Wiring Question...

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:34
ThreadID: 27779 Views:2875 Replies:6 FollowUps:3

I'm trying to help a mate run power from his Aux battery to the rear of his 80 Cruiser to power his new fridge. We're just going to put in a cigarette lighter connection at the rear as the fridge will only be in there occaisionally. We need to know how heavy should the wire be that we use and what size inline fuse should we put on it? The fridge is a Waeco CF-35. If it's not already obvious, we're a pair of cowboys when it comes to auto elecs so if we're on the completely wrong track, feel free to point that out too! ;-)

Scoey

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:39

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:39
G'Day Scoey,

Easiest way is to purchase a pre-wired Hella plug, fuse and 6mm wire which just needs to be fitted into the rear of the cruiser, other end to the battery and away you go.

I think these guys sell them ready to go

12 volt shop

Rolande
AnswerID: 137563

Follow Up By: Scoey - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:42

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:42
Cheers Rolande!

Sounds like just the ticket! We're in Brissy so I'll scratch around up here and see what I can find but that sounds almost idiot proof.

Thanks for the tip!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 391228

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:49

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 09:49
Make sure it's fused AT the battery!
FollowupID: 391231

Follow Up By: Scoey - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:00

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 10:00
Yep no worries Shaker! Cheers!
FollowupID: 391235

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 11:07

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 11:07
My thoughts are twinned 8 guage cable from both battery poles all the way to the back would be my pref, to reduce voltage drop issues (8 G has plenty of Cu area). The Waeco cable has an 8A fuse on the plug for protection as standard - suggest the use of a 30A (or similar level) circuit breaker at the battery end of the main feed to protect that line. You could run a single cable (6 G maybe) from the battery and earth back through the chassis too (favoured by some).
AnswerID: 137585

Reply By: Grungle - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 13:29

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 13:29
When I bought my Waeco 80 from TJM Enogera (Brisbane) they threw in a cable kit which consisted of 5 metres of twin 6mm² cable, Hella plug, terminals and zip ties. Could give them a call.

Minimum I would recommend is twin 6mm² (conductor size) and the Hella plug.

AnswerID: 137603

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:09

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:09
This topic was covered in a lengthy thread about 5-6 weeks ago before I went on holidays.

Search the archive and I reckon it's been done quite a few times.

AnswerID: 137758

Reply By: colin - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:28

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:28
min. 6mm twin core double insulated, fused, with a double proged 240v sized plug, forget the ciggy plug always trouble.col
AnswerID: 137895

Reply By: 4145derek - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 16:43

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 16:43
I use 50amp wire. There is no voltage drop and the fridge runs longer on one charge. Give me a email if you like and I can put you in touch with the supplier.
djbester@bigpond.com.au
AnswerID: 137935