GQ chugging under heavy acceleration
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 13:32
Kylie in the exy
Got a GQ that will chugg under heavy acceleration. The fuel filter was replaced and after 2 months and only 100kms it was full of black crap. Dropped the fuel
tank off, fuel was drained and looked fine. The
tank was pretty clean, only a tiny spot of surface rust and thats it. When I drive it, it will chugg so hard u need a neck brace. U stop then rev it a bit then go again but it will still do it. Where is the black stuff (like pepper) coming from and y is it running so crap? It has just had huge maintenance done, leads, oils, everything. It seems to idle ok just the normal to heavy acceleration it dosent like. HELP
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 13:44
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 13:44
If it is a later model gq dont forget about the gauze filter which is in the inlet of the injector pump...
Need to undo the inlet fuel pipe and the with a little hooked bit of wire,,,, hook it out...
Mine was blocked solid once after filling up at the
Pink Roadhouse...
My engine was falling over after about 2600rpm under load.... Just starving of fuel..
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 07:55
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 07:55
DUH.... I just realised you have a petrol model.... hehehehee...
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 13:47
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 13:47
G'day
Kylie, Had the same problem with my first GQ, work on it for a while, eventually changed plugs, points and coil, got it dyno tuned ---- problem fixed.
Try that ...hope it helps
andy
Reply By: Kylie in the exy - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 14:03
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 14:03
GQ is a 1988 and have already changed the coil, plugs, leads, points. Yes definately failing after 2600 rpm. It really bunny hops. Will see if it has one of those filters though - thanks. Is there anything else it could be and where else do I need to check for this black stuff?
Follow Up By: Boo - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 17:46
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 17:46
Arvo
Kylie,
We had a similar problem with our 94 model GQ, we changed the plugs and leads and filters etc even checked that we had fuel flow which it seemed to. Turned out to be the primary fuel pump in the petrol
tank.
Whilst the secondary pump was still pumping what appeared to be a reasnoble amount of fuel , apparently it wasnt sufficient presure to run smoothly under load. It idled great but as soon as the revs went up or under load it spluttered and died in the butt. Replaced the back
tank pump which increased the fuel pressure and its been running like a dream since.... if I could only afford the payments on the petrol now....
Hope that helps,
Boo
Reply By: mcgra (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:43
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:43
hi gang
it doesnt have a fuel filter in the
tank. i took the
tank out yesterday and cleaned the inside only some surface rust nothing major.
so it goes from the
tank via filter to pump and then up into carby, is there a strainer in the inlet of the pump?
i will blow the fuel lines on the weekend and the return line back to the
tank from the pump, following the check valve on top of the
tank it goes to a black round cylinder in the front left of the engine bay and has two other lines from the cylinder that lead to the lower half of the carby any ideas what this black cylinder thing is and what it does?
gra
Follow Up By: mcgra (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:45
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:45
oops im meant to say it doesnt have a fuel pump in the fuel
tank, it has a strainer which is fine.
gra
Reply By: pedro the swift - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:04
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:04
I suggest removing carby and givng all jets a good clean with carby cleaner. My problem was somewhat different. My GQ would run
well at higher throttle opening but die on idle. Had to use hand throttle to keep it running. No fun on a drive to Vic.
Cleaned all jets with carb cleaner spray and it hasnt stopped since. Dont know what the black crud could be though.
The plastic container on the left front is a charcoal canister which is supposed to absorb fuel vapour from the sealed
tank and then release them to the engine when its running. Its controlled by the small vacuum hose. Maybe some charcoal is being sucked into the system somehow(guess). Shouldnt get into the fuel filter though. Unless there is some sort of back flow of charcoal into the
tank then to the filter.
Reply By: Member - Mike (SA) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 19:54
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 19:54
Kylie, an idea from left field.
My GQ exhibited similar problems and eventually came to a slow stop - engine idled ok. After 5 - 10 mins all ok again. Answer - the thermostat in the air cleaner had failed and my carby was starting to ice up. Visit to wrecker and ergo - all ok since. Worth a look? Doesn't explain the gunk however!
Reply By: mcgra (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:24
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:24
hi gang
thanks for your help we found the problem, it was the tiny filter in the carby it was chockers with fine brown power looking stuff.
washed it in carby cleaner and popped it back in and it hasnt missed a beat.
took it up Dissa today and all went
well.
thanks
gra