Submitted: Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:41
Sky Pilot
Just another Prado 90 question. I look like taking
mine out and into the outback - FNQ, NT and NWWA. I have 265/75/16 TAs and one is mounted as a spare on the rear door. How does this cope with rough corrugated roads. Because of the width of the tyre, the thread engaged by the nuts on the spare is not as long. Do I need to do anything about the spare to go on these corrugated roads?
Reply By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:59
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:59
Sky Pilot
We did 25000kms in '03 in our Prado with a BFG Mud on the back and I did get Toyota to adjust the door when we got back as it seemed to sag a bit and was catching on the bottom.
Reply By: tessa_51 - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:02
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:02
Sky Pilot
I had exactly the same problem - door dropped, but the bracket itself never looked like budging. Only other problem is that the squared up edge of BFG A/T spare has knocked a bit of the paintwork off in the groove at the bottom of the door. BTW
mine is a 2000 Prado.
tessa
Follow Up By: tessa_51 - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:05
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:05
sorry, should have siad we have had the spare on for about 40,000clicks and toured the Centre, NT, WA and SA with it.
tessa
Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:13
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:13
Mines been on for 67,000 km with no problems, but I have not done any corrugated outback roads in that time. I can remember that I could not get the nuts on very far when I put the 265/75 on the door and I know it is a hell of a lot heavier than standard. A mate had a problem with a Land Rover Defender door with a standard tyre and I have heard of other problems with dust sealing. Just thought I'd ask and see if I needed some swing away rear tyre carrier.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:06
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:06
The 265/75 tyres on steel Prado rims weigh 34-37kgs vs 31kgs for the original dunlops.
I reckon the doors drop a bit with time anyway - they are quite wide. Didn't have any issues with
mine, but only owned the last vehicle for 3 years.
I wouldn't consider the swingaway - you need to replace the plastic rear bumper - you'd be adding heaps of extra weight
well behind the rear axle which tends to lever the front end up. I have only heard of one company making them for a 90series - in
Perth I think.
Reply By: prado-wolf - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:26
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:26
Sky Pilot,
i carry a BFG Mud on the door and have not noticed any dropping of the door after 40K on some of the worst dirt tracks around.
I also carry a second BFG Mud on a custom made swing arm of the tow bar and no problem so far.
If you want to carry two , go for the 4x4 all terrain bumper replacement option , nice gear.
Reply By: guts - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:26
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:26
Ive had a 275/70/16 BFG A/T on a GXL steel rim with a Kaymar High Lift jack attachment and have had no problems.
Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 14:25
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 14:25
Hi sky pilot. Got a 2000 GXL, owned it for 18mths now, had the rear door adjusted twice so far due to slight sagging. Not huge, but noticable.