QLD Fuel Prices

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 19:44
ThreadID: 27761 Views:2596 Replies:5 FollowUps:21

Driving past a sevo today, and saw petrol at 99.9 cents per litre (with 4 cent discount)

Diesel was still at $1.25.9 per litre.

Hopefully prices will continue to drop

Reply By: Member - Bernard - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 19:45

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 19:45
Optimist ...
AnswerID: 137486

Reply By: Patrick - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 19:51

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 19:51
Of course he's an Optimist, TonyG is a Quenslander!!
AnswerID: 137488

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:45

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:45
You dirty Quenslander, it’s 1.13 hear right now.

What happened to the $2 a litre by Christmas, Oh I know it was just the typical let’s report without all the fact’s Bullchit to worry the Australian public rubbish.
AnswerID: 137504

Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:06

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:06
I thought I saw on telly last night that fuel is goin to come down in the next cuppla mths.? diesel today was $1.19.9. STILL TO DEAR!!
FollowupID: 391183

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:13

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:13
Diesel’s still around the 1.26 mark in Perth I think.
FollowupID: 391184

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:56

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:56
Perth average for diesel today 131.9 cents; best price available 126.9. Here in Bridgetown 135.9 - 136.9. I WANNA GO TO QLD. Motherhen

FollowupID: 391192

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:02

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:02
No you don't :-)
We don't have dayight saving. (Hot issue at the moment)
Your paint is going to get more sun and fade more quickly, and you will have more skin cancers.
FollowupID: 391237

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:51

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:51
So far so good John C - our paint is not fading more either. Two refendums following daylight saving trials and we are still another sensible state. I wish those city people who want it would just get out of bed and hour earlier if they so choose, without having the clocks changed before they think they can. Apologies to exploder for a mini hijack of his thread. Motherhen

FollowupID: 391340

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:57

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:57
Double apologies to Tony G - it got it wrong on who stared this thread.

FollowupID: 391341

Reply By: Stuck in Hedland - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 22:29

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 22:29
$1.50+ in Hedland, Kunna $1.60+
AnswerID: 137528

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:49

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:49
$1.39.9c - $1.43 in hedland on fuel watch today for diesel. About the same for unleaded.
FollowupID: 391230

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:51

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:51
John Howard is saying in tonight's news that a terrorist event is imminent but he can't say any more.

Presumably this is just another one of his shonky tactics, this time to get his anti terror legislation through with less scrutiny of his new status of dictator, but if is true it will be used by the oil companies as the latest excuse to raise prices.

We could easily still see $2.00 per litre by christmas

Naturally I hope this doesn't happen.
AnswerID: 137539

Follow Up By: Traveller - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 07:57

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 07:57
Last I heard, he was re-elected with an increased majority around 12 months ago. You wouldn't know the meaning of the word "dictatorship"!

If you don't want him there, vote him out! Not an option for those living in real "dictatorships'!
FollowupID: 391222

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:26

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:26
It's amazing how you know what I know or don't know - without you I'd be lost wouldn't I.

The meaning of a dictator is one that doesn't allow scrutiny of what he does.

Since the Libs have gained control of the Senate, the first 2 things off the blocks were unpublished legislation on workplace reforms and now anti terrorism measures.

Every time he opens his mouth it's I, I, I don't think this or I, I, I think that.

Saddam didn't classify himself as a dictator either, nor did his followers, only the victims.
FollowupID: 391227

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:04

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:04
Seems strange that the day before terrorist legislation goes through we are under threat. But no one in the government increases the threat level!
Something strange going on here, or are we being hoodwoinked - again?
FollowupID: 391238

Follow Up By: Traveller - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:15

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:15
Gerhardp1: "The meaning of a dictator is one that doesn't allow scrutiny of what he does".

Oxford dictionary: Dictator:- Absolute ruler, temporary or irregular, one who suppresses or succeeds a democratic government.

Get you facts straight, mate!

Howard gets plenty of scrutiny, especially from the taxpayer funded ABC and the Fairfax press. They broadcast or publish anything the ALP tells them!
FollowupID: 391242

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 00:19

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 00:19
LOL Now I've heard everything. Comparing Howard to Saddam. Someone needs a reality check :)))
FollowupID: 391351

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:04

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:04
Reckon Gerhard might be a 'union man' eh !

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 391433

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:28

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:28
Some people's minds work even stranger than mine - what makes you think I'm a 'union man'?

I've actually not been a union member since 1978 when my then salary exceeded the award by 15%, at which time you could opt out and so I did, and I've been self employed for the last 15 years.

Just becuse I don't like Howard doesn't mean I like any of the alternatives, and in reality I don't.

It's just that history is full of examples where "Power tends to corrupt; absolute power corrupts absolutely" see this site http://www.bartleby.com/59/13/powertendsto.html , not my quote.

Now that Howard has control of the senate, he has massively increased power and I see signs that he is succumbing to the "legend in his own lunchbucket" syndrome. He has already demonstrated that the truth doesn't have to get in the way of his view (remember the children who never went overboard) and that was when he had less power than now.

I don't like Bracks for the same reasons. Since he has had control of Victoria, the state's finances have vanished even though he has raised taxes extravagently.

Not really into NSW politics in any way but it seems that they have really done well with their tunnel debacle and the billions of taxpayer money they have potentially squandered in this one issue alone.
FollowupID: 391436

Follow Up By: Traveller - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 20:22

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 20:22
Come on Gerhardp1

You started this thread by implying that our democratically elected PM is a dictator and then you likened him to the toe-rag Hussein. You are wrong on both counts.

Howard, whilst he has a majority of one, obviously does not have control of the Senate, what with wildcards like Barnaby Joyce and the Family First guy strutting the stage. If he did, we'd have had the IR and Terrorism legislation through on July 1!

Get real!

FollowupID: 391442

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 20:41

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 20:41
I accept that there are some minor signs of arrogance from the coalition in the Parliament, but I suspect this is mostly a reaction to the years of frustration with a senate which opposed for the sake of it (not after review as it should).

There are two contentious pieces of legislation in the works. The anti terrorist legislation is supported by labor (Federally) and only opposed by labor States at the margins. The IR legislation has been signaled openly for at least 6 years. Hardly the stuff of dictators.

Qld has no upper house. Beatie and the labor govt have no review mechanism other than the press and the electorate. Dose this make Beatie a dictator.

Many past governments have had control of both houses at a Federal level. Don't recall any claims (reasonable) claims of dictatorships in our past.

While I disagree with the assertion that we now live in a dictatorship, I accept your right to believe and state it.

By the way, it this really is a dictatorship, look out. We can expect you to 'disappear' real soon.
FollowupID: 391443

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 21:28

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 21:28
Hi Norm C, if I 'disappear' soon, some of the people on the forum will be happy, based on their inability to allow me my views. EG, Traveller thinks I need to "get real", by which I suppose he means I have to think the way he does, which is a pretty arrogant position.

You would probably be unhappy, as it would mean I might be right, as well as having a valid viewpoint as you correctly state.

One of the problems with the "Anti"-Terrorism bill is that the authorities (Federal or State police and presumably ASIO) can detain anyone they feel like without any real reason needing to be put forward for scrutiny by the courts. Hell, that proposed legislation started out with the ability for them to kill anyone .........scary bleep that. I imagine that prospect would be terrorising an element of our society right now.

Governments that allow their police (I use this as a generic term) to detain people in this way have existed before in countries where the government was originally democratically elected.......

FollowupID: 391446

Follow Up By: Traveller - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:11

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:11
Crikey Gerhardp1, you sure like to generalise!

" Hell, that proposed legislation started out with the ability for them to kill anyone ........."

What utter nonsense. Where on earth are you getting your "information"? The ABC??

We live in the greatest democracy on earth! Thankfully we have a Government led by a PM who's prepared to defend it!
FollowupID: 391457

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:55

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:55
Pezza,

Looks like you can take the boy out of the union but not the union out of the boy :)
FollowupID: 391474

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:06

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:06
We are way off topic, but what the hell (sorry Tony G, I think this is your thread).

The 'ability to kill someone' probably comes from the much publicised 'shoot to kill' theory. I spent 20 years in the Army. Let me assure you, every time the military or police shoot, they shoot to kill. Shooting to disable is from the movies. No matter what this legislation says, if you arm your law enforcement agencies, you plan for them to use the arms in extreme circumstances. As a result you expect them to kill. You just hope the training they receive makes sure it is justified. Giving them arms and saying they cannot shoot to kill is simply nonsense.

On the other side of the argument, I read (from what I regard as responsible sources), that under our proposed legislation, Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King would probably be gaoled in they pursued their policies of peaceful resistance in Australia. Don't know if it is true, but if it is, are we going a step too far??

It is worthy of debate without the hyperbole that unfortunately perpetuates in these discussions.
FollowupID: 391478

Follow Up By: Traveller - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:22

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:22
Hey Norm, lets not stuff around, his words were "ability for them to kill anyone"!

Real fruit loop stuff!

Anyway I'm outa here. I'll sleep tight, got nuthin to worry about!

FollowupID: 391480