had anywhere near enough time to replace the charge it has been providing to run its load. Remember it may need to replace 50 A/hours or more, but what happens is the current is cut to just a couple of amps. Lets say the aux battery gets all of this current, unlikely but assume it gets it all; and assume during the time it took to charge the main battery the aux got say 10 amp/hours replaced, leaving a further 40 A/hour required to become fulled charged. This means the meagre 2 amps the alternator is now putting out is going to take 20 hours to replace the remaining 40 A/hours required.
Now do you see why I say the aux battery wll never get charged fully.

Regarding 'pumping 20 amps into a battery' there is nothing in what I said about pumping anything anywhere. What I said, and again your argumentative nature has caused you to misinterpret what I actually said . What I said was "the current can be maintained at close to the max charge current of the device of 20 amps". It means that if the battery can accept this relatively high level of charge it is available. Many deep cycle batteries can easily take this level of charge current but never receive it because of the limitations of a charging system which only ever connects them to a near or fully charged battery.
I do happen to know exactly how a battery charges and despite your silly misunderstanding of what I actually said, you are correct in saying the battery is the prime determinant of how much current is consumed, however I hope you accept it is only one of the important factors in the charging cycle. If the current available from whatever charging source is used is less than the value that could be accepted, or if the charge current is not applied for sufficient time, clearly a battery will not fully charge. In the circumstances relevant to charging auxilliary batteries in recreational applications current and time are far more important factors than the maximum current the battery can accept.

Your last 2 paragraphs are an amazing insight into your lack of appreciation of the problem. Again you are correct in saying the alternator only tries to achieve a pre determined voltage level and produces current in an attempt to achieve this voltage, and yes the alternator doesn't care where the current goes. This is all irrelevant hower and has nothing to do with the problem of charging the aux battery. At some point the alternator will achieve its desired voltage at the main battery and stop putting out the large current it needed to achieve the desired voltage. It does sense what state a battery is in and it is nonsense to suggest otherwise. If what you say is correct the alternator would never reduce its output current and it would boil the battery dry. Of course the alternator can sense what state a battery is in. It is a fairly crude sensing I admit, just on battery voltage but it HAS to know when to stop charging and does so on sensing the battery voltage. This is not the best way to determine if a battery is fully charged but these are relatively simple systems and for replenshing batteries with short duty cycles such as cranking batteries it works OK. Unfortunately in dual battery systems it is always the main battery that determines when the charge current is reduced.
You need to look beyond your knowledge of simple automotive electrical systems and realise the different conditions that apply in multi battery applications. Don't shoot the messenger trying to explain things you don't understand.
Hopefully our exchanges will have entertained the readers and demonstrated that a little knowledge, selectively employed is dangerous and misleading. With mainly acknowledgements of how my comments have helped explain things I feel my job is done. Probably haven't convinced you but your selective asessment of information and ability to misinterpret things makes it hard.

Ken
AnswerID: 135980

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:22

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:22
Hi Ken, the statement “ pumping 20 amps into the battery “ is from your post, you made the statement so I don’t know how you can then say, to quote you again, “ there is nothing in what I said about pumping anything any where “. Mate go back and read your own posts.

The rest of this post is now drifting off into fairy land. There are a very very small number of alternators on the market that have a sensing wire that connects the alternator’s electronics directly to the battery, independently of the main charge cable running between the alternator and the main battery. These are the ONLY alternators that can sense the actual battery. All other alternators have absolutely no idea of the state of any battery, main or auxiliary and just simply continue to produce current while there is any form of load placed on the vehicles electrical system, no matter where that load might be.

If we were to believe your theory, then after the vehicle’s main battery was charged, if it got dark and the driver turned on his headlights, the alternator would do nothing nothing about it. Not so.

For the benefit of others, there are a number of good sites that explained different facets of how a vehicles electric's work, including how batteries charge and how alternators work. The info is freely available by doing a google search.

Ken, as I said, you have a hide criticising anybody else as you quite obviously don’t have the foggiest idea of what you are talking about, and I suspect you are just making it up as you go along. Again, read back through your own posts, your even contradicting yourself.

Cheers all.
FollowupID: 389841

Reply By: Wok - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 13:22

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 13:22
Scene Limit #1: If the resistance of the cables between the 2 batteries = 0 ohms,the Arrid will perform "perfectly" in charging the Aux because the alt sees the nett load[ of the 2 batts] as still requiring charge, hence providing 14.4v + current.

Scene Limit #2: If the resistance of the cables between the batteries >~ 0.7ohm the Arrid is no longer "functional" [assuming it is trying to supply 20A to a discharged battery]

Conclusion:
[1]If the cabling is heavy enough, the Aux will charge. With the Arrid the charge time is shorter.
[2]If the cabling is "poor"[<~0.7ohm],the Arrid will perform....just not as effectively.

Nothing beats having heavy cable.
AnswerID: 136007

Follow Up By: Ken - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 16:26

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 16:26
Wok, the ARRId is not a charge splitter, it is in fact a small switch mode powersupply. The alternator will never see anything of the load it is connected to and in fact in the scene 1 you describe there would be no need for an ARRID. However this is not what happens in practical circuits. There will always be a small ohmic value in the connection to a remote aux battery. The voltage drop across this resistance means the aux battery is not at the same potential as the main battery from where the alternator output is determined. ie the main battery masks the fact that the aux battery is in fact at a lower voltage and the resulting reduction in alternator output current means the aux battery doesn't get the charge time it needs to recover.

In scene 2 this is the perfect application for the ARRID. It can output up to 15 volts at up to 20 amps. It is specifically designed to overcome voltage drop between aux batteries and charging current source and derives its power from the main battery when the motor is running. What I have been unable to convince Drivesafe is that this independant source of power is what you actually need to charge batteries that may be some finite value of resistance beyond the battery being sensed by the alternator. The 20 amp figure is simply the max output of the device, he chose to make an assumption that this was what the device pumped into the battery. It could be but would be dependant on the state of charge of the aux battery. The aux battery can get up to 20 amps for as long as it takes to charge. He fails to recognise it is time and current which is required to recharge a battery. In the simple systems which connect 2 batteries together the charge current available for the aux battery is dependant on the charge time of the main battery which in most cases is achieved in far less time than what is required for the aux battery.

Ken
FollowupID: 389854

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:58

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:58
Ken, do you have the slightest comprehension of the English language. Wok never mentioned anything about a split system and if you go back and R-E-A-D H-I-S P-O-S-T S-L-O-W-L-Y you will see that part of it actually supports your device.

Now for another one of your classic quotes “ In the simple systems which connect 2 batteries together the charge current available for the aux battery is dependant on the charge time of the main battery which in most cases is achieved in far less time than what is required for the aux battery. “ This is pure unadulterated fantasy. And I state again, you have absolutely no idea how vehicle’s electrical system works, let alone how a dual battery set up functions.

Your just going round in circles, but cheers anyway.
FollowupID: 389874

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:13

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:13
Hi Wok, couldn’t agree with you more. Nothing beats heavy cable and it’s surprising how by just working to that simple policy, how many problems can be avoided and / or resolved.

FollowupID: 389881

Follow Up By: Wok - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:07

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:07
Lets take some specific examples;
Assume:
[a] Alt voltage drops to 13.8V when starter battery is full and the connection between alt & starter is lossless.
[b] Cable run to CT = 10m
[c] Arrid will output 20A @ 14.4V;minimum supply voltage = 8V
It follows that @ source supply of 13.8V the required source current is approximately 20.9A
The worst-case scenario is now given by;
[maximum cable resistance] = [13.8 - 8]/20.9 = 0.28ohm

[1] Cable = Jaycar 2G #WH-3070/3072 0.0007ohm/m @20C
Resistance for 10m run = 10 x 2[+ & - cable] x 0.0007 = 0.014ohm.
[2] Cable = Jaycar 8G #WH-3060/3062 0.0025ohm/m @20C [4.05mm copper diameter]
Resistance for 10m run = 10 x 2 x 0.0025 = 0.05ohm.

IMHO the Arrid will perform as intended down to 8G cable size [probably lower, but I don't have access to resistivity values of thinner cable].The Arrid will certainly provide a quicker charge time if the cabling is thin, but has reduced benefit if thick cabling is used.
What benefit/value this product has depends on the user's setup & driving habit, I am not bold enough to comment on this :)

Ken,
I investigated this product last year for my setup and didn't use it because the math told me it would not give me a worthwhile result for the $.It is a useful product for those that wish to stay with OEM harnessing.

FollowupID: 389981

Follow Up By: Ken - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:53

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:53
Wok you are right, they are expensive and if you go back to the start of all this nonsense, my original post related a question from someone asking about the Arrid device where I said just that. I thought they were worthwhile but this is a value judgement for individuals to make and despite what that clown Drivesafe is going on with, I never said they were the only way to charge an auxilliary battery. I also don't deny that having heavy gauge wire is the way to go in dual battery systems. But the practicalities of running heavy cables within the vehicle and to a trailer, may present some difficulties. In practice it may be hard to achieve the very low resistance values which are required to enable simple systems to operate effectively. A 'bolt on' solution which can take care of the variables of a real life system can sometimes be easier to adopt than trying get the perfect world of zero resistance connections.
Don't worry about not being bold enough to comment, you may be attacked by someone with a large measure of self interest, some basic theoretical knowledge, know it all tendancy and a readiness to make some bewildering statements, but don't forget this is a forum; a place where information and opinions can be aired, even incorrect ones.
The readers will form their own views and come to recognise those that know what they are talking about.

Ken
FollowupID: 390045

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:48

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:48
Ken, do even read your own postings. You were the one that started attacking other posts. You even attacked Wok when his was supporting you.

As for Wok’s post’s, why would anybody ( other than you ) want to attack post’s that actually give helpful info, ( which is more than can be said for yours ).

I don’t expect anybody to take my posts as being gospel, but if anybody does some follow up searches, they will quickly find that the info and arguments I’ve put forward are correct.

For those wishing to do there own further studying on the subjects covered, here is a great site and this section covers info on batteries.

Battery Info

Another section of the same site is handy for finding the different battery manufacturers.

Battery Manufacturers

Oh, by the way, I’m flattered to see how you are now using info that both Wok and I have already covered, while we trying to educate you.

You do learn.

Cheers all and happy reading.
FollowupID: 390057

Reply By: Mike DiD - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 07:54

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 07:54
- "the main battery will have control of the alternator output."

- "After a short time the main battery which has only had to start the motor charges and the alternator current will reduce to quite a low value, just a few amps because surprise, surprise, it sees a battery voltage of 13.8v or greater. It thinks it has done its job and charged the battery and to avoid boiling it dry it reduces its output current. "

I have never seen an Alternator Regulator that senses the state of Battery charge and compensates the voltage. An Alternator puts out a CONSTANT voltage regardless of whether battery+lights+anything is drawing 1 amp or 50 amps.

The reason that the voltage drops after some time on modern Alternators is the Temperature compensating circuit. As the sensor INSIDE THE ALTERNATOR heats up due to hot air coming off the radiator and heating from the losses in the Alternator, the voltage drops e.g. 14.2 cold to 14.0 hot. This is done to avoid overcharge at high battery temperatures and underchare at low temperatures.

Licenced Electrical Contractor
35 years experience as Professional Engineer
35 years experience designing, building, testing and using a large variety of electronic and computerised equipment.
AnswerID: 136408