Grumps report on last weeks adventure - great reading

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:23
ThreadID: 27859 Views:4113 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Four Wheel Drive High Country Trip 2005

Saturday October 29 2005

Geelong Friday - Geoff, Rosemarie, Paul & Imogen arrived in two vehicles the Nissan Turbo Four Wheel Drive and the Ford Falcon XR6 Sedan

Geelong Saturday – Geoff, Don and Imogen departed at 6am (little earlier than last year) without breakfast, just a cup of tea, cup of coffee in a take-away mug and a soft drink and headed to Melbourne, the first stop was McDonalds restaurant on the Western ring road for breakfast egg & bacon muffin and another cuppa, take-away, travelled to the Hume H/Way, turned off at Tallarook thru to Trawool, Yea and followed the Goulburn H/Way to Mansfield

The road was very busy with plenty of four-wheel drive vehicles. We arrived at Mansfield at about 9.10 am and the town was packed with people they were preparing for a big carnival.

We fueled up and headed off about 10 minutes out of town Geoff phoned Robbo and procured a GPS location “Camp Site Crazie” address No 3 Road Razor Back. 6.3 Ks Circuit Road. Alpine National Park
“ What a marvelous piece of equipment this is just follow the dot on the screen”.

We arrived at Camp Crazie around 10 am without any worries we met Adam & Kirsten, Allan & Lyn, Callum & Tegan, Ken & Deirdre. We enjoyed another cuppa with a chat of what and where we were going to travel through the high lands.
Ken was busy turning his 4-wheel drive Caravan into a bus, with a winch he then tried hard to pull a tree down by winding his car up to it, but no it didn’t happen. You know it was a pretty good-looking vehicle, plenty of switches and plenty of lights to play with, every thing including the kitchen sink. No doubt spending many hours getting it all together. All vehicles reduced the pressure of air in the tyres, this allowing for more traction.

About ¼ to 11 we departed, Adam & Kirsten leading in their Holden Jackaroo, Geoff [now known as BONZ] Nissan Turbo Diesel 4X4, Ken & Deirdre, Toyota 75 Series Troop Carrier, [now looking quite smart like a truck.] and Allan, Lyn, Callum [about 4 YOA} & Tegan [about 5] driving a Land Cruiser [well equipped for the journey & for sale] all vehicle were in radio contact and were able to talk with each other making it an interesting drive.

The leader Adam driving and Kirsten with the radio advising the condition of the road, sharp turn right or left, steep rises etc. Sometimes Adam would also have a go at directions but he didn’t know his left hand from his right. The first stop was to be pineapple flat, Don’t remember seeing that but we up Mount Stirling, seeing Clear Hill Hut, Peters corner, Kings Hut and a lot of exciting King River Crossing and a lot of people camped on the river. Bonz loves the mud and the water we nearly lost the number plate thru the crossing.
Adam didn’t get his photo taken thru the first crossing, so he left his camera in my care returned back to the other side and come thru again, yes we did take a couple of photos.

Lunchtime we stopped at beautiful Lake Cobbler it was a muddy track to get there Allan picked up a big pile of mud on his front number plate, Bonz took photos of the mud design on his wheels, Ken parked out of the way, not show his off and Adams wasn’t to bad. Good news for Holden.

After lunch they decided to continue on around the lake, leading again by Adam then Ken followed he was driving in 2 wheel drive went through some deep mud the wheels spun, he was bogged, he sorted out some of the gears he had in the box, and moved out very slowly as the truck, the caravan, the troop carrier, well, the vehicle was on about 45 degree angle, He did a good job of driving, because it did look like it was going to lay down in the mud. Allen & Lyn had quite a laugh about how Bonz attacked the muddy patch, Bonz just put the foot down and let it go, the mud and bleep went everywhere. We didn’t travel any further than 100 metres on that track, as there was no road.
We all turned around had a good laugh and return back through the mud again and headed to the top of the mountain and Craig’s Hut. On the road, there was about four vehicles in front held up because one of them had stuck itself on a rock in the middle of the track. Adam & Allen went up to assist and they lifted it off, [Strong aren’t they].

The road to the top of the mountain was closed so we continued onto Craig’s hut, it got very cold and within a few minutes the cloud had covered the hut and it started to rain. A shame because there was another wedding there and this would have spoiled their day.

We left and headed for the ring road and we drove this to the corner were the group left to return to Camp Crazie, we said our goodbyes and continued onto Mansfield aired the tyres up, cleaned the windows and travelled on. The weather had changed with plenty of rain right through to Melbourne

Another feed at Mackas and off to Geelong arriving about 9.30 Pm

Thank you Geoffrey and Imogen for a very enjoyable day, this is an experience that not many people have the opportunity of being involved.

To the other people involved, is a pleasure to meet nice people, thanks for your company

Don (Dad or Grumps)

P S
What a Great Trip. - I’ve just worked out why it went so smoothly, their wasn’t any MITSUBISHI TRITON involved, although I did miss Wombats comments and remarks etc

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:36

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:36
Suerly you mean, the trip could only have been better if a Mitsubishi Triton had tagged along... ;-)~
AnswerID: 138008

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:37

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:37
hahaha Blue, one thing Dad picked up was the fun had by taking the P155, and he does it so well.

FollowupID: 391657

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:20

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:20
And it would appear none of that great ability has been lost on your good self...
FollowupID: 391671

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:40

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:40
I think Don missed us Blue. The man obviously knows quality when he sees it!
FollowupID: 391864

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:27

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:27
He did miss you guys, asked three time on the way up if you'd be there.

FollowupID: 392183

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 13:39

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 13:39
Well, if I'd had an invite, I may have shown up...

Kidding, was busy anyway...
FollowupID: 392347

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:44

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:44
Great report Grumps !

Lyn
AnswerID: 138011

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:14

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:14
Sounds like a great day missed by everyone else who weren't there.
Pity we live so far away and lucky you for being close enough to do it as a day trip.
AnswerID: 138026

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:28

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:28
What surprises me is that you went passed the best roadhouse in Vic and stopped at maccas for breakfast, oh well next time makes sure Bonz stops at Corio Bay Roadhouse.....rapidly gaining legendary status among seasoned travellers. Apart from that huge mistake it sounds like a great day.
AnswerID: 138031

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:19

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:19
Too close to home Ray and too early,had to get some kms under the belt first, but yes a legendary place that

FollowupID: 391754

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:53

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:53
I was there the wrong week.

We had a week at Pinnacle Valley Resort which is on the Mt Buller Rd starting the day the ski resort closed, but none of the tracks were open. It was another case of, "should have been here last week" or "mate your about a month to early".
Reading your report just rubs it in.

One day I will get there and have time to enjoy it all.

I am impressed by young Tegan though "[about 5] driving a Land Cruiser" they start em young down your way.

AnswerID: 138072

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:28

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:28
LOL well Duncs, she DOES wand a landcruiser one day, she wants to be a vet, and like "Dr.Harry, I'll need a 4wd mum"...hahahhaa...you should have let us know that you were in the area, we actually went up that way a week before to have a scout about...

Lyn
FollowupID: 391722

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:52

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:52
Thats what I like, an honest reporter, very nice report GRUMPS

All I can say is thank the lord you turned a blind eye to the situations I incurred during the day, but like any seasoned 'bushy' overcame by sheer grit and determination, along with the help of a trusty Toyota, Waeco and COOPER tyres.

Very forgiving pieces of equipment they are .

Thats right you Nissan& Engel owners, scream your gut outs, stamp your tooties and hold your breath till you pooh your pants, but you weren't there so suffer.

ROFLMAO.

As a matter of fact I think I had 4 WAECO cold beers to celebrate getting back in one piece after blindly following that coota Crazie.

Yep! definitely reckon a WAECO has it all over a engel.

Also, while I am at it, reckon if wasn't for the COOPERS we were all sporting, we would all still be there. Best tyre in town by far.

Now you all have a nice one as the rest of this week is forcast to be absolute
C H I T T Y.
AnswerID: 138155

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:56

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:56
My BFG Muddies almost had to save the day when you're caravan fell in the mud

FollowupID: 391792

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:43

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:43