Just a "plug" for a EO sponsor

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 22:36
ThreadID: 27688 Views:2892 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
Just got back from trip to Peake....(thanks everybody we stayed with there, for a gr8 weekend)....

When I got home I set about installing the latest bit of gadgetry to the GU.

Post number 27,263 had a follow-up from "ENGINE SAVER LOW WATER ALARMS".

Upon reading this, I ordered a unit from the proprietor, David Jones. It arrived a couple of days later with clear instructions and I fitted it today.....took about 45 minutes.

Now I have another buzzer and a HUGE red LED to let me know if I've had a loss of coolant. I'll sleep better tonight.

Thanks David.

PS: I have no interest whatsoever in the aforementioned company/business.

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 22:58

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 22:58
You want to hope NASA is not watching this site or they might just commission your vehicle in it's current form, put a rocket up her and send her on the next mission to Mars. It has more safety switches and buzzers than the last couple of shuttles sent skyward.

In all senserity, hope it works well for you. Talking of things working, how did the O-ring work out for you. If it didn't I was thinking if an old rubber thong would do the trick ?? (cut to the right size of course)

Cheers mate, am looking forward to the day we catch up.
Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 137098

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 00:15

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 00:15
Great idea Trevor, best place for it !!! ahahhaahahahahahah
And yes thanks to the organizers and participants at this w/e's 4wd club's gathering at Peake had great fun in the sand , again !

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 390809

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 11:18

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 11:18
G'day Trevor,

Yes mate, the new O ring seems to have had the desired effect...it's all back together and working without any oil leaks. I've moved my dual battery into the cargo area and ran 2 heavy cables through to the existing isolator/solenoid. I have now mounted the AMSOIL dual head by-pass filtration system onto existing (2nd) battery tray.

Will look forward to seeing what affect the turbo changeover has on performance &/or engine heat (as the new turbo is NOT water cooled, there maybe a little less heating of the water as a result).

FollowupID: 390834

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 12:26

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 12:26
Old rubber thomg? I looked that up on Google and you should see what I found oh my goodness, you do know this is a FAMILY site hahahaha

Roachie, maybe I could send you the Google list, you could start optioning up Annette now :).

FollowupID: 390848

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 23:07

Sunday, Oct 30, 2005 at 23:07
I will have to do a plug for Member Roachie in this post though.

Thanks for the parcel which I received on Friday. The contents were devoured instantly lol

Glad to hear you have another working gadjet on your truck lol

AnswerID: 137100

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 07:09

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 07:09
he made good the promise?
chockies ?
FollowupID: 390812

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 10:43

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 10:43
No worries Willem....A "TOP DECK" for a "top bloke"...(grovel, grovel, suck, suck etc etc).....

Nudie, what's your poison? hehehe

Cheers blokes,

FollowupID: 390829

Reply By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 00:25

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 00:25
Hey Roachie,

I may have missed it I got eye strain reading the list or mods to your Rig, and my missus calls me Mr Gadget,, geeeeeze. Seriously, best gadget I have in my rig is a set of tyrealerts. Saved a couple of tyres already and also saves changing the bloody things in a hot dirt road, which is the normal pace to get a flat, alarm goes of at set pressure, just pull up put a couple of tyre ropes in, pump her back up and on the way. A may just have to show the wife the extra's on your 4X4 it may get her to loosen the purse strings LOL
AnswerID: 137108

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 09:13

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 09:13
Since I know both of you, I can let you know Roachies secret. Roachie is the boss at work AND at home (AND I know your not on both fronts)and meek and mild wifey just goes along and agrees with whatever Roachie wants. He might be coming up this way soon and I can put the 2 of you together so you can get some tips. It's a pity Roachie is not puter savvy or you could sell him some of your goodies.
FollowupID: 390818

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 10:48

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 10:48
Des,

I'll be over there at Berry on wednesday this week getting Chris to work his magic on the trol. Will have a day to kill, so if you've got any suggestions? (now, be polite!!!!) hehehe.

Annette has given up on me and the trol as a lost cause.

Stupid part about it is that I've now got a stuffed back today from all the contorting I had to do to get the one millionth piece of leccy cable through the firewall whilst doing this latest bit of wizardry.

Maybe I'll have to find out where Blaze hangs out and we can compare notes.

FollowupID: 390830

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 13:11

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 13:11
Blaze spent the weekend out bush and was bitten by a REDBACK.
He and his lovely wife hangs out in one of them puter TECHNOLGY shops.
I'll see what I can do about Wednesday.
FollowupID: 390856

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 15:57

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 15:57
Roachie, just heard you have come down with a bad case of "Undernissanitis". Gee I hope your feeling better soon.
FollowupID: 390887

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 16:03

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 16:03
Sounds like SWMBO has been on the MM function!!!!!!!!! How disrespectful of her elders is that????!!!! ;-))

Might have to get you to organise me a massage over there in Berry!!

Where are we going for lunch??

FollowupID: 390888

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 21:12

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 21:12
We don't have any of "those" places here in Berri besides Netty wouldn't talk to me again. Lunch will be at the Golf Club. Will give you a ring tomorrow to sort things out.
FollowupID: 390925

Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 03:00

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 03:00
Hey Des,

Have I got an invite for lunch on Wednesday, :-) I can help you use your expence account... She who must be obeyed said I could go... Honest she did....,
AnswerID: 137241

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 20:19

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 20:19
Hi Roachie
Have you put an electric pump on the fuel line yet??
Will do as you did now....David Jones hey...any rela?....nah dont bother...great idea.
AnswerID: 137338

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:38

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:38
G'day Andrew,
Sorry for delay....... No leccy fuel pump put on yet...probably won't worry about it anyway.
Changed my coolant yesterday and took the opportunity to check that the low water alarm actually works in real-world conditions.....it did.
FollowupID: 391668