Wide Rims new tyres re-seating beads

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 10:41
ThreadID: 27653 Views:5195 Replies:11 FollowUps:18
Ok here is a question for people who have 8 inch rims like on an 80 series Toyoya. I have been playing around chaging tyres over and am having trouble re-seating the tyre bead on the wide rim with a new tyre and also one previously fitted to a narrower rim.

When I have played around before or fixed one it is a tyre that has been on that rim for some time and is stretched so to speak and will reseat with the ordinary compressor.

With a new tyre there is a huge gap for the air to escape.

Would like to no a safe way that works that people have tried and had work before.
I don't want theories as I have a lot of those. I want actual xperiences from those with the really wide rims.

I have tried the ratchet idea but that just crushes the tyre in in the end.

If I can't get them to seal at home with a proper compressor then there is no way it will reseat with the Max Air.

Thanks in Advance.

Reply By: crusher - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 11:50

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 11:50
Hi David
Just put a rope around the centre tyre,tie it off with a reef not then put a long stick under the rope and twist.
Kev
AnswerID: 136901

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:17

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:17
Tried it with a ratchet strap and all it did was finally crush the tyre out of shape
FollowupID: 390647

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 12:15

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 12:15
Hi David

Just yesterday I had my Coopers fitted back from 7 inch steels on to the 8inch GQ alloys and was sitting watching what my tyre man was doing. He would inflate the tyre with the normal compressed air and then he also had a container with a spout in which there was more compressed air. This he would put on the edge of the bead and release a small amount of high pressure air into the tyre and it would reseat immediately.

There is another way to the rope idea. That is, to place a small amount of lighter fluid(or unleaded petrol) around the bead of the tyre and then use a match or spark igniter. The explosion will suck the remaining air out of the tyre pulling it on the bead. A tad dangerous I admit but I have seen it work.
AnswerID: 136905

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:14

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:14
The extra canister of air is what the tyre fitter used to get my new rubber to seat.

As for the lighter fluid idea, I too have seen that but only on video.

In Iceland they run around on the snow with big tyres and low pressures. This results in the tyres frequently peeling off the rim. To re seat the bead they simply fill the tyre with a squirt of butane from the old disposable lighter and flick the flint. The resultant explosion reseats the tyre and inflates to the correct pressure. Apparently getting the pressure right takes a bit of practice. The other thing is that in gaining this experience many Icelandic 4wdrivers lose fingers. But if you were stuck out in the boonies with a tyre that would not reseat you would have to give it a go. Wouldn't you?

FollowupID: 390646

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:19

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:19
I know of the butane gas method but I am not game to try. Plus not sure how much to put in
FollowupID: 390648

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 00:58

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 00:58
Ha
Willem

Why wouldn't it just get the AIR from out side the bead?

FollowupID: 390704

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:41

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:41
Hmmmm Sleepless at 00.58?

Yes Richard,

You are right(as usual).

Some fluid will have to go inside the cavity to use up the air when the explosion occurs. This should suck the bead on to the rim. How much fluid and how big an explosion is a matter for experimentation.....lol
FollowupID: 390721

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 13:26

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 13:26
Dear Outnabout,
years ago our local tyre fitter had a soft rubber donut shaped ring about a foot or so diameter and 2" - 3" in cross section. To help seat a bead he would slip this over the rim so that it would fill the gap between the tyre and the rim. He would then pump up the tyre normally and this rubber ring would either pop off the rim as the tyre filled or he would take it off as it got close to seating the bead.

I now use a modified version. I went to a bicycle shop and bought a tube of 13-14'' diameter and use that. It works very well. Partially pump up the bicycle tube so it's about 2'', then slip it over the rim. You have to turn it inside out a bit to get the teat on the outside. With a little soapy water you can then pump up your tyre (I have used my Blue Tongue compressor). Put more air in the bicycle tube if you have to fill a bigger gap. Be careful that the tube doesn't get pinched as the bead seats. One bicycle tube will stretch over 13",14",15" and 16" rims. Rus.
AnswerID: 136908

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 13:45

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 13:45
I should also add...
Sit the rim off the ground on a block of wood or stump etc. so that the bottom tyre bead is sitting against the rim under it's own weight. Rus.
FollowupID: 390644

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:20

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:20
Have sat the rim up but all that does is seal one bead and leave a bloody big space on the other side.
FollowupID: 390650

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:22

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:22
Have also tried using a 16" bike tube to no avail.
FollowupID: 390651

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:46

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 14:46
I haven't used it on new tyres; what sort of gap are we talking? Could you put a tube in the bare tyre and pump it up for a day to help puff it out? Rus.
AnswerID: 136920

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 17:19

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 17:19
Huge air gap. Yes you could tube it but you would have to cut out a perfectly could valve and then put a new one in when you revert back to tubeless.

Plus who wants to change the tyre twice.
FollowupID: 390664

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 17:20

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 17:20
that should have read good valve.
FollowupID: 390665

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 18:54

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 18:54
I'll try to be a little clearer. Put a tube in the tyre without the rim fitted and put enough air in to puff out the tyre walls for a day and then take the tube out and try it on the rim. Rus.
FollowupID: 390678

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:11

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:11
Rus,

Thanks for that the penny finally dropped. I reckon this would work but it alll started me wondering what to do in the bush. I wouldn't have a day to spare if I was in the desert running out of water, no tube left and on my last spare. Would be good to know before I ever get into that situation.
FollowupID: 390714

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 17:41

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 17:41
easy done , get some soapy water and put some on the inside tyre , then put the tyre on something either side to raise the center off the ground , then put your foot in the middle of the wheel and hammer the edge of the rim with a rubber malot. Just enough to make a seal. The turn the wheel the other way , connect your compressor ( make sure th evalve is out ) and pump air into it whilst aplying pressure to the center of the rim again.
AnswerID: 136929

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:22

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:22
Tried that but it just makes a bigger gap on the other side. Remember this tyre has been on a smaller width rim for some time. I am not talking about refitting the same tyre that has been on the rim and is somewhat "fformed into the right shape.
FollowupID: 390718

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:41

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:41
Will work dave , read the post cafefully . If you hammer one sude bead on , then you can push hard on the other side for a seal
FollowupID: 390722

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 19:23

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 19:23
Hi David,

Seen that problem with 265's on 8 inch wide rims a fair bit at Peake. Thats the main reason I liked the 7 inch on the farm truck and the Prados.

Nothing beats a big fast whoosh of air. I inflate one of my other tyres with about 80psi, and use a hose between that and the flat tyre. It works best if both valves are removed. I actually use a 3-way hose so I can top up with air from the pump as I go. I heard from somewhere that you can get a high-flow valve fitting from the tyre shops.

When out in the bush, we use plugs so we try to avoid the problem, and are not fixing tyres at beer o'clock :-))

You can always fit some Prado rims on the 80 :-))

AnswerID: 136945

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:19

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:19
Phil,

I agree about the 7" rims being easier and I just got rid of my Prado rims.......damn! I am with you on the plug idea, and would always carry a tube in the bush an an extra spare and am set-up with the gear to use the spare as a tank.

The reason I posed the question is that everyone knows all the theories and has changed plenty of tyres and I certainly have but this is the first time with an 8"rim and a new tyre.

I am not all that concerned when on the big trip because as I said I would have plenty of spares but somewhere like Peake or Robe I am not going to carry all that equipment and would be buggered if I spun three tyres.
FollowupID: 390717

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 22:46

Saturday, Oct 29, 2005 at 22:46
What I do is spray the rim with a lonoline based lubricant then place the wheel valve down on a 15" rim or 1" smaller than the repiar, walk around the tyre until the bead is on the safety ridge then carefuly turn the wheel over place it back on the smaller rim the bead will drop down enough to seal seal on the non valve side, then inflate it. you will be better of with a rush of air from a storage system like a gas bottle connected to your compressor. Good luck. Eric.
AnswerID: 136962

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:26

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 09:26
Have tried all that but it comes down to a small air inlet (valve) fitting and a big gap all around the bead letting it out quicker that it can go in.
FollowupID: 390719

Follow Up By: Eric Experience. - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 23:12

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 23:12
David.
I forgot to mention that I use highflow valves, they are available in several styles I use the grommet style as used in of road machinery, it is neccesary to drill out the rim hole to 16mm to fit them. the lanotek works a lot better than soap because it is slightly sticky after a few minutes. Eric.
FollowupID: 391055

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 01:06

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 01:06

Try soapy water and lift the rim up and down while inflating it
has worked for me maybe, but not on the same size Tyre, but it will work.
Liquid works as a seal

Worth a try

AnswerID: 136969

Reply By: Nick R - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 19:24

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 19:24
Seen at a local mechanic a pressure vesser as used on a water pump with a 1 1/2 inch tap and a flattened piece of stainless as a nozzle, pressurize the vessel and turn on the tap.
Have heard of a motorbike tube being used.
reseated a truck tyre using heaps of patroleum jelly once
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 137051

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 22:28

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 22:28
Forget the butane, petrol, gellignite, nitro etc etc., its SHELLITE that does the trick.

A guy was doing it in the Tibbooburra Caravan Park one evening when I pulled in.

The key point is REMOVE THE VALVE, then suirt a tad of Shellite inside the tyre, run a 'fuse' trail out and over tyre to a safe distance, light fuse and pretend you have just dropped a mortar down the tube.

Produces a lovely 'thump' thats audible to all and sundry

AND it works every time.

Also this dude wasn't any fingers or sporting singed eyebrows.
AnswerID: 137093

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 08:06

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 08:06
Lucy,

Yep I have heard of this but my squirt compared to anothers squirt could be the difference between death and dis-figurement.

I am not sure I want to try the trial and error approach on this one. I know it works but I was looking at a safe approach to my problem and one that can be relayed on to others.

My concern was like may others, we have all the theories from informative sites like thgis , the internet and club training. I myself have changed or fixed many tyres but I have never come across the problem I have now with wide rims and new tyre. I see a lot of 4wds these days with an extra casing and I bet very few have actually tried to seat them in the bush under the circumstances mentioned.
FollowupID: 390814

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 11:50

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 11:50
G'day David,

Just check with Darren, he used the butane gas to seal the bead on one of
the 16X8" rims while on Hay River. He certanly would know what is the
right amount :)

AnswerID: 137401