fuel economy fact or fiction
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 22:49
Diamond (Vic)
im interested in peoples opinions on how fuel economy figures should be achieved.
im curently doing figures on our car at the moment and they all seem pretty close.
Fuel figures on lacetti.
Tank 1: 610 kilometres 51 litres.300 hwy
8.1 litres per 100
11.9 kilometres per litre
Tank 2: 440 kilometres 39 litres. all city
8.8 litres per 100
11.2 kilometres per litre
Tank 3:600 kilometres 52 litres all city
8.6 litres per 100
11.5 kilometres per litre
Tank 4:570 kilometres 50 litres all city
8.7 litres per 100
11.4 kilometres per litre
now theese figures have been taken over 4 tanks some where taken over the school holidays when the mrs didnt need the car and i traveled to work home for lunch back to work then home again over 2 weeks with some running around inbetween.
but most was with the wife driving school/work/me ect doing lots of driving.
around 500 per week all local.in
bendigo every thing is close.
people say the only way to test fuel consuption is on dynos ect to get real figures.
do you think my figures are a good enough indication of what our car is using?
and should i use theese figures as fair dinkum fuel economy.
my agenda behind this post will be revealed in 4 tanks of petrol lol.
cheers.
and if your wondering wtf is a lacetti.
viva the revolution lol.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 22:57
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 22:57
>>> and if your wondering wtf is a lacetti.
>>> viva the revolution lol.
LMAO!!!
Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 23:14
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 23:14
"do you think my figures are a good enough indication of what our car is using? "
Why wouldnt they be? Do X kilometres use X amount of fuel. Simple ...and surely they are "real" figures - who uses a car on a dyno in real world? Slight errors in the amount of fuel used and km's travelled are insignificant for your intended purpose ...and the more records you keep the better result you will get (but it is not likley to vary much for your current ~8L/100km - so what if it every now and then it goes up to around 9 or down to near 7??
Quoted NRMA figures for the Lacetti (Daewoo Lacetti - 1.8 litre automatic
sedan Test Date: November 2003) are 8.2 litres/100km...sounds pretty typical for a 1.8l vehicle. My Rav 2L (96 model) gets ~ 9 or 10L/100km but depends on how/where you drive...a very important defining factor.
No idea what your agenda is but at least you seem to be having fun (judging by your lols) which is all that matters.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:53
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:53
>>> No idea what your agenda is but at least you seem to be having fun (judging by your lols) which is all that matters.
he bought a hiclone and fitch and 4inch exhaust. wants to see the difference.. LMAO!
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:44
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:44
thats what im asking about real figures.
every time some one asks about fuel figures you always seem to get people who state.
has to be done on a dyno.
hot one day cold the next.
wind blowing one way wind blowing another way.
so on.
the way i see it is the same as you.
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 01:43
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 01:43
sorry champ but our new AH astra poops on those figures, as did the cheap and cheerful hyundai excell before that !!
And the astra drives grouse, handles much better than a lot of cars 3 times the price, and goes hard too. I have to keep reminding myself - its the stinking calder fwy, not an autobahn :-)))
Whats the go dude, you havent got some miracle 'metal particle' dispenser on trial have ya??
Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:40
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:40
I was thinking the same thing Brad. My 2.2 Astra gets 6.9 to 7.1 litres per 100 kilometres off every
tank and it's 400 more cubes than the Daewooooooooooo!
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:46
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:46
geez boys.
if the astra is such a great car why are they being replaced with the lacetti? roflmao
cheers mateys.
hehehe
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 01:16
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 01:16
upon further beer induced thinking, i feel this post may be along the lines of a certain baiting for auto cruiser owners a day or 2 ago.
Please tell me i'm wrong champie.....
Follow Up By: Tanka - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 16:58
Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 16:58
They are not being replaced. The Viva is a parallel model for cheapskates. Look out for the Astra turbo diesel coming out early next year. Talked to a sales rep (an unbiased one of course) and he claimed they will get between 4.5 & 5.0 l/100. My missus has a 2001 astra, magic on fuel, great to drive, and unlike korean crap its actually safe.
Tanka.
Reply By: Member - John Thomas B (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 07:27
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 07:27
Dimond,Hi I've just done some figures on my
tank. 80 series Included GVM and a nother important thing is your tyre pressure that can make a big differance.Try and get somone to tell you what the PSI should be with different loads,nobody seems to know. Ive decided that the petrol pumps at the servo's are about as accurate as using a tin can and that's the problem we've all got.You will find that the figures for the city drive will probebly vary to the HWY a great deal.Best of luck.
JohnO
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 07:51
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 07:51
As Explorer said, any figure you work out is a real figure.
Sounds like good figures, but then I don't know the car!
None of can compare figures since we all drive different
routes, with different traffic. Tyre pressures do make a difference, I have been told that for a car every 2psi over 30 psi makes about 2% difference.
Commuting up and down to the
Gold Coast a few weeks ago, which was 880km total, 256 km of which is suburban driving getting on off and the highway, I got 9.6l/100k out of the pajero. Could have maybe got 9.0l/100k if I had been more careful. Has been known for me to get 12l/100k on the same trip, sitting above the speed limit.
The point I am making is that you are aiming for a personal best, not being better than any one else. Unless it is your wife/partner of course :-).
Look forward to all being revelaed.
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:48
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:48
i tried it but it didnt work mate.
i put 100psi all round and still used petrol. lol
Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:44
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:44
There is a limit :-)
I usually look at my tyres for the max psi, then wear the centres out!
Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 12:20
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 12:20
Personally i didn't buy a 4WD for the economy i bought it to go touring a 4WDriving if it's good on fuel then thats a bonus.
Want economy buy a Getz or a Hybrid car.
Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:45
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:45
Could always ride a bicycle, a litre of
water every 10k I reckon.
Reply By: Neetas - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:53
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:53
The Daewoo is actually only replacing the TS Astra Classic the
old car that's been around for 6+ years. The AH Astra will continue on.
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:06
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:06
i know mate im just stiring the astra boys a little .
cheers buddy
Reply By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:32
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:32
As long as your before and after testing is consistant than so will the results be.
make sure when you measure the second four tanks of fuel your driving conditions are similar to the first four. It is the amount of variation (or other wise) in the fuel consumption before and after the installation of your new "???????????" that matters in the type of experiment you will be doing rather than the actual fuel consumtion itself.
Also when measuring your second four tanks don't fall into the trap of trying to drive more efficiently. Just drive normally.
Look forward to seeing the results of your experiment.
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 21:03
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 21:03
the wife does 90% of driving and she dosnt know about the 3" mandrel bent exhaust fitted to hiflo cat and custom made extractors all fed by air through a hiclone with petrol rerefined with a fitch then injected through vaporate lolol.
so what im really saying is there wont be any diference in driving lol.
cheers mate
Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 08:21
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 08:21
ROTFLMFAO
good reply.
Reply By: Mike-TS - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 20:44
Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 20:44
My 4.5L 100 does:
16-18 L/100km city and steady hwy driving
20 L/100km driving at 11 km/hr
22 L/100 km driving at 120 km/hr with roof rack fully loaded
25 L/100km driving in heavy sand
I'm think about a Unichip.
By comparo by Golf 2.0 TDI Sportline does 5-6 L/100km driving too and from work but it gets bogged easily and we can't take three kids
camping in it!
Horses for courses.