Black Rat hi-lift - follow up on post 26330

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 22:50
ThreadID: 27855 Views:5419 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
Well I finally got a replacement for my Black Rat hi-lift jack that didn't work
After weeks of haggling ( read abuse ) they finally said they would replace it, so i go to pick up the NEW one only to be given a secondhand -suppose to be a demonstrator unit from another branch-looks like its been kicking around in the back of a ute somewhere by the way its faded and knocked around. At least this one does go up and down (they also said keep the old one as i may be able to use it for spares- thats confidence in their product) All I've achieved is i now have two jacks in the shed i'm not game to use
The only thing worse than their product seems to be there customer service or lack of. The fights not over yet i'll keep you posted
Regards Kev

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:23

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:23
G'day, kev.h, yeah I hear you...... it gets that way with some products. I remember I first started out using the original high lift jack from the early falcons(great little jack) Then some 15 years ago I bought my first High-lift from ARB....hasn't missed a lift or drop in that time. Usually a yearly cleanup given and the occassional grease through the year. There is always a but, but a mate bought a High-lift same as mine, his locks and won't go up or down ......go figure.
andy
AnswerID: 137978

Follow Up By: kev.h - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:03

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:03
Hi Andy Unfortunatly it looks like i got the dud, but from replies to my last lost other people have had problems too
I got other people in my 4wd club to try it -just to see i was,nt the dummy and they could not master it either we tried an ARB and Hi-Lift brands on problems
when i pointed this out it was what finally made them do something about it. At least the replacement one does work so i guess i am better off than before Regards Kev
FollowupID: 391663

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:23

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:23
Hi Kev,
who did you buy it from mate and where about are you located (state wise).
Ange
AnswerID: 138007

Follow Up By: kev.h - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:53

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:53
Hi Ange
It came direct from a Beaver Sales outlet ( they are surpose to be lifting gear specialists and the importer) I live in on the central coast in Queensland
Regards Kev
FollowupID: 391660

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:07

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:07
Kev, The Black Rat is probably a repainted elcheapo copy of a HI-LIFT jack. Take them both back and tell them you just want a refund, you came there to buy a new jack and have come away with a unit that doesnt work and a faded used unit. I had exactly the same problem with a big TV recently, I got sick of the frigging aroung and dumped in front of the counter,all 85kg of it, told them i came to buy a NEW & WORKING unit, and its not what i got. I wasnt going to be intimidated, Tell them if you wanted a faded jack and one for spares, you would have looked in the Trading Post. If it does not do the job or faulty, you are entitled to a replacement or refund. its your choice. This TV had no remote in the box, the box wasnt sealed from factory when it was delivered, and the picture was crooked in widescreen mode. nothing happened and after a month i took it back. plenty of promises , no action, no repair and no remote. I just stood there till they made a decision to give me a full refund. If you look like you could be intimidated, your done. Give it a go. just put the ball in their court. If they offer you a brand new in the box unit, tell them you paid fair money and the quality is not up to to money. When they tell you you cant expect much for the money, tell them that they set the price , not you. Michael
AnswerID: 138144

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:43

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:43
Kev, Dont forget to tell them that you picked their product on perceived quality, portrayed in their advertising and not on price, and there were other quality products you could have choosen from. Tell them, If they are so confident of their quality, you cant imagine why they wouldn't replace it straight away because of the posibility off being subject to "bad press" of their products. Get into them,,, I wish i was up there.. Michael
FollowupID: 391789

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:00

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:00
Thanks Michael
I like your style they have always have some lame excuse. Another agent gave the name of the general manager of Beaver Sales i'm about to compose a letter I'll certainly be using some of your points
thanks again Kev
FollowupID: 391932

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:20

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:20
get a arb hi lift or a jackal , the Black rat is only good for looks . I gave mine away for free to someone I didnt like
AnswerID: 138153

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:01

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:01
I bet you gave to Bruce ;-)
FollowupID: 391793

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:02

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:02
Poor bl**dy Bruce whoever he is
FollowupID: 391933

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:10

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 19:10
Hi Rock Crawler
Good idea mate I wonder how many mother-in-law's are getting Black Rat gear for Christmas now your've spread that idea around
At least if i can't do any good with a refund i will be able to get back at two people that give me the sh*ts, theres got to be some benefits in that
FollowupID: 391935

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:15

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:15
Kev, forget the no refund bit. Ask for a refund. demand it!! And buy a HI LIFT. I'm counting on you , Even if you get a working one, You still wont feel good knowing the bastards wont even back their own products up and look after their customers. Its interesting the importer could not even work out what was wrong with it. they are a pretty simple unit, stuff 'em. It's too hard to earn to just throw it away!!! Michael
FollowupID: 391948

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:46

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:46
Michael
Thanks for that
Kev
FollowupID: 391992