cargo barrier

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 16:18
ThreadID: 27407 Views:2087 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
4wd brothers,does anyone know where one could obtain a cargo barrier at a resonable price for a Mitsy Challenger???

Reply By: marcus - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 16:40

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 16:40
storm99
Not sure where you live but here in Melbourne, Kentone are reasonably priced,will fit on site and are contactable on 97254400.
cheers Mark
AnswerID: 135431

Follow Up By: storm99 - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:39

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:39
Thanks Marcus
FollowupID: 389454

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 16:00

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 16:00
We have a commodore one for sale in the trader section of this site -
if you need to know details email us and we can measure up to see if it will fit
jules
FollowupID: 389634

Reply By: Johnny boy - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 16:42

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 16:42
4wd Interiors ?
TJM warehouse?
any 4WD shop?
any one who makes the racks for the back of vans ?
or4 cheaper option, cut a card board template take it to a metal work shop or a pool fence guy and get him to bend you up 1 out of 20x20 x 1.6mm rhs weld in cross bars and mesh make safe mounting points go to Powder coaters and Presto 1 CB .....just make sure its safe ...I know mine will out live any I have seen on the market but thats just mine and every one else thats seen its Oppinion .

good luck JB.
AnswerID: 135432

Follow Up By: storm99 - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:40

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:40
Tried those to expensive.the latter sounds a good option,thanks
FollowupID: 389455

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 11:46

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 11:46
Mate trust me if you can weld or has a mate that can and have half an idea on using a measuring tape ...your set!
I had most the material sitting around at home but if not ,

1 lenghth of 20x20x1.6x6mtrs from a steel place is around $30.00

some 40x40 x aprox 500mm angle cut in half for top mountong points on both sides ( I took off the handle grabs for the back seats and used the holes provided no drilling my 100 ser interior) and 35x2.0xaprox 250 flat bar per side to attach cage to mouning plates.

some 25x25 mm mesh for top half of cage and some check plate alloy for below seat head rest to floor or in my case draws for beter protection when stuff is transported in cargo area . $?

couple of solid tabs for floor mounting .

afew bolts and nylon nuts. $5.00

abit of time ( aprox 3 hrs ) and atrial fit / test drive .

and off to the powdercoaters $30.00.

have been using it for a while now and just back from fraser No worries.

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 389478

Reply By: RenoRXGQ - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:37

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:37
I've found Ausbarrier to be the most helpfull and cheapest. They are in located in Syd,Bris and Melb though....got one myself $350 fitted and product is of great quality. www.caddystorage.com.au
AnswerID: 135438

Follow Up By: storm99 - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:40

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:40
Local in Brisvegas, good option and right price thanks
FollowupID: 389456

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:48

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:48
Quokka - usually a few in there around the $100 - $150 mark.
AnswerID: 135442

Follow Up By: storm99 - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:42
Took forever to log on? is it like a trading post?
FollowupID: 389459

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:34

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:34
Yeah, I think so. It's a weekly WA based classified advertising paper.
FollowupID: 389485

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 18:15

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 18:15
Got mine off ebay for $30. Fitting kit was $65. Milford. Worth a try.
AnswerID: 135448

Follow Up By: storm99 - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:41

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:41
Lucky Bas....?Can never find one on Ebay for Challenger
FollowupID: 389457

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:42
What do you call Reasonably priced? Thats where the issue is.

Also what section of the planet you are in could assist.
AnswerID: 135533

Follow Up By: storm99 - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:43

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:43
Under 350 - 400 would be ideal as some prices are as much as 800
FollowupID: 389461

Reply By: Patroleum - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:43

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:43
Storm99.

I just bought one this week from 4wd systems in sth aust for my 80 series LC.
Total price was $292.00 Delivered to Qld. Quality was good and i fitted it myself in half hour. The design uses a pair of side braces beside the wheel wells (At least for an 80 series) and is mounted with 4 bolts. Much easier than milford but no doubt not as strong in a major accident. Saying that,it feels very strong when mounted in position.

Good Luck

AnswerID: 135656