Changes to NSW infringement notice

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 19:53
ThreadID: 27416 Views:4689 Replies:8 FollowUps:0
A mate showed me the other day that the new notices imply that there are only two ways to deal with the matter.
1. Pay the fine

2. Go to court

It used to have a declaration on the backto nominate the person in charge of the vehicle at the time of the infringement but that is now gone and no mention made of this option but go to the infringement bureau website and the form is there to download.
I think they deliberately only state two options so people will just pay to make things easier for them.
The new notices are misleading time to read up on ethics NSW infringement bureau.

Reply By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 20:40

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 20:40
Since when do revenue collectors need ethics?
AnswerID: 135474

Reply By: Jayk - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 21:27

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 21:27
If you have an issue with the validity of the infringement and have a good argument and evidence to back it up, write a calm and reasoned letter stating your case, attach COPIES of any evidence in support of you claim and post it all of to the IPB.

The IPB get heaps of both legitimate and bullsh*t claims every day and, if the evidence supplied is reasonable enough for the fine to be dropped or redirected, then that is probably what will happen.

Having said that, the decision made, will sometimes, sadly, depend on what side of the bed the assessor got out of that morning, whether they got lucky the night before, if they're hungover, what kind of natural b*$tard they are, etc., etc....

Whatever, it's always worth the effort to make a case.
Why? ... Why not?

AnswerID: 135480

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 23:43

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 23:43
Some people who have several company cars simply do not pay these fines because they cannot or willnot state who was driving the vehicle at the time.
I have a freind who's boss does this. He says he will pay the fine but only if no demerit points are given, because his vehicles could be driven by any number of staff at any given time.

In WA they are talking about de-registering those vehilces to stop this, which means anyone who has one or more vehicle which can be driven by more than one person will have to keep a log (pain in da aaaarse) and will have to dob in the culprit, which seems fair I guess.
AnswerID: 135509

Reply By: brian - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 07:54

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 07:54
I read somewhere that the legislation reguires the owner to nominate the driverHOWEVER there is apparently no compulsion for the owner to actually sign the docunent,result nominate the driver send form in unsigned it is inadmissable without signature...
any one out there with better knowledge ?????????????
AnswerID: 135516

Reply By: Member - JD - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:55

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 09:55
Hi Howesy,
I recently recieved a little pressy from those people,for a parking fine...which one of my so called mates got while he was in charge of my truck..I rang them and explained that I did sight his license but I could'nt remember his last name as it was a while ago..but because I had no surname they would'nt have a bar of it,mind you I've got his first name, address, and rego from his vehicle and ofcorse he does,nt want to know about it either. So I thought great i'm stuck with this so I looked into paying it off you would have thought I was applying for a home loan..the easiest thing to do is pay,They dont want to help you all they want is to take every cent possible off you!!! and they will kick in your door to over a parking fine or cancell your rego....NOT HAPPY...but the way it is.
All The Best In Health And Wealth
JD
AnswerID: 135538

Reply By: Coyote - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 10:08

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 10:08
Pain in the ar#$#% in an understatement re keeping logbooks..
I'm in defence and as you can imagine any vehicle may have hundreds of different drivers over a 12 month period.. every single vehicle has a log book and we need to log into it and sign the start time/k's and the finish time and k'. That was if defence gets sent a camera infringement they can pass it on to the driver.. This is enforced by the bosses 'cause if they can't prove who was driving a vehicle under their control.. they get the bill and demerit points... good incentive.. but for little trips.. we spend more time filling inpaper work than we doactually driving (or so it seems)
AnswerID: 135541

Reply By: Tanka - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 11:03

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 11:03
Working for the govenment, (an oxymoron I know), I also have to fill out logbooks which are a pain. Just make sure that you chase up that form from the Infringement processing bureau before the fine gets referred to the State debt recovery office, as once it reaches that stage you no longer have the option of filling out the stat dec to change the name.

P.S. If the vehicle is registered in a company name and you wait until the State debt recovery office handles the matter, it will cost you $50 more, but as you cannot change the name on the fine you can just pay it, and no-body loses any points. Could be a license saver!
Tanka.
AnswerID: 135554

Reply By: Justin - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:55

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 12:55
and I thought it was an offence to pay a fine (and cop the demerit points) if you wern't the driver.

If you knowingly pay some elses fine, and cop the points - isn't that fraud??

I guess that the onus is on the vehicle owner to identify the offender.

(personally I think serial offenders deserve all the fines/license suspensions they get - one day it will be my kids as risk (allbeit, occasionally a small risk) from these drivers on the road....)
AnswerID: 135569