GQ3.0
Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 15:53
yebach
Hi all i have a 3.0l GQ patrol i need to get more power(torque) out of it, and no i don't want to get rid of it or put a v8 in it there all options i have already explored
any help would be HUGELY appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:06
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:06
We have a '91 RB30 Patrol alongside our '95 TD42T. I reckon the RB30 is fantastic on sand - where revs save the day. It certainly eats the diesel in these conditions. It uses more fuel too... but... anyhow...
I've removed the pre-heater gauze at the base of the carby and fitted a Genie extractor system. Made a pretty noticeable difference. I then had the carby re-build from top to bottom. That made an even bigger difference. Someone here will probably chime in and tell you the name of the guy why specifically used to specialise in these carbys and could get them to put out more than the injected RB30 could.
My next exprimentation is to fit injection from a VL motor and ECU we have. This is not to gain any more power - but to stop the surging going up steep inclines where the float bowl empties pretty quickly on an aggressive climb. Once this is done I'm looking at whacking a positive displacement supercharger (like the 1GZ Toyota unit) on it. THAT should give it more goolies :) Castlemain Rod
Shop has a kit for fitting one that looks very nice indeed. See the link.
Reply By: yebach - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:12
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:12
thanks for that responce do you think supercharger would be better than turbo
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:17
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:17
Definitely.
You don't want 6-billion HP at 8 billion revs when climbing over rocks. You want torque - and you want it as low-down the rev-range as you can get it. Only a supercharger will do this just off idle.
Follow Up By: colin - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 07:49
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 07:49
not all s/c will do what you want, some are designed like a turbo and work best at high revs, and others at low. i have one on my td42 beat a turbo any day, so much more diversity within the motor, great low down pulling, great for towing, fantastic in the sand, over the rough stuff a taller gear and no revs really good for the fuel economy, will keep on pulling under a 1000revs. col
Reply By: yebach - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:29
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:29
fantastic thanks chrispy i would never have considered that , as i am writing this one eye is scanning the yellow pages for a fuel ingection set up .
thanks mate
Reply By: flashnick - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:46
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:46
Cheapest and Easiest thing to try is premium and drive it the way the motor was designed - rev - it. Take it out to 5000 rpm when you need power - it will not hurt it. (Redlines at 6000rpm and Nissan have rev limiter on distributor so you cant hurt it.)
If you really insist on spending money and want some serious grunt. Just do the following -
Do a compression test, if all cyls over 170 +/-10psi Just put a set of good Extractors a 3 inch free flow sports exhaust and run it on premium. Run it out to 4,500 rpm and use 5th gear as an overdrive only - it will be lots of fun and have heaps of grunt. This is a short stroke high revving motor (compare it to a Kawasaki 4 cyl motor bike (12000rpm) and a 2 cyl Harley Davidson (2000rpm) some motors just lope along - this one does not) and will sit on 4,000rpm all day. Used normally 450,000ks common before needing to do the bottom end.
If you get a chance get rid of the heater elements and the deflector at the base of the carby in the top of the inlet manifold. This will give you about 10-15% more grunt below 2500rpm once the motor is warm.
If compression is down to below 150psi rip the head off and just do the valves (rings should be ok) and if not already done - replace timing belt and waterpump (what Im suggesting here is for maximum overall reliability. - dont bother any other mods as this motor will never let you down this way.) - unless its been badly treated this is all it will need before at least 300,000ks if not 400,000+
Great motor just misunderstood - Ive known people to hold their foot flat in 5th all day at 2400rpm and say - its gutless - yet this motor has a serious powerband at approx 3500rpm+ and would have used less fuel in 3rd gear or 4th - You dont let this motor lug. It needs to rev.
have fun
Nick
Follow Up By: yebach - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:48
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:48
thanks flashnick that all sounds easy as
well as 4wding i need the car for towing horse float at the momentit strugles,so hopefully your advise will help
thanks
Follow Up By: Austravel - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:47
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:47
Good advice flashnich. I had one for 13 years. Had Motson's in Brisy do some work to it and it ran really
well for over 10 years. The work was as above, extractors, full flow system, carby overhaul. Carby work was remove gauze, bring in secondarys sooner and rejet. Worked fantasticly compared to the 4.2 litre. Better power and torque at higher revs but worse fuel economy. However way cheaper. Have brought a GU diesel an have to wonder sometimes with oil filters 3 times the price and two instead of one plus 1/3 more oil and more servicing overall. I think the 3.0 petrol was one of the better motors, fantasic in sand etc.
Don't listern to those that havn't owned one, they really have no idea.
Mine had nearly 300k and the guy that brought it said his mechanic told him to expect another 10 year out of it.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:03
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:03
Hey 'wok boy', you are at it again I see.
Follow Up By: yebach - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:45
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:45
hey lucy i would hate to break your heat mate but i'm not wok boy i am a good aussie boy
zivjela Hrvatska
Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:35
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:35
A Turbo Kit for/From a Turbo VL Commodore or RB30 Skyline would bolt strait onto this motor I Think.
Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:59
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:59
another thing to do is find someone who specialises in dizzys and get them to go over it they can do amazing things to them.
Reply By: Member - Woodsy - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 07:10
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 07:10
Hi Yebach,
Talk to Russel Guest 4 x 4 in Fairfield Vic. He was the guy who tweaked the 3.0 GQs.
I had one for 10 years. After extractors and Guests tweak it went really
well. Also ask him about the plate at the bottom of the carby in the manifold.
Mine disintergrated and passed through the motor, luckily without damage.
3.0 GU was a great vehicle.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:30
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:30
LOL!! That damn plate. Yup - I had a "tinkling" noise in # 3 for a day or so, and was down on power. I took the inlet monifold off to see bits of metal everywhere. I ripped the head off after that and dug it all out as it'd been clunking around just above the inlet valve on that cylinder. Apart from the noise it hadn't done any hard damage.
The engine needed the new head gasket and a shave anyway ;)
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:05
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:05
How much do you want to waste...err I mean spend?
You can go the full NISPRO (same as VL Commodore) turbo and the works, will get you over 200kw at the wheels.... but will cost you way more than its worth.
Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 21:22
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 21:22
hi
I think your vehicle is a Deisel so just get a chip up date the Nisson people have down tuned the engine
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:07
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:07
3.0 GQ is the Petrol VL Commodore motor, same as the Nissan Skyline.
Reply By: yebach - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:00
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:00
wow thank you all for you responces much appreciated, i'll be starting with the cheaper option first and take it from there.
just one more thing i asked castlemain a question but no responce yet,can you run superchargerrunning duel fuel.
thanks again all.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:07
Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:07
the issue with starting off with the cheaper options is you can waste a LOT of coin and get nowhere...
all depends on what your willing to spend in the long run...
How much you planning on spending in total?
Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:06
Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:06
Rod Hadfield at
Castlemaine will take a while to get back to you mate and you may have to be persistant, but his kit will be worth it as the man is a mechanical genius. If it was me I would look at the cost of a Russell Guest exhaust and tune update. Come around and see me when you've got your quote and I'll point you in the direction of an alternative which won't mean Chris' horse will have to go on a diet. After the exhaust upgrade if you are still after more grunt do a costing on the supercharger and then compare it to the cost of purchasing a second hand 4.2L diesel. I think you'll find changing cars will work out cheaper in the long run.
YMMV