Going rate for an oil change

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 12:52
ThreadID: 27788 Views:2618 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
I went to organise a simple oil and filter change for my old Cressida the other day at a mechanical workshop in a local service station. I was quoted $90.00 plus oil and filter. That has got to be a bad joke. What do you think would be a fair price. I don't need anything else done - the car just passed its rego in the last month and all is good.

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 13:04

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 13:04
$30 plus the bits would be a fair price. You might also get a $5 surcharge for consumables (rags ets) and disposal of the old oil and filters. Current environmental laws provide the opportunity for businesses to charge for disposal of contaminants.
Pete
AnswerID: 137599

Reply By: chump_boy - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 13:10

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 13:10
Theres a place near us that charges $50, but I think you get a free wash with that. It is one of those Wash and Wax places, so they are not a mechanical workshop by any stretch of the imagination...

Thats in Parramatta, by the way.

Chump
AnswerID: 137600

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 14:14

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 14:14
come on mate,
It's a simple oil and filter change, do it at home. Its not hard and will take u around 30 minutes at ur own pace. then all u pay for is filter and oil. I do all my own servicing, always have. My GQ hasnt seen a workshop EVER. except when i got the turbo upgraded last year, thats not worth tampering with if u dont know how.
Ange
AnswerID: 137608

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 14:50

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 14:50
It also has the added advantage of knowing it has been done and knowing what has been put in the vehicle. Sure there is a bit of mess to clean up but a lot of upside I reckon - I'm with you Cokeaddict.

FollowupID: 391280

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 15:20

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 15:20
LOL!! hehe... even with the twin horizontal filters on the damn GQ TD42.... it's nearly impossible not to have them empty a couple of litres of black stuff onto the driveway when you spin them off. I always try to capture as much as I can into a plastic bag or drip tray - right under the filter/block interface - but i always seem to miss. Messy-as :(

I STILL prefer to do my own though. At least I know that I've dotted all the T's and crossed the I's.
FollowupID: 391282

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 17:12

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 17:12
Actually, I know two guys who use synthetic oil in their Subarus. They take their own oil to the service guys who do the job and they pick it up that afternoon. I wonder what oil ends up in their vehicle? $70 worth of mobil 1 or $15 worth of mineral oil :-)
FollowupID: 391293

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:31

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:31
Chrispy,
There is a way to drain the oil filters without the mess....My first GQ had 600,000 kms and was done this was from day 1. I also do same on my current GQ..ive done it for years, no damage to engine... here is how i do mine.

First, make sure engine is hot, then i drain engine oil in sump, once the mass has drained, i then start engine up until oil light comes on ( do this at engine idle speed), then shut it down, this drains the filters 95% of oil content. I then remove filters. I still get a trickle as i unscrew them, but it runs down the block and straight into the drain tin below it (does not land on diff). Then before fitting new filters I can wipe that oil down with a clean rag. Plenty of room when filters are off vehicle, easy as pie.
I then fit new filters (adding a touch of oil around the rubber seal and hand tighten them 3.4 turn after they contact the face.
Fill it up with oil, and presto...all done.

Did mine yesterday and took me 1 hour all up, thats including dinner while sump drained.

Ive posted this method before and i assure you guys it does NOT damage engine in any way.
Now i sit back and wait for another 5000 kms. Tomorrow i grease the front end and tailshafts. Ready for another dirty weekend :-)

Ange
FollowupID: 391304

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 19:28

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 19:28
Thanks for that Ange :)

How long do you find it typically takes for that oil light to come on?
FollowupID: 391313

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 05:21

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 05:21
All depends on how hot the engine is. But with mine it just takes a few seconds. I usually keep my hand on the key, as soon as it comes on, I shut it down.
FollowupID: 391363

Follow Up By: colin - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:22

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:22
rather let the oil run on the diff, also helps with rust proofing. col
FollowupID: 391505

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 15:56

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 15:56
that is just criminal I was charged less than that for my 2h to have 10 litres of oil (included oil and disposal) at absaluuuuuute maximum they could maybe justify 1hr min labour and 20 bucks disposal (even this is extortion) and that would make it 80 bucks but fair dinkum what could be easdier than changing the oil. in a cressida
step1 know the make model and year of vehicle
step 2 go to supercrap or any other simular store tell them the make and model and get them to get 1 filter,1 funnel, 5l oil,1 bucket, 1 filter wrench (if bucket is more than 2 dollars then go to wa salvadge or simular discount store for your state and get one for a buck)
total cost less than 30 bucks
now when you get home the vehicle is now warm so drain oil into bucket and change filter, put new filter on by hand (you can now throw the filter wrench in the bin) then replace bung and fill oil using funnel then use funnel to put oil from bucket back into oil container. To dispose of oil take it to the rubish tip which should have free dispossal
last step call coppers for thieves working at service station
AnswerID: 137620

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 17:09

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 17:09
I used to do all my own servicing when I was younger and I had my Range Rover. Problem is now that the Cressida is very low to the ground and I can't get a dish big enough to drain the oil into under the car - don't have ramps. Then I have the problem of oil disposal which in the old days didn't worry me, though now, it is a bit 'socially irresponsible' to bury it in the back yard, or even better on the block next door (blush). I was quite OK with the idea of maybe $30-$45 plus oil and filter, but I'm not giving this criminal any more business. I'll just ring around and get some prices.

Just did - one was $55 including oil and filter and the other $70 including. Both are better than the other guy. Problem is there not just up at the end of the street either. It is amazing how much they vary to do exactly the same thing.

FollowupID: 391291

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:34

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:34
right hight is an issue buy one of those pan thingys with a corner to drain oil from - put it back in oilcontainer Prob youse city slickers get charged for oil dispiossal (beyond criminal) so just chuck the closed oil container in the wheelie bin that is why all refuse disposal is free in the bush coz if u charge it gets dumped in the bush that is why you pay rates
FollowupID: 391305

Follow Up By: joc45 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 19:31

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 19:31
Sky Pilot,
buy a cheap trolley jack from Super Cheap or similar, this will solve your clearance problem. These are really cheap these days and it will pay for itself very quickly.
Gerry
FollowupID: 391315

Follow Up By: Justin - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:34

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:34
Davoe

Safe oil disposal in metro NSW and WA (I don't know about the other states) is free for household quantities - for the same reasons you suggested of not having the oil end up in the bin, bush or down the drain. Although, admittedly it is sometimes hard to find out the information about the free disposals. Most councils will offer, or particpate in, yearly household chemical collection program that includes engine oil. Some even operate permanent waste transfer stations that will take engine oil.

Also, any decent mechcanic will accept small quantities of waste engine oil, especially ones you spend money at for other mechanical work (obviously they didn't do the oil change!!). Disposal costs for them are (or used to be 2 years ago) minimal.

Justin
FollowupID: 391402

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:04

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:04
Wouldn't be using him,he sounds like a real pri@k and I'd be going back there with the reciept and showing him the cheaper price. Was on current affair last night about people getting ripped off by mechanics. Can under stand your point of having to get down on all 4 when you are younger (no offence) you dont care but my old man was the same use to race cars etc but decided was easier to take it to mechanic,round $50 including parts. Use to do it for him but they moved up the coast. Was taken to toyota for a while (bought new) till I checked it one day 130 klms after service when they got to my place (central coast to penrith)new oil and oil filter my ar@e. Took it to local dealership they had a look yeah needs changing showed him the log book with the dealers stamp and dated that morning was straight on to the one up the coast, oh we must have forgot to do it blamed the apprentice. Dealership up the coast offered a free service she got a refund which I had to get involved with and has not been back there since, and yes what dealership WYONG TOYOTA ar@eholes.Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 137634

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:40

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 18:40
Sad thing with blaming the apprentice is the apprentice woulsd always prefer to do the job properly. I droped into the tojo dealer to ask abour refilling the fan clutch with silicone fluid - all the mechanics shook there head and said - "dont understand" a 15 year old girl apprentice happened to be walking past - pricked her ears up and said she had done heaps and proceeded to give me blow by blow instuctions - made the high paid crims look like they were
FollowupID: 391307

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 01:27

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 01:27
Davoe,

Same thing happened with my old Jackaroo. Everyone wanted to replace it at nearly $500 just for the part(genuine of course was all they offered). Was enquiring about part prices myself when a bloke said just pull it apart and refill with silicone. Simple job took just over an hour to do and cost about $40.

cheers.
FollowupID: 391360

Reply By: Billowaggi - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 00:15

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 00:15
I think its about time you all realised there is a bit more to a service than just changing the oil! What about
Brake pads and shoes
Coolant condition and hoses
Gearbox Transfercase and Diff oils level and condition
Fan Alternator Power steerring and Aircon drive belts
Steering and Suspension condition and lubrication
Driveline lubrication and condition
Engine and gearbox mountings
Air filt and fuel filt
Bettery terminals and electrolyte
Door locks strikers and hinges lubrication
Seat belts and safety equipment condition
Plus many more things to numerous to list like,
Lights,wiper blades, tyres and general condition of everything on the vehicle as seen by someone who spends his whole life looking at vehicles and notices things that the layman does not!
I charge $60 labour for a service, and I look at all of the above and more as well as changing the oil and filter and filling out the service log book and stamping it. I tend to find that vehicles that are maintained by the owner quite often have major broblems that if found early could have been prevented or fixed in the early stages.
Regards Ken.
AnswerID: 137880

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 19:34

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 19:34
you are right of course but I seriosly dought your averadge service place actually does any of that stuff coz i am yet to see one that evn emptys out the dust trap on the air filter. I struggle to get even majour problems fixed like holes in radiators (they gave it back with the hole still in the radiator) or fuel lines ripped out (they gave it back with the lines still out.
In these days of chronic labour shortages whith service places only able to attract 3rd and 4th rate unmotavated dropkicks with the pay that is half what they can earn on a minesite you are far better off doing the stuff that you can. I have no worries with all that you mention except the brakes/bearings side of things which i entrust to a guy who knocks back work because he has one decent apprentice and he cannot get another mechanic that is up to the standard to expand the business - he goes on holidays and the place shuts.

BTW I wish you lived in kalgoorlie I would use you
FollowupID: 391577

Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:15

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:15
Hi Davoe That could be me, I do a two to three week desert trip every year and my bussiness closes. I have never lost a customer because of this, some go elsewhere if I am not available but they always come back. Most of the owners of the newer vehicles I work on are 'refugees' from dealers .
Regards Ken.
FollowupID: 391642

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:24

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:24
Chase it up Davoe. Ken sounds like a motivated mechanic who takes pride in his work and gives his customers a fair deal. Hope I can find one over here.
FollowupID: 391643

Reply By: G.T. - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:13

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:13
If you buy a jack as Joc45 suggested it would be wise to get one or two axle stands as well. Properly used they stop the vehicle from coming down on you. Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 138247