Reply By: Davo - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 00:09
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 00:09
Hi Pop,
My choices (not in order) were:
1. Coleman extreme (because it has
wheels - don't laugh, it makes it easier to get around the
campsite...and to Parties.
It kept ice on our
cape leveque trip for three days easily. Very happy with it as an all-rounder. Tough too.
2. Evakool - a mate kept ice for three days easily on a fishing trip
3. Tropical Icebox(the
orange ones). These are the Largest ones for comparible volume, but tough as heck, and also insulate extremely
well - another one that will keep ice for four days; and make great seats in the (bigger) boat[s].
That's about it from me. Hope this helps.
Davo
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 06:29
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 06:29
Yep i have a coleman extreme on
wheels.......its great, but like the bush tucker man says "for the real important stuff like beer....you can't beat a car fridge"
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 04:06
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 04:06
I have the
Orange one, Tropical 62 litre works a treat.
Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:59
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:59
EvaKool
Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:30
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:30
I love my Evakool and I got two 47 l ones. Take one to a Party or two for
camping.
Two small ones are easier to carry too than one big one.
Reiner
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:38
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:38
We don't have an EvaKool "icebox" as such -
well, not one that we put ice in anyway. We have a EvaKool DT47 fridge which uses the same cabinet though, and i can vouch for how
well insulated it is. We keep some TechniIcein the freezer section during the day, and transfer it to the fridge section overnight - and the insulation is so good that the fridge is still very cold in the morning.
If I were ever to need to put ice in anything - I wouldn't hesitate on getting an EvaKool ice box because I know they work very
well.
Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:54
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:54
Do you turn the fridge off at night to conserve batteries, or does the TechniIce just make the fridge use less power overnight?
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 09:02
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 09:02
Whoops! I fogot to elaborate. Sorry :)
Yes - the frozen TechniIce just makes use of the freezer (when it isn't being used to carry frozen goods) and allows me to turn down the dial a few notches overnight - saving power. If we are sleeping in our rooftop tent, it's also a quieter sleep without the damn fridge cycling on and off all night below you in the back of the truck.
We have a 105A/H auxilliary battery, so it's not a huge concern, but on occaision we'll also run lots of other stuff of it to, like a pure sinewave inverter, which DOES chew the power.
Follow Up By: ev700 - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:05
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:05
Yes,I have an EvaKool freezer 92 L as
well . Its insulation and overall quality are supreme.
I put a big long Tropical in the boat where it will cop a hammering and is also used as a
seat.
Took me years of buying cheaper cr*p before I bought the quality stuff.
I would have saved heaps of $, mucking around etc etc had I originally taken advice and bought the quality stuff first off.
So my advice is to buy quality and you will end up saving money in more ways than one and you will have reliability in keeping ice (bargain).
EV700
Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 09:15
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 09:15
There are really two types to pick from.
The Fibreglass ones like EvaKool and Waeco , and the Plastic Ones (Polypropalene ?sp?) , like Tropical, IceKool , etc.
The Fibreglass ones do keep your ice for longer , by a day or so , but, are not as robust.
The Plastic ones (not your esky style) , are basically indestructable. Widely used on boats. They are also a little less expensive then the Fibreglass. Depending on your requirements and budget , the Tropical ones are very good value for money, approx $200 for 60 odd litres, as against approx $300 for a similar size Fibreglass.
I have a 65l Waeco Icebox and its sensational , and also a 65l EvaKool fridge
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:55
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:55
Fibreglass ones are not as robust?
Hmmm...... I haven't seen too many round the world polypropylene yachts, or offshore racing powerboats!
The few polypropylene dinghys that are manufactured are heavy, warp & become brittle.
Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 11:10
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 11:10
You drop something heavy onto fibreglass it WILL break . . . simple , thats the way its is. My Waeco was sold to me as a second because of that. Doesn't really effect the function of it , but , it looks crap , and , if
water gets in , WILL ruin it.
Poly doesn't matter , you can scratch it to buggery and it wont matter , You can drop heavy things on it , and it wont crack.
Fibreglass is used in boats because its strong , cheap , and easy to make boats out of as its mostly hand laid.
Poly is moulded.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 11:51
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 11:51
What an absolute load of crap ....... anyway I won't bother to go into the construction of boats, which I might add, I have the qualifications of being a boatbuilder.
Which may i ask is easier to repair? Fibreglass which can be ground out patched & repainted to be invisible, or poly which can only be welded which would degrade the insulation??
Oh! and if
water gets into where?? Next you'll be telling me it will get osmosis!
Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 12:49
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 12:49
WHERE did I say fibreglass wasn't easier to repair ?????
YOU tell me . . . drop something heavy onto a fibreglass lid , and drop the same onto a poly lid . . . which is likely to break ??????
Drag a fibreglass Canoe over rocks . . . what happens ???
Drag a Poly Canoe over Rocks . . . what happens ?????
No , you ARE right , I have NO qualifications in this field . . . None . .Nil . . Naddah . . .
I'm just going off what the BUILDERS of the iceboxes tell me . . .
Do you build Iceboxes ?????
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 09:44
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 09:44
I agree that poly is resilient, & yes I have built ice boxes, but fibreglass will retain it's shape & won't be affected by UVs.
I have carried a fibreglass icebox for thousands & thousands of kms, both through the outback & the high country, & have never had the urge to drop anything heavy on it, I think most people wouldn't, as generally they don't drop heavy objects on to their fibreglass fridges either.
Which brings to another question, why don't the manufacturers make poly fridges?
Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 12:51
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 12:51
Need to clear the air I think.
I WASN'T saying Fibreglass isnt any good , in a lot of cases you cant beat them , thats why I have both a fibreglass Fridge AND IceBox.
However , and this is the point is was trying to make , is depending on where you intended to carry it etc , then POTENTIALLY , the poly may be a better choice then fibreglass, because they are cheaper , mostly lighter , and can take a knock or a drop without having a major problem.
Why dont they make Poly Fridges ???
No Idea ?
Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:10
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:10
IceKool made by Evacool there the same as the Tropical ice boxes, and work bloody
well 3 to 5 days on block ice no problem.
Reply By: DEANO WA - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 19:52
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 19:52
ICECOOL.you'll never buy anything else.cheaper and more "user friendly"than fiberglass (i'm a boatbuilder too!! :) ) and will keep ice in
Karratha (46degrees) for 3 days,just chill down the esky first the day before. trust me, one of my BEST investments
Reply By: ShnogDog - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 23:09
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 23:09
I have 2 Tropicals, 1 x 62ltr and 1 x 37ltr. Both are excellent. The 37ltr's dimensions and footprint make it my 1st choice. Compare it to others around the same capacity, if you want a smaller box. Evakools are also great boxes and probably keep ice a little loger than the Tropicals. I went for the Tropical because I know they will take the knocks and represent very good value for $$$
Reply By: pop - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 20:26
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 20:26
Thanks to everyone who replied to my query about ice boxes I,ll have to start checking them out.
thanks and cheers pop