20c fuel rebate? Did I dream?

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:13
ThreadID: 27766 Views:3116 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
I passed in front of Liquorland last night and saw a sign that said 20c fuel rebate at shell/coles stations when you buy 6 bottles of wine!
I tried to find some inf oon their website but can only find the standard 4c rebate for 30$ or more spent.
So did I dream it (and no that was not after going into the bottle shop and drinking a lot)?
If it's true, what are the conditions because surely there is a catch?
SLY.

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:38
I don’t know but I got a card that a friend gave me (He has a company fuel card) from office work’s I think, and when you combine the card with a normal discount voucher you get 20c a litre off. The offer is Finished now but it was worth it while it lasted.

I am paying 1.13 up the street now (With no discount) so that’s better than the $1.30 or something it was 2½ months ago. $1.13 not bad when the ‘Expert’s’ or scaremongers were saying it would be $2 per litre by Christmas.
You know what somehow I don’t see it going up 87c in a month just going out on a limb.

Oh yeah only catch was limited to 150 litres per customer per vehicle.

AnswerID: 137502

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:51

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:51
Going home tonight and if fuel watch is anything to go by fuel is still 1.36 at the cheaper outlets. It is around 1.50 at Widgiemooltha
FollowupID: 391179

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:04

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:04
You are talking Country price yes? I’m talking city price.
FollowupID: 391182

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:22

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 21:22
yea it seems prices are falling in the city but rising if anything countrywise. Still I guess I am lucky I have close to zero daily fuel costs and most of the 11,000k I have done this year is with 4wd trips out bush which I dont mind spending money on
FollowupID: 391187

Reply By: RupertDog - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:41

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:41
Sly

Saw a similar ad a couple of weeks ago in a WA Liquorland. Assuming rules are the same in each state, it is actually a 16 cent discount, used with the normal 4 cent discount for spending more than $30. The extra 16 cents can only be used with a valid 4 cent voucher, and from memory has a shorter timeframe for use.

Liqourland did a similar promo last Christmas, but only for 12 cents a litre.

Don't remember any major catch, other than buying 6 bottles of wine to total $30.

Makes a good deal in my book - especially since my local servo is a Coles Express and regulary one of the cheapest in Perth!

RD
AnswerID: 137503

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:48

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 20:48
Yeah you have to love the Coles/shell station’s, they are always cheep. The BP down the road from the shell is always about 4c+ more expensive.
FollowupID: 391178

Reply By: Stuck in Hedland - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 22:25

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 22:25
Regular promo in Alco town (Hedland). With the discount we're only 10 cents more than the big smoke. Valid like all discount offers up too 150 litres, Simple maths means $30.00 discount. Only problems coles express unleaded is dirty,watered down crap, not worth 10 cents a litre. $30 saved will buy you a new fuel filter. (every fill !). Diesel fine (had it tested), other problem my cruiser takes 275l, so I have to buy a dozen.
CHEAP FOR A REASON !
AnswerID: 137526

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:15

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:15
I almost got caught the first time around with this offer. They ran out of the discount coupons so I had to go back about a week later to pick it up. Trouble was it expired that week lucky my wife was getting fuel and spotted that it was about to expire that day. Buy some cheap neighbour plonk and save on your fuel. But watch out for the expiration date..

AnswerID: 137532

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:37

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 23:37
I just saw the ad on TV......... 20 cent discount if you buy 6 bottles of wine at Liquerland..........no dream mate, wonder what they say if you fill up 180 litres....

Reiner
AnswerID: 137535

Follow Up By: Stuck in Hedland - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 00:06

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 00:06
150 litre max.
As stated DON'T buy their UNLEADED.
I'm not kidding !
FollowupID: 391211

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:46

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:46
May be cr*p where you are but no problems with it over here (Brissy)
FollowupID: 391252

Reply By: stevesub - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 08:39

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 08:39
Spent $45 on wine, saved $30 on diesel with this offer. Pity that we will not use that much diesel again to fill up before the offer finishes.
AnswerID: 137554

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:51

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:51
During our last trip I took particular notice of the quantities of fuel I was putting into my tanks. The "discount" stations fuel guages were so inacurate that I could frequently put 10% more fuel in the tank than the capacity of the tank. Wasn't hard to work out how they could offer the 4c discount.
I couldn't prove it due to the variables but I think that the biodiesels gave less economy than the real thing.
I had Willem call in this morning on his way to Melbourne and he said that diesel fuel is 10c a litre dearer in the Riverland than that of Peterborough. It's just a case of local profiteering due to the farmers who are about to start their wheat harvest.
AnswerID: 137566

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:06

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:06
In Heyfield you can save up to 60cpl.. but you have to spend up in all the local shops.. not bad if your stayin at the club property :)

AnswerID: 137571