Waeco CF 80 Nothing But Problems

Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:28
ThreadID: 27830 Views:17370 Replies:12 FollowUps:37
Gday all.

Purchased a Waeco CF 80 In July this year. Took it out of the box & it was damaged.

The second one would not cool below -5. Took it to the service agent and they regased it, but when I took it home it would cool to -18 but would not cycle & the motor would run constantly. The service agent replaced it with a new one.

1 week later I had 3 flashes of the error light on the new one, & took it back again & they replaced some controller board in it.

I had had it running since yesterday and all seems well at the moment. Has anyone else had any problems with the CF 80 ?

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:34

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:34
Hi mca,
Sorry to hear you had so many problems with it, but in fairness this can happen to ANY brand. You were just unlucky this time. Mine has run faultlessly from day 1, not that i use it as often as i would like but it does become a second fridge for parties at home. Very happy with it infact.
Hope your run of bad luck is over.
Ange.
AnswerID: 137815

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:42

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:42
You are right Ange. It could happen to any brand but by the large amount of failures mentioned on this site there is one brand that seems to fail more than the rest. But not to worry they can always justify the cheap purchase price by the excellent warrenty thats provided.
I had an unlucky friend too, 3 lids, 2 latches, 1 light & 1 complete exchange ;-)
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 391466

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 03:13

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 03:13
The main warranty jobs I heard of before were from the lids warping which they changed a while back to fix the problem. My 80L has worked perfectly since I got it over a year ago. My only complaint is that the lid is too big and it loses too much cold air each time you get a drink out.

FollowupID: 391492

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:23

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:23
And that would be fairly often eh Ben?
FollowupID: 391554

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:38

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:38
Waeco's use the German made danfoss COMPRESSOR

However....

Waeco did use electronics sourced from a Pacific Rim country, possibly China, Korea etc and they had some problems with them.

Now compressors including relevant electronics are from Germany.
FollowupID: 391644

Reply By: mca - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:37

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:37
Glad to hear that !!!

Having a cold 1 from it now & hope it will stay cold.
AnswerID: 137818

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:38

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:38
My friend's buggered up on our last trip - it would only work on 240 Volts .
AnswerID: 137819

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:16

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 18:16
sounds like your mates 12 volt input was up the creek????
they use a danfoss 12vdc compressor?
so on 240 it must have a 240vac-12vdc tranny!
the 12 vdc output and car 12vdc at some point in the wiring is common to the compressor circuit?
if so it has to be the 12 v dc input supply!

not sure if i am right about the two 12volt systems being common on the waeco...but as i have this on my fridge, i am assuming that it may be the same as it wouldnt hurt if it was common....
FollowupID: 391434

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:16

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:16
Willie ,, before answering check your facts ,, the Waeco uses a bd35 or a bd50 danfoss compressor ,,, uses 12/ 24V ,,, No direct 240volt so please explain how your mates only works on 240v ,ABSOLUTLY IMPOSSIBLE.
FollowupID: 391440

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 21:30

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 21:30
Alloy ,

Your right , I'm a goose . I just emailed my mate to find out what the problem was . We had to run the Waeco on the generator to make it work as a freezer whereas the Engel worked great on the battery .It was a real bummer as we were out for three weeks and had to keep stuff frozen .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 391447

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:41

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:41
your right...what exactly do you mean by that....your right to what ?
maybe you mean you're right...which is it
I'm only a dumb bastard...please explain
yes I've been on the turps
FollowupID: 391464

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:48

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:48
Sorry, just ignore me.
FollowupID: 391470

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:22

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:22
His right to Goose, Geese or otherwise Ray. It depends on the Genus, Branta, Cereopsis, Chen or Anser but can be explained away simply by the following:

When Aphrodite first came ashore she was welcomed by the Charites (Roman "Graces"), whose chariot was drawn by geese.

There are Mother Goose tales, such as a farmwife might have told; there is the proverbial goose that laid the golden eggs, warning about the perils of greed. And there is the goose as a veiled reference to the bleep in the verses
Goosy Goosy Gander, where dost thou wander?
Upstairs, downstairs, in my lady's chamber.

The geese in the temple of Juno on the Capitoline were said by Livy to have saved Rome from the Gauls around 390 BC when they were disturbed in a night attack. The story may be an attempt to explain the origin of the sacred flock of geese at Rome.

There is a tale of Trickster and the geese in the North American Trickster cycle [1] Maybe also TRUCKSTER.(http://hotcakencyclopedia.com/ho.Trickster&Geese.html).

Liliane Bodson and Daniel Marcolungo, L'oie de bon aloi: Aspects de l'histoire ancienne de l'oie domestique [The goose in ancient life and folklore]. Vise (Mus�e Regional d'Archeologie et d'Histoire de Vise), 1994, discusses the image and lore of domestic geese in classical antiquity, with a separate chapter on the goose in folklore.

FollowupID: 391515

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:23

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:23
cant the waeco's run on 240?...dont they have an inbuilt 240-12vdc tranny?

FollowupID: 391516

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:24

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:24
hey bonz...its too early in the morning.....!
FollowupID: 391517

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:25

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:25
bugga me goeff....what you been drinking
???
FollowupID: 391518

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:32

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:32
lol Nudie, I am juiced on life hahahahah ....but I may have picked on the wrong goose, I continue.......

Goose can have some other meanings in slang.
A fool (common in the works of Wodehouse) or someone who is shy (also goosy/goosey).
An (usually friendly, but possibly sexual) "attack" - the buttocks of another person are pinched between forefinger and thumb.

Now I woudnt take anyone for a fool, hence I am interested now in the situation for said "attack" that Willie admitted to, in a public forum, above, before I forward the whole macabre situation to the appropriate authorities.

FollowupID: 391519

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:35

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:35
But of course the etymology of the term is even more pertinent:

Goose in its origins is one of the oldest words of the Indo-European languages, the modern names deriving from the proto-Indo-European root, ghans, hence Sanskrit hamsa (feminine hamsii), Latin anser, Greek kh�n etc.

In the Germanic languages, the root word led to Old English gos with the plural g�s, German Gans and Old Norse gas. Other modern derivatives are Russian gus and Old Irish g�iss.

In non-technical use, the male goose is called a "gander" (Anglo-Saxon gandra) and the female is the "goose".

I case my rest.

FollowupID: 391521

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:59

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:59
And of course, as I have ben told by a wise woman....

When the game is up, one's goose is cooked!

FollowupID: 391525

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:14

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:14
Wow, that's a great answer Geoff, you have put my mind at rest. I'll have to pass that on to the kids so they don't have to spend the next 30 years chasing the answer.....err, what was the question again ?

Apologies to Willie
FollowupID: 391527

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:56

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:56
this is to hard to take in at this time of the morning lol lol
FollowupID: 391531

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:02

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:02
your not kiddin nudie, never mind it's a lovely morning and a great day for the race.
FollowupID: 391532

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:04

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:04
race? that was last tuesday!
or do they hold races in vic on saturdays too?
FollowupID: 391533

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:37

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:37
The Human Race
FollowupID: 391535

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:46

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:46
yep the Human Race....you gonna join us Nudie :)
Sorry mate couldn't resist
FollowupID: 391537

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:40

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:40
Mad Dog , Nudenut , Bonz ,
I just pulled up my email and there was this list running down the page discussing "geese" . I meant goose , as in me being stupid ( common in the works of Wodehouse ! ). Adding to what Bonz said in his goosay , I saw some very interesting frescos in Italy showing that Romans did not only eat their geese .
Anyway, I have become discombobulated now and I'm going back to watch the cricket .
Willie .
FollowupID: 391556

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:19

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:19
you all speak a foriegn language lol lol

and whats discombobulated mean?....cant be bothered getting the dictionary out.....

why would any one want to watch a cricket.....oh you have a pet cricket!
weird?
like their music eh?
FollowupID: 391585

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:22

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:22
not only eat their geese
gee i wonder what else...trained them to behave like turkeys?
FollowupID: 391586

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:03

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:03
Well Willie what did you expect?? One cannot pose the questions of our time and not expect spirited response and debate.....

Nudie, discombobulated is widely regarded as a confusing word as noted below in GBS's prose.

having self-possession upset; thrown into confusion; "the hecklers pelted the discombobulated speaker with anything that came to hand"; "looked at each other dumbly, quite disconcerted"- G.B.Shaw

One could say, that in the process of being "goosed", one may temporarily become discombobulated, and make a "goose" out of oneself. Other more learned scholars pose that this hass already happened and we are the product of that discombobulation.

Whatever happens, the cricket will sing until you stomp on the ground near his location, whereby he shuts up, wisely appling the age old idoim, "I don't think I can take that foot again"

FollowupID: 391662

Reply By: WheelTravel - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:02

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:02
Hey mac,

Mine has performed flawlessly since day one. I had it running all the way around australia. Roads where my suspension u bolt snapped (They were 20,000ks' old- corragations a foot high in places) my fridge kept the beer cold.

I'm happy as can be.

AnswerID: 137831

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:36

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 19:36
My Waeco CF 60 has worked faultlessly from day 1, it was advice from a refrigeration mechanic and the price which sold me on the Waeco over the Engel, sorry to hear you have had problems, it sounds like Waeco have been good with their after sales support though.
AnswerID: 137838

Reply By: kiss'n'dirt - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 20:03

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 20:03
My Waeco is a 60Lt.
It's in the Gu permanently and gets flogged. Never had a problem.

Sorry to hear yourmisfortunes

It's always on in summer so i always have cold water.
AnswerID: 137844

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:06

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:06
I got the 110l, essentially the same as the 80l... no probs thus far, only complaint was the lid seal. Had it replaced under warranty and all has been well ever since, well if you discount the exploding diet coke... Probably not really the fridge at fault there tough, I choose to believe anything with artificial sweetener is damn evil and out to get ya.
AnswerID: 137857

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:45

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:45
Stick to the real deal Blue. Diet anything is a product of the 'dark side'.
FollowupID: 391467

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:43

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:43
Don't be surprised, typical waeco quality, as long as it's sorted.
AnswerID: 137862

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:01

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:01
I think the point is that it should not need to be 'sorted'. When you pay big dollars for an electrical device, it should work with no problems setting it up. Unless of course it has an operating system run by Microsoft. Seriously, fridge technology is pretty well known by now and you should be able to get it out of the package, attach it wherever you're going to fit it and plug it in. The only tricky bit should relate to keeping the battery(ies) charged. I have a 9 year old Engel 40L which has been exactly like that. Mounted it in the 4by and it worked faultlessly for a 20,000km jaunt around the block with lots of big corrugations. Since that, it has done party duty and Christmas duty for years, as well as a few minor trips.
FollowupID: 391501

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:53

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:53
Off topic I know.........but what you just described is what I think should be the case with GPS's and all this bloody Oziexplorer stuff.
I have a GPS......I have a laptop.......I have the oziexplorer disk thingo's that fit into the cd drive of the laptop.........I have a serial port plug and matching socket on the back of the laptop. So, why the friggin-hell can't I just plug the bloody thing in to one-another and have it "hey-presto" up and running????????/

Until then, the whole bloody thing is just a dust catcher...... hahaha ;-((

I feel much better now that I've got that off my chest.
FollowupID: 391557

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 15:03

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 15:03
Hmm, whats the problem Roachie, gps and lappy not talking ? Maybe anotherpost will have it sorted for you.
FollowupID: 391558

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 17:10

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 17:10
Continuing off topic sorry. Roachie - if anything in your house like your TV, fridge, washing machine had any problem at all, you'd be off like a shot to the dealer/agent to have it fixed. But, people sort of seem to accept all this shyte of a computer and don't compain. I have never really understood this attitude, but until a computer works like my as troulbe free as my TV or washing machine, I won't be happy. Seems I may never be happy. I work with computers every day, but I often get very frustrated when things crash. I have never even seen a GPS, but do they need a driver to work? Software driver that is.
FollowupID: 391569

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:07

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:07
Roachie, check the GPS is set for NMEA in/out and that Ozi is set to receive that also. It'll wirk then

FollowupID: 391664

Reply By: mca - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:06

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:06
Thanks for the comments

Got up this morning and she’s still going and no error light. I will keep running for a week to see all is ok !!!

Fingers Crossed

AnswerID: 137893

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 12:15

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 12:15
I've got a CF-80 too. Just gone 1 year old and have had no problems. Spends 90% of the time in my ute. Used to be in the back (under canopy) but have now removed the back seat (dual cab) and put it there. Only switched on when I need it though. The warped lid problem afaik was confined to the smaller Waeco fridges (50L?) and has since been fixed. Everyone brings this up when Waeco fridges are mentioned though. It's like saying all Nissans suck because the old 3 litre GUs used to blow up.

Of all the fridges I have used only one has needed a warranty repair and that was the Engel 80L S/S. The silastic used to seal the edges inside the fridge and freezer comes away. We just replace it ourselves now but it is a regular occurence. They told us there is no way to fix it permanently. Geez every Engel must be crap then................
AnswerID: 137910

Reply By: Dekard05 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:13

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:13
G'day, purchased a Waeco 80L last week through fridgeshop.com. Gave it it's maiden voyage over the last few days up to Lancelin - seemed to work fine. A few questions though (because the demo models don't come with a user manual - doh!):
1.Got the error light flashing once every 5 secs and judging by other posts need to re-wire with 6-8mm?
2. Seemed to cycle off/on very frequently (when set to 4C).The thermostat cuts out, then about 5 secs later turns back on and goes for about 30secs then repeats. Is this normal??
3. Needed to keep the ignition on to keep fridge going (mean't leaving the keys in the car overnight), Can I bypass the rear cig lighter (which only seems to work with ignition on) and have the fridge running constantly??
4. I dont suppose any one has a pdf copy of the CF80 manual do they (muchly appreciated!!)

AnswerID: 137952

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:26

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:26
Dek,

1. Not getting enough power
2. Not normal. When set high, tend to run 10 minutes on, 10 minutes off.
3. See an auto elec. Sounds like you're running it off your start battery? Very dangerous, a CF 80 draws a lot of power.
4. If you email your postal address to me at jim dot best at myer dot com dot au I'll happily photocopy the manual and post it to you.

FollowupID: 391587

Follow Up By: Dekard05 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:43

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:43
Thanks Jim, will email you. Had it set to high the whole time so will keep an eye on it. I have a dual battery setup (redarc) so was assuming that the power was coming from the spare battery and not from the cranking battery (seem to remember that when the car is not running, any power required comes from the spare - little red light comes on). Maybe if the ignition is on everything comes from the cranking battery - opps!! Wil have to check. Thanks,for your help.
FollowupID: 391589

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:56

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:56
Dek,

When you email me, give me a phone number. I'll call you during the week to talk about it; so much easier than typing.

FollowupID: 391590

Follow Up By: Dekard05 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 21:03

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 21:03
Done. Talk to you next week.
FollowupID: 391593

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:18

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:18
Dek, if you rewire with 6mm to the rear outlet, take the feed from the auxuiliary battery, will fix 1 and 3 both at once. The rear outlet would be an original instal and would come from the start battery so ge it rewired. The red light you mention is the one on tthe Redarc? if it is it means that the power is coming from both batts, once it swiches off it means the power comes from one or t'other, i.e. the connections broke

FollowupID: 391665

Reply By: Grungle - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:56

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:56
Had our 80 L Waeco for nearly 2 years now and has been running non stop for most of this year. When we get back from camping I connect it to the camper in the garage and run it all the time as a bar fridge. Never had a single issue. It gets used as a seat, step and pulled in and out of the Patrol to setup next to the camper when camped.

Just need to make sure that you check the 'emergency' and 'economy' switches every now and then as it can be switched by kids or bumped. This can cause the compressor to run non stop (emergency switch is ON) or the fridge to not run at all if economy switch is set to HIGH (fridge cuts out when a certain voltage level is supplied).

Shame Australia didn't get the inbuilt AC option as other countries did.

Also wonder if I can ge the digital display fitted on mine seeing as the new CF80's now have this?

AnswerID: 138086