I'm on the bludge.........

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:46
ThreadID: 27388 Views:2990 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
I was wondering if anybody on here has one of those packs containing a large assortment of "O" rings? If so, I'd be interested in buying one which has a 4mm thickness of the rubber and a inside diameter of 62.5mm

I'm trying to solve an annoying leak I have in the adaptor fitting on my Amsoil dual bypass oil filtration system. I know, I know....aftermarket stuff always leads to problems. I love the system, but not the oil leak. I've now done 13,000klm since my last oil change and the synthetic oil is still beautifully clean.

If anybody can help with the "O" ring, please let me know. The one I have (that I'm trying to replace) is only 3.1mm thick and I don't believe it is sealing up properly; a thicker rubber cross-section should assist.

Thanks in advance.

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:16

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:16
Hi Roachie, if you don't have any luck getting one the right size as a suggestion why don't you buy a length of 4mm 'O' ring rubber from places like Blackwoods, Atkins Carlyle, Coventrys ect, & a tube of Lock-tite rubber glue and make one yourself. I was in the manufacturing industry where hydraulic & oil pressure systems required all different size 'O' rings & it was easier to buy the rubber & make our own. Cheers.
AnswerID: 135318

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:25

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:25
Thanks TC.....I will keep that one in reserve.....even if I had to buy a slightly larger "O" ring, I guess I could cut it and glue it back together with the right goop.
FollowupID: 389266

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:34

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:34
What Top Cat suggests is all the go.

We make our own, but for a different reason. We make them into small belts for animatronic projects, glue them with good quality super glue, and we get around one years use per belt. The trick is, is you have to make sure you cut the rubber at EXACTLY 90 degrees, so you get precise mating of parts.

We even went to the trouble of making a purpose cutting and glueing (sp) jig, to ensure good quality joins.

With the super glues, because they are cyanoacrylates, they will react to acetones, with is their undoing. The Loc Tite rubber glues I am not familiar with, but I do know they will also do the job.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 389269

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:41

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:41
Loctite 401 instant adhesive is what we use at work... Make "O" rings for many applications, as for longevity, we change them regularly as a matter of best practice so I can't comment on how long the adhesive will last in you application. Also, keep the adhesive in the fridge or freezer, it increases the shelf life.
FollowupID: 389271

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:16

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:16
goodday roachie
i presume you have tried the auto spares around your thriving little metropolis .
i will ask around some of the enginnering places i work in

AnswerID: 135319

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:29

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:29
G'day Steve,
We have a Repco and an Autopro store here, but I've had such poor luck at trying to get even basic bits and pieces from them that I haven't even tried yet. I only decided to do this late today after visiting the bloke I bought the system from a couple of hundred kays away...got back here at 5.30pm local time.
I could only think of those large boxes of various O rings you see for sale for plenty of dollars.....but should've at least tried the local people first I suppose.
FollowupID: 389267

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:24

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:24
Flippin hell Roacie, you must be the first bloke to empty Kadina of trol spare parts !!!
Sorry cant help mine only go up to 50mm x 3.5
Glad the yota doesnt use that many parts hahahahahahahah

Pesty
AnswerID: 135322

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:31

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:31
Thanks anyway for your concern mate......I can only imagine how hard it would've been for you to check the dimensions of your o rings when you were LYAO so much...hehehehe
CYA t'morra night
FollowupID: 389268

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:40

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:40
Try Vennings and any pump places, there is a large o ring on the top of davey/onga centrificul pumps, under blank cap on top of the pump.
Would be similar size and is usually fatter than run of the mill ones

FollowupID: 389270

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 21:29

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 21:29
Roachie if you go to VENNINGS on the Moonta rd ask for Tony Kelly [Big Kev} and tell him i sent you there,he would be glad to help you cheer's GREENDOG,
FollowupID: 389273

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:46

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:46

Try this site Transeals

AnswerID: 135330

Reply By: Scrubcat - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:56

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:56
Try the bearing sales places they sell the o-rings,the lengths of o-ring rubber,the kit for making your own (so the cut is straight) and loctite 401. If you buy loctite 406 you will have a very good super glue that will do your job and most others as it is for difficult to glue materials, keep all super glue in the fridge.
scrubcat.
AnswerID: 135334

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 23:58

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 23:58
Enzed?
AnswerID: 135346

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:17

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:17
Hi Roachie,

Completely off-thread, but please have a look at my post 27384. Your comments would be very welcome.

AnswerID: 135350

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 06:19

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 06:19
Roachie,
I have a heap of "O" rings, drive over and you can have what you like.

AnswerID: 135352

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:11

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:11
Now there's an offer too good to be true!!!!!!!!! hehehehe

Thanks Wayne.......
FollowupID: 389295

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:40

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:40
your in luck!....Not going to the range to so i'll be ot n about looking at some jobs....will drop into a couple of places and see what i can get....

also 3.5?

incidently...is this stuff yankie if so the measurements would be imperial
AnswerID: 135366

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 08:07

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 08:07
Thanks Richard, please don't go out of your way for this.

Yes the gear is yankee.

The existing O ring is about 3.2mm thick and when I sit it in it's slot ready for instalation, it is only marginally proud of the fitting....so we think that when it is put together, there might be insufficient pressure being applied to form a proper seal between the 2 mating surfaces.....it "feels" like the 2 metal surfaces are mating up to each other which is not the sort of feeling you get when you put a normal oil filter on the same location.

I guess the other alternative would be to get someone to machine off some of the surrounding material so that the groove for the O ring is not as deep.....

FollowupID: 389308

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 08:51

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 08:51
mmm
sounds like the one you have could be 1/8" (3.175mm)
9/64" (3.571815mm) could be the go
5/32" (2.96mm) could be too big

62.5 is 1-3/16"?

1-11/64" doesnt sound right nor does 1-5/32"
FollowupID: 389314

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:04

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:04
Roachie,

Those Orings are a bit big for those assortments you talk about. Try one of you local agriculture dealers in Kadina that also sell spray units. Most tractors and boom spray units have large orings somewhere on them for filters etc. and then cut and join.
AnswerID: 135417

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 14:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 14:42
on their way...u should see em monday....bludger hehehe
AnswerID: 135593

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 18:10

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 18:10
Thanks mate......if I'm a bludger, and you're paying me, does that make you a "client".....am I a pimp?

Cheers.....if there's anything you can think of that i can help you with, just let me know......

I will sredit some coins to your account once I have your details...

FollowupID: 389530

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:24

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:24
just kidding

FollowupID: 389559

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 23:37

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 23:37
hehehehehe

Had ya going for a minute, hey???? lolol

No, really mate....I owe you one; big time.

Thanks very much for all your efforts...... one of the many benefits of being a part of this large EO family.....

Looking forward to catching up with you at some stage again.

FollowupID: 389588

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 10:12

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 10:12
only hope it fixes the problem.
FollowupID: 389609