Smelly Pajero
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:22
Dave D.
I have a new NP Pajero diesel. Each time I fill it up the diesel pump doesn't cut out and smelly diesel spills out of the
tank overflow causing an unnecessary mess at service station and the smell of diesel to be constanly around the car. Even when at home in the shed there is the constant stink of diesel and diesel droplets all over the floor. It is also causing an oily build up under the car around the
tank and rear wheel. Is this a problem that other Pajero owners have noticed or maybe I just have a problem ? I have even tried filling it very slow to avoid the foaming effect of the diesel and stopping before it overflows, but this doesn't really help.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:44
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:44
What does the Mitsubishi service centre have to say - maybe there is a partial blockage or something?
I'd go there first.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 00:30
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 00:30
Mate! sounds as if you are using a 'fast fill pump' which will do it every time.
They are set up for truck tanks with big open filler ports.
Find a servo with a diesel outlet that has a petrol size pump nozzle that is a slow filler (compared to the other 'mothers' ) and try that.
In
Melbourne a large amount of the servo's now cater for both sizes.
I know if I have to use the fast filler (for whatever reason) it will 'backblast' no matter how careful I am.
Last time I wore sneaker full.
Ken Robinson
Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 17:50
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 17:50
Hiya Lucy,
I use the Hi-Flo pumps all the time in the Prado with no issues. I seek out these pumps as my usual fill is around 150 litres and if I use a regular pump it takes FOREVER!
The prado has a quite large filler hose and it is also connected to both tanks so for me it is like filling a commodore (but more expensive!)
Never had an issue with blowback or overfilling.
Muddy
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 09:27
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 09:27
G'day Muddy.
If I watch it like the proverbial hawk, then the fast filler is OK on the Troopy.
However, when filling the JEEP,forget fast flow fillers, just asking for a
'diesel bath'.
The throat/mouth of the Troopy inlet is the same diameter as the pipe into the
tank, whereas the JEEP has a restrictor similar to ULP fillers which only just allows
the tip of the fast filler past the opening.
I am positive the fast fillers need a big opening so that you can get the nozzle fully in whilst allowing all the below mentioned froth, air and bubbles to escape freely.
Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:04
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:04
I have an NP DiD MY04 (December 2003 build date). Never had a problem with either slow or fast fill. Admit with fast fill I momitor it pretty closely.
Reply By: scoof - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 11:45
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 11:45
I to have a new DID and have not had a problem.But it is a slow fill were I fuel up.
Cheers Scoof
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 11:47
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 11:47
It is not a fault with the car as when the
tank is filling you get a certain amount of bubbly diesel back up the filler pipe when it is near full... When the pump notices a back pressure from this foamy fuel it switches off..... If the pump switch is not set correctly it will continue to pump until it shoots out all over the car etc.....
I would try filling up at other servo's and see if the problem continues.
Reply By: gottabjoaken - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 14:38
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 14:38
As said, it is the foam that bubbles back, and the pump nozzle probably not sensitive enough to react immediately.
I soon learned to work out what the
tank would take, and then stop 10 litres short.
Only fill right up (after loading the car) when on a long trip.
You've got more than enough range to not be bothered about the last 10 litres most times.
Ken
Follow Up By: Dave D. - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 16:43
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 16:43
Thanks for all your advise, although I have been filling it slowly when I know its almost full. It must be spilling out when going around corners etc, I'll have to tell the lead foot wife to back off !
I will try other service stations and look for a slow fill nozzle.
Thanks Again.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 17:40
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 17:40
Mate I'd go with what lucy said as
well. Same thing happens to me with out fail if I use the truck pumps.I can pump in 60L in about 30 seconds super fast but the pump doen't respond quick enought to cut out before it's bleep out all over your foot.Also have you checked to make sure that the rubber seal is in place under the cap, as you said might have to get the missus to back off a bit round the corners,and yep the crap drips for days. Regard Steve M
Reply By: Member - Ray Mc (WA) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:45
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:45
I have a 2002 NM diesel which was recalled 15 -18 months ago to have a "fast flow" filler pipe fitted. I would have imagined that Mitz Aust. would not have made the same blue on the new model. Fast flow outlets are now no worries and I don't get any splash back.
Ray Mc