why do you need a generator

Submitted: Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:13
ThreadID: 27527 Views:5388 Replies:25 FollowUps:65
why why why do people have to take a generator to a nice peacefull camp site and run the bloody thing during the day and half the night

my wife and i escaped without the kids for a nice quiet sat / sun about 3hrs nw of brissy only to find 4 generators in the camp site which were fired up in the afternoon and ran till 11pm and fired them up again at 630am sunday

what happened to the quite bush retreat, had to use ear plugs to sleep.

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:19

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:19
Because they can't do without there Microwave and electric blanket.

The world is just full of inconsiderate a$$holes.

They use the excuse thats its for charging batteries etc, just crap, I can't think of one piece of necessary camping gear that needs a a generator to run.

AnswerID: 136092

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:23

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:23
So obviously you you have MAGIC batteries that NEVER need recharging.!!
FollowupID: 390240

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:48

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:48
No MAGIC batteries, Just a MAGIC system that charges them for you when you actually start and drive your car.
Works wonders, maybe you should try it some day.

FollowupID: 390244

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 19:08

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 19:08
John it just goes to show that u are a biased d/head who should be classed as a harold scrubby [does not deserve capitals] ,,, so you go for a drive ,how much pollution /noise/waste of fuel in a large engine compared to a small genset run for an hr or 2 ,,, ever try to camp in the one place for more than a day or 2 and walk to the beach / waterfall / river ect ect, ,,,no you have to go for DRIVE,
FollowupID: 390269

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:24

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:24
I don't have a problem with generators at all. People should just be more considerate as to when they turn them off and also where they position them. I have been camping with people who have generators and not even known they have them running.
AnswerID: 136093

Follow Up By: Grungle - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:33

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:33
Agree, there is, and always will be a need for some people to run a generator but it is a matter of being a considerate camper as to when it is run and for how long. We have a generator that we run after about 3-4 days camping but only between 10am-2pm and usually only for around 2-3 hours.

I find people partying and carrying on until all hours in the morning more annoying, however also agree that there is a time that gennies should be run and that is not after dusk.

I like to sit back after dinner, talking quietly and listening to the bush.

FollowupID: 389907

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:37

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:37
Whats that need?

Oh !!!yeah to power the boom box and pi$$ people off even more.

FollowupID: 389909

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:40

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:40
Charge the batteries in the car to keep the fridge going.
FollowupID: 389911

Follow Up By: Grungle - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:47

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:47
Hi John,

I think one would have to be pretty stupid to buy a gennie that is $200-$2000 to run a stereo out bush.

We only use one to charge batteries when the solar panel is ineffective either because of cloud or staying in one spot for extended periods (rare).

FollowupID: 389912

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:52

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:52
David in context to the original post, lot of stupid people out there.

FollowupID: 389914

Follow Up By: Grungle - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:59

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:59
Your not wrong there John however how many of us out there that see a stupid person doing a stupid thing actually say to that person that they are doing something stupid (nicely of course)?

If we did that then those stupid people may get the hint that they are... well... stupid and then we would have lot less of them out there.

Most of the time we are content to just bite our lip and bear it.

FollowupID: 389917

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 01:10

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 01:10
then again they may just punch you in the nose!!
FollowupID: 389968

Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:58

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:58
hey hey g'day

John in context to your follow up, lot of stupid people in here....

regards robs
FollowupID: 390151

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:45

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:45
Hmmm....

Which is worse... Inconsiderate a$$holes, or intolerant a$$holes?????

I carry a (Honda) generator, and during a recent 13-week trip "through the middle", used it (yes, for charging batteries to run 'fridges for keeping perishables and BEER cold!) a total of like, 5 or 6 times....

We always try not to camp within cooee of others, and If I'm camped, and you set up camp close enough to hear my generator, then you're TOO CLOSE!!!!!

I will add that if there do happen to be others camped nearby, then my generator will not be run for very long (if at all ) after dark.....

See ya out there sometime.....

Ed. C.

Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 136099

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:55

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:55
No dispute Inconsiderate a$$holes, who are intolerant of others around them by running their generator.

Never heard of solar or going for a drive to charge batteries.

Who says they are camped to close to you???? Could be the other way around.

FollowupID: 389915

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:01

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:01
Sadly John I think on this occasion you missed Ed's point!

Muddy
FollowupID: 389919

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:03

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:03
Can't say i care too much for solar, but everyone to their own. :)
FollowupID: 389921

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:29

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:29
No Steve I didn't miss his point, maybe he does not want to see mine.

FollowupID: 389929

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:32

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:32
whats up with warm beer?
FollowupID: 389931

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:39

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:39
I agree with you Ed. C when I go bush it is usually where there are no others so what i choose to do or not do doesnt effect others. When staying more popular spots it is a sad fact that I do not own the world and unless others are really making my life hell and being inconsiderate then - well thats life try and find somewhere quiter next time if possable. Last ime i stayed in a campground i reckon i must have been the only one without a genny and some where load enough for me to locate my way back down a river back to the grounds by canoe. Next night i camped along the beach in the dunes
FollowupID: 389932

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:52

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:52
Normally I agree with you on most things John but with your absolute intolerance for generators on this thread you have got my back up!

I agree that people who run noisy two stroke gennies in general campgrounds well into the dark hours are pushing the bounds of acceptability. But surely there are valid requirements for good quiet generators used for recharging decent 12v setups to power the multitude of electronics that make camping so comfy these days?

I am close to going with a camper trailer. It will have a decent battery system in it to run lights and recharge my laptop and digital camera and other toys. Many times I go driving during the day and the battery in the 4by also gets a good charge so no extra power is needed but in a camper trailer parked for a week I will need supplementry power.

The EASIEST and most dependable method I can think of is a generator run for about 6 hours during the day. You can try selling me all the solar crap you want but the initial investment, the power produced, the space taken up, the moving of panels around for optimum performance, the ease of having panels flogged, the poor performance on cloudy days, all make a 1Kva Yammie Blue Whisper gennie just perfect for the job. Chain it to the drawbar and run it at eco throttle setting and I doubt many would even know it is there.

THAT is what I will be doing. I can then enjoy the bush, enjoy some conveniences, and not bother others.

Muddy

FollowupID: 389934

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:06

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:06
>>> Which is worse... Inconsiderate a$$holes, or intolerant a$$holes???

You really need to ask this? Inconsiderate a$$holes by such a margin it doesnt even measure up.

While I agree with your point, if your there first, then tuff tittles, that dont always work, Ive been camping and had pricks turn up and take over the whole place..

Mate camping at Woods point had dudes turn up once with one of them Coolroom Trailers and gennys ran 24hours along with music, and shooting wildlife... Carefactor for anyone else who had been there for 3 days.. Nil.

YMMV
FollowupID: 389954

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:47

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:47
Muddy ,
I agree with you . I think John , on this occasion , is having trouble dismounting from his high horse .
I agree with you follow-up entirely .
Cheers ,
Willie
FollowupID: 390033

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:01

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:01
No high horse here Willem.
Whilst I am sure that most of the people on here are certainly considerate in the best sense of the word, my experience with the generator brigade has been quite the other.

I normally avoid other campers when ever I can and as such avoid the issue of noise of any sort.
To often I have been parked somewhere nice and quite and along comes the "Others" who park in close proximity and low and behold out comes the gennie or the bloody motor bike.
Ok so I ask very nicely if they mind turning the noise off and you guessed it back comes the answer, 'Its a free world" or "F" off and mind your own business etc etc.
People are as people are, Inconsiderate etc.

I still stand by my comments that there is no essential piece of camping gear that requires a generator, If you own one and use it in a considerate way that does not disturb others then good on you.

But lets be honest here, how many of you would turn them off if asked by someone else?

It still surprises me how far sound carries in places like the high country and maybe generator owners should consider that fact when electing to run them especially at night.

FollowupID: 390046

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:54

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:54
John ,
Willem goes by"willem" now - he is another entity entirely .
We were camped at DQ Baths in July and our freezer ( Waco ) stopped working on 12 volt , but would work on 240 . We were out for 3 weeks and realy needed that food so we ran the generator when ever we were in camp and turned it off when we went to bed . It was a quiet geni and did not think it would disturb anyone . After dinner one night two gents walked a 100m from their camp and asked us if we would turn off the generator . We apologised profusely and said we would . But that was not enough for this guy , who then preceded to lecture us that there was these things called solar panels and the sooner we found about them the better etc etc etc blah blah blah - it was at that stage, that yes , we did tell him to eff off .
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 390058

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:12

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:12
Willie no worries I know which Willem is which. LOL.

FollowupID: 390173

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:05

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:05
Muddy,
I'm with you and Willie, I too have a generator, a Honda EU10i, I doubt you will find a quieter machine on the market. Like you guys I'm sick of having to defend my position as to why a generator and not solar, or candles or whatever.
NO! I don't run it in the middle of camping areas, I seek a totally secluded area if possible, if not I get out on the fringes of of any camping patch where and have had the thing running when necessary and no one has been the wiser.

There are an element on this forum who have a "holier than thou attitude" on any bloody subject that comes up. I recall a post where someone was denigrated for having a camper trailer, the imputation was that if they were "real" campers they would camp under a fly or in a tent at worst, then there was another who suggested that real men slept in a swag with no need for pussy tents.

I have no time for those that run noisy generators in proximity to other parties wether it by night or the middle of the day, but to denigrate all who use a generators shows just as much a lack of consideration as those the complain about them.
\
"No essential piece of camping gear requirers a generator".
\
Well consider an aquaintance of mine who suffers from a breathing disorder and requires a machine to keep breathing whilst asleep. Not necesary you say!
He loves his camping and has always been an outdoorsy person, do you expect him to now stop at home? sell of his camping gear? get rid of his 4wd? - He runs his genny during the DAY to fast charge two batteries to run his machine through the night. But then according to some of these posts tahts no excuse.

Let's run a poll on this site and get some stats on what noises have disturbed us whilst camping. I don't for one minute deny that a generator running all day and night is not a pain in the butt, but I for one have not had a problem with them to date.

What's kept me awake?

Drunken yelling and shrieking and laughter till 2:45 in the morning and the females of the species were the worst.

Another drunken party screaming 15 verses of the Good Ship Venus over and over again, and when upset parents approached the group they were threatened with violence.

Another drunken group who decided to run midnight 4wd driving comps in the immediate vicinity of the camp.

Car radios turned to full blast so that they could listen to the VFL whilst lolling in the river.

Over amplified boom boxes.

Having to listen to other peoples screaming domestics.

GENERATORS - NIL (so far)

But's lets be honest here, how many of the above parties turned of their noise - well you can guess the answere to that one.

FollowupID: 390246

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 18:50

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 18:50
"No essential piece of camping gear requires a generator".

Well consider an acquaintance of mine who suffers from a breathing disorder and requires a machine to keep breathing whilst asleep. Not necessary you say!
He loves his camping and has always been an outdoorsy person, do you expect him to now stop at home? sell of his camping gear? get rid of his 4wd? - He runs his Genny during the DAY to fast charge two batteries to run his machine through the night.

Thats not camping gear is it Ian?, its life support and is a different need.
It"s also been answered by another member further down the thread.

I get the distinct impression that you don't think that all the views expressed on this forum are an indication of a good cross section of the Australian population that goes camping.
You call it "holier than thou" I just call it a good debate that allows all to express their view, right or wrong.

I have also been disturbed at one time or the other by all those other sources of noise you describe as well as noisy generators.

As I said further up the thread "If you own one and use it in a considerate way that does not disturb others then good on you"

FollowupID: 390266

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:57

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:57
I use ours on our own property - to power tools, and lights at night. No-one around for a couple of kilometres in any direction.

I never take it with us into the bush. I rely on the good old dual battery system for power there. If it runs out during the night (at 105A/H it never has) then so be it. Go for a drive the next day to re-charge. If we lob into a camp spot where there are generators in use, we move on. We are totally self-sufficient and don't need to be near dunnies , or showers, or water taps - just quiet.
AnswerID: 136107

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:03

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:03
I have a generator, and use it, but when we go away we don’t stay in designated camping grounds unless we have to.

Why do I have a generator well I don’t have a duel battery system or inverters so running electrical gear for longish periods of time isn’t good for the battery, And as fun as it is trying to cook, eat dinner and wash up under torch light is, I prefer something a little more powerful.

If we have a fridge with us we will generally take it off car battery power, as it gets dark (1930-2000Hrs) then fire up the generator and light’s+ switch the fridge over onto genie power and let it run till around 2300-2330hrs to keep the fridge cold for that night, then plug it back onto the car battery in the morning before we leave/ head out for the day.

If we do not have the fridge with us, we will run the light’s well we cook eat and wash up then depending on the consensus of the others in the group we will ether leave a light on in main camp (Near the 4WDs) for what ever, or shut it down.

It’s a robin generator you stick it 8metres away and you don’t even know it is running, and like I said where we generally head on trip's, we are generally the only ones camping in that location.

AnswerID: 136109

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:33
Kim and Doug

Are you opposed to generators per se, or only the noisy ones?

I don't own a generator, however many are quiet and you would only be aware of them if you sought them out.

If you are talking about noisy neighbours - accepting that noise comes from a variety of sources - then I agree with you. Although if others are nearby there has to be some level of sound.

Uncouth language and loud music annoy me most of all. But maybe the same people have loud generators as well.

I'd like the RV and trail bike crazes to be over and done with so we simple folk can get back to enjoying the bush.
AnswerID: 136126

Follow Up By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:06

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:06
not opposed just that the sign at the entrance says to leave the gen at home and qld parks ask's that they are only used in remote parks not round the corner from home to power fluros and stereos
FollowupID: 390084

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:55

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:55
I don't understand why people buy 240volt generators for camping.

If I wanted to recharge batteries, I can either use the 110amp alternator that came free with my vehicle ;-) or buy a 12 volt 55A Christies generator that you only need to run for an hour or two each day.

phil
AnswerID: 136130

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:54

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:54
Well I don't understand why people take kids with mini-bikes camping either, I would much rather be near to someone with a small generator running for a few hours than, damn kids riding round & round the camping area all day, stopping only to refuel!
FollowupID: 389951

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:43

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:43
Ever compared how much noise a Christies generator makes to something like a Honda . An hour or two of bedlam is OK ?
Willie
FollowupID: 390032

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:11

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:11
Hi Willie,

Last time I looked, the Christies was a Honda :-)
But I guess you're saying its not as quiet as an EU10 or 20.

My point is that the generator-hugging people can either buy a 12 volt generator that will easily slip 40amps back into your battery bank, or get a 240volt cheapie that slips no more than a few amps into them. Naturally the latter will need to be going into the evening when all is otherwise quiet. At least the Cristies can be run for a couple of hours during the day, and not disturb the quiet of the night.

I hate generators. I spend all my camping time away from the crowds and the permapine posts that inhabit otherwise pristine areas. Give me a desert any day.

When I need to weld, I use batteries; when I need light, I use a fluoro. My fridge runs a long time on the 2nd battery. And I go for a drive every day. Carrying explosive fuels, and the extra weight, noise and hassle of a generator doesn't suit me.

FollowupID: 390037

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:39

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:39
Phil,

The last time I also looked , the Christies Eng. generator used a Honda motor . That's why I specifically said GENERATORS - so you really should not have had to guess .

Would something as noisy as the Christies GENERATOR running at a hell of a racket for a "couple of hours during the day", disturb anyone more than my Honda GENERATOR running at half the noise for an hour in the morning and an hour at sundown ( - whay my eutectic needs as a fridge )?

You say no ?

Iv'e "done the maths" , but I just can't seem to get to your final result

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 390254

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 20:59

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 20:59
Now Willie, you're sounding like a retired cantankerous old fart...........:-))
..... nothing wrong with that......another 6-7 years, and hopefullt I'll be the same :-))

Acutally I'm surprised you bother with a GENERATOR for a eutectic fridge. I have a friend with an autofridge who doesn't even bother with a second battery - that thing works unbelievably well.

working, cantankerous oldish fart
FollowupID: 390285

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:23

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:23
Insecure people buy generators and take them out bush
AnswerID: 136135

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:37

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:37
I was once camped on Coopers when a mobile disco arrived along with 20 bikes and camped very close to me. They could of camped anywhere but they obviously needed my company. I was almost asleep when camera, lights, action. Not happy.

I own a generator but would not take it camping. I go bush to get away from those that do.
FollowupID: 389990

Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:39

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:39
hey hey g'day

what an absolutely ridiculous statement......i'll shoot that argument down in flames as i'm far from being an insecure type of person and i do take a genny with me, and i'm sure many others do, when i go camping as well as 20 metres of lead to put it in a non obtrusive spot so it doesn't annoy others.....whether i use it or not depends entirely on the circumstances, most of the time not but its nice to know its there if needed..... fairdinkum i think you need to get out more to relieve the boredom......

regards robs
FollowupID: 390008

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:31

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:31
Whatever I post, there is sure to be a respondent.

I don't mind you shooting my statement down in flames but stay away from personal comments like 'you need to get out more to relieve the boredom'.

If you know me and what I am on about then by all means be personal. If not keep your comments about me to yourself.

FollowupID: 390109

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:35

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:35
Willem, take no notice. I know that you actually need to stay home more...so I don't get so jealous :)))
FollowupID: 390110

Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:04

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:04
hey hey g'day

i'm fully aware of your situation dear willem as i peruse the forum regularly and if makes you feel any better i cant work at all due to a workplace injury a few years back, thats another story, but why post stupid remarks such as that.... i'm sure if you were expecting some kind of flack over it and if you cant handle the flack dont post the cr@p...

"Insecure people buy generators and take them out bush".... now if that wasn't a pakula lure thrown in at the deep end i really dont know what was, cop it sweet cause if you wanna stir the pot you'll end up getting splashed....

credibility factor "zero"

regards robs
FollowupID: 390119

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:26

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:26
I am not interested whether you think anything I say is credible.

What I am saying is don't get personal. I am not intersted in your personal life. Please do not make assumptions about mine.

Yes I threw a bait out to see what I would catch.

My point of view is that people who take generators out bush are insecure as they NEED to take all the mod cons of their home life with them. They must watch DVD's, they must have a satellite dish and wqtch their programs and TV news, they must have as much cold beer as the people next door, they must have the loudest sterio system, they must have the biggest car fridge, they must light up the whole campsite like daylight etc etc. They have lost the art of going camping and getting down to basics again.

On the whole those with gennies don't really care about their fellow campers who may be there for the solitude. Any noise disturbs the peace and especially talking loud at 11pm at night.

That is why I travel solo and camp solo. And if you dare to camp near me I will ask you about noise and generators and will ask you to go and camp elsewhere if you intend to run your gennie.
FollowupID: 390121

Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:55

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:55
hey hey g'day

well as stated before big fella i take a genny with me on my journeys but i cook on fire or gas, my lights are gas or torch, i take a laptop, with a spare fully charged battery, to downlaod piccies, we sit around a fire all night without any music so we take in the serenity of our surroundings and find no need to fire the genny....... i also take an assortment of power tools ie: drill, grinder, jigsaw etc for those big running repairs in the middle of nowhere but, touch wood, have only used them very few times hence the GENNY
and iffin ya really wanna know i wasn't gettin personel, cept for the zero credibility, because if i did you'd certainly know about it but i'm not ready to get banned from this forum just yet.... as i said before if ya cant handle the flack dont post ya cr@p.....

and dont tar everyone with the same brush its very uncool...

regards robs
FollowupID: 390131

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:57

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:57
Just ignore Willem: he regularly seeks attention on this forum, big fish and little pond delusions etc. Note how he's trying to make himself the aggrieved party? He seems to get a little insecure if he's not at the centre of attention. Yawn....

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 390133

Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:02

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:02
hey hey g'day

yeah i figured that out some time ago mike but i just love pulling his chain and playin' the game.....

regards robs
FollowupID: 390135

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:06

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:06
Geez Mike Harding where have you been. I have actually missed all the bull you post here from time to time lol Remember last time we communicated I said you were being boring...seems nothing has changed
Also heard on the grapevine you accused the wrong person of a deed...tut tut

Spondo..I will pigeonhole you in the Mike Harding and his Nannas Brigade class of 3

As I have said before. I don't care what you think.
FollowupID: 390137

Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:13

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:13
hey hey g'day

lol....... 8?)

regards you know who.......
FollowupID: 390139

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:43

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:43
Hey John,

I think you are being very one eyed about the carrying and use of generators. I think these units have there use and time of use when camping near others and maybe a code of practice on the use of generators should be part of the unwritten law when camping.

If you are not with coeee of anyone and you run a super quiet generator to charge batteries and run other accessories then go for it. If you have a rig like a camper trailer setup then its abit hard to take it all down and then tow just to charge batteries.

Stuart M.

AnswerID: 136141

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:56

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:56
A third battery is still cheaper than a generator??
FollowupID: 389952

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:35

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:35
Luxoluk,

A small quiet generator gives you way more options than a third battery ever will. Anyway it all comes down to choices and what choices you and others make. These choices affect how others will be towards you when close by and common sense should come into play.

Stuart .
FollowupID: 389960

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 00:09

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 00:09
Theron lies the problem Stuart, if people can't do the right thing by others now, What makes you think that a code of practice or conduct would change their ways.

We have laws that say you should not litter, but How many places have you camped at where the dunny paper blows freely in the breeze?Because people can't dispose of it properly.

I have a duel battery set up and run my 60 litre Engel, my laptop, a couple of fluros without any problem or noise to others.
And soon a HF radio, if needed I will stick a bigger 2nd battery in to cope. No thought of a generator, Its just not needed.

In the context of what Truckster has said if you need to power so much rubbish then try staying at a caravan park with on site power, or a motel, better yet just stay home.

FollowupID: 389965

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 01:17

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 01:17
Seems like intolerance abounds--wherever you look!!
FollowupID: 389969

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:53

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:53
With a versa light, an engel fridge and a decent second battery you should be able to survive comfortably for days without a generator. When you go to Bathurst one expects this sort of background noise amoungst the yobbos but surely there is no real basis for them whilst bush camping. Best to stay home or stick to caravan parks if you need these comforts and distractions like laptops and DVD's etc. I for one don't want to be subjected to noise of this type when bush camping and I wish there was a way of conveying this without causing upset to those who are so self righteous in their justifications. A pox on your generator I say!!
AnswerID: 136146

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:38

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:38
Amen to that.

FollowupID: 389963

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:57

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:57
Its all been said but I always take a genny when on my own and use is with consideration, as an emergency backup , but have carted it many thousands of k's without using it, but great to know its there.
I have 3 good batterys but use a fair bit of power in summer as my wife has special food needs and so we run a 110L fridge which uses a lot more juice than a 40 L jobby, but couldnt be stuffed mucking around with solar, mate was in trouble recently as it was a cloudy week and he had relied on solar.
Would sooner camp near a genny going in the background than a bunch of __sholes making a din till 3am???
See ya in the bush and you wont know i have a genny.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 389992

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:39

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:39
G'day Pesty,

Just reminding you that one of those inverter welders work a treat on those Hondas. I am ever so glad you raised the issue about these welders some time ago. Bought a Eutectic 850 and it works fine on one but when my mate comes along we can hook the 2 genies together to crank it up to 80 no probs.

Hope you ended up buying one because it is a piece of cake to take along.

FollowupID: 390029

Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:12

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:12
You lot whinging about generators ... get over it!
You are most likely the ones that, when I have found a nice quiet spot, with my quiet generator, come & dump yourselves, kids, mini bikes & whatever within 10 metres of my camp, when there are thousands of hectares from which to choose your own spot!
AnswerID: 136150

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:38

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:38
Hey Shaker,

I couldn't agree with you about the wide open spaces and where you sit your bot and how no matter what distance there is around you how others manage to seek you out and kill your personal space.

Stuart
FollowupID: 389962

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:25

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:25
Makes you wonder why some people go bush, instead of to a motel.

Your best bet is to start your car, and lay on the horn from 11pm until 6.30am to repay the favor.
AnswerID: 136152

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 06:38

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 06:38
Seem to remember a trip recently when someones alternator died. Without the use of a fellow campers genny he may have been up sh1te creek :)
FollowupID: 389973

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:26

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:26
I could have borrowed someones second battery :P
FollowupID: 390004

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:12

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:12
No motel most places I go! Just as well otherwise the missus would have us booked into one of those.
FollowupID: 390103

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 01:08

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 01:08
I must admit that I have a generator but it only comes with us if we take the camper. That way when I've been camped up for 3 or 4 days I can plug the fridge into it while fully recharging the battery in the car. I only ever run it at night if no-one else is around or it's really windy and nature is making more noise than me.

I hate ppl who use BIG OLD generators untill all ours of the night so they can play cards inside.
AnswerID: 136158

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 06:36

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 06:36
You're on the same thought train as me mate. My Yammie is soooo quiet that a slight breeze is enough to waft-away any slight hum that may otherwise be heard.
I too only need the gennie as a back up for the 2 x 105a/h batts in the camper. I dragged the gennie and 10 ltr of petrol across the simpson back in july and it never needed to be started cos we were moving every day or 2. It would have been very handy if we'd have been socked in for a week or so.
People will say, "why not just run your motor and let the alternator charge the battery".......fair enough I suppose, but I can tell you categorically that my 4.2L TD Patrol pumps out quite a few more decibels than the yammie ha ha. I've been camped in places where a bloke will run his diesel motor for half an hour or more at fast idle and it annoys me.....but I wouldn't say anything, just cos the poor pryck can't afford a QUIET gennie.
FollowupID: 389972

Reply By: BigPop - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 06:20

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 06:20
Get over it - generators are becoming more popular (and quieter) every day and as a result are being used more frequentlly out in the bush. I have both battery and genny and use them both dependant on the area I am going to/at.
It's still a free country (I hope) and I will use my generator if I need to and not have to put up with someone telling me what to do especially when they arrive AFTER me.
The ppl I despise are the type that when I have set up camp with no-one around (and if someone should come be away from them all) - and they have a tribe in tow and have to pull up right near me and whilst setting up their camp leave their engines running all the time they are there ("we better charge our batteries Charles as mummy will not be amused if we run out of power") and then have their kids, dogs, cats, goats etc run around MY camp all day making all sorts of noise and then complain to ME about my super quiet gennie making too much noise for their Chardonnay Set.
They want to get away from it all and away from the noise yet HAVE to camp right on top of someone else.
I let them know in no uncertain terms how I feel too.
I am also considerate of others when I do use my genny and only use it when I need to and not all hours of the day and night - more than I can say for some of the alternative powers consumers.
It also amazes me how you can be set up enjoying your own company with no one around within a bulls roar of you - having your genny running and they will come driving into your area, pull up and then ask you to turn the genny off because the noise upsets them.

I was on a fishing trip with some mates once when I had a woman come over to our camp one night and tell us to stop talking as loud as she couldn't hear the water running in the river because of our voices - and she was right on top of the river and we were camped about 200 metres further inland from her. We quickly told her where to get off and then made more noise just to pi$$ her off.

On the subject of inconsiderate a$$holes - whilst I was out fishing one day I had one lot, move in right alongside of my out of the way camp, stick their gigantic solar panel right in the middle of my camp as they 'needed' the shady tree lined area for their camp and could'nt get enough sunshine for this monster of a thing so they ran the lead etc and put it right in the middle of my camp - it soon disapperaed when I got back that's for sure.

It's amazing how a 6'4" 160Kg axe wielding "mad camper" can get rid of the Chardonnay set quite quickly. "I was only chopping some of my own firewood for my camp fire - really Mr. Ranger".

My 0.02c worth

BigPop
(I never get lost because everyone tells me where to go)
AnswerID: 136166

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 21:56

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 21:56
quote Bigpop
I was on a fishing trip with some mates once when I had a woman come over to our camp one night and tell us to stop talking as loud as she couldn't hear the water running in the river because of our voices - and she was right on top of the river and we were camped about 200 metres further inland from her. We quickly told her where to get off and then made more noise just to pi$$ her off.
unquote

If she was camped by the river and you were on a fishing trip and 200 meters away from the river, sounds like she was there first and got the best camp spot!!??
FollowupID: 390156

Follow Up By: BigPop - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 06:15

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 06:15
Actually we were there 1st!!!!!! It is a favourite spot which we love and we go there often. The campsite we like to use is on good clear level ground and is about 200m away from the river, and as usual we also like to camp away from the other rowdy ones. :):):)

Just further to my post we weren't intoxicated either as none of us drink alcohol and it was about 7.30pm at night. We were just sitting around our small fire chatting and joking about our days fishing when she came in hollering, yelling and abusing us. Talk about a madwoman - I don't think anything would satisfy her - pity her poor hubby.

BigPop
(I never get lost because everyone tells me where to go)
FollowupID: 390178

Reply By: ADM - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 07:41

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 07:41
A very good friend of ours loves camping but without a generator she is unable.

Why becuse she is on dialysis.

Maybe you should consider the reason why some people use them before you start criticising.
AnswerID: 136173

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:05

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:05
Fair enough but don't fall into the trap of being driven by exceptions....
FollowupID: 389980

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:36

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:36
Well I'll fess up, I have a Honda and its pretty quite. That doesn'r stop me being considerate though and turn it off at some reasonable hour if others are around. In respect to taking one camping, wouldn't be without it! Charges the batteries etc but most importantly is able to run the electrical tools and welder when away. On my last trip this got a reasonable workout and we would have been stuffed without it. Fancy tools for bush camping I hear you say - maybe, but I feel self sufficient.

PS still take some 8 guage wire and good fencing pliers for emergency repairs - ah the old cobb and co. The welder is more permanent, sounder and neater.
AnswerID: 136185

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:58

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:58
Why do you go to the spot where others are already there 1st with their genny , ,, We run a 5 battery system and solar and still sometimes need to run the generator ,, never for long and always during the day ,, we have found in all our travels and camps that the only ones who complain about generators are the ones who wish they had a 12v fridge ect ect yet struggle with ice ect.
AnswerID: 136214

Follow Up By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:14

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:14
the point i was trying to make was the signs say no gens in qld parks except remote locations

some cant or wont follow the rules

think we created a firery post though
FollowupID: 390088

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:27

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:27
You have 5 batteries and still run a gennie!!!!!!???

What size batteries are they....double A
FollowupID: 390331

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:37

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:37
Thought Mrs. Redback would have been into this post with a word or 2 baz???
Its her favourite subject isnt it?

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 390332

Reply By: cloughie - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:57

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:57
people with generators should somehow indicate that they have one and intend using it. Maybe a sign hanging from their vehicle. Then you know that if you are entering a camping area you can keep away if they upset you. Recently at Drysdale River Station we arrived, chose a spot and set up. The next group to us fired up their gen to watch TV about 7pm. They had arrived first but if we knew they had a gen we would not have set up near them. We had no way of knowing as they had solar panels set up. The gen was kept in a box on the drawbar and was only bought out after dark. So lets get our heads together to work out a way people can inidcate to others they have a gen and give the opportunity to camp away from them if they choose to do so. This may save some anxiety .
AnswerID: 136252

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 17:00

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 17:00
Maybe there could be a range of signs like:

1. We have uncontrollable kids
2. As above ..... with mini bikes
3. We play music
4. We have a vehicle mounted shower
5. We are noisy drunks
6. Our dog barks all night
7. My wife & I hate each other & we both have foul mouths

I am sure a few of the generator haters could think of a few more, or maybe it would be a case of the pot calling the kettle black!

And one more thing ..... why didn't you "camp away from them" in the first place. Maybe that is the reason they started their generator.
FollowupID: 390105

Follow Up By: cloughie - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:12

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 16:12
I must admit i did not expect such an emotional or angry response to my thread. I also thought that 50 metres away was a reasonable distance for both parties to maintain their privacy. You do take your chances when you set up camp . I am not a gen hater but i would like to be given the choice whether i want to be near one or not. On this occasion i had no idea of knowing .
FollowupID: 390239

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:51

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:51
All a matter of commonsense, as many have shown. Yet there really are some inconsiderate arce-wholes about. It wouldn't bother me if somebody ran a moderately quiet one for a few hours during the day if really necessary. Yet we get somebody posting on here actually admitting he runs his until nearly midnight. Camp at a powered site mate.
AnswerID: 136334

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 22:00

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 22:00
touchy subject eh?
but i will do as i damn well please...gennie or no gennie.....just make sure i am at the camp spot first...any one who comes later has to put up with what ever!!!!!
AnswerID: 136352

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 22:04

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 22:04
After reading this entire thread, the only sticker/sign you need is "Exploroz", as all the hardcore, natureloving, selfrightous, good people have been posting on this thread, and every other camper is an a..hole!!
AnswerID: 136353

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:09

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:09
Yeah right, you included.

FollowupID: 390172

Reply By: Dave ....Adelaide - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:01

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:01
Kim and Doug

"the point i was trying to make was the signs say no gens in qld parks except remote locations"

Perhaps you should have included this in your original post.

I do have a gennie and do only run it under certain circumstances and i do this because its a free world and if i wish to own a gennie then so be it, the choice is mine just as its your own choice to go camping and own a 4wd or anything else you wish to own or do ...........Cheers .........DAVE
AnswerID: 136389

Reply By: gramps - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:47

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:47
Kim and Doug,

Thanks for starting a very entertaining thread LMAO
AnswerID: 136390

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 01:58

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 01:58
Gotta say after reading all that I really feel sorry for you guys over East who cant find a campsite without finding hourdes of kids on mini bikes, load music,gennies,people talking to loud, lugging coolrooms and shooting anything that moves etc etc because I certainly find it alot harder to find a noisy spot than a quite one
AnswerID: 136393

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:38

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:38
shooosh stop telling everyone
FollowupID: 390253

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 14:56

Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 14:56
I didn'nt even bother reading this entire post as it goes on and on and on (like these anti/pro genny ones do).

All I've got to say is it's SO simple. If you don't like what other people do (like me) and you think other people might not like what you do (they probally hate me) then camp somewhere where there ain't anyone else around!

That's what we do, and we love it.

For the record I don't have a genny, but I have been known to idle a smelly noisy diesel engine for half and hour or so, but WHO CARES, I'm the only one that's going to smell it!
AnswerID: 136798

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 17:46

Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 17:46
You got it in 1 ,too bloody simple isnt it , bit like going to the movies ,dont like the picture LEAVE.
FollowupID: 390588