Buying a used 4wd

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 00:18
ThreadID: 27370 Views:2452 Replies:7 FollowUps:5

I am looking to buy a used 4wd for around $10k. Mainly for beach and sand dune driving off road, and on road use in the city + hwys in the SW.

I am looking at the diesels in the 40 or 60 series cruisers, or maybe the GQ patrols.

I'm not expecting much for the price, just something that with a bit of tlc will hang together for a while.

I'm wondering what the non turbo'd models are like on the beach, and what kind of km's I would expect to see on these vehicles for that price. Also, if anyone can make a recommendation on the above vehicles, it would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 00:35

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 00:35
10 grand would see you in a good (sorry nissan boys I have no idea what they go for) 60 series with under 250k and all the ofroad gear such as winch duel batteries etc etc. 80 series can be had for this price but i reckon there condition could be variable
a while ago i checked out a 75 ute with turbo for 5and a half
Today I checked out a hzj troopy 93 ready to go (set up for camping duel batt , false floor drawers winch etc 180k asking 15. it is a buyers market and you should be looking for things in the 12 - 15 g bracket and looking to get them back to your price range
AnswerID: 135159

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 00:39

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 00:39
sorry forgot to add with vehicles of this age you should factor in 1-2k of repairs even with a thorough inspection - trust me no matter what you have been told owning 4bys is not cheap
FollowupID: 389093

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 06:28

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 06:28
Would not be many 60's around with less than 250k, and i would guess a GQ with these k's would be over the 10 mark. When i was looking last year the cheapest 80 i saw was 15k.
FollowupID: 389097

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:56

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:56
Maybe would need to haggle to get a diesel at that price but I have seen quite a few early 90's petrol GQs for between 5-10. As Davoe said, aim high and start haggling. If they still don't want to sell it to you then leave your number and they might get desperate and call you later on.
FollowupID: 389116

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:14

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:14
60's arent a bad thing, but man they suffer savagely from RUST... they even rust on the rust..

And yes you would do well to find a GOOD GQ diesel for $10k.

YMMV
FollowupID: 389148

Reply By: GQLWB - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 00:53

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 00:53
Sold me GQ td42 TI (power windows, antenna, mirrors, velvet trim) with 340k on the clock. Steel Bull Bar, UHF, Antenna, tow bar, motorway mudterrains, CD Player... immacluate condition for 10K 6 months ago... probably something similiar would be in the region on 8-9k now.... mileage wise i was getting 12 - 13 per 100kms... have no problems on the beach when i had it.

I would go with a GQ as its coils as compared to leafs for the 40 or 60 series.
AnswerID: 135160

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:51

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:51
Have a look at the Isuzu MU there is some good buys on trading post (Qld) and carpoint.com.au at the moment, little as $8k, we have a 1993 180000ks insurance have it at market value $15800 so there is value here and a bloody great rig. Try clubisuzu.com
AnswerID: 135186

Reply By: old mate - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:58

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:58
and haggle hard! A lot of people who are selling at the moment are hitting the panic button over fuel prices. Some absolute bargains about.
AnswerID: 135187

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:44

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:44
For that money you can be into a Jackaroo from 92 onwards.

Much lighter than the 60 series, so it's better on sand, much nicer to drive on the highway and fits into supermarket car parking spaces with ease. Plenty of interior space, low maintenance cost, strong drivetrain
AnswerID: 135190

Reply By: Tracker Mick - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 14:29

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 14:29
I am currently selling a 90 GQ (petrol) 4.2lit, with only 130,000km on it (yep that's right) has lots extras including warn winch for 11,500.
Don't know where your from but you can e-mail me on msym5330@bigpond.net.au if your interested.
Mick
AnswerID: 135235

Follow Up By: jrryan - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:43

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:43
Thanks everyone for the feedback, I appreciate the advice.

Does anyone have any comments on Imported vs Aussie made 4wd's?

A mate had a Hilux surf, and the head cracked on it at 160K. I have read other posts elsewhere suggesting that imported cars don't have the cooling capacity to deal with the environment over here.

Are the GQ's imported? What about some models in the 60 Series range?

Thanks heaps,
FollowupID: 390439

Reply By: Tanka - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:23

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:23
I got my MK patrol turbo diesel c/chassis for $8,000 with 220,000. With modifications it will put me above $10k. You can find the wagons & shortys of this model for considerably cheaper, but as with all 2nd hand cars there are some dodgy ones out there. The 60 & 40 series cruisers are good trucks also. You will find that landcruiser parts for this age of car will generally be cheaper.
Tanka.
AnswerID: 135563